Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
2.623 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
13
2 stars
20
1 star
13
16 of 61(26%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MovinOn

Declining quality...

Date:May 8, 2014
"I've used, recommended, and resold Thinkpads since the 90's. Probably sold 50 of them last year. I'm an indepedent small business consultant. It seems the move from the 430/530 to 440/540 reduced quality and eliminated features. They've taken premium out of their premium laptop lineup. No more audio controls. No keyboard light. Apparently they couldn't afford to put in a hard drive light or Wifi light or wifi switch, although the price is similar to the 430/530, the quality and features have simply declined. I'll be rounding up the competition and looking for better value/features. Think I've sold a half dozen of new lineup, NO ONE likes the new trackpad/eraser head - Lenovo has sacrificed their signature! Looking to find a better recommendation."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mattsj

Why fix if it isn't broken!!

Date:June 23, 2014
"I ABSOLUTELY hate the new mouse/track pad. The CDROM is no longer swappable with just a latch. You have to unscrew the main bottom cover, then unscrew the CDROM then slide it out. External SATA support has been removed. No lights for status (what is my wifi, HDD, etc. really doing??) and the physical switch for turning on/off wifi is gone. The keyboard now includes a number pad and when I’m on an airplane (and this is a BIG laptop in cramped coach) the keyboard is offset to the left. The camera is still not able to be tilted. The latch to lock the lid closed is also removed, so now if you carry it wrong, it will pop open (I almost dropped the thing twice!)
And the WORST of all, is the new power connector (rectangular versus circular.) EVERYWHERE I go conference rooms have the Lenovo standard circular power connector. I have the full HD display 1920x1080 which means tiny icons, and windows 7 can’t scale the icons well. But really the power adapter really makes me mad!
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TommyG

Worst possible laptop you could buy

Date:June 6, 2014
"Made of cheap material. Frequently gets stuck when starting up on the "Power on self test" screen (the first thing you see when you switch it on. Mouse/trackpad often doesnt recognise clicks. No way to determine left click from right - this laptop is pretty much useless without an external mouse. Docking station - doesn't recognize external monitor is plugged in until windows is loaded (bios issue - not windows issue). Doesnt shut down properly. Doesnt always go into sleep mode when power button pressed. Sometimes when put in sleep mode will end up going fully shut down on its own and when you try to switch it back on will go into a full boot, at the end of which windows tells you the machine was not shut down properly. There simply could not be a poorer quality laptop out there."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
trictric

Most Dissapointed T-series ever

Date:April 8, 2014
"Bought a T540 and returned it right away.
Numpad not useful because keyboard went too far to the left so it's not the best ergonomic position for your hands anymore!
the essential left & right clik for mouse disapeared
F-keys are gone! in a business world with erp where using f-keys continuously, lenovo is going the wrong way. after we returned the t540 we have bought already ten T530 hope lenovo will go back to the Thinkpad roots!!
"
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jake

Most Problematic Computer I've Ever Owned

Date:July 23, 2014
"I give this computer one star because I have had non-stop issues with it since I purchased it. Applications have crashed constantly, it is slow (despite upgrades such as additional RAM and SSD), and i haven't stopped having issues with the track pad.
I decided to pursue costumer service after a friend used my computer and said: "Jake, how do you get anything done on this thing?" After hearing that, I realized I shouldn't put up with this thing and all of its issues.
DESPITE ALL OF MY ISSUES WITH THE MACHINE, I WILL SAY LENOVO HAS INCREDIBLE COSTUMER SERVICE, AND IT IS FOR THIS REASON THAT I AM WILLING TO GIVE THEM ANOTHER CHANCE. Perhaps I just got a lemon.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LostCustomer

Ergonomic Disaster

Date:July 22, 2014
"Received my T540p just last week and the keyboard design is a horrible joke. It's shoved so far to the left that my left hand hangs off the laptop surface when I type. I've had two Z-series models prior to this and have had good service. However, this design is so pitiful that the laptop experience is now dismal. Combined with all the peripherals I purchased, I'm stuck with a $2000 mistake. Lenovo has lost a customer, I will no longer recommend Lenovo, and I won't be back. This is really disappointing."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nickname

Missing the quality of the former T-Series

Date:July 16, 2014
"Dear Lenovo T-Series engineers. The T540p notebook is no longer worth to be called T-Series. It is very disappointing as a long term T-Series user to experience this lack of quality, features, ..., and on top malfunctions regarding drivers. All that what has made a T-Series is gone. Once customers are disappointed as I am, you will hardly get them back."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
InfiniteSquadron

Best Laptop Ever

Date:June 18, 2014
"What a fantastic laptop! It has always lasted me and done me good. Definitely recommended for users!"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SmBusDude

Sales Great - Tech Support Crew Terrible

Date:May 29, 2014
"A wonderful experience with the sales people at Lenovo - well trained, seemed to care about my needs. I had a problem, possibly a bad chip set - but in fixing Technical Support was the worst I have encountered. So glad I did not buy an extended warranty as I understand you call the same place (Atlanta) for all Tech Work. They have no second level of support. A very frustrating experience and told different things by each next person I got when calling back in to try and solve the same problem. Very much a waste of time to call Tech Support."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kliffy

Awful Bulit quality

Date:May 26, 2014
"Feels like a cheap DELL or Acer! this is by no means a ThinkPad plastic is week and feels and sounds hollow of centered keyboard Is terrible! Sent mine back and bought Macbook Pro Retina"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OfficeUser23

Avoid if possible

Date:May 26, 2014
"Being a user of the T510 for 3 years I was expecting a decent upgrade on receiving my T540p. What a horrible mistake. How can a engineer sign-off on the track pad, while typing a document you can easily touch the touchpad with your palms and thereby selecting multiple lines and deleting it while continuing writing. The touchpad left/right buttons must also be specifically pressed with less than a 1mm margin for error. There is no night light and no HDD light to have a idea that the laptop is busy. I'm a utterly disgusted and disappointed customer."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simi

Good buy but be careful with driver selections

Date:May 12, 2014
"The ThinkPad 540p laptop is a good buy and operates very efficiently. I have Linux operating system installed with Ubuntu software and a virtual box containing Windows 8.1 and Windows XP. If using Linux with Ubuntu software, be careful with the driver selections. The selection of a Realtek driver will cause problems in setup for wireless connections."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ARIJS

Still Happy with T540P

Date:May 6, 2014
"I customized a T540P and am very happy with this machine. It drives my Samsung 27" monitor at native resolution - a big plus while at home. I also have the high res screen on the notebook which I am glad I selected.
One issue I have experienced that is Lenovo's issues is that one of my shift keys is not working properly. Overall I am happy with the quality.
If there is an issue with this machine it is more a matter of Microsoft and their poor Office 2013. Folks stay away from 2013! I run VBA macros in Excel and it takes 4 times the amount of time to run compared to Office 2007. I also do not like the visual appearance of Office 2013, again earlier versions were better."
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
srini

Cool laptop

Date:April 30, 2014
"yes you run anything, these t series laptops have plenty of space for air flow to keep processor and hdd cool. That means long life for laptop.
they are heavy stable should treat more like desktop (but more portable and cute than a desktop) not like a travel thing and you will love these for ever if you use it the way they are manufactured for.
best thing is you can replace parts yourself if need arise in future like a desktop. But, only risk is companies stop manufacturing older models or make parts available.)"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tyroneS2S

Very disappointing generation

Date:April 9, 2014
"Highly disappointed with the latest T-series, X-series, etc. with what they did to the TrackPad. It's a terrible sloppy design. I am a diehard Thinkpad user, and we have been deploying in our business for ten years and I cannot believe I'm actually thinking of going with another manufacturer... trouble is, I don't know whom, as Thinkpad was really the only "high performance/build quality" laptop left and now with that potentially going out the door, I'm not sure where to look. I'm really hoping this is a large oversight/design fluke and that they listen to their customers and loyal fans and undo these mistakes.
Lenovo finally adds a 10-key, IPS options, etc. and then does this! I won't even get into the keyboard layout."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kontsevoy

Shadow of its former self

Date:April 7, 2014
"The absence of Ultranav on the T540 is a real tragedy. Apple-style trackpad with virtual buttons is a pain: my thumbs do not feel which button I'm pressing. Hitting the middle button to close tabs in various apps is now next to impssible.
Another letdown is the new keyboard. Lenovo is cutting costs now and some buttons are simply gone, for example back/fro buttons which used to be on top of left/right. As a result, I've lost my keys for going back/fro when using a web browser - one of the most common tasks!
This is still probably better than an average junk at BestBuy but it's nowhere close to legendary Thinkpad designs of the past.
Lenovo, please bring back the functionality that we, the business users, want. Leave Apple-chasing to your Ideapad division."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tonedeafdog

Good performance, mediocre features

Date:April 1, 2014
"Overall computing performance seems to be pretty good,but there are a few annoyances. The wi-fi card is poor: after a week it stopped working altogether and has to be replaced. The touchpad is large and the buttons are integrated at the bottom, with no indication of the demarcation between left button and right button, so it's hard to tell what you've pressed unless you go specifically for the corner of the touchpad. It's also too far a reach from the pencil-head pointer to the buttons to be comfortable. There are NO activity LEDs on this thing, so you never know whether the hard drive is active or the machine is simply stuck on a process. There are better machines out there."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShawnD
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop, terrible ergonomics

Date:March 28, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"Using Thinkpads for 10+yr (being IBM partner). Moving from T410.
T540p keyboard (KB) and trackpad (TP) are Ergonomics at their worst. Whoever decided that the KB should not be centered in front of the screen used very poor logic (twisted back or head to view). # pad and off center KB should be a conscious feature choice.
Trying to right click on the TP is so bad (especially while using trackpoint), that in the week getting it setup, I have severe carpal pain in my right hand thumb. So much so, that it compelled me to write this review. There is no exaggeration here.
I will be looking to see if there is some way to get a centered keyboard w/o the number pad. I usually use a BT mouse, so I can care less about the terrible trackpad now, but some users reading this MAY care."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ITGUY
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Clunky and Disfunctional

Date:March 24, 2014
Pros: Processor
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Wireless card, Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Build Quality, Screen size, Display performance
"This laptop blue screens out of the box, update your drivers (video driver update is optional, but should be required), and the wireless card is the reason for the blue screen.
The overall design looks like it was designed 20 years ago.
Weighs a ton, and overpriced for the product you get. I wouldn't pay more than $500 for the hardware and design given. Was purchased through work."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Disappointed
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Disappointing

Date:March 23, 2014
Cons: Display resolution, Wireless card, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals
"Overall this machine is adequate. I've had the bluescreen issues several times, the wifi connection was an issue until I turned bluetooth off, but the mousepad is a joke. Horrible design. My earlier Thinkpad (T61) was amazing, lasted 6 years with NO problems (still works...just too slow). This one is just a disappointment."