Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
A7
A8
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop USB Port Replicators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock

Average customer rating:
2.6 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
16
13 of 40(32%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
Review 1 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gary

ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock

Date:July 18, 2014
"I can see from reading through the list that some have had problems. I'm not sure why. After I removed it from the box, I followed the instructions and downloaded the latest drive and firmware for the device and plugged it in. I'm using it with a Yoga 2 Pro at work and the Ethernet, VGA, and USB ports all work fine. The only thing I've noticed is that my Microsoft Natural 7000 keyboard does not like to have it's USB plugged into the device. So that gets plugged into the USB 2.0 port on the Yoga. Everything else I have used, thumb drives, hdd, backup, etc works normally. The system does a nice job of supporting the monitor too. No complaints on my end it much nicer working with all my normal desk components."
Review 2 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
invworld

Works for me

Date:July 1, 2014
"This dock has worked perfectly for me and has made my Yoga2 Pro even more useful and versatile. You plug it in and it works: end of story. I do alot of business travel and work at home, and the dock makes the transition seamless. Love this computer!
Some reviewers said that the dock didn't supply power: I don't understand their problem, as the dock charges the computer quickly and effortlessly. All ports work well, resolution on desktop monitor adusts automatically. Yes, the LED on the dock takes a long time to turn on, so you might be pressing the power button needlessly until you figure it out, but I think the dock works great. It even charges my iphone when it's turned off.
No, it's not some whiz-bang piece of tech that's going to do your work for you while you're playing Call of Duty with your bro's, but its a very useful piece of hardware that works as soon as you plug it in."
Review 3 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byclue

It's not a dock!

Date:June 5, 2014
"I'm not sure why Lenovo is calling this a dock. It's a port replicator and not a very good one at that.. This "dock" does not supply power to your laptop. No hdmi or mini display port? If all you need to is mouse keyboard and DVI monitor then get other brand that are better value."
Review 4 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nokya

After a month usage

Date:June 2, 2014
"Works okay for the basic docking of a mouse and a screen. Once you start adding a good webcam and conecting the dock to a gigabit ethernet port, things just go wild as bandwidth does not seem to be enough to transmit all the information.
Unless strictly required, I would rather recommend buying a USB port hub, an ethernet-to-USB dongle and an HDMI-to-display-port dongle. Total cost is the same, plus you get the freedom of carrying the two dongles in your laptop bag for a negligeable weight."
Review 5 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JoshuaB

No HDMI Options

Date:May 29, 2014
"Lenovo doesn't offer a dock/port replicator for the Helix that has HDMI ports. They have DVI ports. Funny thing is their monitors have HDMI and VGA, not DVI."
Review 6 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname

Worst docking ever

Date:May 27, 2014
"Our company purchased a few thousand or even more of these mini docks. Be honest, it may not even work Lenovo's own laptop. So search it in google, read people's comments before you make the purchase."
Review 7 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Willie

Not A Dock

Date:May 14, 2014
"It may be a fine port replicator. I don't know. I don't need one. I need a docking station. These are going back. I'm in the market for a new IT guy. I only gave it 3 stars because I don't blame Lenovo for the aggravation. Except for calling it a Dock."
Review 8 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
notstupid

Great little product

Date:May 12, 2014
"We initially tested one of these for use and ended up with about 20 of these in our offices. Lenovo driver support is great (as usual). Everything came out of the box with the appropriate adapters. It's easy to set up (if you follow directions). It's fast and best of all, it's very reliable.
Works great for dual-monitors (we connect to two Dell U2412M's using DVI connectors). They're a tad expensive but you get what you pay for.
Some faculty started using them for having dual-desk setups: one desk is set for sitting down and the dock pushing keyboard, mouse and video to second desk where they stand up. Creative use for this which made me chuckle."