Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad W540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad W540

Average customer rating:
2.636 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
11
1 star
15
15 of 44(34%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad W540
Review 1 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
john
Owned Product:Just got it

horrible

Date:February 26, 2014
"horrible changes from w530"
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Derek

bad trackpad

Date:April 21, 2014
"What happened to the classic Thinkpad design?
Where are the physical mouse buttons?
The trackpad is noisy and feels cheap.
Will not buy any of the new Thinkpads, unless they revert to the old design.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
oldpcuser564

Last Lenovo product

Date:April 20, 2014
"All the bad things people says about this machine are true. You cant even type and have to use white gloves if you dont want to scratch it."
Review 4 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
James

Literally Worst Purchase Ever

Date:April 20, 2014
"I bought the Lenovo Workstation about 6 months ago. I liked it when it first arrived. I thought it could be reliable and robust. BUT recently in two weeks, this laptop went BLUESCREEN over 10 times, and even BLUESCREEN twice in a single day!! I was editing document and it was devastating. Even with my old cheap Acer laptop, such things never happened before. From my user experience this Lenovo laptop is definitely not worth buying and this is literally my worst purchase ever which causes me a lot of trouble."
Review 5 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerW540

Asks a little, but gives a lot

Date:April 20, 2014
"Reviewers are passionate about this computer--some positive; some negative. The mixed messages about the W-540 prompted me to research the machine before buying one. To clear up some misconceptions and to try to find some balance, I have written an extensive article in hopes of providing a counterpoint to the reviews, as well as to correct some misinformation out there. The full review is in the Forum section of the Lenovo web site. A direct link is here:
http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/W-Series-ThinkPad-Laptops/LIVING-WITH-A-W-540/td-p/1528698"
Review 6 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
John

Missing Trackpad Buttons

Date:April 19, 2014
"I hate that this laptop is missing physical trackpad buttons. it is such a dumb design decision on a laptop made for doing work."
Review 7 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Benny

Lenovo: Truly Killing ThinkPad

Date:April 18, 2014
"Unfortunately I wanted an upgrade from my wonderfully built W530; however what I got was an awfully constructed and horribly designed piece of... well... plastic (NOT metal-framed, HORRIBLE build quality).
Every previous generation of ThinkPad could be thrown at a wall, and the wall would lose.
This W540 was returned within 48hrs of disappointment because it had so many design flaws with I will now be looking elsewhere if Lenovo continues to tarnish the name of ThinkPad the way it has done with the W540.
I sincerely hope that this is a one-off mistake that Lenovo made and has realized that this is the WRONG move for them to make (especially with the collectively and consistently atrocious ratings that this W540... thing... is getting)."
Review 8 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThinkPositive

Not recommended. I prefer my W520.

Date:April 17, 2014
"PROS: Fast, runs cooler and less fan than my W520, thinner and lighter than my W520, actual key pad lights up (no longer a light on the lid shining down), quieter keyboard than my W520, keypad
CONS: I HATE THE TRACK PAD!!! Not only does it not have buttons, but it is a pain to use (can't select words, can't accomplish simple mouse movements, UGH!!!!) Dock, Battery, and Bay (for SATA drive) are all new = not interchangeable with my previous W520
Since I use the track pad all of the time, I prefer the W520 over the W540 and would recommend buying a W520 instead of a W540."
Review 9 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ASeriousMan

Downgrade in reliability and design

Date:April 16, 2014
"The big one: Had a W520 that's still going after two years; the W540 is showing hardware problems after two months (wireless adapter conked out, spontaneous reboots, system won't boot 2 out of 3 tries.)
Declining build quality: The keyboard is a grease magnet, and everything feels cheap and plasticky compared to the W530 and W520. Runs noticeably warm under the left wrist.
More keyboard gripes: F1-F12 are replaced by volume controls and such, and you need to enable "FnLock" on to use them without having to hold the extra Fn key down. Home, End, Insert, Delete, PgUp, and PgDn are in weird locations. Trackpad is awkward.
Can't fault the processor or storage."
Review 10 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
x2cme

Hasn't failed me, great performance!

Date:April 5, 2014
"Anytime I spend this much money on anything, its stupid NOT to get the warranty - I'm glad I did because, HELLO, its a machine and technology is moving faster than the speed of light, it'd be crazy for me to think this thing will keep up with everything for as long as I want it to! So, extended warranty, top of the line upgrades, and then replacements as needed... I'll be fine until the next BIG wave of hardware and software changes meet in the middle requiring everyone to change their equipment! Until then, Lenovo & I are hanging out! Price of the product is OUCH but the quality of the product is ultimately WORTH it and after the money is gone, its gone and you move on... too bad I didn't get mine when it was on sale like it is now. Darn, bad timing on my part."
Review 11 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoftwareEngineer

Not perfect, but still great

Date:April 3, 2014
"Like many people on here, I'm a long time ThinkPad user. I _love_ the (high DPI) screen on the w540 - the best I have ever seen on a Windows notebook. And the builtin color calibration is excellent when it comes to photo and video editing. The offset keyboard took me about 10 minutes to get used to. The only real minus for me is the lack of buttons on the TrackPoint. I don't think it is terrible or the end of the world, but I do miss the dedicated buttons. Still, I have gotten used to them pretty quickly. The performance, battery life, form factor, and screen all make this a one of a kind notebook IMO."
Review 12 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thinker

Worst Touchpad Ever

Date:April 3, 2014
"Get a refurbished W530. You'll be much happier than if you get this one"
Review 13 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sheru
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Did not meet expectation

Date:March 30, 2014
"To be honest I was excited for getting a new laptop at work but this laptop doesn't meet the quality I was expecting. Mouse pad is crazy bad and laptop doesn't give performance of what loaded. When you click mouse pad big sound appears and also quality is cheap. You have to click in a particular spot so that mouse pad works. Not worth for price."
Response from Lenovo:By eCommerceApril 3, 2014
Hello Sheru, thank you for your feedback on the W540. I’m sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the new ClickPad design. We have recently released drivers for this model that should improve the usability of the ClickPad. You can download and install the driver here: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS034647
Review 14 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
beatricedorsett
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very poor quality for a horrific price

Date:March 27, 2014
Pros: Weight
Cons: Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Screen size, Display performance
"This model is the worst possible choice I could have made. It lasted all of three weeks before it began to have major issues. All I did was gently close the lid & go to bed. This morning I expected to come out to the computer, open the lid & get right to work WRONG! The screen wouldn't even come back! Tech support had me do a quick restore. It did bring it back but I had to reinstall all my software!
It also has other annoying issues such as the number lock indicator stays put on the screen in a location that is quite irritating since you have to decrease the size of your screen to see around it to move your page down."
Review 15 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JT85
Owned Product:Less than a month

Good but with odd design choices

Date:March 23, 2014
"As far as raw performance goes, the W540 is great. The battery endurance is superb, and I have zero issue with the offset keyboard - took no getting use to. Having the numeric pad is actually pretty nice.
A couple small things really take this machine from a 5 star down to 4 or even a hair under. The track pad for example.. is borderline unusable. Terrible at registering right vs. left click. Lack of buttons to go with the track point (red button thing) and lack of indicator lights (HDD activity etc) makes no sense to me. Plug in a mouse and you're fine, though.
For me most of the time this is plugged into a docking station and is great - and then travels for meetings and getting work done at home. Ultimately pretty happy, but a few small design changes would have made this exceptional."
Review 16 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tomswift
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Nice laptop with one fatal flaw

Date:March 17, 2014
Pros: Battery, Processor, Durability, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, off-center keyboard, lack of separate trackpoint buttons
"I have always had ThinkPads (going on 15 years now) and have found them to be extremely reliable. I upgraded my older W500 to this new W540. I read the reviews and notice a lot of people griping about the off-center keyboard/trackpad. I didn't think it would matter. I was wrong! For the love of laptops everywhere, please center your keyboard/trackpad! It is very awkward to type and move the mouse and my right hand gets cramped because of it's off-center. Fortunately I mainly use this at a desk where I can use a separate usb mouse instead. But when I take this elsewhere, I hate typing. I also want my separate buttons back for when I'm using the trackpoint (red eraser thing)."
Review 17 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
longTimeUser
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Horrible Track Pad

Date:March 14, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, horrible! trackpad
"They removed the finely tuned 5 buttons around the trackpad...and made the trackpad one giant unrecognizably bad button. .YOU CAN NOT EVEN USE THE TRACKPOINT!!! That's how bad the trackpad is. It's horrible.
Let me elaborate, I relied on the top 3 buttons to navigate with my tackpoint (the little red button in the middle of the keyboard) ..if you try to left and right click buttons now, you will also move the cursor accidentally.
The trackpad is so bad that you actually TOUCH it with your palm and click/move the cursor while typing...you know, like those cheap laptops that cost 1/3 of the price of this?"
Review 18 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
freefly
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Just awful

Date:March 13, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"I have no idea what Lenovo is doing ? how can they make a successful ThinkPad brand this horrible. Offcenter keyboard is a BIG NO NO. The track pad is the worst ever. Please save yourself time and money. I will not recommend this to anyone."
Review 19 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hawaiidream
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very Dissappointing

Date:March 13, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Wireless card, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Storage, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability, cheap look and feel
"Past W500 (1920x1600) owner. Was psyched, after 3 years of waiting, when lenovo announced the new w540 with a higher res screen past september.
Now after trying this for a month, I returned it. Why? because of the following:
1) touchpad...its big, noisey like a toy when clicking it, too sensitive to get along with typing
2) not a fan of the numpad....not a deal breaker, but combined with the new touchpad, it becomes one
3) removal of function keys/hotkeys sound etc....again not a deal breaker, but when combined with the numpad and touchpad, it becomes one
4) no indicator lights....i mean really, what nimrod thought that was a good idea
5) overheating issue on the left side where one rests their palm for typing
6) CPU throttling issue"
Review 20 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
briaal
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo going backwards?

Date:March 11, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, usability
"Lenovo going backwards on the usability of the trackpad and missing features, also impossible to find a decent docking station anywhere. Is Lenovo giving up on the corporate laptop?"