Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U260 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U260

12.5" comfort-driven notebook with a stylish design.

Average customer rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U260
Review 1 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
catbb67

All good except battery life

Date:April 23, 2012
"It is a beauty. I've had it for almost a year. Came with a 5400 rpm disk. I swapped it out with an 128GB SSD. It boots up and wakes as fast as any ultrabook that is sold now that has a new gen core CPU. Have to agree with another reviewer. You have to take the whole laptop apart before you can get to the HD to replace it. I had to take just the chips out of the SSD case to fit in the slim laptop chasis. Launch Office 10 within a few seconds. Boots into Win 7 Ultimate within 30 sec. Boots into Ubuntu 11.x even faster.
With the stock spinning drive, the battery lasted about 3 hrs of casual use, browing, email, MS Office, with WiFi, bluetooth mouse, at a third screen brightness. Runs beyond 3 hrs with SSD, all else held equal. Fan noise is bearly noticeable. Does get warm at the bottom, but exepcted for metalic chasis.
The gorgeous design has been copied and perfected in the new Ideapad u300s with much longer battery life and faster processor. I think the U260 is a classic and is a major turning point of Lenovo/IBM laptop design asthetic. It is not a me-too MacBook Air copy.
"
Review 2 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
epldmb

Just what I expected

Date:March 12, 2012
"Have had the machine for about two weeks now. I am writing this review on it as well. The keyboard takes some getting used to, being the horrible typist I am need the backspace quite a bit and the undersized one takes some getting used to. Apart from that keys have a nice feel to them, firm and responsive!
The track pad is unbelievable! Silky smooth, little small, but on a machine this size what I expected. Buttons are a little mushy, but certainly not the worst I've used.
Matte screen is great, speakers are adequate and expected again for a system this size. The rubberized metal exterior is amazing, found myself caressing it quite a few times. People at work didn't even realize it was a notebook.
The few downsides of it would be that it does run a bit warmer than I expected on the upper right hand side. Nothing too uncomfortable, but certainly not as cool as the rest of the machine.
The negative things I've read about the fan noise (something I was hesitant about) are unfounded. Can barely hear it running most of the time.
Lastly, upgraded to an ssd and that is NO EASY task. you basically have to take the whole machine apart to get the the HDD. Well worth it in my book though, cut 30sec off boot time, and way more responsive. Also takes 7mm HDD, I had a crucial c300 that I had to remove the spacer to make it work, but that was nothing compared to getting to the HDD in the machine!
It's a secondary machine for me, so for what I use it for it is more than powerful enough, has handled everything I've thrown at it no problem. If i need to encode something or other cpu intensive tasks that is what I built my desktop for!"
Review 3 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tjawi

Pretty but can be improved

Date:February 26, 2012
"No doubt it is a very pretty notebook, even better looking than the ultra thin book from asus or acer.
I got my I5, but the performance is much slower than my expectation. It would lag for a second or so after i load up a small size pdf file. The touchpad's responsiveness is also another weak point here.
Last but not the least, after i used it without reboot for 2 days, the color on the screen would change signifying it runs out of memory. I am not sure why, but i use it only for ms office apps."
Review 4 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jbarba

Great purchase people ask me all the time

Date:February 22, 2012
"Great Lap top! Great value fot the price! It is speedy, never stalls with the i5 processor. The external orange shell is really attractive and doesn't smudge or look dirty. Its a funky choice, not a boring black or grey It has great speakers and I don't need to connect extra speakers in client presentations. . Love it! Will buy Lenovo again next time definitely."
Review 5 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
smuuku55
Location:madison wis
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

awesumlomine

Date:February 9, 2012
"pros*many--this iz a great lookin machine that runs almost as good az it looks!
cons-there has to be some...?
"
Review 6 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MehranRon
Location:Laguna Niguel, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5

Most Beautiful-Its Me

Date:January 11, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Screen size, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Battery
"I don't like the cold chrome or the old all black, this baby is beautiful to look at and wonderful to touch, carry and type on.
Lenovo my dear you have done a Great design.
I do have to say, I bought my U260 from Microsoft, therefore it has "Microsoft Signature", basically it means it donesn't have anything that can slow down the computer or any nagging and bloated anti-virus software.
The feel of the cover and leather around keyboard is something you have to experience. Recommended.
"
Review 7 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meggie
Location:Davenport Florida
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome

Date:December 27, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Included Software
"I just got this computer for Christmas and its AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! I love all the extra features. It runs pretty fast and has a lot of GBs. It one of the best computers I have ever had!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Review 8 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mike
Location:Small Town Illinois
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very Portable

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Build Quality, Battery, Processor, Support, Storage
Cons: Memory, Durability, Included Software
"Have had for awhile is very nice fit & finish, Battery and performance are great! This works well in a home setting, a ThinkPad would be better on the road"
Review 9 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ROD9569
Location:new hampishire
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

great buy

Date:October 4, 2011
"Starting a computer mobile training business.
This machine is perfect size an power for being on the go.. I have 3 i3 u260 and 1 i5 u260..at the time of me reviewing it 4 of my customers want one. It's light an quiet..it's a great road machine...
"
Review 10 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PH39N
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

U260 after a year of usage

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, design
Cons: Video card, Battery, Security Features, no optical disk
"After one year of using the Lenovo U260, I remain statisfied with my purchase. A light weight, bneautifully designed Ideapad that has worked well for me at home and on the road. It does not have an optical drive and only sports two USBs (and no SD card reader... that is a big miss, since there seems to be a slot for it in the case's design) but it is fast, reliable and aesthetically a winner. Battery life is lower than some but I have a Auto/Air/AC recharger so have not found this to be a major issue - even if some planes to not have seat outlets, crew are usually very accomodating for a quick recharge."
Review 11 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jayb
Location:vb, va
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

so dope.

Date:July 11, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Keyboard/peripherals, dopeness
Cons: Battery, that creepy preinstalled smiley face widget
"i'm not joking or exaggerating when i say that if they improved the battery life, there would be absolutely nothing i could complain about. this is the best laptop i've ever own, the best looking laptop i've ever owned, and it's somehow actually snappier than my beast desktop. i don't know how they did it, but if you're not a gamer or video editor, i can't think of a different laptop to recommend to someone. the keyboard is fantastic, the trackpad's fantastic, the screen is fantastic (i forgot how much i loved matte displays).. the whole package is just phenomenal. i normally sell my laptops after 2-3 months because i'm simply bored with them, yet i've had this for 7 months now and i'm loving it more everyday. c'mon lenovo, release a new one with sandy bridge! thanks for the great product. i'm still in awe. ~steve"
Review 12 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SArrow
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Good travel computer

Date:May 11, 2011
Pros: Software compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Battery, Included Software
"My job takes me on the road to Africa almost monthly. I have a ThinkPad t410 that does everything I need and has great durability, but it is heavy and bulky for the all of the travel I do.
So, I just got an IdeaPad U260 to use as my road computer. Compared to the ThinkPad, it is tiny (roughly the same as a MacBook Air) and very light. There are a few features missing from my ThinkPad that I miss (an internal DVD drive and lighting for the keyboard). But, more than anything else, I have been surprised at how I can basically do anything my big notebook will do in a package that is so much smaller. My work is database and spreadsheet intensive, and I feel much more comfortable with the software available on this PC that I would using a Mac.
The keyboard on the U260 is great, the display is fine (though obviously small), and the HD is plenty big enough for my needs. It has Bluetooth for wireless peripherals. Battery life has been just a little weaker than I expected. I need to write another review two years from now after another couple of dozen trips overseas to comment on reliability.
Using it as a second machine made the DirectShare software a real draw, since I need to synchronize files between my IdeaPad and ThinkPad. But this package is disappointing, as it will only synch one folder of documents and files, and would require me to redo my whole tree structure on the ThinkPad to make it work. This could have been much more useful with just a bit of concession from Lenovo.
But overall, this seems to be a great machine in a small package, and I am glad I bought one."
Review 13 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lmaixiv
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best design since MBA.

Date:April 5, 2011
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Display resolution, perfect design
Cons: Battery
"Best design since MBA. Keep this design, focus on getting more battery life (3 hrs is unacceptable); memory card reader please; upgradeable ram and ssd hard drive; and maybe, more color options.
This will beat MBA or MBP soon as soon as those things are improved.
The design is perfect for a laptop.
I will quit my MBP for this design if improved those things.
"
Review 14 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mcnelsdatter
Location:Virginia
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

I'm enjoying this machine so much!

Date:March 15, 2011
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance, style!
Cons: Battery
"I've had my Ideapad U260 for two months now, which I use mostly for the web, e-mail, and several hours each day of writing. First, the look of the U260: I haven't had such an aesthetically pleasing machine since my very first laptop, circa 1993, a Toshiba satellite. But of course this is amazingly different--and also amazingly different from its immediate predecessor, my 2-year-old, sturdy, good-buy-but-plascticky-looking Lenovo SL400. Carrying this around the house, around town, in and out of archives and coffeeshops is such a pleasure. Totally sleek and lightweight. I particularly appreciate the texture of the case; it feels pleasant and strong, and you always feel you have a good grip, so you really can carry this around like a book, under your arm, in one hand, etc. I love the brown. I researched lots of brands and models before coming across this model on the lenovo website. I had thought I wanted a 13" or even 14" screen, but this model was so appealing that I risked it--and 12.5 is actually big enough for all my my purposes.
I'm a very bad typist and I am making more errors on this slightly smaller keyboard, but it actually seems spacious and almost full-sized. I'll adjust.... I had also thought I needed a DVD player but am now happy to be relieved of it. Will buy an external drive when I get tired of lugging out my older lenovo for netflix. Installing programs without a CD player has proved no problem at all. The webcam seems fine--important to me for Skype calls. I like the screen but not the automatic adjustment of screen light. It often seems to change for no reason and is disconcerting. I expect it can be disabled... This is a very fast machine and just a very pleasing development in my daily life. I found the price excellent, using the special deals that the lenovo shop always seems to be running."
Review 15 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dude2k5
Location:Roseville, CA
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Amazing laptop

Date:February 23, 2011
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Battery
"Very portable, great speed. Very sleek, sexy. Wish it had a little more ports, maybe usb 3, but other than that its great. No problems. Replacing the HD was a little tough, had to remove the keyboard. But all in all it was a great deal. Exactly what I wanted. Macbooks are at least $200+ for the same thing. Lenovo has done well. Driver support site is a tad slow, but other than that, buy it."
Review 16 for IdeaPad U260
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dlawren
Location:Chicago, IL
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo U260 ultralight

Date:December 16, 2010
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card
"I have had the U260 for the past two weeks and was amazed at the performance it has in such a small, but usable package.
I decided on the U260 because of its size and power. With a 12.5 inch screen, it is large enough to get work done ont he go( I am a teacher) and I can carry it around in my shoulderbag and not even feel the extra weight.
The metallic case makes the U260 feel very sturdy and makes it it look sleek. The veriface program it has with it is also very functional as it keeps nosy students off of the computer when they shouldnt bother it.
I have run multiple processor intensive applications at once and it does not miss a beat. Itunes, hd video, internet all at once.
The only slightly negative issue about the computer is that it can get somewhat warm, but that is to be expected with a computer that has that much processing power. However, you wont even notice it unless you are running hd video or someother processor intensive program. It never feels "Hot" though.
From functional perspective, the array of ports VGA, USB, HDMI etc is perfect for the many different peripherals I use giving a lecture or playing media.
I chose it over the macbook air due to the fact that it was less expensive hardware wise, software wise it was even cheaper (after what apple was going to charge for the programs I needed at 50+ dollars a pop). While the macboko air is a little thinner in some places, it is nice to have a unique and more real world functing option to choose."
Ratings-Only Reviews for IdeaPad U260
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5