Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G580

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo Lenovo G580

Average customer rating:
3.791 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
8
46 of 67(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G580
Review 1 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sasha
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Perfect for college freshman

Date:August 4, 2012
Pros: Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Processor, Memory, Storage
"I scoured the internet and tech stores on the ground for a cost-effective, yet well stocked, and cool looking laptop for my soon to be college freshman son and I couldn't have found a better fit. Really shocked to find a laptop that has so much memory, hard drive, 3rd generation i5 chip, other great features and is designed to look much more expensive at this price. Only lacking feature that would have been good is no backlit keyboard but on the other hand this is an excellent tactile keyboard design."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tricera00
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

the stupid laptop ever

Date:December 19, 2012
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals
"mouse suck, want to do something keep open another window. still slow to open program, it took 3 mins to open."
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kj4qyr

lenovo g580

Date:July 2, 2014
"i would buy this again but not with windows 8 it was glitch i had to wipe my hard drive every 3 weeks and i deleted windows 8 and put windows 7 home premium"
Review 4 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crt111

Does It Fast

Date:June 18, 2014
"My fastest laptop ever. Would buy again."
Review 5 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
imran

better than the best

Date:June 11, 2014
"almost 8 months now, and its very very handy nad smooth much better than dell inspiron, and i ust love it loveno keep going"
Review 6 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
abbyjunior23

best performer ever

Date:June 8, 2014
"great cpu for a leptop"
Review 7 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DirtyRed

Very Satisfying Product

Date:June 5, 2014
"I really enjoy my Lenovo. So much that I bought my son one just like it."
Review 8 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lundy

Not that great

Date:June 1, 2014
"I don't like Windows 8, especially the start page and the tiles that are not touchscreen but look like it. The whole operating system is confusing. Plus for some reason the battery will no longer charge to over 60%."
Review 9 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GINA

LASTED 6 MONTHS

Date:May 19, 2014
"The hard drive and mother board crashed after 6 months of light use."
Review 10 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ldmike

Say NO to LeNOvo

Date:April 8, 2014
"Pros: Great looking machine
Cons: Constantly loses wireless connection, keyboard unresponsive and difficult to use, mouse pad poorly positioned, screen resolution poor, very slow machine when loading programs/web pages/etc., frequently delivers message of "low memory" even though machine is new and I have very few applications loaded and nothing sophisticated running, fan began making clicking sound within 3 months of purchase, sound quality is poor with buzzing from computer housing even at low volumes, battery life is only about 2-3 hours
"
Review 11 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kushal
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

I M LOVIN IT! :)

Date:February 17, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, design
"Nice one within a reasonable range. Just had some problems with keyboards, The (-) key broke out. But still I m satisfied. Played Crysis 3, Assassin's creed 3, NFS Most Wanted 2012, Hot pursuit 2010 any many heavy games. It has 2nd gen Ci3, 4gb DDR3 RAM, 500 GB HDD,1 gb nvidia G710m and the Win 8 64 bit. The 15.6" LED Screem is also nice.M LOVIN IT! :) \m/"
Review 12 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PonrajPaul
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Too Slow. Don't buy this

Date:February 13, 2014
Cons: speed, outdated drivers
"I am using this (with windows7, 4GB RAM) around 8 month. From the first day Its been too slow. I had hope that it will give better performance after sometime, but no improvement. booting time 10 mins. After boot i cant do even open "my computer" up to 15 mins. For each process i need to wait 3 mins. I have tried with all performance settings, no use. Nothing is good in this product. There is no negative starts, so i am giving 1. My old lower configuration desktop is 10 times better than this"
Review 13 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Zalcom
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good laptop for price

Date:February 11, 2014
Pros: Warranty, Processor, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance, price
Cons: Battery, Build Quality, Durability
"Has a good processor and graphics, but the placing for the touchpad is always in the way and i cant seem to find a way to turn it off. Also the price is great for such a quality laptop. This laptop can really used for anything; gaming, homework, or work. It easily fits in a backpack and has a large 15.6" screen. Overall a great laptop. The only thing i think is bad is the quality. I had it for about 4 months and i had to send it back to get repaired, because there were 3 buttons that weren't working and it wound charge. But when i sent it back they did fix it and send it back just like normal."
Review 14 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pat13
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8

Still undecided.

Date:February 3, 2014
"I was a keen fan of IBM machines and decided to continue with Lenovo.This machine seemed to offer what I wanted......maybe it did, maybe it didn't, I still don't know as it broke down after two days and is now back at the store I bought it from. Maybe going with Lenovo wasn't such a good idea."
Review 15 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alicelauren
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Best laptop ive ever had

Date:December 28, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery
"this is the best laptop ever, its so fast, and easy to use, I would recommend it! I got it for Christmas and its the best present ive ever had! very happy with it :))))"
Review 16 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dropped
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Wireless connection requires restart

Date:December 16, 2013
Cons: Wireless card
"Everything works great except for the wireless connection which requires a restart of the computer every time it goes it goes into hibernation."
Review 17 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
navi
Owned Product:Less than a month

awsome

Date:November 20, 2013
"the system performance will be good. and pice wise also fine. more over woking good."
Review 18 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mitch
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Good budget laptop.

Date:October 31, 2013
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Security Features, Build Quality, operating software
"This is my 2nd lenovo laptop, the first one I had was a very old model, but this is 20x better! It's got a decent processor so it's fairly fast, the graphics card can play any old games and its ideal for DJ's, i use it with a variety of software and it runs smoothly. However, try to get windows 7, windows 8 isn't the best of OS"
Review 19 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Deven
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Missing important keys

Date:October 31, 2013
Pros: Processor
Cons: Support
"Keys for volume control + mute is missing. Caps Lock, Num Lock indicator lights are also given at front, below touch pad which is not visible easily..."
Review 20 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arsalaan
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop!

Date:October 26, 2013
Pros: Battery
"I love my G580, its the best compared to other models i've used in Dell and HP. I recommend this for all sorts of everyday work..."