Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G455

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo Lenovo G455

Average customer rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 of 9(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G455
Review 1 for Lenovo G455
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sshi
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

The screen shows nothing and died

Date:May 25, 2013
"This is the worst laptop I ever used. It died after 2 years of usage. My other older ones are still running, and said bye-bye to this youngest one."
Review 2 for Lenovo G455
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
baguy
Location:baltimore MD
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

value for money

Date:December 5, 2010
Pros: Processor, Security Features, Memory, Bluetooth, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability, audio, video output
"I went ahead with this product as i believed it is a reasonable bargain - paid 450 bucks + tax. The laptop is fast and responsive, does not hang up with basic use. There are 3 USB ports and these seem to be well positioned. There is a single VGA output, no other video outputs are available. The keyboard itself looks a bit cheap (but not too bad for the price) and the mouse pad is extremely sensitive - overall not too bad. The audio however is extremely poor quality plus even with the volume turned up to max, you may be left wanting for more. Overall, i would give it an average for the features and design but it would be good for value for money"
Review 3 for Lenovo G455
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vyas
Location:pittsburgh
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst Laptop ever purchased

Date:December 3, 2010
"The Touchpad buttons are very hard, The bottom of the laptop is flexible making hard to hold. if holded very hard will dmaage internal parts. Cheap materials used. I will nevery recomnd this model . The adapter pin is already started damaging in 1 day. Returning it back."
Review 4 for Lenovo G455
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DJH45
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Laptop

Date:November 23, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Display performance, Video card, Weight, Included software, Security Features, Build Quality
Cons: Battery
"This was my first personal laptop and it was a great purchase. My main focuses were that it would be geared towards portability but be able to handle eveything. It is very fast and I have no problems with it freezing up at all. Its setup feels very good, its easy to navigate, and the keyboard is spectacular. Its picture is very crisp, as is the sound. It would be hard to criticize this laptop for anything, but if there were something it would be the touch pad or battery. While the pad is great while surfing, sometimes while typing you may brush it on accident and click somewhere else on the screen -- really not a big problem though. The battery life is not horrible, but is not amazing either. However, the charger for it is very small and convenient so it creates no hassle.
Some of the extra things great about this was the VeriFace protection which works surprisingly well!
This was a GREAT deal for a GREAT product!"
Review 5 for Lenovo G455
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zyoma77
Location:Fresno, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

awesome tool!

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery
"this is my first 14in lenovo laptop, so far it has been the best price, size of the screen & weight! my last laptop was a 17in monster & since i use my laptop for presentations(& web surfing) i have to carry it alot...so i enjoy the light weight & size ALOT! it didn't "steal" anything from the full picture of the website page so that makes me happy too. Also, it has all needed current outs(jacks) for connection to video projectors, audio, etc...one thing that is new to me - is the mouse control it's part of the pad & i wasn't used to it, but nothing complicated, just a matter of time. Overall it's an awesome tool! i can't get enough of it..."
Review 6 for Lenovo G455
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jayb
Location:Maryland
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

First Lenovo

Date:November 12, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Weight, Build Quality
Cons: Battery, keyboard layout
"I wanted a slightly smaller laptop and heard good things about Lenovo and the G455 caught my eye. Overall, it has good build quality and a much better keyboard than my Dell 1545 for sure, so I'm pretty happy.
It's also suprisingly fast, considering the specs. I discovered I can process HD video on it no problem.
It matches my more powerful Dell in the Windows 7 performance tests in every category. The Dell has a more powerful Intel processor but the G455 meets or beats it in every test except the G455 is just slightly slower (0.4) on display rates.
Two issues: first, the Home and End keys are sub-keys on the right and left cursor keys. So it requires a two-key combination to hit Home and End.
Instead, they definitely should have put Home and End where the Print Screen and Pause keys are, in the upper right hand corner, and then used the two key combo for PrtScr and Pause, which are rarely used. Having to use three fingers to highlight a sentence with Home and End is a pain.
Also, although the cursor track pad works much better than the Dell, it is very sensitive, so when I'm typing, if a finger brushes or touches the pad, the cursor will jump to another part of the screen.
The G455 keyboard is excellent; not perfect, but the best keyboard on any laptop I've owned so far and much, much better than the typical HP laptop (or desktop) keyboard.
One last thing, battery life could be better, but that's always the case with a laptop, no?
Overall, I'm pleased with the solid build, excellent keyboard and the specs on the G455. It performs better than I expected it would and can process HD video (using Adobe Premiere Elements 8.01) and Photoshop, no problems.
It also connects easily to the router and I took it to Europe on a business trip and had no problem connecting anywhere.
Oh, and by the way, the fact that it had NO bloatware installed is a huge plus! I turned it on, installed my software and was ready to go, no messing around de-installing the junk you don't want. This is a great feature!"
Review 7 for Lenovo G455
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Etienne
Location:Hartford, CT
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

"not one, but two!"

Date:October 30, 2010
"Recently I purchased my first "think pad" as a birthday present for my graduate assistant. Not being a family lap top user, I was looking for portability, style, and some "innovations". After his first two weeks of use and his being very appreciative, I was sold and bought one for my self to use for travel. While this might be not that unusual, for someone who is entering his 60's, it was a big step ... I'm sold on the product."
Review 8 for Lenovo G455
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lawschoolstudent
Location:new york, ny
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

good with some bad

Date:August 31, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Battery, touchpad
"i really like the computer, but for a few things. it was slightly heavier than i thought it would be, but that's my own misjudgment.
however, not my own misjudgment are the terrible speakers. the sound is clear, but they do not go loud at all. at max volume you can barely hear it if there is a fan or ac on in the room.
also, the touch pad is SOOO sensitive, making it impossible to type. bear in mind i am 5'8" and 140lbs, so i don't have stubby fingers to any degree, and i constantly find myself typing all over the screen because the touch pad gets skimmed or less. the only way to work is use a mouse and turn the touch pad off. however, that is not very convenient do during class, and i imagine not while traveling, either.
the battery also lasts shorter than i was led to believe.
other than that, i'm very happy with it.
and one more thing- the customer service representatives are not american. i'm not particularly patriotic, but i don't appreciate not being able to understand them on the phone."
Review 9 for Lenovo G455
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vinoth
Location:Austin, Tx
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:AMD
Memory:3 GB

Cool notebook

Date:March 24, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Display resolution, Screen size, Video card, Security Features
"I bought a G455 last week..The processor is great.. After several hours of use it maintains temperature from 45C-55C which is really cool. Battery life is amazing.. 6 Cell battery comes for 3 hrs on normal operation. Great graphics performance plays HD movies smooth. I Bought this laptop for $499 on a offer, Great value for Money. Hope lenovo releases more products like this."