Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X120e or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X120e

Little laptop, big contender Enhanced multimedia features, longer battery life, and more.

Average customer rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
1
43 of 50(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X120e
Review 1 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jaime

Pretty Good, but no CD Drive!

Date:April 4, 2012
"This was a gift to me. A CD/DVD drive is important for me to download music and play movies. If it had a CD drive, I would have given it a 5."
Review 2 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AndyMS

Almost Perfect

Date:April 1, 2012
"I bought my first netbook a few years ago, and I found it really great. The only problem was its "almost" full-size keyboard, since I have large hands, and its glossy screen. I found it had plenty of power.
Yesterday, I picked up an X120e to give myself a little more room on the keyboard, and I'm very pleased. Everything works the way it should, the display is very clear, and the machine is quite fast. I do plan to replace the hard drive with an SSD at the earliest opportunity, so as to squeeze a little more battery life and hardiness out of the machine, but I really, really like it.
The eraser-head cursor control in particular works quite well, and the battery life, given the screen size, is extremely good."
Review 3 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lenovouser

x120E - Missing Something

Date:February 22, 2012
"When I purchased the mini X120E laptop I did not realize just how small it is. Nor did I realize it has no Itunes capability due to NO CD Drive at all... (had to shell out more money for disc capability)
I should have spent a lot more time that I don't have going over every single spec and not assume anything. (I assumed it had a screen too, which it does, and a keyboard)"
Review 4 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chjames

A Great Netbook

Date:February 22, 2012
"The labtop has a great keyboard layout that makes it easy to type, along with a good deal of power to use for productivity. The labtop is amazingly designed for it's size, and the amount of ram allows you to have many processes running. The dual core processor is a great feature, which allows the computer to process twice the amount of information, which allows the netbook to have great productivity. Overall the Netbook was a great purchase which I will be using for the next couple of years."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike
Location:Washington, DC
Owned Product:1-6 months

I love this machine.

Date:February 14, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality
"I bought the lowest end version of this machine for $300 and upgraded the RAM to 8GB (from Crucial $55) and I've been thoroughly satisfied with my purchase. I wasn't intending it to be super powerful (it isn't) but it does everything I need it to do and dual boots to ubuntu just fine. Stays cool sitting on my lap and the thinkpoint makes it easy to navigate around without switching to the trackpad all the time.
Lenovo sold me with this. I'll be looking to the upgrades to this line in the future."
Review 6 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VBNET3D
Location:Athens, GA
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Portable Computer

Date:January 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage
"I purchased an X120e for a music studio that needed to combine high portability with good performance. A netbook was out of the question, but a large laptop with good performance did not have the portability and battery life needed. Enter the X120e. We have been using this computer for a year, and it has exceeded all expectations, and has easily handled software normally requiring a powerful desktop workstation. I like it so much I have just ordered its successor, the X130e for personal use."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jonjon
Location:Japan
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

1 of the most portable laptop I able to use

Date:January 24, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Screen size
"I been part of the test team for laptop product assurance and I can say that ThinkPad X120e is one of the best in terms of portability ,style and features. Design and color has a good variations with a very good features such as SImple Tap & Trackpoint, Fingerprint and TPM to name a few.
That is I really love this laptop .."
Review 8 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snowens
Location:Boiling Springs,SC
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Powerful Netbook

Date:January 15, 2012
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Display performance, portability
Cons: no dvd or cd drive
"I needed a portable laptop for work and this netbook was recommended to be by a friend. I love it and am so happy I purchased it. It's so portable but yet powerful enough for me to do my work on and search the web. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a small portable netbook that is as powerful as a laptop. The only neg is their is not cd or dvd drive. Hasn't been a huge problem though because there are several usb's for my flash drive."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
X120eFan
Location:St. Louis, MO
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Solidly made hardward

Date:January 12, 2012
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Support, Durability, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality
"I bought my X120e about 6 months ago to replace a heavy laptop that was wearing out physically. The X120e was a great choice. Light, long battery life, good speed, etc. were all factors--and performance is reasonable for such a small computer. What is a real plus, however, is the solid steel case and rugged keyboard--things just don't break for a heavy traveling PC."
Review 10 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pvwebb
Location:Dallas Texas
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

revolutionary notebook

Date:December 28, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"The ThinkPad X120e 05962RU Notebook (AMD dual core e-350, Radeon HD 6310 graphics controller, and 6 hour battery) is netbook size and power consumption with notebook speed and ability. When I monitor power, this notebook uses 6 to 7 watts with short bursts up to 21 watts with busy. I’ve used it many times on battery for two hours straight with 67% of battery left after the two hours. The windows experience index is the full 3.8 of the CPU because the graphics controller has a Windows Aero index of 3.9 and gaming graphics index of 5.7. Many higher power consumption i3 CPU notebooks run slower because of the built-in Intel graphics. This notebook has a solid case and reasonably light weight for its size. It has a full 1366 x 768 resolution on its 11.6” display."
Review 11 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
proc
Location:Asheville, NC.
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

perfect for me

Date:December 26, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Video card
"this little book runs and runs .
Its rugged construction and performance is exceptional.
also the price is super for this machine.
I would buy it again."
Review 12 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LenovoChampion
Location:Chicago
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Awesome Light Heavyweight

Date:December 26, 2011
Pros: Wireless card, Processor, Memory
"The X120e is light in terms of weight but a real "heavyweight" in terms of what it can do. It's as light as a netbook, but gives you all the power you need in a notebook. I highly recommend this laptop! It's definitely value for money."
Review 13 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitzman
Location:Tennessee
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

The X120e is Awwww-sum!

Date:December 25, 2011
Pros: Weight, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"Read my review on my google blog.
Do a google search on "The Fitzman"
A full review of the X120 is there. Probably worth reading if you are considering buying an X120e.
Oh, above I gave 5 stars for Reliability. I just bought the computer...so obviously I am being optimistic. If it lasts 5 year it will deserve the 5 stars. Take off one star for each year less than that....
Happy computing bay-beeee!
Mike"
Review 14 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shoeboxphotos
Location:San Diego, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

The Little Laptop That CAN

Date:December 22, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"I purchased this laptop for travel use. I wanted something compact, yet comfortable. Having a full-size keyboard really makes a big difference when trying to bang-out emails quickly.
I don't do any fancy computing on the x120e, but it seems to do just with everything I've thrown at it.
Battery life is perfectly acceptable for those unplugged situations and the build quality is outstanding.
Lastly, the x120e AMD Fusion Processor E-350 wont melt the polyester to your leg like the previous x100e would. :P"
Review 15 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SantaCruzRed
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

x120e rocks

Date:November 23, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Processor
"Looks like a netbook, except it has Lenovo class and quality. Great screen and graphics. Can't imagine using any other laptop, unless need to crunch numbers. Great for reading ebooks too, because so light, and such a clear bright screen. Display as clear and stable as my Kindle -- just does color and a whole lot more."
Review 16 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
malv
Location:Riverside, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months

Would have been perfect...

Date:November 17, 2011
Pros: Weight, Battery, Processor, Memory
Cons: Build Quality
"if not for the terrible viewing angles and dead pixel right in the center of the screen. You might want to see the screen before deciding to purchase."
Review 17 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sven
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Great portable

Date:October 30, 2011
Pros: Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: slow to ship
"Great construction for the price. Keyboard is fantastic. Perfect size for transport. Performance is quite good with the E350 and 6GB ram installed. Graphics are strong and HD video playback is flawless. Battery life is usually 5-7 hours. Very pleased so far with this laptop as it has performed perfectly since day one."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zalame
Location:Tel Aviv, Israel
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Best value for money for the simple user

Date:October 8, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Battery, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Bluetooth
"All I needed was a small laptop that I could relay on when doing the usual stuff like emails, internet and occasional word processing. The x120e was just what I was looking for. Faster than all net books and reliability like only Lenovo can provide with a very reasonable price.
This laptop is more than enough for the average home user and even my cats love it!"
Review 19 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TonyK
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

Very mobile, but only so-so performance

Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Processor, Screen size, Display resolution
"I've had (actually stiil have) a T60p and a T400, which I have loved. The idea of having the same power in an ultraportable really grabbed me, so when I saw the early reviews of the X120e, I started chomping at the bit. I was probably a bit overeager and ordered it the first day it was available. When it arrived, I have to admit I was rather underwhelmed by its speed and not all that happy with its small screen. By then the X220 was about to be released, so I decided to return the X120e and get the X220. The X120e is certainly a very capable netbook, but for me, the X220 is the perfect mix of portability and power."
Review 20 for ThinkPad X120e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neolefty
Location:Chengdu, China
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Memory:4 GB or more

Well-balanced and durable

Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals
"I bought an x120e four months ago as a family computer when we moved overseas, and our kids love it for its portability, usability, and adequate performance. Plus, the price was excellent.
A word on performance: The processor/GPU/memory combo seems very well-balanced. While none of the components are lightning-fast, none of them are Achilles' heals either. That is, neither the CPU, GPU, or hard disk hobbles the rest of the system. I think it's a well-balanced system design.
A word on the battery: We chose the larger battery, and it has served us well. But it will probably be the first component we will need to replace. We've used it heavily over the last 4 months, and it is down to about 80% of its original capacity, as self-reported. First, thank you Lenovo for including that self-reporting function! Second, we'll shift to a more battery-conserving "keep it plugged in a little more often" approach. Third, I guess we'll replace the battery eventually, but at this rate it should last about 2 years. Not bad.
Ergonomics: Keyboard is excellent, trackpad is tiny. But the kids like the pointing stick anyway. Need a mouse for games :)"