Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad L440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad L440

Average customer rating:
3.615 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 13(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad L440
Review 1 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Subrato

WOW FACTORED LAPTOP

Date:April 8, 2014
"This is one of they best laptop i have used. I have moved from DELL to TP. Very good in features and WOW in performance. Battery backup which i have tested is non stop 8 hrs.
This is too good and would recommend all."
Review 2 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigDogLover
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Laptop in 15 years

Date:March 10, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: trackpad
"I had always wanted a Thinkpad ever since using one for work nearly 15 years ago but the price was out of reach. I settled on higher end HP laptops for the most part, but the build quality wasn't up to par with that of my old Thinkpad. So, when I could finally afford a Thinkpad, I didn't skimp on the processor, memory or storage. And I'm happy I didn't. The only problem I've found so far with this laptop after owning it for 3 months is the track pad. It still is somewhat difficult to get used to since there are no physical buttons. Given no other problems, I'd say I'm extremely happy with this product. I run both Windows 8 and Ubuntu on it. It's solid, fast, compact, and has a great solid feel. I imagine this one will be with me for several years to come."
Review 3 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hoptimist
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Noisy fans!

Date:February 10, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Video card, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, noisy fans
"The fans are so annoying. They are running almost constantly making it a pain to use this for longer periods.
Changed the HDD to a SSD to make sure it wasn't spinning from the HDD that caused the noise.
Even if im on desktop not doing anything, the fans are running.
The building quality seems weaker than earlier thinkpad models. The touchpad have a hard time registering right click (often takes it as a left-click).
Other than that, I'm fully satisfied with this product - BESIDES THE NOISY FANS. It delivers what I expected for CPU, GPU and speed. Overall a fine machine for the price."
Review 4 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gulada97
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good laptop

Date:February 8, 2014
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution
"Good laptop for the money, I went with the HD+ display, i5 processor and 8gb memory. Runs great and is quiet. Battery is pretty good for a laptop, but will not last 8+ hours like advertised. Typical Thinkpad look, it may not be the prettiest laptop on the market, but it will get the job done. I prefer the old touchpad like the one on my W520."
Review 5 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
733tBuilder
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Poor Construction

Date:January 31, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability
"Good Internals, good screen, and good camera. The rest is junk for the price. The housing is flimsy, cheap and feels like basic ABS plastic. I broke off a tab for the under panel just increasing the RAM. Why aren't all the USB ports 3.0? No back glow on the keyboard either. Also doesn't have the same dark finish as in the pictures, the one I was given is more matte charcoal colored. Don't waste your money on this, get a T series for the same price roughly and a much better build quality. Lastly, they changed the connector for charging the laptop which means all the other bricks I have available for other users when they forget there wont be usable"
Review 6 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
attran95
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good laptop overall, although there're some cons

Date:January 25, 2014
Pros: Battery, Processor, Durability, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Weight, Included Software, Display performance
"This laptop could never be on the level of other Thinkpad lines such as T or X series, but it is not too bad either. Battery is good for me, usually lasts about 4 hours of average use. Performance is smooth and fast, although once in a while it hangs for seconds. Build quality is good, but not up to normal Thinkpad quality. the keyboard is ok, although I like the old keyboard better.
Some disadvantages are mediocre screen and bloatwares. The screen has terrible viewing angle; the anti-glare thing doesn't help.
I have never had any problems in general. I bought this on Black Friday at $600 with some good specs, so I think it is a good deal for me."
Review 7 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
akshayhathwar
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Value buy

Date:January 16, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Weight
"Amazing laptop. You can get the best configs(-SSDs) for less than $900.
What's good: Durability of a ThinkPad. I love the 5 point touch pad.
What I din't know:
The standard WiFi that comes with this laptop isn't good. I din't know about it till I started using it.
(ThinkPad Wireless 2 x 2 BGN with Bluetooth). This laptop is just too good except for that. I wish I could change it now..
If there's anyone from the lenovo team who's reading this review, can you please tell me how I can upgrade the Wireless for this laptop? Would appreciate it."
Review 8 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Skob
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Extremely disappointed

Date:January 16, 2014
Pros: Battery
Cons: Warranty, Weight, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"I am extremely disappointed with this laptop. Despite only having it for about a month, the plastic is already chipping and coming apart, resulting in it looking very used already. I could not even consider returning it because I did not have the computer in my hands until after the 21-day window had already ended.
Would not recommend to anyone, and I will probably avoid purchasing any Lenovo products in the future. The quality has plummeted on the Thinkpad line since IBM sold it, its a real shame."
Review 9 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andrew
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop for business/school

Date:January 6, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Security Features, Software compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I just purchased this model for graduate school. My needs: mobililty, no frills, a long battery life, a dvd drive, and good performance for running business/stats software. Quad core i7 4702MQ, 4 gb mem, 1 tb HDD, 9 cell, AC wifi, and HD+ screen. 9 cell battery life under normal use 9:15, which is really great. Laptop is a great size/weight even with 9 cell battery, kept cool and quiet, and has a great display with the HD+ upgrade. Solid build quality, plastic casing feels very rigid and tough. I would recommend going for 8 gb of ram. Trackpad is quirky and sensitive and difficult to right click. Overall a great no frills business/school laptop that gets the job done and competes with the Macbook on every level while retaining the functionality of Windows."
Review 10 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
L440Customer
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good and bad

Date:December 27, 2013
Pros: Processor, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Support, Battery
"We've been using Dells for several years and thought we'd evaluate something new. Overall, it's a nice system. The 1600x900 screen is good and bright, although contrast/brightness changes severely with vertical angle. I like the keyboard and the touchpad, both provide excellent feedback. The speaker is much better than the previous Dells I've owned. The system does not have LED indicators showing wireless status, disk ops, etc, which could be inconvenient but hasn't been yet. It seems solid enough and well constructed.
The battery life is the real disappointment. I get 3.5-5.0 hours on a full charge. Customer service can't tell me what to expect for battery life, despite the fact that the L440 page states 12+ hours. They have sent me a new battery, with the same result."
Review 11 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RevX
Owned Product:Less than a month

Not the best

Date:December 24, 2013
Pros: Security Features, Durability
Cons: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals
"I have been a decade-long ThinkPad fan and opted for the more budget-friendly and "green" L440 when my 2-year-old T-series laptop was stolen, but the L440 has not been impressive thus far. Rather than the "up to 12 hours" that is touted as the battery life, I too have found it to be closer to 5-6 hours. I am also not a fan of the new integrated trackpad buttons. I am probably averaging 3 click attempts per actual effective click, which is frustratingly inefficient and causes repetitive movements, but I am waiting to see if it loosens up over time before sending it back."
Review 12 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kalpana
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent Notebook ever

Date:December 17, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
"I love this device. Lighter, very quit, no heating problem compact size, faster.
I did spend about 12 to 13 grand to by dell vastro 3400 and toshiva satellite M105 in past never had good experience.
I am 100 % satisfied with this device. The only lack of HDMI ports is bit backlog but I purchased the express card to do so about on 90 bock.
Kalpana
Dover PA
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EricS
Owned Product:Less than a month

As Expected

Date:December 17, 2013
Pros: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Battery
"What I needed was a notebook that just worked without any frivolus features and this one did just that. The intergration of the TrackPoint's button isn't as intuitive as dedicated buttons. Battery life was below advertised with 5 hours at the most with a 6-cell and there is not UltraBay support for a second battery. The NGFF SSD makes the notebook much snappier, startup is less than 8 seconds. In the end, though it isn't as feature filled, it does the job."