Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Z500 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Z500

Thin and light, affordable 15.6" multimedia laptop.

Average customer rating:
4.292 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
20 of 24(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Z500
Review 1 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoodCAguy
Location:Long Beach, CA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Magnificent laptop for the price !!....

Date:November 8, 2012
Pros: Weight, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, design
Cons: user-friendliness
"I actually have the P500 but my understanding is that it is the same as this Z500. This is the sleekest, lightest, most powerful, sturdiest laptop for this price I have ever purchased since I started using laptops. I was amazed at the design. I owned a Lenovo laptop in 2011 that had a beautiful design but was heavy and terribly slow for some reason. It had an i5 processor, but it was still super slow. Lenovo - you have definitely done what it takes to meet and exceed my needs and expectations for speed, load as well as design I have been looking for in a laptop. The other company I was stuck on buying just does not meet my expectations with design.
There are a few quirks and flaws with this laptop, but I have learned to deal with them so far. I'm not sure if it is the new Windows 8 or the laptop itself. I will address them in feedback for Windows 8 and on your website to see which is which. It could also be that I have not learned to fully use the new format for Windows 8.
Overall, I am definitely satisfied with the P500 that I have. If feels so solid when I pick it up. There is none of the bending and weakness of the frame that I have experienced from previous laptops. It feels as if I am picking up a slab of marble when I pick it up. I have not experienced any lag when I have multiple programs open at the same time. When I plug into a USB port, I get instant response. The only thing I wish about the USB ports is that there was at least one on the rear of the unit rather than all on the sides. But, I have learned to be flexible for that because I know all companies are not the same.
No major complaints on performance so far Lenovo. Thank you for manufacturing such a stellar innovative laptop. Unless your quality changes, I probably won't ever buy another brand again.
"
3 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chtr
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

best price/performance laptop

Date:January 23, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Software compatibility
"I just bought Lenovo Z500 59-352523 with windows 8.There are lots of new features.For example thiny design,smart touchpad,720p webcam,one button recovery....
I ve been suprised when i took in my hand,because i didnt expect about product weight and dimension optimized like that.
There was a more reason for buy this product,Lenovo Z500 59-352523 got high performance video card,GT645M.It is usable for all new games and software.
Also there is no cooling problem,its cool decently what u expect !
I suggest that,if you want to buy this product dont think twice!You will be satisfied!
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SLIcK
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

I LOVE THIS COMPUTER!

Date:December 27, 2012
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, multitasking
"I am 13 years old and am an aspiring producer. I had been stuck with an old refurbished desktop for quite some time and I had gotten very sick of it lagging all the time. But when I got this computer there was no such problem I can produce play minecraft on high settings and run youtube facebook twitter and soundclud all at the same time! I am very impressed with this computer and am thankful to Lenovo for making such an affordable but also reliable laptop! THANKYOU LENOVO!!!"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AXel

Very good Pc

Date:April 16, 2014
"Powerfull, light weight and preety long batery endurance...but it has a bad, bad screen...although i love it."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome notebook!!!!

Date:February 7, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, ibm lenovo
"I am using this notebook since last 5 months. It is still under warranty. I have not found a single issue with the performance, memory, display, processor or any other thing. It is working like a charm. I am very happy to buy it. I would recommend Z500 to anyone who is looking for a new laptop."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SirJoot
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Laptop

Date:January 15, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Included Software, Software compatibility
"This is a great laptop, I would really suggest getting it if you need an upgrade. The i7 inside it is a rather new Sandy Bridge processor and is really fast. It is one of the few Quad-Core Laptops I have seen.
I am a nerd and the only thing I would say that disappointed me with it is the fact that it comes with Windows 8. Overall, great laptop.
"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
destonic
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

One of the best budget laptops

Date:January 6, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Build Quality, Storage, sound
Cons: Battery
"One of the best budget laptops. It has really cool design, ultrabookish style with aluminium use. It performs very good for office works and even for gaming. Built in audio speakers are really cool. I really like them. Display is ordinary for budget laptops with resolution 1336x768 which is more than enough for me. It has anti glare cover which I think is very good for using it outside. Overall keyboard is very good, but seems my laptop has some problem with F letter which sometimes make noise when I press. The touchpad performance is very nice with various gestures, but it wobbles a lil bit. Overall I'm happy with my purchase."
Review 8 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rezacloner
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Laptop

Date:December 18, 2013
"this is a nice and useful notebook and i love it"
Review 9 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RAysheh
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good performance only

Date:December 15, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: Video card, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"to be honest the performance is great , a great CPU and memory ,
BUT , the over all design of this laptop is BAD :
1- The laptop edges do heart my hand and leave lot of marks on my skin , they are very sharp .
2- The touch pad , sound it makes very disturbing plus the performance is not good , especially when you deal with click .
3- The keyboard , OMG , small enter key and small arrow keys , Lenovo restricts me to use the multimedia keys instead of function keys "f1-f12" as default , without an option to change this.
My keyboard malfunctioned twice .
4- the drivers for windows 8 are rubbish with no updates , or even the updates make things worst for example .
do I recommend it , am sorry to say no ....
"
Review 10 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
buckybronco
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop for a low price

Date:November 12, 2013
Pros: can be used as a gaming computer
"As long as you don't totally destroy this computer with high-demand games and viruses. This computer is an amazing computer. It works perfectly for me when I travel as I am a game programmer. If you are looking for one of your first computers, this is the way to go."
Review 11 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Loher
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Disappointed so far....

Date:October 27, 2013
Cons: Storage, Wireless card, Support, Battery, Weight, Build Quality
"Where is the quality testing these days. Replacing my older dell, decided to try an idea pad. Experience so far not good. High-end machine (I7) but hard drive speed makes the machine slow. Wireless kicks off every 5 minutes, no reasonable solutions on line yet. Bug with the battery charging (Internal only...). Plugged in for days, only shows 56%. On line these are known issues, why not fix them on the units being shipped.
Hopefully an update soon with better news. Glad I got the warranty.
"
Review 12 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jacob
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

*review on i3, touchscreen, 6GB RAM*

Date:October 27, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: speaker quality
"The Z500T is a great laptop with all the features that is comes with. The backlight keyboard and HD webcam make the laptop that little bit better compared to others like the HP SmartBook Pro or the Sony Viao. It is an absolute stunner which has a 5 hour battery life, HD webcam, i3 processor (i5 on selected models), touchscreen which is very responsive.
The down side to this laptop, is the speakers are on the underneath of the laptop, so sometimes the sound quality isn't the best!
"
Review 13 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lokk
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best purchase but

Date:October 27, 2013
"i have bought this laptop on october 8th. i fell in love with this machine but from one week i am observing that while playing music i am getting struck feel. that's the only issue i am facing rest of every thing is ok"
Review 14 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alex
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5

bad laptop, choose another one!!

Date:October 23, 2013
Pros: Weight, Memory, Screen size
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Display performance, Durability, constantly loses internet connection
"this laptop is the absolute worse when it comes to anything internet. i've had to deal with constant signal loss since day one. the wifi literally just disconnects itself, sometimes several times an hour. the only way to reconnect is to restart the entire computer which as you can imagine is a bit aggravating especially when you're watching videos or typing up a paper. and more recently, for about a week now, youtube videos wont even load at all!!!! it's not my internet connection because i have another laptop and the internet works fine on that one. and never drops the signal. this is just a bad purchase overall, save yourself the trouble and just pick another one..or you'll be stuck with this no internet having laptop, basically a virtual notebook"
Review 15 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lenovoideapadZ500user
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Laptop for the price

Date:October 5, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Memory, Video card, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software
"Pros :
1)speedy core i7 and nvidia Gt 740m
2)cool and slim design
3)input output compatibility is great
4)speakers are AWESOME
5)fair 720p web camera
6)good price for features
7)big track pad
Cons :
1) 3-4 hours battery life is low compared to many 7 hours lasting laptops
2)software and applications are very limited
3)KEYBOARD FLEX IS EXTREMELY ANNOYING
4)back can be very easily scratched
5)track pad can be better
6)sometimes the fan doesn't slow down even when letting the laptop rest without anything running on it
7)Screen quality and resolution are bad and screen is too dim
8)Slow HDD
9)can be lighter
10)build quality can be better
12)CANNOT BE PUT ON LEGS BECAUSE THE HEAT DISSIPATED GOES UNDERNEATH THE TRACK PAD AND IS REALLY HOT AND ANNOYING
"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
behzad
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Purchase Ever

Date:September 29, 2013
"Best Purchase Ever"
Review 17 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katz
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very Pleased

Date:September 7, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Included Software
"Lenovo has done a great job with this laptop. It operates so quietly; you don't even hear it. A lot of laptops sound like they're ready to take off...not this one. It charges in full, after less than 10%, in about 2.5 hrs. The screen is slick, and it also operates cool (temperature). The battery lasts about 4 hours with steady use, maybe a little more, though I'm sure this depends on what you're doing. Some of the software included is bloatware. The casing is plastic, but with a brushed metal appearance. It seems high quality."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amit
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo IdeaPad Z500 or simply The Beast

Date:April 10, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance, great looks
"I bought Lenovo IdeaPad Z500 few days back and i am simply amazed by its looks, features, performance. I always had in mind that if i am going to buy a Laptop then it has to be Lenovo but i never knew i would get such a great value for my money. Lenovo IdeaPad Z500 has some of the best features available. 6 GB RAM so guys just do not worry about performance, Windows 8 compliments it well. 2 GB graphics card which i think is awesom. so guys if you are trying for a Laptop then go for it and do not think twice."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
eftihis
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good performance but. . .

Date:April 9, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Build Quality, support solutions that are avaulable, cannot set f-keys to work as f-keys for windows!!
"The laptop generally is good performing but I have it 3.5 months now and I have features that stopped working like keyboard lighting and in some cases the screen brightness goes dark if i try to readjust it. The problems seems not to be important for core function but cause serious problem when you do something important."
Review 20 for IdeaPad Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quay
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

So happy

Date:April 5, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight
"I was considering getting a Macbook as I was an avid Apple fan until I was at the IT Fair and was caught by surprise at the specifications on this laptop. I needed a big laptop suitable for school and this met my requirements to a T. To add on, it was super affordable! I happily switched to Windows 8 and had high expectations for it and indeed, it did not let me down. It is fast, smooth, reliable and efficient. It has a good keyboard (although with no lighting) and runs faster and more smoothly than other big brands such as HP. I'm very very happy with this and my doubts towards Lenovo have vanished."