Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated

15.6" mobile multimedia station. Fuels the most graphics-intensive games and applications.

Average customer rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
42 of 50(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moshi

Truely incredible, but disappointing display

Date:April 30, 2012
"I had been searching for some time to replace a 6-year-old workstation laptop of mine, and couldn't help but to look here first. I chose the y570 primarily because of its GPU offerings.
Pros:
+ An amazing keyboard; the best I've ever used on a notebook. 130 WPM is beyond easy and everything feels just right.
+ A nice build; both attractive and rather sturdy. Beyond a slightly loose hinge, this thing feels solid.
+ Surprisingly good 3D performance; while I knew the 555m was a good little GPU, I didn't expect that it was so... fast. Two months of use and I've never seen it hiccup on AutoCAD no matter what I throw at it. Games run amazingly as well.
+ Phenomenal sound output; there's actually a lot of bass coming out of these things.
+ Heat dissipates well; even when the GPU gets up to 76C, only the port on the left heats up. The bottom remains room temperature no matter what.
Cons:
- A positively terrible screen; while I got what I saw with the resolution, this is definitely a particularly mediocre TN. Blacks are only gray, and the banding from the color depth is only too evident. Viewing angels are alright, though.
- Trackpad locks up keyboard; when using the trackpad, no input from the keyboard is accepted whatsoever. This has forced me to use a dedicated mouse for any credible work in CAD or Photoshop. Mostly an inconvenience, but I've yet to see this problem in any other notebooks.
- CUDA (GPGPU) performance is rough; the 555m is good with rendering, but the most that I could pull through it was roughly 230 GFLOPs. I had originally though this was my own shoddy code, but it turns out that my desktop runs identical applications at its expected speed.
Overall, I'm very much impressed. Even if I knew of its negative aspects, I would still have bought this computer in a heartbeat. Thanks, Lenovo; you never let me down."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frank

Not a pleasant experience, returning machine

Date:June 9, 2012
"Didn't have a good experience with this purchase and machine. First machine showed up in a damaged box which was replaced. Second machine started acting funny going into Sleep mode after just 3 weeks; Going into sleep mode Windows 7 would crash with the reboot window coming up to boot in safe mode or Normal. Normal mode re-boot results in hung OS. Have to power off. System reboot diagnostics uncovered a damaged system file. Lenovo service response is to do the One Key Recovery which essentially resets the machine back to factory thus requiring a reinstall of everything I've added. Machine is being returned."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tiny227

Best Bang for buck

Date:April 26, 2012
"I've had this laptop for about 2 weeks now and I must say I'm pleasantly suprised!!
Pros: I love the keyboard, speakers are best in there class, like the fact that there is thermal management, battery life is pretty decent when Im doing light browsing, and overal build quality.
Cons: took a little while to get accustomed to the track pad has a kinda rough abrassive feeling. the screen is nice but the resolution should have been higher but it doesn't look pixelated in anyway.
overall it hard to find a laptop with an nvidia gt555 for ~800 dollars even thought this gt555 is lowest in its class and runs closer to a gt550 but for about 800 you'll probly be getting a gt540"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bobby
Location:Houston, Tx
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great but not Rapidrive

Date:February 8, 2012
Pros: Weight, Bluetooth, Video card, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Wireless card, Durability, Included Software, rapidrive
"I bought this for a gaming machine and got a fast laptop with a fast cpu, graphics and a SSD. After I received the laptop I went and updated all the drivers and software. I updated the Intel Rapidrive drivers and the laptop crashed the recovery CD I made did nothing. I placed a Windows 7 install CD in and the Raipdrive (HDD and SSD, combined in software) was not reconginzed and would not allow me to recover or reinstall. I had to install linux to get rid of the drive partitions before windows 7 would reinstall. The $60 Support CDs will only allow you to reinstall the Laptop to the way it was shipped. This means if you have rapidrive and the SSD or HDD have issues then you lose everything because if you replace one the Rapidrive is no longer valid and windows will have issues. However you can install windows from an OEM CD using the product code on the laptop and set it up how you want after you remove the drive partions (use linux, like Ubuntu just load it then reinstall windows)"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FoulPet
Location:Macon
Owned Product:Just got it

Screen Trash

Date:January 20, 2012
Pros: Video card
Cons: Support, Build Quality, Display resolution, Included Software, Display performance, color
"The screen on a Y570 is trash. Black color renders gray and always looks milky. Screen resolution is poor. I have an 8 year old laptop that looks better.
500gb hard drive is actually 421gb"
3 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
laserhead192W
Location:Atlanta, Ga
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Windows 8

Date:November 6, 2012
Cons: Support, Input/Output compatibility, Bluetooth, Storage, Warranty, Included Software, Software compatibility
"Do not try to upgrade this laptop to Windows 8.
It will not work. The web site will tell you yo can but it will not work. They have the hardware locked out and offer to unlock it for $90.00.
"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MusicMakinJay
Location:Sherbrooke QC. Canada
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Highly Recommend Ideapad Y570

Date:October 5, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: placement of usb ports
"I use my Lenovo Ideapad Y570 for music production and it's been excellent. Very fast and nice JBL speakers. No performance issues for my uses.
I use Ubuntu as a second boot option instead of Windows and it also works great!
The only thing I don't like is placement of the USB ports. The two USB 3.0 ports on the right side closest to user and the USB 2.0 port on the left side closest to user. If you have something plugged in and want to use your mouse, you have to be careful not to rest your wrist on the USB cord for whatever it is plugged in. I'd prefer the ports on the sides at the back instead of the front."
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deedster
Location:united states
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best gamig laptop

Date:October 1, 2012
"This is the 2nd Lenovo purchase in our household.
The gaming playability on the Y570 is amazing. Never over heats. I have no lagging issues. The different fan settings is a wonderful addition. I would recommend this to any gaming fan as I have 3 MMOS installed on mine and the graphics and preformance are exceptional. Job well done!!!!
"
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
debbie
Location:washington dc
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

stellar performance

Date:August 23, 2012
Pros: Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"I have had 5 IBM Lenovo Thinkpads but decided to try their new idea pads in the y570 with 1TB and 8 GB ram memory. What a difference, I am so glad I did in fact i wanted to buy another one, which is why I'm here, but don't see that particular combo. Boy if you can get this computer I'd recommend it, easy to hook up, easy to set up, and really zips around with the graphics which is what I needed since I do alot of product photos and upload to the web all the time. Bravo"
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mickey729
Location:Keller, TX
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

First Lenovo Purchase, so far ,it's great

Date:August 22, 2012
Pros: Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Wireless card, Weight, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Software compatibility, the charge plug bends too easily, the laptop usually overheats
"I got this laptop with a coupon direct from
Lenovo for 699, and for the price, it is amazing! I have another desktop, but i pretty much killed its HD 4200 2gb graphics with 3ds max alone, but the geforce 555M is pretty great, and even though it runs really hot when i create massive max files, it gets the job done. I would say, that with proper cooling, the 555 is good enough for games, but certainly not high-poly rendering. The processer is also great, an i7 2670, which handles almost everything i throw at it with ease. The RAM is maxed out at 8gb, but it is pretty slow, 1333mhz, 9-9-9-24, but the lag shouldn't be that much of a problem with gaming, and in relation to 1600mhz, cas7 RAM, there is not a massive discrepancy. The harddrive is kinda slow for 7200rpm, and with usb3.0, i usually get transfer speeds around 25-30mbps, and copy speeds around 17-20mbps. However, i maxed out once, moving a 3.3gb file at a maximum speed of 112mbps, which was pretty insane; however, after i downloaded 200gb worth of random softwares, that doesn't happen anymore.
Lenovo's included software is actually not that bad, not a lot of bloatware, except for Mcafee, which i uninstalled.
Lenovo RIC has an eye relaxing software, which i found pretty effective and eye-relaxing.
However, software compatibility mode for the OS is really messed up. I had a win 7 desktop, and i could run Vista programs in compatibility mode for Vista, but now I can't do that, which really aggravates me.
The battery life is great. When i do hardcore 3ds max, I can get a maximum of 1 hour of battery life, but for moderate web sufring and media, i can get over 5 pretty easily.
The graphics switchability is awesome, with intel 3000 and the 555. I find that switch convenient.
As for the features, the media buttons are very useful, the JBL speakers are more than adequate, and the SRS bass enhancer is legit.
The screen, despite being 1366x768, is bright, even if it is too glossy, and overall adequate for my needs. However, I usually hook up my laptop to my tv with a HDMI cable.
The keyboard, even though it has raised keys, is kinda clacky, and it’s not backlit either. The ENTER and SHIFT buttons are kinda awkwardly placed and are too small; the caps lock however, should be smaller, because I seem to hit it every 30 seconds.
The webcam is ok, but the microphones seem to be of great quality.
The worst parts about the laptop are: lack of backlit keyboard, software incompatibility, the oversensitive touchpad, the sometimes malfunctioning usb3.0s, bulkiness, weight and overheating; but overall, this laptop’s features and hardware overrule the cons to make this laptop very legit.
Now Here are some Tech Specs for my fellow nerds:
CPU: i7 2670
4 core 8 Thread
2.2ghz 3.1ghz turbo
32nm 45watt TDP
5 GT/s x22 multiplier
Socket G2 (rPGA988B)
Caches:
L1 data: 128kb
L1 inst: 128kb
L2: 1024kb
L3: 6mb
Bus speed: 99.8mhz
GPU: Nvidia GT 555M Fermi
96 cores (GF108), 128Bit 1024mb GDDR5 PCI 2.0x16
40nm 116mm
585million transistors
3.0GP/sec
12.0GT/s
50.2GB/s
GPU:753mhz
Mem:785mhz
Shader:1505mhz
supports dx11, CUDA, and SM5.0
RAM: 8192 mb DDR3
Dram frequency: 665.2mhz
CL:9
tRCD:9
tRP:9
tRAS:9
tRAS:24
CR:1T
HM65 Chipset
Battery:12.52v, 6264mWH
Specs courtest of CPUID Z, CPUID HW, and GPUZ
Hope this helps"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
compengi
Location:North Carolina, NC
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The Lenovo Y570

Date:August 6, 2012
"2 months ago I purchased the Lenovo y570. At first everything was great. It ran smoothly, I could play most of the newer games on medium to high quality, and it is somewhat portable. It is pretty heavy for a laptop, but then again it has some very good components and a full keyboard which takes up more space. I say it is somewhat portable because it barely fits into my backpack when I go on vacation. Vise versa if you don't go on vacation often this is a perfect laptop for you. At the beginning of this review I said "At first everything was great." I say this because just today the computer did not recognize the nvida graphics card when i turned it on. I have been doing research and I still do not know what caused this, but according to a response I have to update the Bios. This so far has been the biggest problem with the lenovo y570 laptop. Hopefully this will not happen to you if you buy this laptop because besides that this is an excellent product. As stated at the beginning this computer is fast. The i7 processor runs great along with the large amount of ram. The keyboard is nice, keys are nicely sized and spaced. I dont play many games so the storage is a good size. To people who have many games, its a little small. The audio is great. Overall the price to buy this is unbeatable and it is a good laptop."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imre
Location:Slovakia
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

A good choice

Date:July 26, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"This notebook i've bought in the beginning of this year (2012). I choosed this laptop because i'm a gamer and this laptop fits fully my needs. Good performance in games in HD resolution, nice battery life and a good cooling system too. I'm fully satisfied with this product from Lenovo."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light
Location:Thailand
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7

Great Gaming/Working Laptop

Date:July 19, 2012
Pros: Software compatibility, Video card, Screen size, Battery, Processor
"I am truly pleased with the purchase of my Lenovo y570. I got this computer mainly for gaming purposes (and Alienware was not available in the country I am in). Despite Alienware being my first choice, I am not disappointed at all in this computer. It has been able to play games such as Arma and Skyrim without a blink. The diverse cooling/fan options are also helpful for keeping the device cool. The exhaust comes out the side, so the bottom doesn't get as warm. The switchable graphics take a few minutes to figure out, but it does help to be able to give your computer a rest when not gaming, etc. I am thoroughly pleased with my purchase."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MSinCS
Location:Maryland
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very Solid laptop (figuratively)

Date:July 16, 2012
Pros: Video card, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Durability, Display resolution
"This laptop has served me very well over the last ~year. The graphics card has handled some last generation graphics intense games (Portal 2, for example) like a champ. I have not played any current generation games, but I am sure it will play them well (since it played the last generation games with almost all graphics set to max). The only two downsides to this laptop are physical. Nothing has broken yet, but when I pick up the laptop (im sure in an incorrect fashion) by pinching it (when it is closed) the outer shell sometimes flexes and makes a cracking noise (nothing super serious, but it sounds like it is not well supported or connected to the edges... hard to explain). The second physical issue is the location of the arrow keys. I do a lot of programming and it has taken my fingers quite a while to get used to the location and size of these keys. They are actually smaller than normal typing keys and they are not differentiated from the keys around them. I really wish they had used some of the real estate below their current location to shift them down and make them a bit larger. Overall a very solid laptop definitely worth a second look (great performance, sound quality is amazing, etc etc.). On top of that though Lenovo is one of the best companies I have done business with, I had an issue and they had someone in corporate contact me and help me resolve it. A++ on the customer service front (if you fight a tiny bit, but what company doesnt require that)."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoephone
Location:Blacksburg, Virginia
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Wonderful Overall Computer

Date:July 11, 2012
Pros: Warranty, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"I've owned this computer for several months (bought in February, posted in July).
Pros:
1. Video Performance (can run The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim on high settings fairly smoothly)
2. Screen (bright, no dust getting in it)
3. Keyboard (hard for junk to get under keys, they still all "snap", none sticking)
4. Speakers (dynamic speakers for a laptop)
5. Internet (your internet is the limitation, not the computer's connection)
6. Processor Performance. Really, this is the quickest laptop I've ever used, and is faster than many desktops, too!
7. USB. Reliable, quick. I *think* that 2 are 2.0, 2 are 3.0. Still, 4 USB are really useful.
8. Size. Compact size.
Cons:
1. CD/DVD loud/vibrates but still works fine
2. Slow and loud to hibernate
3. Headphone jack produced some buzzing (ignorable at times, really irritating at others)
Neutral:
1. Screen Resolution (good, could be better, but appropriate)
2. Weight (a bit heavy, but that's to be expected)
"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ch001

Helps me DO !

Date:June 21, 2012
"I have been using y570 for over half year and it has surpassed all my expectations.
my y570 is packed with i7 2630, 6GB DDR3 & 2GB GT 555m.
I'm an engineer and was in search of a powerful laptop capable easily running of FEM Simulation Softwares like Ansys. I also play games in my leisure so Graphics was also a main requirement.
Y570 just lets me do all these things on the go !
In fact this laptop is so powerful that I can play a graphic intense game while simulation is running on the background.
Features impressed me the most:
1)Unique feature about y570 is its Efficient cooling with copper heat sink which allows me to do all heavy computing throughout the day without any external cooling pad !
2)Lenovo Engery management software gets me battery backup upto 4 hours with normal usage which is amazing for laptop with such high h/w specs.
3)Speaker are very loud and provide very high audio quality..
4)One key theater makes media viewing much easier and immersive.
5)Gaming performance is very pleasing. It plays almost all recent graphic intense games with maximum graphics setting.
6)One key recovery has saved my life more than once as I use multiple OS and things get messed up sometimes!
The only thing I dont like about y570 is its display.Its color reproduction is not accurate.
But with custom color settings and Onkey theater option overall experience becomes pleasant.
Y570 is one of the most powerful and reliable laptops available in the market."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decalto

Better than Sony Vaio and Toshiba Satellite

Date:June 15, 2012
"I've had the Y570 with 500 GB and 7200 RPM for about a month now and I have to say it's probably the best laptop I've had thus far for the past 6 years. It has more and better features than both a Sony vaio and Toshiba satellite at a similar price and is very durable. The one future that I absolutely adore is the JBL speakers, it's much better than my previous Toshiba satellite Dolby speakers and sounds terrific! Overall I am pleasantly surprised at how amazing this laptop is."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stephane

Good product...till something happens...

Date:June 12, 2012
"I have an y570 since august 2011. I loved it till i got a BSOD "error 00000116" refering to the GT 555m...Sent it 2 time to the depot without succes...and still waiting for the repairs to be done properly.
So just to summarize, good machine till you get to deal with the support... time consuming and tiresome...
"
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mlin99

A Great Laptop but...

Date:May 22, 2012
"This is a great laptop. It is a great deal coming with an i5 2430M, Nvidia GT 555M, and a 500 GB hard drive. When I play Starcraft II on this computer it can get between 80-100 fps on medium and around 60 fps on high. The only problem with this is that it overheats. (I recommend getting SpeedFan to monitor temperature). When playing Starcraft II, the temperature can get as high as 95C! This is basically the limit of a Intel Sandybridge processor. I'm afraid that it's damaging the system. Even when the temperature is this high, the fan still doesnt seem to be running at that high of a RPM. Other than overheating, the Lenovo Y570 also comes with a LOT of bloatware. The most annoying this is that if you try to delete the bloatware, some of the external touch buttons (fan control, and sound buttons) refuse to work! Finally, I find it annoying that you get kinda ripped of the graphics card. The usual NVIDIA GT 555M has 144 cores. On the Lenovo Y570 model, it lacks 144 cores. It only has 96 cores. This makes it slower than other 555Ms and makes it almost a 550M overclocked. This makes me sad because I was told it was a 555M, but it only runs as fast as a 550M. http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GT-555M.41933.0.html . Other than that, the Lenovo Y570 is a great deal and has some great features. It also comes with great hardware. I would recommend this if you are looking for a fast gameable laptop that isn't too expensive. Just beware of it overheating ;)"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y570 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ThePrisoner

Maybe not so much for Linux

Date:May 21, 2012
"Right now this laptop is extremely difficult to get the Nvidia drivers to work on Linux. It uses a Nvidia Optimus chipset that switches over to a built-in Intel graphics card when not doing heavy graphics work to save power. This is an interesting feature but is not supported well under Linux. There is a project called bubblebeed that supports this feature (with some work, you will need to launch applications you want to access the Nvidia Card with a command called optirun ), but unfortunately the specific Nvidia GeForce GT 555M in this laptop (and only by Lenovo? ) is a bit of an oddball even for Optimus cards. There is a very complicated hack to get this card mostly working with bubblebeed. The battery life has not been wonderful under Linux either, all the acpi features seem to be working, but I only get about 1h 45m running on Ubuntu 12.04. It does boot very quickly, I have the version with the extra 32 Gig SSD and have all the OS and swap on there, that is a nice feature."