Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
2.604 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
11
2 stars
20
1 star
7
12 of 48(25%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tyroneS2S

Very disappointing generation

Date:April 9, 2014
"Highly disappointed with the latest T-series, X-series, etc. with what they did to the TrackPad. It's a terrible sloppy design. I am a diehard Thinkpad user, and we have been deploying in our business for ten years and I cannot believe I'm actually thinking of going with another manufacturer... trouble is, I don't know whom, as Thinkpad was really the only "high performance/build quality" laptop left and now with that potentially going out the door, I'm not sure where to look. I'm really hoping this is a large oversight/design fluke and that they listen to their customers and loyal fans and undo these mistakes.
Lenovo finally adds a 10-key, IPS options, etc. and then does this! I won't even get into the keyboard layout."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
trictric

Most Dissapointed T-series ever

Date:April 8, 2014
"Bought a T540 and returned it right away.
Numpad not useful because keyboard went too far to the left so it's not the best ergonomic position for your hands anymore!
the essential left & right clik for mouse disapeared
F-keys are gone! in a business world with erp where using f-keys continuously, lenovo is going the wrong way. after we returned the t540 we have bought already ten T530 hope lenovo will go back to the Thinkpad roots!!
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kontsevoy

Shadow of its former self

Date:April 7, 2014
"The absence of Ultranav on the T540 is a real tragedy. Apple-style trackpad with virtual buttons is a pain: my thumbs do not feel which button I'm pressing. Hitting the middle button to close tabs in various apps is now next to impssible.
Another letdown is the new keyboard. Lenovo is cutting costs now and some buttons are simply gone, for example back/fro buttons which used to be on top of left/right. As a result, I've lost my keys for going back/fro when using a web browser - one of the most common tasks!
This is still probably better than an average junk at BestBuy but it's nowhere close to legendary Thinkpad designs of the past.
Lenovo, please bring back the functionality that we, the business users, want. Leave Apple-chasing to your Ideapad division."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tonedeafdog

Good performance, mediocre features

Date:April 1, 2014
"Overall computing performance seems to be pretty good,but there are a few annoyances. The wi-fi card is poor: after a week it stopped working altogether and has to be replaced. The touchpad is large and the buttons are integrated at the bottom, with no indication of the demarcation between left button and right button, so it's hard to tell what you've pressed unless you go specifically for the corner of the touchpad. It's also too far a reach from the pencil-head pointer to the buttons to be comfortable. There are NO activity LEDs on this thing, so you never know whether the hard drive is active or the machine is simply stuck on a process. There are better machines out there."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShawnD
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop, terrible ergonomics

Date:March 28, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"Using Thinkpads for 10+yr (being IBM partner). Moving from T410.
T540p keyboard (KB) and trackpad (TP) are Ergonomics at their worst. Whoever decided that the KB should not be centered in front of the screen used very poor logic (twisted back or head to view). # pad and off center KB should be a conscious feature choice.
Trying to right click on the TP is so bad (especially while using trackpoint), that in the week getting it setup, I have severe carpal pain in my right hand thumb. So much so, that it compelled me to write this review. There is no exaggeration here.
I will be looking to see if there is some way to get a centered keyboard w/o the number pad. I usually use a BT mouse, so I can care less about the terrible trackpad now, but some users reading this MAY care."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ITGUY
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Clunky and Disfunctional

Date:March 24, 2014
Pros: Processor
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Wireless card, Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Build Quality, Screen size, Display performance
"This laptop blue screens out of the box, update your drivers (video driver update is optional, but should be required), and the wireless card is the reason for the blue screen.
The overall design looks like it was designed 20 years ago.
Weighs a ton, and overpriced for the product you get. I wouldn't pay more than $500 for the hardware and design given. Was purchased through work."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Disappointed
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Disappointing

Date:March 23, 2014
Cons: Display resolution, Wireless card, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals
"Overall this machine is adequate. I've had the bluescreen issues several times, the wifi connection was an issue until I turned bluetooth off, but the mousepad is a joke. Horrible design. My earlier Thinkpad (T61) was amazing, lasted 6 years with NO problems (still works...just too slow). This one is just a disappointment."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MCMAC
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Piece of Garbage

Date:March 19, 2014
Cons: Wireless card, Bluetooth, Weight, Processor, Build Quality
"Don't buy this piece of trash! I have bought 3 of these computers and every single one of them had nothing but problems. All of them would not connect to wifi. All of them have issue with power and network.
It's a worthless machine.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jwood
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Product almost perfect

Date:March 17, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Weight, Included Software
"Very solid product all of the features and dependability you need. Makes windows 8 look good. The 3k screen is incredible but even the optional nvidia graphics card is not able to handle the high resolution for gaming or super snappy response on graphics heavy programs. But so much easier on your eyes and such a true and clear picture and color. Key board is fantastic and the laptop feels extremely durable and does exactly what you need it to no questions asked.Excellent battery life considering its powering one of the highest resolution screens on the market. Adobe products have not perfected resolution for the screen size so it does render some very tiny icons for them. For the price it should come with office."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
S54Coupe
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Forms Destroys Function

Date:March 11, 2014
Pros: Processor, Durability, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Warranty, Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Display performance, trackpad
"Although this machine did "blue screen" on its very first boot and the graphics occasionally hang, it is very powerful and well built.
However the trackpad's lack of buttons and keyboard's skewed layout make this machine difficult to use quickly... very aggravating if you're trying to build/edit documents/spreadsheets/code/etc. Not good for business at all.
If you plan on having this machine docked with an external keyboard and mouse you will be happy, but if you use this as an actual portable piece of equipment you will be frustrated and slowed down until you retrain your hands the handle the un-ergonomic shape and giant combined left/right click button."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quis
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5

Well, I like it

Date:March 9, 2014
Pros: Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: trackpad
"First: the trackpad is just as bad as the other reviews suggest. Its surface is fine but the way the single button works is just too weird. I have an Ideapad Yoga as well and I had expected a similar one, which would be OK - but it isn't, it's nothing like as good. So I'm using a mouse.
Everything else about it is great though. The 3K screen is the best display for software development I've used: not only very high-res but bright and a matte finish. I find the heavy keyboard action satisfying: it's quite an "old-fashioned" feel, for a chiclet, and I like that. The machine is fairly quick and very quiet."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Steve
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

FHD is just terrible

Date:March 4, 2014
Pros: Battery, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Display resolution, Build Quality, Display performance
"I could lived with the new touchpad that I find better and the old granular one. The problem is the FHD 1920x1080 low quality screen. It looks so washed, it is like 10 times worse than the FHD on the T530 (wich was good). How can you work on that?
I use both linux and windows, and I don't want the super high resolution because it looks too small in most applications, and if you scale, it looks blurry. If you can't make an IPS FHD panel, or a FHD TN panel that looks at least normal, Ill never buy lenovo again.
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Glen
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

T540p DEsign Issues

Date:February 28, 2014
Pros: Storage
Cons: Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance, backlit keyboard, keyboard design
"Lenovo used to have great keyboards. This one is not good. The backlighting is worthless requiring you to prop up the machine to stop it from irritating you. There are no lights for Numlock or wireless. I still can not figure out how to adjust contrast after extended effort as the screen is very washed out. The speakers sound very cheap. despite getting top of the line equipment it is slower than my previous machine. Not sure why. I used to like Lenovo laptops."
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CalMass
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not really that bad

Date:February 21, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Warranty, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"The 540P build quality does seem a notch below that of my old T61 and I miss the LEDs that kept me informed of system status. Then there's that measly one year warranty. The T61 was covered for three years. I have a sinking feeling about the 540p's durability and the consumer level warranty doesn't help.
I think that the real problem is the pairing of the trackwhatever technology with Windows 8. It's a deadly combination. The annoyingly giant clock pops up whenever your finger strays too far on the trackpad.
To be honest I use a laser mouse except when on a plane so I don't rely heavily on the trackgizmo.
If Microsoft would get beyond the concept that the OS has to be a cross between Apple OS X and an ATM, I think that trackpad satisfaction would not be so abysmally low."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ivan
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

One of the best

Date:February 20, 2014
"I love lenovo products, but here is problem with ac adapter occurs."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walter
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Beware the Clunk-Pad

Date:February 14, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, the clunk-pad
"This is a great machine, BUT if you are a speed typist, THIS MACHINE IS NOT FOR YOU. Read the reviews. The Clunk-Pad has a huge travel, and requires a heavy touch to Clunk. I grew to hate it. We dedicated Lenovo customers have to vote with our dollars and not tolerate Lenovo degrading the Lenovo experience.Customer service - as usual - was great. Lenovo should offer assurances to us that it is going back to the drawing board - yesterday - to address our concerns. DO NOT FALL FOR A STEEPLY DISCOUNTED PRICE ON ONE OF THE MANY RETURNS OF THE T540 THAT ARE POURING INTO LENOVO UNLESS TYPING AND THE TOUCHPAD ARE OF LITTLE CONCERN TO YOU (you'll use a peripheral keyboard and mouse)."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointed
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Mouse is a Rat

Date:February 9, 2014
Pros: ibm service
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"After owning a T520, T500, and two previous Thinkpads, I naturally looked to add another one for my business. It came last month and I STILL haven't figured out how to control the touchpad. Other features (e.g., Print Screen) took me some time to figure out how to find them. I also find the non-centered keyboard disconcerting.
I've always been very happy with Lenovo/IBM Service and did not consider going with another vendor, but now I'm certainly rethinking things!"
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SantaCruz
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Love the Backlit Keyboard, Hate the New TrackPad

Date:January 31, 2014
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Memory, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, design quality
"I've been using ThinkPads for years. This purchase was to be an upgrade from a ThinkPad T510. However once I started using it I found I hated the new Trackpad that eliminates the three buttons, its awful. I ended up giving the T540 to another staff member and purchased a new T530 instead. It seems Lenovo is trying to cut corners on their premium laptops in order to shave a few dollars from the selling price. Hopefully the next generation of the T series will put the premium back in the ThinkPad line."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sjb1000
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo's making it cheap.

Date:January 25, 2014
Pros: Weight
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Software compatibility, touchpad
"I moved to this from a T510. Like other reviewers I have to agree that the touchpad is awful. The basic problem with the PC is that instead of making a premium PC Lenovo tried to cut corners everywhere on the laptop to reduce the Lenovo cost and then pass it off as a premium PC. Its unfortunate."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MJS25
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great keyboard and service, trackpad dld not work

Date:January 24, 2014
Pros: Warranty, Support, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: keypad
"I own a T510, which has been a great machine. I purchased a T540P in late November. It would boot up about one time in five or ten tries. After ten or fifteen minutes, it would produce the blue screen of death. The left-click area of the trackpad worked about one time in five or ten.
I returned that machine with no problem and Lenovo quickly sent a replacement. That machine booted fine, but the left-click area worked about one time in ten, so I returned that machine, again with no problem.
Service has been great, as always. I will probably just wait a few months and buy another T540P or W540 because their keyboards are so much better than the competition and because the service is great."