Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y480 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y480

Enhanced amenities from a 14" mobile package. Ready for all the latest games and applications.

Average customer rating:
4.036 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
21 of 28(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y480
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DinPanda

Like it but Returning it

Date:June 7, 2012
"I finally received it today after three weeks of waiting but sadly have already put in a return request. Despite that I'm a very thorough person and hope this review is helpful for those that are looking into getting this, which I will go ahead recommend it and at the end of the review.
Let's start with the physical attributes. The designing and style is quite nice. The build quality is quite sturdy and well done what's expected of Lenovo but don't think of it to the point of a ThinkPad. There is a slight flex when you lift it from either side with the lid open. The keyboard is quite sturdy and the backlit is a cool plus with no noticeable flex.
The speakers are really nice and one of the best I've heard from coming from a laptop, although some reviewers have already bashed it to be weak I disagree.
The screen is also quite nice and again some reviewers have based it but it seems really good to me. The downside is that it's not 1080 but it's still good despite that.
Now the internals and the non-noticeable pre-packed software a.k.a bloatware. The new 3rd Gen i7 in this baby is awesomely fast. It boots up super fast as well (15 seconds), I don't know how much of a difference it would be if it were to be one without the SSD in it though. The 8GBs of ram is plenty unless you are just really trying to push it which I have yet done.
Now, for the reason why I'm returning it is that it is advertised to have NVIDIA GeForce GT640M but instead it is the weaker NVIDIA GeForce GT640M LE but there is an upside and that's is it has GDDR5 ram in it and combined with the i7 processing power it'll do well. Still I paid for a NVIDIA GeForce GT640M not the LE. Even though all the early reviews have said it was the LE and I was hoping it was just the review laptops and not the final product.
At the end I really wish I could keep this since I am a college student that needs a new laptop for the summer but I am sadly returning this nicely built machine just because of one misleading detail. I have already placed an order for the Y580 and have to yet again wait but this time shall not be disappointed. *KNOCK ON WOOD* In the end it is a very good laptop especially for college students looking to game and work on it but the graphics card is not a NVIDIA GeForce GT640M instead a LE. I recommend buying this laptop if you just don't care to have a weaker version of the NVIDIA GeForce GT640M. Lenovo has been making good laptops in the past and they're trying to get out of the professional setting and move into a desirable gaming setting it seems and this Y480 is no slouch especially for the price."
3 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
keBOOOM

Everything You May Ever Need !

Date:May 27, 2012
"After spending the last 3 months looking for the right laptop, I came across this beauty ( quite surprisingly too!). I looked at other laptops that had amazing features: blu-ray player, 1080p screen, Nvidia graphics card. It turns out, I had actually no use for a blu-ray player so why should I spend the extra $200? I was also looking for a laptop that packed the new Ivy Bridge since I didn't want to be stuck with something that was already outdated! After looking all over a close by retail store, I came across this! It handles games VERY EASILY ( basically anything you can throw at it!). Another feature that I found quite useful was the backlit keyboard! All in all, this IS the best laptop for anyone who is looking for something that can handle games, but also use as an everyday notebook!"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
harley

want to have!!!

Date:May 17, 2012
"this is a great deal for a student a gamer an employee or a businessman etc. very compact durable gadget. simple yet sleek design too!!! harley.trampe@gmail.com"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RORO

Misleading

Date:May 30, 2012
"Overall this a good laptop but i am rating it lower because they are providing misleading information regarding the video card. The product description says there is a Nvidia GT640m 2GB card but they are actually putting the GT640m LE card in these. The 640m LE is a less powerful version with a slower clock speed, less cores, and does not have the new Nvidia chip architecture (Kepler)."
3 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hopscotch

Great Purchase

Date:June 7, 2012
"Bought this Laptop without actually seeing it in person... was very excited to find that it exceeded my expectations. Am using it as a portable laptop for school and for gaming/music entertainment on the side. Touchpad and keyboard is amazing, and the screen is actually pretty nice, in spite of not being a matte finish. definitely recommend this laptop."
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ratul
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Most Reliable Ever

Date:March 30, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Weight, Build Quality
"Was a really good choice. Excellent Gaming support and overall performance. Only down bit is the body built quality esp if you move your laptop around a lot."
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Alice
Owned Product:Just got it

Ideapad Yoga 11 unusable because of Windows RT

Date:April 5, 2013
Cons: Software compatibility, windows rt
"Reviewing IdeaPad Yoga 11.
Looks great, and seems well built. However, I was not warned that Windows RT DOES NOT ALLOW INSTALLING ANY KIND OF SOFTWARE. You can´t add anything to this machine, not even the software needed to use a 3G connection! No Chrome, FireFox, or any other kind of software you may need. It should not be sold as a laptop, since its operational system does not let you use it for work. Only functional in wireless areas, as a tablet."
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worker
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo Y480

Date:March 12, 2013
Pros: Warranty, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Battery, Weight
"Bought this laptop for school work, listening to music, watching movies, use heavy-memory software and this laptop does it all at the same time! The battery doesn't last that long (3-4 hours overall)..."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bruce
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

BEST LAPTOP YOU CAN GET

Date:February 23, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution
"i got this laptop 4 months ago, and out of all the 13-15i laptops ive seen this is by far the best, the most powerful. Its durable... looks great, keyboard is amzing, speakers are made by jbl... and they are even better then those hp beats speakers. Highly recommend. Although there are laptops with higher resoluton, this is still the best laptop u can get"
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stuffman
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great power for low end computer

Date:January 27, 2013
Pros: Warranty, Processor, Included software, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Build Quality, Display performance
"Used only for word processing, power point, web surfing and file downloading. This unit has lots of horsepower under a cheap hood, just what I was looking for to do the general stuff that I use it for. Price was under $800 so I was happy. I don't play high graphics games so this unit was perfect."
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PencilPouch
Owned Product:1-6 months

Pretty Good Computer Until...

Date:January 22, 2013
"My Y480 had broken down twice within 5 months of buying it. The first time was because it would not start up, and the second was something seemed to have melted inside the core of the computer. I constantly noticed through the 5 months that the computer became very hot when I played games. Seems like the computer is not even built to game. However, the graphics were average, and the computer was quite fast."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjs58148
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Super Laptop

Date:January 7, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Video card, Build Quality, Storage
"Great laptop.
This is the newest version of the model with the Nvidia GT 650m video card. Runs Skyrim on high settings and max screen resolution like a dream.
Keyboard feels natural. Feels more like a desktop keyboard than laptop.
Onboard sound by JBL sound amazing for a laptop.
Only complaint is the Synaptics gesture control for the touch pad. Any movment to the right switches applications (like alt+tab does). Uninstalling Synaptics drivers fixes this."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maxmercier
Location:San Francisco, CA
Owned Product:Just got it
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Fourteen Inches of Fury!

Date:December 10, 2012
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Warranty, Display resolution
"Earlier this year my family took a trip to New Orleans. Now I usually just bring along my Android tablet, but this time I decided to try out bringing my computer. The flight to New Orleans was four hours, and I was playing GTA 4 the whole way there. I averaged at about 30 fps, and got 4 hours and 30 minutes of battery life. In fact, just as the flight attendant said, "Please put all electronics away," I got the message that my battery was getting low. This screen resolution is questionable for some hardcore gamers, but for me it's great. I bought this laptop with my fathers IBM employee discount for $699, and I'm pretty sure, this is one of these best purchases I've ever made. It's portable, powerful, and looks great! Being simple is key in my next story.
A couple of days ago I participated in a Battlefield 3 match at my school. One of the kids had a Razer Blade, and I had my trusty Lenovo. I beat this kid fair and square. And he told me afterwards, "I could not figure how to work that thing." Being simple is key.
I feel that this amazing 14" machine, is perfect for school work, gaming, video editing, and music editing. So if you have $1000 laying around, and you want a nice quad core, i7, nVidia, 14" laptop well, look no further. Because this is the real deal.
World, please meet..."Fourteen Inches of Fury!""
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glenwing
Location:California
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Power and Style

Date:November 5, 2012
"I wrote a giant in-depth review (what's below is nothing :P), but apparently it was too long, and the character limit is not shown so I had no idea if I just had to cut a few words or if it was double the limit or something... :( Oh well, I'll just have to be concise.
This laptop is an absolute beast, without sacrificing features or form. The keyboard is really nice, I love using it, but I'd like to see dedicated volume buttons up top to keep the mute button company. Right now the volume controls are hotkeyed to Fn + Left/Right arrow key, however since Fn and the arrow keys are on opposite sides of the keyboard, you need to use both hands to change the volume, which can be annoying. Also I see there is no Fn + F1-12 shortcut to lock Windows, which they DID have on my old ThinkPad T61 I had before this. F7 is blank, it has no extra Fn Funtion, so you have no excuses :P Trackpad is good, although I register a fair number of accidental clicks while typing, so better "palm detection" is nice. I use an external monitor when I'm at home so the 1366x768 resolution people have complained about is not an issue for me, although when I do use it when I'm out and about it looks perfectly sharp to me, and heck, I'm a young college student. A 1600x900 option might be nice if just for the increased workspace, but for watching movies and gaming the pixel density is plenty high enough. I would have preferred a matte finish though, glare is annoyingly prominent during classes. The other complaint I have regarding the physical aspects of the laptop, in addition to the volume controls, is the screen bezel. It's glossy plastic, which looks a bit cheap, and the big issue is, as is the nature of glossy plastic, when light reflects off it you can see all the micro-deformities in the flatness of it, so it looks like it melted during shipping or something whenever there is light on it, which is pretty much all the time as it's highly reflective. Something with a more diffuse reflection such as the plastic on the bottom of the laptop would be better suited. Heat output is not too bad, it gets warm but not burning. Weight and thickness is not what you'd call ultraportable, but it's not bulky, really. I have no issue walking around with it.
That's about it for the physical build. It's very nice. Other things I have issue with are at the BIOS level; On my T61 I had it set up so that it would use the laptop display if available, and if the laptop lid was closed it would use the external monitor automatically. However on the Y480 I can either use the external monitor only, or the laptop display only, and if I choose that and close the laptop lid, it doesn't switch to the external monitor. FYI Extended desktop is not what I'm looking for, I only want to use 1 display at a time. Not enough characters in this review to explain why. Other BIOS complaint is that Numlock is linked with Numlock on an external keyboard. On my T61, if I used an external keyboard with a full physical numberpad, I could turn Numlock on to utilize that keypad without turning the UIO and JKL keys on my laptop into numbers also. On the Y480 either numlock is on for both or off for both keyboards. Obviously I don't use both at the same time, but whenever I disconnect the laptop from my peripherals and use it on the go, I have to remember to turn numlock off, and then on again when I get home. My T61 used the same OS (W7 Home Premium) so I know these things are at the BIOS level. Y580 BIOS patch notes had a bugfix regarding the behavior or extended display setups while the lid is closed. I think I'm running out of room so I'll post my WEI:
CPU (Core i7-3630QM): 7.5
RAM (8GB DDR3 1600): 7.7
GPU (GeForce GT 650M): 7.1 (on both graphics scores)
Hard Drive: 5.9 (factory drive) 7.9 (Vertex 4 SSD)
Overall very powerful and certainly portable laptop, definitely recommend. Oh, forgot battery life. It's excellent, and Lenovo's 4 hour rating is accurate, perhaps even a bit modest."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amir
Location:Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Low Quality , No Quality Control

Date:October 25, 2012
Pros: Weight, Video card, Battery, Processor
Cons: Wireless card, Support, Build Quality, Screen size, Durability, Storage, Warranty, Display resolution, Display performance
"I got my brand new lenovo Y480 Dead On Arrival, after long time wasted from me.. i got the second brand new. the second one also was Dead On Arrival. for the third time i ask for replace. the third machine is okay and I'm satisfy with it.
It seems there is no Quality Control on lenovo products before releasing to the market!
"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jason
Location:Boston, MA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great performance, went cheap on other parts.

Date:October 17, 2012
Pros: Processor, Memory, jbl speakers
Cons: Storage, Battery, Included Software
"Review for Y480- 2093.
+Intel i7-3630QM
+8GB 1600mHz Ramaxel Tech PC3 12800 RAM
+2GB GT 650M and Intel HD 4000 (switchable graphics)
+1TB 5400rpm Seagate ST1000LM024 HD.
CONS: Battery and Hard Drive Speed. It's like placing $50 tires and a 8 gallon gas tank on a Ferrarri. Parts must match the speed of the entire product. I would have bought an extended battery if they had one at the time of purchase and also would've chosen a smaller but faster hard drive (like a 7200rpm 500GB HD) if they had different options for hard drives. I'm looking to replacing the hard drive with a SSD in the near future.
FIRST GLANCE: As anticipated, a few bloatware are installed. Unless you'll be using them, they include: ooVoo (video chat), Nitro Pro 7 (pdf reader), cyberlink power2go, intel appup, lenovo telephony, and 1 month trial subscription to McAfee Internet Security. It doesn't include a hard copy of a user manual which would be very useful when a problem occurs and you need it to troubleshoot. Having the user manual online and in the computer is not exactly useful if your computer breaks down.
PERFORMANCE: Using the Lenovo Boot Optimizer does not help increase boot times.
Boot up speed- (before using Lenovo Boot Optimizer) Slowest- 76sec, Average- 63.66sec. (after using Lenovo Boot Optimizer) Slowest- 79sec, Average- 63sec.
Benchmark scores (using PassMark Performance Test 8)-
PassMark Rating: 2295.9
CPU Mark: 8270 (compared to 9484 with Ivy Bridge desktop CPU i7-3770 and 7195 with i5-3570k)
Memory Mark: 2232
2D Graphics Mark(GT 650M): 689 (compared to 636 with desktop graphics GTX 550 Ti)
Graphics 2D Direct 2D(GT 650M): 18.6 frames/s
3D Graphics Mark(GT 650M): 1384 (compared to 1998 with desktop graphics GTX 550 Ti)
Graphics 3D DirectX 10(GT 650M): 15.3 frames/s
Graphics 3D DirectX 11(GT 650M): 26.3 frames/s
Disk Mark: 685
HD Sequential Read: 88.9MB/s
HD Sequential Write: 95.2MB/s
Battery life (while uninstalling and installing programs, updating windows, and web browsing with video playback at 75% display brightness): approx. 4 hours"
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
penetantx
Location:Limerick, Ireland/Kota Damansara, Malaysia
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent value, powerful, all round performer.

Date:October 16, 2012
Pros: Durability, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Battery
"I believe i am not alone in looking for a powerful yet very well priced laptop. I bought this beast in August brand new for under 600 euros with all the specs below...if you can find any laptop with all these specs brand new please reply to this review cause i would like to know.
Generally this laptop is very well built. The outer casing design looks nice too. The inner casing does feel plastic like but very sturdy. The laptop never really gets hot even though you are playing demanding games. The screen resolution is 1368x768 but realistically at 14 inch its more than enough. The contrast is good enough to play even with the sunlight shining on the screen.
With I7 3610 at its heart this baby thwarts all threads you can throw at it with ease. Its is also equipped with GT 650m 2GB GDDR5 RAM which is superb, rips through all games with ease. 8gb RAm is more than enough to ran all the application you want at once. The RAM is fast as well. Boot time is under 16 seconds. Hard drive is 500gb but you can always upgrade that and with all laptop you will always need an external drive for extra storage really. Wifi is fast. Battery life is ok, i am getting 4+ hrs on full charge at power saver mode and light browsing and work. Keyboard is well lit in dark room and feels good to type.
Overall i can really blame the laptop for the price. Having own so many laptops, i can say that its price to performance ratio is one of the best out there.
"
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dave1680
Location:Arlington Height IL
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best quality...

Date:October 14, 2012
Pros: Build Quality, Processor, Memory
Cons: Weight
"I been using this Lenovo for such a long time, so i purchase Y480 and i am very happy with it.....:)"
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
herb
Location:Upstate NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Y480 Poor battery life

Date:October 12, 2012
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Support, Warranty, Battery
"I like the features of this laptop, with a single basic problem. The battery life is much shorter than I was told it would be. When I ordered the Y480 I was told the battery shold last about 4 hours. I have gotten a 1 to 1 1/2 hr use before I get a low battery warning. Fully charged it says it will last 2 hours, but the remaing time with use drops faster than my real time clock. Lenovo has given me 4 batteries, and they all behaved the same. I have sent the computer back to them twice at their request. Both times I was told the computer operates up to specs. I have told the techs I was led to expect 4 hrs battery life, and received no contrary information from them."
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y480
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ComputerOwner
Location:USA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Someone

Date:October 7, 2012
Pros: Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Weight, Video card, Battery, Included Software
"I ordered this machine because it was a great deal at $800. I couldn't find another computer with these specs at a similar price. On paper [or on your screen in this case] the computer looks impressive. quad core i7 and 2 GB vram. However, I really didn't notice a performance boost from having a quad core processor on everyday tasks. In addition the processor also killed battery life [ it went for about 4 hours] Simple tasks [word, internet, etc.] still took about the same time as a my old netbook. Gaming-wise there was a definite improvement but this computer [the model I bought] has a 640m le [96 shaders] which is weaker than the regular 640m. Even skryim only ran fluently at medium settings, not high/ultra as I expected. [This machine has hybrid graphics so it also comes with the Intel HD 4000] The look and feel of the laptop is impressive. However, it is kinda heavy if you plan on moving it around. The speakers have a very good quality though. The backlit keyboard was a nice bonus. The touchpad is easy to use and very responsive. It is also placed nicely; i never brushed it while typing.
The reason for my low rating is, I am sad to say, the OS crashed several time within a week of me getting this. I plan on returning this for a full refund and maybe buying another levono. [This problem is probably a rare one so it won't show up in most of the laptops. I just got unlucky.] In addition, i was disappointed with the face recognition; it took about 10-20 seconds to start up and it was very unresponsive. It lengthened my boot time so I turned it off.
As a side note, I read a lot of reviews about how slow levono's shipping would be but I got my computer 5 days after ordering it [free shipping]
"