Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock

Average customer rating:
2.6 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
16
13 of 40(32%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
Review 1 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gary

ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock

Date:July 18, 2014
"I can see from reading through the list that some have had problems. I'm not sure why. After I removed it from the box, I followed the instructions and downloaded the latest drive and firmware for the device and plugged it in. I'm using it with a Yoga 2 Pro at work and the Ethernet, VGA, and USB ports all work fine. The only thing I've noticed is that my Microsoft Natural 7000 keyboard does not like to have it's USB plugged into the device. So that gets plugged into the USB 2.0 port on the Yoga. Everything else I have used, thumb drives, hdd, backup, etc works normally. The system does a nice job of supporting the monitor too. No complaints on my end it much nicer working with all my normal desk components."
Review 2 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
invworld

Works for me

Date:July 1, 2014
"This dock has worked perfectly for me and has made my Yoga2 Pro even more useful and versatile. You plug it in and it works: end of story. I do alot of business travel and work at home, and the dock makes the transition seamless. Love this computer!
Some reviewers said that the dock didn't supply power: I don't understand their problem, as the dock charges the computer quickly and effortlessly. All ports work well, resolution on desktop monitor adusts automatically. Yes, the LED on the dock takes a long time to turn on, so you might be pressing the power button needlessly until you figure it out, but I think the dock works great. It even charges my iphone when it's turned off.
No, it's not some whiz-bang piece of tech that's going to do your work for you while you're playing Call of Duty with your bro's, but its a very useful piece of hardware that works as soon as you plug it in."
Review 3 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byclue

It's not a dock!

Date:June 5, 2014
"I'm not sure why Lenovo is calling this a dock. It's a port replicator and not a very good one at that.. This "dock" does not supply power to your laptop. No hdmi or mini display port? If all you need to is mouse keyboard and DVI monitor then get other brand that are better value."
Review 4 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nokya

After a month usage

Date:June 2, 2014
"Works okay for the basic docking of a mouse and a screen. Once you start adding a good webcam and conecting the dock to a gigabit ethernet port, things just go wild as bandwidth does not seem to be enough to transmit all the information.
Unless strictly required, I would rather recommend buying a USB port hub, an ethernet-to-USB dongle and an HDMI-to-display-port dongle. Total cost is the same, plus you get the freedom of carrying the two dongles in your laptop bag for a negligeable weight."
Review 5 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JoshuaB

No HDMI Options

Date:May 29, 2014
"Lenovo doesn't offer a dock/port replicator for the Helix that has HDMI ports. They have DVI ports. Funny thing is their monitors have HDMI and VGA, not DVI."
Review 6 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname

Worst docking ever

Date:May 27, 2014
"Our company purchased a few thousand or even more of these mini docks. Be honest, it may not even work Lenovo's own laptop. So search it in google, read people's comments before you make the purchase."
Review 7 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Willie

Not A Dock

Date:May 14, 2014
"It may be a fine port replicator. I don't know. I don't need one. I need a docking station. These are going back. I'm in the market for a new IT guy. I only gave it 3 stars because I don't blame Lenovo for the aggravation. Except for calling it a Dock."
Review 8 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
notstupid

Great little product

Date:May 12, 2014
"We initially tested one of these for use and ended up with about 20 of these in our offices. Lenovo driver support is great (as usual). Everything came out of the box with the appropriate adapters. It's easy to set up (if you follow directions). It's fast and best of all, it's very reliable.
Works great for dual-monitors (we connect to two Dell U2412M's using DVI connectors). They're a tad expensive but you get what you pay for.
Some faculty started using them for having dual-desk setups: one desk is set for sitting down and the dock pushing keyboard, mouse and video to second desk where they stand up. Creative use for this which made me chuckle."
Review 9 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mynameisrod

don't bother with this

Date:May 12, 2014
"It doesn't power the notebook and have to get under the desk to plug the notebooks power supply in. And the monitor doesn't always come on without switching off and on and off and on. Overall it was quicker before I got this."
Review 10 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HeavyLaptopUser

Below average at best

Date:April 22, 2014
"Not a docking station. For the $200 I paid, I'd expect that it be able to charge my laptop while plugged in, but that's not the case. Wireless USB mouse doesn't work in slots. Requires updating drivers to work and some patience. Very disappointing product - avoid it if you can."
Review 11 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BellevueTech

Works Fine, just get latest drivers

Date:April 9, 2014
"a coworker got a new PC and this was lying around, used it for my Lenovo twist, installed the drivers and was good to go, It is not a dock, it is a port replicator, now I have two monitors, a mouse, a headset and a key board, and only the power and replicator are plugged into my twist. running windows 8.1 64 bit,"
Review 12 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hangover24
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Works as advertised

Date:March 28, 2014
"Make sure you install the drivers from the CD.
Works great with my windows 7 Lenovo X1 Carbon laptop, connected to 2 monitors, speakers, key board, mouse.
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Greg
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Not Good

Date:March 20, 2014
Pros: sleek
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Software compatibility
"I'm running and X1 carbon windows 7 64 bit and have had all sorts of trouble with this. Internet doesn't connect when I re-dock. Doesn't obey and windows configuration settings. Slow. As others have noted I've tried a number of drivers and can't seem to get anything to work right."
Review 14 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nowwb
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

when it works it works fine...you cannot rely on

Date:March 16, 2014
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: driver issues
"I have this docking station since 3/4 year...it started out okay...takes long time to connect (2-3 minutes) and you cannot work immediately...than it all got worse...now it takes half a day to connect...some driver issue...I have a new hobby searching for drivers & installing & unistalling them...If you want a thing that just does what it is expected to do and you don't want to look after this tís the wrong thing...If it works it's just great 2 displays extra...you can have the display from the laptop, the display from the mini-display port and aditionally these two displays from the dock...awesome...if it would work without any driver issues...."
Review 15 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DuvallUser
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Be Afraid of this device

Date:March 14, 2014
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals
"Dual monitors worked fine but i made 8 DVD coasters and never got the USB ports to work without significant lag. Incredibly frustrating 8-months experience after deleting all Win 8.1 USB devices and reinstalling, updating firmware and software. Just installed a Targus dual monitor USB 3.0 port replicator and for the first time am able to use my keyboard and mouse AND rip a DVD at the same time. STAY AWAY from this device. What a resented waste of time and money."
Review 16 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pefbdm
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro

Be careful

Date:March 7, 2014
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Software compatibility
"I needed to use my laptop monitor with 2 external monitors and was given this to try. It serves the function I need but I do miss not powering the laptop from the docking station and not having one button power on in the docking station. One very annoying issue is that I use a Jabra wireless headset and no matter if I plug into the docking station or the laptop while on the docking station my phone connection is horrible. Nothing I've tried short of not using the docking station will fix the problem. Not sure I would have purchased this product with my money."
Review 17 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SurfaceProUser
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Works as advertised

Date:March 3, 2014
"No issues, works like a champ with Win 8.1 and Surface Pro. Daily user in enterprise setting using Surface for all business related tasks, dual monitors."
Review 18 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DisappointedCustomer
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Skip This One

Date:February 27, 2014
"This is not a docking station -- it is simply a place to plug in some peripherals. You can't even plug in a second monitor. Do not buy this."
Review 19 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bart
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

worst docking station imaginable

Date:February 19, 2014
"There are so many things wrong with this:
It ships with a 12 V adapter whereas a20 V adapter is required. It takes weeks for Lenovo to send the right adapter.
several USB ports do not work. Sometimes it does not recognize the keyboard, then I need to stick that USB directly into the computer.
The computer does not transition well between stand-alone laptop and docked with 2 additional projectors. It needs help every time to tell which display is what, and then when you undock it scrambles it again.
Many other things are wrong with it. Lenovo sent me a new one after two months, and it had similar but different problems.
conclusion: a waste of time"
Review 20 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DrFranken
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst Dock Ever

Date:December 22, 2013
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Support, Input/Output compatibility, network performance
"Lenovo's web site said my detailed review of the unit's problems was too long so I'll summarize:
This Unit is AWEFUL in every way. DO NOT BUY."