Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440

Average customer rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
5 of 15(33%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
l3n0v0

Good value and highly reliable

Date:April 15, 2014
"I own this model for 3 months now and so far, it hasn't failed me esp. on the battery life (9-cell; no internal). I also like the feel of the keyboard. With regards to the trackpad, it really needs some getting used to, but once you're pass that, I think it's bearable. Although its not as good as Mac's though.
Some of my complains though are: It doesn't have an HDMI out and there are only 2 USB ports. Personally, I always reserve 1 for my mouseAdditionally, there are times that the trackpad doesn't respond much on the clicks that I do - I have to press twice before it responds. I also don't like the fact that there are less dedicated buttons for additional functions and indicators such as volume up and down and caps lock light which I found handy in my old laptop."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FormerThinkpadUser

I've been apologizing for this since I bought it

Date:April 12, 2014
"I bought this for my girlfriend as a present, having owned previous generations of the T series extending from the T30 up to the T430. The touchpad is appalling. I can't imagine buying another Thinkpad again as long as it is part of the package."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MLSCrow

Could have been a great machine...

Date:April 11, 2014
"...if it wasn't for the horrible touchpad. As is, out of 10, with 10 being the best, my user experience has been a 2. If Lenovo does the smart thing and rolls back the touchpad to the previous model (with the buttons), my experience would increase by 400% (It'd go from 2/10 to 8/10, just from the touchpad alone).
I know it's a Lenovo standard, but please for the love of God, swap the control and function keys back to how they should be, with the ctrl key on the outmost edge.
Also, instead of wasting LED's on the function key and to light up the "I" in the Thinkpad logo, use it instead to provide a caps-lock notification instead (if not one on the screen)."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cesarc

Bringback the T430

Date:April 7, 2014
"Lacks the same feel and functionality as its predecessor. Biggest complaint....you guess it, that awful trackpad."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shahzadeh

Advantages and unexpected disadvantages

Date:March 31, 2014
"I purchased this laptop about two months ago, primarily because of its antiglare screen. .
The antiglare screen is good for the eyes, however the contrast could be disturbingThe shortcut keys stop working sometimes. The fingerprint device doesn't work sometimes
The camera could be much better
The touchpad is not responsive enough and the settings don't work well
The sound of the laptop is great.
Battery life is also good.
"
Response from Lenovo:By eCommerceApril 3, 2014
Hello Shahzadeh, thank you for your feedback on the T440. I’m sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the new ClickPad design. We have recently released drivers for this model that should improve the usability of the ClickPad. You can download and install the driver here: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS034647
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kathryn
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Okay, but trackpad drives me nuts

Date:March 22, 2014
Pros: Weight, Durability, Screen size
Cons: Storage, Build Quality
"I've had two previous Lenovos in the T series. They've both been reliable and generally great computers. This one, however, I kind of wish I had gotten something else. I'm a heavy trackpad user, and this one drives me crazy. It's so finicky, and I get constantly frustrated with it. I never had this problem with a Lenovo before. In addition, I don't feel like the small SSD on here significantly speeds up the computer. I still feel like it's rather laggy at times. If I were in the position to where I could afford to be computer-less for a little while, I'd probably return it for something else."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DJS758
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo JUST Ruined the ThinkPad

Date:March 19, 2014
Cons: trackpad, design
"This would have been my third ThinkPad, as the T-Series is really the only business class notebook that competes with Apple for build quality. However, this ThinkPad has one major design flaws.
THE TRRACKPAD renders this notebook unusable. Dual buttons on previous models were perfect.
I also think the design looks more like an Apple compared to the traditional thinkpad, so, in short, I guess I'm switching to Apple because this laptop is unusable. BOOOOoooooo LENOVO!!! You ruined the best laptop on the market."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ord1
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8

Bad trackpad mouse

Date:March 11, 2014
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, trackpad mouse
"I have been a Lenovo T-series user for 7 years. I recently purchased the T440 and just returned it yesterday. My biggest complaint is the new trackpad mouse. I had read reviews that people don't generally like it, but I thought they might be exaggerating or that I would get used to the new design. The mouse is very uncomfortable to use and too "clicky." (The trackpad presses down almost as easily as the spacebar key.) I will mention that the keyboard is terrific."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lalit
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

T440 good laptop with bad touchpad

Date:March 2, 2014
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Processor, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: Storage, Input/Output compatibility, touch pad
"I have been using Thinkpad series from past 4 years, now while using T440 it not a very good experience as its touchpad is too noisy and hard.
It must be replaced with new touchpad for all users."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peter
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

T440 disappointment

Date:February 12, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Build Quality, Screen size, Display performance, missing caps indication, fake 14"
"I own few Lenovo machines. I wanted to replace an older X220 with this T440 and found out that this 14" is actually larger and it will not fit into the place of x220. There is no indication when using caps (no light nor screen indication). The earphone connection doesn't work either.
Probably the best feature of this machine is the battery life. for a practically 15" screen, the resolution could be much better.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aurora
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Ok laptop, annoying touchpad

Date:February 1, 2014
Cons: touchpad
"In general the laptop is OK, it is recognizably Thinkpad. However, I liked the feel of the T410 keyboard more and have not actually gotten used to the new keyboard (I have been using the laptop now for around 2 months and I do a lot of typing). Thankfully it still has standard keyboard layout and retains the physical function key row (unlike the abomination of the new X1 Carbon keyboard).
My biggest gripe is (as all the others) with the touchpad. It has no dedicated buttons and the touchpad clicking is too loud and not accurate - oftentimes the mouse cursor moves when I'm clicking. My solution is actually using a external mouse and using the touchpad only when I have no other choice, it is mostly useless and only gets in the way."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MLFA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

impressive performance, poor touchpad

Date:January 14, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: touchpad
"Been using the T440 for almost 2 weeks. Can't hear the fan, the machine is silent, the backlit keyboard is awesome, and the speed has spoiled me. However, the new touchpad is very frustrating. I've owned 7 thinkpads. This is the first time I have had not liked the keyboard. I prefer the buttons by far. I have to use my left hand to "pound" the touch pad to work. sometimes I have to click the touch pad 5-11 times before the program responds. sending it back, and hope it is just a defect. Please bring back the buttons. Much more efficient. Gave my daughter my T520. Wish I had kept it and given her the new one."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jhjr
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

great portable laptop

Date:December 21, 2013
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory
"Love this laptop. love the new larger trackpad. i was deciding between the macbook and the t440 and i am glad i purchased this one. no regrets!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Madhu
Owned Product:Less than a week

Best laptop but with bad track pad

Date:December 14, 2013
Pros: Battery, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"The laptop is quiet amazing in performance and design. I love lenovo not only because of performance but the nice movement of track pad with very less noise. But my T440 laptop's track pad mouse button is loud sound. Moreover entire track pad is pressing down if mouse button is pressed this is making inconvienct with tracking. Because finger on track pad will be slightly moved if entire track pad is pressing down on mouse click (pad). If it is as is keypad then it would be awesome laptop. I had used T430 series which had very good track pad clear seperation between tracking pad and buttons."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
frekri
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

New touchpad need improvment

Date:November 29, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
"The keyboard is amazing with very nice feedback. The material choices are very nice. I think the 14" with 1600x900 resolution is a very nice combination.
Most cell phones and tablets has much better displays than Lenovo is able to deliver on their laptops. So I'm missing a better display.
I'm a trackpoint user and the clicking sound from the new button is too loud. And the feedback is to hard. If the mouse pad had same pressure feedback as the keyboard it would be very nice."