Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo G585 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G585

Affordable 15.6" notebook.

Average customer rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
5
11 of 20(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G585
Review 1 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hank

OK for the miney

Date:April 19, 2014
"The computer performs as expected. The price is what makes this computer shine. Great value for the money."
Review 2 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gdfabac

For the money this was the Best Purchase Ever

Date:April 13, 2014
"Everything works great . The cost was the best . The G585 is my 3rd Lenovo product and I've never been happier . Now the down side . Windows 8 installed on the old hunt and peck style laptop is the worst idea I've ever seen . The integrated graphics is too slow to handle newer game play except your basics . Overall thw G585 is a great office worker but for the gamer I would upgrade to a faster computer ."
Review 3 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kalaan
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

Good for this price

Date:March 8, 2014
"when I was brought this notebook . I was think that it's ok not good but after my pc performance I am really want to say thanks to Lenovo company .GREAT JOB LENOVO."
Review 4 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lyndsay
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Bad Purchase

Date:January 28, 2014
"I decided to buy a laptop over a netbook because I wanted to be able to do more, but this laptop is more frustration than its worth. It comes pre downloaded with tons of useless things that pop up continuously and slow it down, but doesn't come with things I would actually use, like a basic package of Office. It doesn't have and HDMI outlet, I thought that was a standard for modern day laptops. There is also the issue of the mouse, it will randomly freeze and stop working. I think half of my frustration with this laptop is Windows 8, but this is certainly a product i regret buying."
Review 5 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thehopeman
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:AMD
Memory:3.5 GB

Entry Range Best Deal.

Date:December 28, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Bluetooth, Security Features, Build Quality
"I purchased this laptop a couple months ago.
For the price it is a very good deal. I had a 750GB hd and a 4GB sodimm so I popped them in. I suggest you erase the HD then re-install Windows 8.1 then the updated drivers for best performance.
This is all what I need when i'm on the go. Can do
games, emulators, programming, office, videos and whatever you can think of (almost :) I recommend it.
"
Review 6 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Leebeth
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

First laptop now dead

Date:November 4, 2013
Pros: Security Features, Included software, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Video card, Warranty, Wireless card, Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Bluetooth, Weight, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Durability
"I am writing this review based on my overall personal experience.. This laptop was my first computer, I worked so hard to buy it, now its fried.. I bought it last year mid September, it lasted me a year and a month.. it cant take much stress, it doesn't work very fast but it was my first, thought i made a great choice... now i am in tears! Yesterday it was charging and when I opened it, it wasn't coming on, or even showing signs of charging, I am so hurt and disappointed.. hopefully next time when I buy another one I would seek costumer reviews first!!! It hurts to see people paying half the price I paid for mine and got all the stuff i never got and durability i didn't say what first is d worst right???"
Review 7 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cal90
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

surprising performance

Date:November 3, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance, gaming
Cons: Storage, Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Included Software, Processor
"Can run Skyrim and all newer Gen games on medium and low settings. Battery bummed out. Won't charge past 59% and needs to be turned off to charge and if its under 40% it will not recognize that its plugged into ac and won't charge when turned on."
Review 8 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CAVINISTER
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

WORST PURCHASE

Date:October 28, 2013
Pros: Storage
Cons: Warranty, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Processor, Build Quality
"I THOUGHT WITH THE SPECS THIS COMPUTER WILL BE BETTER. ITS EVEN SLOWER THAN THE HP I AM TRYING TO REPLACE. LOL 8 GB RAM 1TB MEMORY WELL AMD PROCESSOR VS 13 HP"
Review 9 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jguy
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Worst Computer Ever

Date:October 21, 2013
"This is the worst computer ever. Mine didn't even come with sound!!!!!!!!!"
Review 10 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PCguy
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Decent for only a few $$$$

Date:October 1, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Build Quality, Durability
">>So this was released about last year, my wife got this around 24 Oct. 2012, when Windows 8 version came out.
>>Windows 7 is great but once you know this get to know window 8 it is great as well.
>>
Also for the price of this AMD 1.8GHz processor build (even though i am a fan of Intel) this thing runs just fairly smooth. I've just played a few games:
Resident Evil 5: 1366x768 - MAX TEXTUR QUALITY - MEDIUM DETAIL - 46-72FPS
Battlefield 3: 1366x768 - ALL MEDIUM - 28-51FPS!!! WOW
GTA IV: 1366x768 - ALL MEDIUM - 23-42FPS
Diablo 3: 1366x768 - ALL MEDIUM/HIGH - 39-67FPS
People like my wife, take your pc to a service guy. this is an awesome Laptop for its price."
Review 11 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DisappointedBuyer
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

STAY AWAY

Date:August 20, 2013
Pros: looks
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Memory, Processor
"This is essentially a beautiful laptop with the brains of a netbook. I can't even play videos at 1080p off youtube with this machine without it stuttering. This was after I optimized it by deleting and stopping all extraneous programs. It can SOMETIMES run youtube videos at 720p without stuttering. All of this is with no other program running and minimal tabs open.
What's worse is that you can't even upgrage the RAM on this thing. It comes with 4gb ram, but that's the maximum. It only has one ram slot and the stock 4gb that it comes with takes it up.
If you want to do such basic things as surf the internet or watch youtube videos in HD, then stay away because even that is barely manageable. To it's credit, it is a beautiful looking laptop though."
Review 12 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rafael
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

2 stars

Date:March 26, 2013
Pros: Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, one key recovery thing
Cons: Security Features, Included Software, touchpad, mcafee
"Had this model with 4 GB of ram. Had to erease the McAfee which makes every computer useless and and froze this one as well. Works fast and great without the solution center and McAfee. I highly recommend that everyone that buys this computer gets rid of McAfee and gets some other virus protection instead. I don´t like the touchpad however which gives me a hard time sometimes.
Overall it´s a good buy considering the price (when you delete some software that constatly tries to make your life a misery).
"
Review 13 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
shane
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:3.5 GB

Garbage

Date:March 22, 2013
Pros: Weight, Storage
Cons: Video card, Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Processor
"Wind0ws 8 is so slow. 3.5 gb of RAM and it the G585 runs like at a snails pace.
The layout of the keyboard and the touch point mouse drives me crazy. The touch point is too large. My hands are constantly rubbing up against it while I'm typing sending the cursor all over the place. Many times highlighting the text I've written, erasing and replacing it.
The right shift key is very small. It would take a lot of getting used to as many times I go to use it I press the up directional key instead which moves my place again.
The wi-fi is awful! It's detection is VERY weak. You need to be quite close to the source or you will disconnect constantly.
Video also loads very slowly. Even advertisements on webpages are obscured regularly as it's processed."
Review 14 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TheWriter1968
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

1st new computer

Date:March 19, 2013
Pros: Processor, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Bluetooth
"It is my first new computer and I am slowly learning to love it the screen is nice and I like the keyboard there are some fit and finish issues, but it is a good unit and I would recommend it to my friends"
Review 15 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perry
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Good buy

Date:January 20, 2013
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Support, Durability, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Battery
"Nice laptop. Good features. Solid construction. Battery life is fair but what do you expect. Good mixture of features for money. Entry to mid level laptop. Windows 8 is interesting to say the least."
Review 16 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DTM006
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

slower than my phone

Date:January 15, 2013
Pros: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Wireless card, Memory, Weight, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor
"I bought this to replace my lenovo R400 laptop.
The good: looks, battery life, quiet, stays cool.
The bad: slow, doesn't play well with windows 8, no track ball, freezes up regularly, sometimes needs to reboot before wireless networks are detected.
The freeze up happens frequently when you wake it up and switch between programs. This is with a spreadsheet, web browser and a writing document open.
Lenovo solution center and windows explorer crash regularly. Frustrating and inexcusable for a new machine. I'm hoping a ram upgrade helps but this thing is so much slower and buggier than my old lenovo. Should have gotten another refurb R series instead."
Review 17 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fayaz
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:2 GB

GOOD

Date:January 5, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
"It is good but dont know if it will work in my home country Pakistan where the output electric power is 220V. I tried a lot to contact Techinal Support but failed."
Review 18 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DCJenn
Owned Product:1-6 months

Good value

Date:December 17, 2012
Pros: Weight, Included software, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Memory
"I've had my 2GB Lenovo G585 with Windows 8 for over a month now, and it's a no frills but affordable, reliable laptop, which is what I was looking for.
The only thing I would change is adding some extra ram to make it run faster. They sell a 4GB model, which is what I would recommend purchasing. This series can hold up to 8GB of ram, so it's possible to add more ram if you're looking to stream a lot of movies or play a lot of games."
Review 19 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JIMMANOU
Location:KATERINI,GREECE
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

JIM

Date:December 14, 2012
Pros: Battery
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
"VERY GOOD LAPTOP"
Review 20 for Lenovo G585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BummedOut
Location:San Francisco CA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

Is this a bug or just a bad computer?

Date:November 30, 2012
Cons: Memory, Weight, Processor, Included Software, Software compatibility, Display performance
"I've had this computer for two days. It freezes every few minutes. I couldn't even watch a show on Hulu without it freezing. Ironically, the pre-installed Lenovo Solution Center keeps closing because of some error....I have no idea if the AMD is just SLOW and horrible or if this is a bug. I'll call tomorrow but anticipate an ORDEAL getting this thing fixed/replaced.
This is my first time buying a Lenovo and all I can say is that I am extremely disappointed and frustrated. This computer seems almost like a joke.
I'll climb on the bandwagon and rag on Windows 8 too...but that's besides the point.
The main issue is the computer itself freezing, running slow"