Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad L440

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad L440

Average customer rating:
3.542 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
2
16 of 24(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad L440
Review 1 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pugh

Mostly awesome

Date:June 15, 2014
"After finally needing to upgrade computers, I decided to invest in a Lenovo. I had heard of their fantastic reliability for the longest time, and knew that it would be a good purchase. Out of the box, everything was great. With i7 and the 8 gigs of RAM, the thing runs like a dream. The only set back is, like everyone else has said, the trackpad. It was something that didn't need to be fixed. I have tried so hard to like it, but it is way too buggy. Right click is impossible to find when you want it, and appears when you don't. At the end of the day, it is a great computer with everything I need for college. I guess I will just have to get a USB mouse."
Review 2 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charlie

Good Purchase

Date:June 13, 2014
"Performance was greet, did not Like function keys as default. Had to write Visual Studio program to make default the F keys."
Review 3 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarkN

T61 lcd died

Date:June 12, 2014
"This is a replacement for my beloved T61. The lcd died after 7+ years. Anyway, this L440 is not quite as nice as the old T61, which had a magnesium top, better touchpad, and overall better fit,finish,and build quality. However, this L440 is also about $400 less expensive and should do what I need a laptop for."
Review 4 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daniel

Very good

Date:June 11, 2014
"This laptop exceeded my expectations.
The keyboard is simply one of the best out there. The key travel is extremely generous and really fun to type on. Performance wise, I equipped my laptop with the 4700-MQ and it handles everything perfectly. But, I still found the laptop to be quiet and cool (Never passed 50C.
Onto the hotly controversial Touchpad, I don't see a problem with it. In fact, I prefer it over the old ones. Its big, smooth, quiet, and perfect for me. I can use it for hours without feeling the need to get a mouse. Finally, the battery life is wonderful. with the 9cell battery, I get an average of 9-12 hours usage with 10/15 on brightness. Overall, a perfect laptop for students or offices.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KRob

L440 Review

Date:June 9, 2014
"We run a IT department that has always provided IBM/lenovo Laptops and Desktops to our business. This year we were asked to find a model with a lower price point that the T-Series. We have been reviewing the L440. For its price I thought it held up well against the T440u. That being said the biggest complaint is no caps-lock light on the keyboard. The temp indicator on the screen did not seem to cut it with the evaluator group. It's clear that it will last as long as a T-Series but we will be giving them a try for out less mobile users."
Review 6 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Freedom3

Thinkpad 440L

Date:June 1, 2014
"I made good choice. Right size for laptop. Excellent power options, internal speakers, and much faster than my previous laptop."
Review 7 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BroncofanDK

Simple problems destroys value

Date:May 13, 2014
"This is a lousy computer for two reasons;
The pointing device driver is flawed and freezes every time close the lid. There is no way to recover, and to make matters worse the Function buttons are not functioning because some geek thinks that it is more important to turn the microphone on and off than to update a web site, and that off cause I do not want to use the ALT + F4 shortcut when all the applications need to be closed because of the bloody mouse driver.
I have no problem with the computer performance, but at the moment it is a lousy buy. The whole mouse/mouse pad is of poor quality.
Cabinet and screen, build is what it is - black plastic/low cost."
Review 8 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jumpinmack

Fast, Rugged, and Dependable laptop

Date:May 11, 2014
"I purchased the L440 14 inch , for its specs, which are perfectly matched from cpu, to graphics, and size. I use this for work, and home purposes, and you just cant find a better laptop, in this price range! Im more than happy, and recommend with a 5 star over all score."
Review 9 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RMcKee

L440

Date:May 11, 2014
"Nice machine, but I miss the old style mouse pad and buttons."
Review 10 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bcarney

Cheaply built.

Date:May 10, 2014
"Built so cheap that Lenovo couldn't even bother to put a plastic over over the PCMCIA slots. Wide open gaping hole on the side of the computer."
Review 11 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dmac

wireless compatibility, or lack thereof.

Date:April 19, 2014
"I purchased this laptop to install ubuntu on after about a month of research everone saying it will work fine. Not the case installed ubuntu 13.10 everything worked but the wireless so after three monthes of trying to install the Iwlwifi divers with no luck i am forced to return and use micocrap 8.1 until i get a system 76 or ubuntu eventually provides support for intel wireless. If you are looking for a computer to put linux on just go with system 76 or zareason at least they provid drivers for there hardwear."
Review 12 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Subrato

WOW FACTORED LAPTOP

Date:April 8, 2014
"This is one of they best laptop i have used. I have moved from DELL to TP. Very good in features and WOW in performance. Battery backup which i have tested is non stop 8 hrs.
This is too good and would recommend all."
Review 13 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigDogLover
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Laptop in 15 years

Date:March 10, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: trackpad
"I had always wanted a Thinkpad ever since using one for work nearly 15 years ago but the price was out of reach. I settled on higher end HP laptops for the most part, but the build quality wasn't up to par with that of my old Thinkpad. So, when I could finally afford a Thinkpad, I didn't skimp on the processor, memory or storage. And I'm happy I didn't. The only problem I've found so far with this laptop after owning it for 3 months is the track pad. It still is somewhat difficult to get used to since there are no physical buttons. Given no other problems, I'd say I'm extremely happy with this product. I run both Windows 8 and Ubuntu on it. It's solid, fast, compact, and has a great solid feel. I imagine this one will be with me for several years to come."
Review 14 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hoptimist
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Noisy fans!

Date:February 10, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Video card, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, noisy fans
"The fans are so annoying. They are running almost constantly making it a pain to use this for longer periods.
Changed the HDD to a SSD to make sure it wasn't spinning from the HDD that caused the noise.
Even if im on desktop not doing anything, the fans are running.
The building quality seems weaker than earlier thinkpad models. The touchpad have a hard time registering right click (often takes it as a left-click).
Other than that, I'm fully satisfied with this product - BESIDES THE NOISY FANS. It delivers what I expected for CPU, GPU and speed. Overall a fine machine for the price."
Review 15 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gulada97
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good laptop

Date:February 8, 2014
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution
"Good laptop for the money, I went with the HD+ display, i5 processor and 8gb memory. Runs great and is quiet. Battery is pretty good for a laptop, but will not last 8+ hours like advertised. Typical Thinkpad look, it may not be the prettiest laptop on the market, but it will get the job done. I prefer the old touchpad like the one on my W520."
Review 16 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
733tBuilder
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Poor Construction

Date:January 31, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability
"Good Internals, good screen, and good camera. The rest is junk for the price. The housing is flimsy, cheap and feels like basic ABS plastic. I broke off a tab for the under panel just increasing the RAM. Why aren't all the USB ports 3.0? No back glow on the keyboard either. Also doesn't have the same dark finish as in the pictures, the one I was given is more matte charcoal colored. Don't waste your money on this, get a T series for the same price roughly and a much better build quality. Lastly, they changed the connector for charging the laptop which means all the other bricks I have available for other users when they forget there wont be usable"
Review 17 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
attran95
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good laptop overall, although there're some cons

Date:January 25, 2014
Pros: Battery, Processor, Durability, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Weight, Included Software, Display performance
"This laptop could never be on the level of other Thinkpad lines such as T or X series, but it is not too bad either. Battery is good for me, usually lasts about 4 hours of average use. Performance is smooth and fast, although once in a while it hangs for seconds. Build quality is good, but not up to normal Thinkpad quality. the keyboard is ok, although I like the old keyboard better.
Some disadvantages are mediocre screen and bloatwares. The screen has terrible viewing angle; the anti-glare thing doesn't help.
I have never had any problems in general. I bought this on Black Friday at $600 with some good specs, so I think it is a good deal for me."
Review 18 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
akshayhathwar
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Value buy

Date:January 16, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Weight
"Amazing laptop. You can get the best configs(-SSDs) for less than $900.
What's good: Durability of a ThinkPad. I love the 5 point touch pad.
What I din't know:
The standard WiFi that comes with this laptop isn't good. I din't know about it till I started using it.
(ThinkPad Wireless 2 x 2 BGN with Bluetooth). This laptop is just too good except for that. I wish I could change it now..
If there's anyone from the lenovo team who's reading this review, can you please tell me how I can upgrade the Wireless for this laptop? Would appreciate it."
Review 19 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Skob
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Extremely disappointed

Date:January 16, 2014
Pros: Battery
Cons: Warranty, Weight, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"I am extremely disappointed with this laptop. Despite only having it for about a month, the plastic is already chipping and coming apart, resulting in it looking very used already. I could not even consider returning it because I did not have the computer in my hands until after the 21-day window had already ended.
Would not recommend to anyone, and I will probably avoid purchasing any Lenovo products in the future. The quality has plummeted on the Thinkpad line since IBM sold it, its a real shame."
Review 20 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andrew
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop for business/school

Date:January 6, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Security Features, Software compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I just purchased this model for graduate school. My needs: mobililty, no frills, a long battery life, a dvd drive, and good performance for running business/stats software. Quad core i7 4702MQ, 4 gb mem, 1 tb HDD, 9 cell, AC wifi, and HD+ screen. 9 cell battery life under normal use 9:15, which is really great. Laptop is a great size/weight even with 9 cell battery, kept cool and quiet, and has a great display with the HD+ upgrade. Solid build quality, plastic casing feels very rigid and tough. I would recommend going for 8 gb of ram. Trackpad is quirky and sensitive and difficult to right click. Overall a great no frills business/school laptop that gets the job done and competes with the Macbook on every level while retaining the functionality of Windows."