Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y470 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y470

Bewitching, portable, multimedia magic.

Average customer rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
26 of 30(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y470
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Muhammad
Location:Malaysia
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

A great laptop!

Date:September 1, 2012
Pros: Durability, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"Great specs with an affordable price.
Performance - top, Sound - excellent, keyboard - nice, size - just nice, trackpad - if only it can be like the MBs.
Used to play games, using wireless controllers and HDMI connection to a 40 inch TV, feels like PS3. Faster loading than my friend's PS3. :))
And serves the need for work, portable enough (planned buying the 14' instead of the 15' y570), smooth, multitask - awesome, design - looks sturdy enough & nice design, USB 3.0 (common feature nowadays) great for transferring files.
So this is the most exciting thing i have right now. Just awesome.
Looking forward to see how long can it survive technology. :)
"
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
myshkin

Slower than my 2005 Latitude

Date:June 13, 2012
"I am very disappointed with this laptop, but based on these positive reviews I may have a lemon. It is slower than any other computer I've owned, and can't handle the graphics of the game LOKI (very low demand) without slow ups. It by no means lives up to my expectations from an i7 with 8 gig of ram. After optimization, it takes 45 seconds to boot--from the factory."
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xtian0789

BEst!

Date:March 16, 2012
"its a very powerfull laptop..on a midrange price..i got the i7..its just screaming fast...i love it."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris

Great computer

Date:February 28, 2012
"The one thing I don't like about it - the 0 on the number pad is only under the number 2, not under numbers 1 and two like on the lenovo edge. This is very frustrating because I'm used to hitting the zero with my thumb. Now under the 1 I have the right arrow key."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
howheart

great choice for replacement

Date:February 23, 2012
"idea pad y470 is outstanding and replaces a dell with flying colors. fast and relieable , i am enthralled!"
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patrick

very satisfied

Date:February 22, 2012
"I always wanted a performance laptop and I am very satisfied with this purchase. A few things I like most about this laptop: 1. It is very quiet and cool for an i7 CPU and allows easy adjust of fan speed. 2. The keyboard is very comfortable and works great for me since I do a lot of writing in my daily life. 3. The 8g ram, i7 CPU and a switchable video card allows me to play medium weight 3D games without any problems.
I am also impressed with the delivery speed, once it was out of the factory, it reached me in two days."
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Derryrep

Best Laptop ever

Date:February 22, 2012
"Over the years I have purchased many laptops on an average of one every two to three years. This laptop is the first one to live up to its advertised boasting. This machine boots up and loads programs quickly with a minimum of wait time. I do a lot of graphics and really appreciate the high definition quality of the screen. Additionally, the stock battery actually lasts for 6 hours without needing to be re-charged. Thank you for making my life a little easier."
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PeterPupil

A Light Rugged Value

Date:February 22, 2012
"This IdeaPad is perfect for what I needed. I needed a laptop that was rugged enough to hold up to and from school everyday, and fast enough to handle many processes at the same time (one of which is gaming). The durability goes beyond normal wear and tear to include taking all of the abuse my 2 year old can throw at it. An online review complained about the keypad feeling awkward, and almost prevented me from buying it....I think the guy just needed something to complain about."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teteso
Location:toronto on
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

lenevo y470

Date:February 5, 2012
"i bought this laptop and it was beyond my expectations. it's reliable generally light weight and a perfect tool to have around."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mooness
Location:Makati, Philippines
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

I'd choose this laptop over a Macbook Pro anyday!

Date:February 4, 2012
Pros: Video card, Build Quality, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Screen size, Battery
"Just got this laptop a week ago and I was deciding to get either a Macbook Pro or a Windows 7 laptop that has an i7 processor included since I'm more into video & photo editing that was required from me at the office.
When I saw this laptop, I just got blown away with the features and decided to buy this instead of a Macbook Pro. I even added a couple of bucks just to customize the hardware of this laptop and I was still able to save almost $100 compared to the price of MB Pro.
Everything was just so cool! Applications went on smoothly, and I got to finish my tasks without any crashes or such. My officemates were even impressed on how this sucker looked since it looked so impressive and it came with a lavander color for the keyboard area. :)
All in all, I am just so in love with my Y470 and I'd never regret choosing this over other laptop makers :)"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Newbie
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months

Two thumbs up

Date:February 1, 2012
Pros: Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Support, Security Features, Included Software
"I was a HP user for many years. When my old laptop die on me, I was thinking of a change. I compared all the major brands on the market with the pricing and features. I got to say, nothing come close to Lenovo. It has everything on my wanted list. It is not the slimmest, but it has a chic design to it, not to mention it has a great touch feeling to it. Plus I got it during the Thanksgiving deal, which is $550 less than the web price now. So, whats not to love."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kizzle
Location:New Orleans, LA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome laptop

Date:January 25, 2012
Pros: Durability, Video card, Display performance, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
"Don't underestimate this little thing... Its packed with power.
Great for gaming and schoolwork! Fast shipping.. came in 2 days"
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
orangeairsoft
Location:Cebu City, Philippines
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Finally, the laptop I've been looking for.

Date:January 3, 2012
"I've always been a PC guy. The raw power you get for the same amount of money, the endless amount of upgrades like video cards, RAID controllers, just stuff that you can't do with a laptop.
Sure I have my work laptop. You know, the big black thinkpad that you don't really own but have to use daily in the office. Sturdy as bricks. Currently, mine is a T410. I've also had an SL400, a few Asus', and even more thinkpads.
I gave up my Quad-Xeon, GTX465, 16GB, w/ all the name-brand bells and whistles PC. Sold it for Php30,000 (~USD700).
Now I have some money, I started my research. Asus has a gaming laptop, with all the features I want, but was in the $1500 range. A bit outside what I intended to spend (under $1000). There were also a few others.
I then remembered that I've always had good result from Lenovo, and started to look at their line. I checked both the Ideapad and Thinkpad lines. I found the Y470, and it ticked all the correct boxes for me. Dedicated graphics, i7, SSD/mSATA, HDMI. Finally...
At the store, I was surprised to learn that it was only Php41,000 (~USD900).
After a month using it, I realized that I did not miss my cherished PC because this was just as fast. The graphics is very close to the performance of the GTX465 on my old rig. I would have never believed that the GT555 2GB is equal to the GTX465 1GB; but I have yet to notice the difference at least in the titles I play, including COD MW3.
The fact that I have this hooked up to the same monitor, wireless KB and mouse, and speakers actually makes me forget that my cherished PC is gone, and that this is actually a new laptop. So this makes it an ideal workstation replacement. And when I'm not home, I undock it, and carry it in my backpack. Something I would have never imagined with my previous 30lbs rig.
To recap:
1. Yes, its fast enough to replace your rig in most aspects.
2. Yes, the graphics can be as fast as your midrange card. Granted, its no GTX580, but you won't find anything faster at this price point.
3. You'll forget how light this is; unlike the Asus gaming laptops, or even Alienware, both much more expensive that the Y470
4. Its a lenovo. They aren't exactly newcomers to the laptop business. They know what they're doing.
5. I was browsing once, while listening to music, and playing a few video clips (a normal day - not gaming). The battery actually lasted over 6 hours! That's almost netbook territory, or at least a laptop with a slower i5 or i3 processor.
6. The best keyboard. Feels just as good as the legendary thinkpad.
7. JBL sound. Better than most. But I use Klipsch when I'm at home. On the road, it'll do.
8. Design-wise, this one's done quite tastefully. Brushed aluminum is a treat.
Cons? of course there are some. The screen is 1366x768. Should have been at least 1600x900, or better if they offered it 1080p (Lenovo, I'd actually pay $200 more if this was 1080p). Then again, screens on the lenovo laptops have been these bad lately. Washed out and uneven. Bad viewing angles. Even on the T410, T420. I hope Lenovo talks to Samsung or LG and get them some decent Korean LCD panels. Then again, they're not too bad. They are usesable, but not great.
If you're thinking of buying this, go ahead. You won't be sorry :D
Very happy..."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phil
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great little laptop

Date:December 30, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Included Software
"This was a very good purchase. Performance rivals that of my desktop computer. Graphics are unbelievable, processor (core i7 quad-core) is rated only slightly lower than my friend's 8-core processor for his desktop. Plays DVDs and Blu-rays flawlessly. Sound is wonderful. The laptop is quite light and portable, and feels very solid and well engineered. Great keyboard with very little flex. Stainless steel is a nice touch. I have two complaints with the design.
1. Bezel around screen is a fingerprint magnet. I think (and hope) that glossy look is going out of style.
2. Headphone port is right by the hard disk. You can sometimes hear it cranking through the headphones.
This laptop seems to be reliable, although maybe this is too soon to tell.
I was disappointed by the amount of bloatware that came on this computer. One of the main reasons I bought from Lenovo is that I knew how great IBM was about not clogging up the hard disk before sending you the computer. In all fairness, though, some of the software is actually very useful (Lenovo Enhanced Experience 2.0).
Over all, I am very impressed with this computer."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snowboarder
Location:Denver, CO
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop

Date:December 30, 2011
Pros: Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Weight
"Just got this laptop about a week ago. First off I was very impressed with how quickly I got it! It arrived about 3 days after I ordered it and i couldn't be happier with this purchase. The screen is bright and looks great also the start up time is very quick taking only 42 seconds each time. Its certainly isn't the lightest laptop out there but its worth it for what it does. I would highly recommend this laptop to everyone."
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Technotoad
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

High Performance with Some Issues

Date:December 28, 2011
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Storage, Display resolution, Battery, Included Software, Build Quality
"Purchased direct, preconfigured from Lenovo.com, my model has: i7 2670m, 8GB DDR3, GT 550m (DDR3), 750GB 5400rpm HDD, and Blu-Ray drive. Everything else is standard: 14" 1366x768 TN panel LCD LED backlit screen, and JBL designed speakers.
Configured with 64bit Windows 7 Home premium and Aero theme fully on, the system absolutely flies through tasks. During initial set up, I had multiple programs open, installing, configuring, etc. and found no hint of lag. Blu-Ray movie played flawlessly even with multiple browsers open (I had Chrome, FF 9, IE9 open at the same time, each with multiple tabs), IM windows all over the place, widgets, and programs downloading and installing. Simply amazing at multitasking.
I am not a gamer, not even a little bit, so have no opinion on GPU's FPS performance. I haven't had a chance to render graphics/animation for work, but FWIW the GT 550M installed uses DDR3 (not GDDR5). There are instances documented where GT 550Ms built sometime late 2nd qtr are underclocked GT 555Ms. My preconfigured machine shows a build date of Feb 2011. GPU-Z (which is unstable on this machine BTW) also confirmed the earlier build specs.
The keyboard is excellent. I normally hate chiclet keys, but the Y470 ones are subtly concave and rounded toward the bottom making it very easy to get used to. The keys presses are a little stiff, but I prefer it that way as a heavy handed touch typist. Key travel, feels slightly less than a 2007 15" Macbook Pro, but not at all shallow. No flex and well laid out. Easy to get used to if you're coming from a desk top.
Trackpad is barely average. I don't like the dimpled, textured surface and I feel the scrolling - both "zone" and 2 fingered - is a little jerky compared to several older laptops I have and use as references (including above mentioned MBPro). The single bar button is too stiff and too small/slim making it annoying to use. I "tap" to left click, but clicking and dragging is not ideal with the button. Synaptic drivers are comprehensive though and offers a few multi-finger gestures.
Screen is about the same as any other TN paneled laptop. The gloss is highly annoying and vertical viewing angles are terrible. There are sadly only a few laptops out there that get the screen right and unfortunately this is not one of them. I don't believe the Y470 is offered with a higher resolution which would have helped alleviate the above negative aspects. Windows will update the Intel integrated graphics driver which makes the on-screen brightness meter freeze (but fn+up/down will still control the actual brightness, only the graphic indicator freezes). You'll have to go into system configuration and roll back the driver to make it function again.
***Unfortunately mine came with a hot pixel that could not be fixed using UD Pixel or by "massaging". A ticket has been opened with Lenovo to exchange the machine with another one under warranty. I'm concerned that the replacement won't be any better or could even be worse. If my cheap $400 netbook from 2008 didn't have any hot pixels neither should this performance and entertainment centric laptop.***
JBL speakers are excellent. It's clearly something Lenovo put a lot of effort behind. I hear no issues with static bleeding into the headphone jack from other components as some people have noted.
Included Lenovo software (aside from obvious bloatware like "games" and photobooth knock off) are mostly good. The backup button/software combo is easy and useful. Battery management is simple and useful in choosing between battery use and preserving battery longevity - meaning it'll charge to 50% when plugged in to prevent too many full cycles. Boot optimization is seems to work though I'm unsure of what it actually does.
However I feel that some configurations are vague. Even with a hardware switch, NVidia Optimus software never really tells you which graphics chip is being used. You can manually set what programs always use which chip, but I would want the switch to actually be set as right = integrated, left = discrete. Power management is similar. I feel the software GUI will be generally fine for casual users, but power users might find it limiting.
Fan noise is a minimum and the discrete touch button changes settings from standard to silent to max to de-dusting the fans (alternates between max and off which supposedly helps keep the fans and heatsinks cleaner).
Misc: Case and enclosure are very sturdy with the exception of the lid/cover over the screen (which is the same with almost every other laptop outside of Thinkpads). It's on the heavier/large side for a 14". Air and heat vents are large and well placed. Power plug is on the same side of the pop out optical disc drive which - depending on your desk and set up - can either be good or bad. WiFi G sets up quickly and range seems pretty good. 5400 rpm HDD is a bit sluggish, but is fine for every day mass storage. Available mSATA compatibility is a very nice feature if you can spend the money.
***Customer service is average. Though I was transferred just once over the telephone (both seemed like foreign call centers) the second CSR was surly, and I was not given an RMA immediately. The suggested time frame is between 1 and 5 business days until someone emails me with details. 1 day will be perfectly acceptable, 3 days borderline, 5 days unacceptable. Hopefully the exchange for a new machine will be quick and painless.***
Aside from the stuck pixel issue, I really like this machine. There are many more things right with it than wrong. The mistakes IMO are the track pad and QC of the screen. Performance is fantastic, especially for multitasking."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PB23
Location:fresh meadows, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months

awesome!!! completes MY needs

Date:December 13, 2011
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Screen size
"I have been personally eyeing this laptop for weeks/months and FINALLY Black Friday arrived!!! i could not believe the price, it was literally half off, so i purchased it and here is my review:
OVER-ALL REVIEW:
purpose for buying? gaming
what games do i play? mmos/fps games
what games? BattleField 3, Modern Warfare 3, Counter-Strike 1.6, Perfect World International, Lineage 2, Starcraft 2, Dragons Nest
what games do I plan on playing in the future? Diablo 3, Lineage 3, Anno 2070
my ratings on the current games I play:
BattleField 3 (most played) - High settings, i play on low anyway, but the option to play on high is great
Modern Warfare 3 - perfect on high, no FPS lag what so ever
Counter-Strike - perfect on high, old game
Perfect World International - perfect on high
Lineage 2 - perfect on high, old game
Starcraft 2 - perfect on high
Dragons Nest - perfect on high
over-all review, DOES everything I need and I am VERY pleased with it!!! if you are a gamer, this laptop is a good choice, as you can see from the games I play, I am not a one genre type of gamer and dont mind playing on HIGH or LOW settings, but I play on HIGH anyway =]
CONS:
mainly the screen size, i wished it was a little bigger, but i really do not mind, i attached it to a 20inch monitor
the battery is great if you put it on Energy Star, since it is a high performance laptop i expected it to have low battery life
wished it came in a different color, my favorite color is green, would of loved a dark green color!!
i would of loved if it can play 1080p, but i really dont need it"
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
iMathSagex3
Location:singapore
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Some cons, but i would really recommend this model

Date:November 7, 2011
Pros: Weight, Video card, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Screen size, Video card, Software compatibility, Display performance
"Become i review, let's touch on the specs first.
i7-2630qm(2ghz)
Nvidia gt550m 2gb
8gb ram
750 hdd
1366x768 14" led screen...( You all know it )
1879SGD.
The design finish is glossy and quite cool , but nothing out of the ordinary. the accutype keyboards are really heavens. a pretty good typing experience , however the distance between the keys are too wide. The jbl speakers live to their name. Loud with deep bass. backed up with srs technology, it really makes sound turn into live. the user interface is also good, which can modify your cooling system usage and you can also set sound and screen quality according to what movies or shows you watch. There is also a touch interface to adjust volume. However the catch is the onekey. Being a first timer for lenovo, i have never witnessed a marvel like onekey. I experienced a software problem after an update and hence used onekey. Really good software...... The screen is a bit too small yeah... expected a bigger one for this price.resolution is also a bit too outdated...... even if this laptop boasts an led screen, it hurts my eyes after 2hrs or more of usage. The weight is pretty good too, at 2.2kg, it is moderately portable.
Although the design and software is not bad, the specs for this system is just badass.in fact, it is a small 14 inch monster. it is HARDLY found in the market. combining portability with power. the i7 processor can handle just about everything i throw it it. the ram too. the hdd is nice, it can store lots of stuff :). The 2gb nvidia 550m is good enough to run minecraft smoothly, even on the highest settings. but it doesnt run the best on modern games.
My verdict? A great laptop at a good price. Throw away your plans to buy alienware. this laptop is good. VERY."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DoctorH
Location:TX
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very strong affordable machine, kinda poor plastic

Date:October 31, 2011
Pros: Video card, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory, Storage, sound/speakers, easy-use buttons
Cons: Bluetooth, Included Software, thin plastic material
"I've got this machine directly from Lenovo website.
From the moment of my order, delivery took only about a week from NC to TX! It was much faster than the proposed delivery time! And that was "standart ground delivery" included in the price! I really appreciated it. I wanted to tell this first, because I've seen a couple of negative reviews about the long delivery time on the net. In my situation, that was not the case...5 stars!
This Y470 is absolutely a performance monster. It has been 2 months by now, and I haven't noticed any performance issues, frozen screen, slowing down, etc. although I use very heavy video-rendering processes and multi-tasking all the time. I am not a gamer, so I cannot judge its game performance. But overall, its performance is excellent.
Start-up time varies between 40-46 seconds. Rarely I see 49-50s or under 40. I do not have SSD, but 7200RPM 500 GB HDD (comes standart with Y470-085525US model). Note that 750 GB HDD version is 5400 RPM which might have some small/negligible negative effect on performance. If you have some more budget to invest for SSD, it is possible to reduce start-up time to around 12-20 seconds.
One of the Lenovo's biggest mistakes is, they do not offer to install SSD at the time of order although they always advertise this computer is compatible with solid state drive. I wouldn't mind paying $100-200 more if it was possible to have it default with SSD. I never prefer to waste my time to search for a most compatible SSD on the market with Lenovo Y470 and trying to install it by myself taking all the possible fail risks, etc... Lenovo should definitely offer including SSD option, period!
My biggest complaint is about the plastic housing parts. Especially, plastic parts around and behind LCD is thin. If you carry your laptop when it is closed with ONE HAND like you carry your books, you feel that your fingers causes plastic case to collapse onto LCD located under plastic and it gives the feeling you can damage/break it. After I noticed this issue, I felt bad and when I went to local electronics store I decided to close and carry a couple of the tough looking expensive laptops (including vaio) in the market with one hand. It was even worse! So, paying more money doesn't bring you always the most solid material. I am OK with this at the moment, just trying to carry it more carefully. In addition, plastic cover design with orange strip does not bother me, it looks quite good and very different.
The software comes with laptop is a PRO and a CON at the same time. From my point, there are a couple of useless software (marketing, games, etc.) installed and they suck the system resources. On the other hand, there are some other very useful Lenovo softwares too (backup software, camera software, energy management, veriface, etc.). So, just get rid of the ones that you don't wanna have and keep the rest. This should never be a parameter to call a laptop bad! You are supposed to know how to uninstall an unwanted/useless software ;)
The only technical issue I have noticed until now is: Bluetooth. It doesn't have any problem with finding, synchronizing other bluetooth devices and getting the files from the others. But, when you want to send a file to other device from Y470 via bluetooth, it opens an FTP-kind of protocol and all the time it tries to send for minutes and then fails, although it is already connected to the other device! I searched forums, there are couple of other guys noticed the same problem. I updated the driver nothing changed. My solution is, since my other devices use Windows Mobile operating system, I synchronize my devices using bluetooth + Microsoft Sync Center software (it comes with your Win7 to be default). Then everything works.
JBL speakers give very clean, loud and nice sound with bass. But it doesn't mean that this is the best sound system on a laptop in the market. My half-priced, cheap Dell Inspiron 14R has louder speakers. But anyway, in both of them I feel the difference of SRS surround system comparing to other laptops that my friends have. So, sound quality is really good and much above the average!
Lenovo Backup Software have some issues with backing up the current system situation. It only lets you to backup the "factory default situation" onto the DVDs. Since, one of the other reviewers has the same problem, this issue is supposed to be common, and we expect Lenovo to solve it as soon as possible and update that software.
I upgraded my Win7 Home Premium to Win7 Ultimate within just less than 10 mins. No file/program loss...nothing. All you need to do is to give your upgrade license number to Windows Upgrade section located in the start menu. That's it and it works perfect, NO installation DVD is required! OK this is a Windows thingy but it is good to see that Lenovo Y470 lets you to do it without causing any problem. No worry about backup, etc. Tested and verified!
Battery life is ca. 4-5 hours when I watch videos or skype video chat. It is quite acceptable. In addition, Lenovo has a perfect energy management software. If you mostly use it plugged-in, it has an option and it doesn't force your battery to be charged fully all the time (stops charging when it reaches %50). Hence, its capacity will not reduce easily and you battery is supposed to survive longer!
If we summarize, I absolutely recommend Y470 who needs performance comes with very affordable price. On the other hand, do not expect rock-hard solid design. But the nice aluminum parts used around the keyboard give really nice, reliable feeling. If the issues related to outgoing files using bluetooth and backup software can be solved by just releasing some updates, I can easily tell that this machine is unbeatable with this performance and this price at the moment!"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y470
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Chirag
Location:Princeton, NJ
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

High maintenance

Date:October 18, 2011
"Laptop is good with great value but got LCD problem 3 times and speaker problem too."