Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G550

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo Lenovo G550

Average customer rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
21 of 27(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G550
Review 1 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Daedalus
Location:Boston, Ma.
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:3 GB

So many models for G550

Date:April 17, 2011
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Input/Output compatibility, Bluetooth
"Silly me. I never realized that Lenovo made so many different models of the G550. I own a model 2958 with 3 GB, Intel's Pentium Dual Core Processor. My model is sitting on the borderline. I am not a gamer and was simply looking for a machine that would handle my various programs from Microsoft and Adobe as well as cover the Internet. I've no complaints. I only regret that I didn't buy 4GB, the maximum amount of memory for this particular model. Still I wasn't stingy and picked up 3GB when I bought Windows 7. I suspect the reason for the mixed reviews are due to the people who went cheap on the cpu, didn't buy enough memory then ran programs calling for more. They don't make the G550 anymore but I would buy from Lenovo again. I take this machine everywhere in case some building like Starbuck's or the library is providing the Internet for its customers. On other occasions I can finish some work. There is no printer for this model. You can connect with one on a network but I can't find a printer for it. If you do an awful lot of printing it's a problem. It takes time to get use to the touchpad but I don't need a mouse. You might want to buy a carrying case for it. If you take it everywhere you won't regret it. If you're searching for a good laptop check to make sure that it comes with a good processor, carrying the maximum amount of memory for this particular model, use the best operating system, get the travel bag with a shoulder strap and you're ready for nomad life."
Review 2 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
valor
Location:IL
Owned Product:7-12 months

Lenovo G550 Review

Date:November 25, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Display resolution, Screen size
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Weight, Durability
"Pros: Decent look, nice price
Cons: Too senstive pad, Heavy and probably not of best quality but no complains because you can not expect any better for this price
"
Review 3 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pizoney
Location:Manitowoc, WI
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium

not sold

Date:November 23, 2010
Pros: Memory, Storage, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Bluetooth, Weight, Durability, Warranty, Security Features, Build Quality
Cons: Processor, Video card, Battery, Included Software, Software compatibility, Support
"not as fast as I had expected, locks up continuously, very frustrating for a new computer. this thing locks up sometimes just on start up.
would not recommend.
"
Review 4 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitkat
Location:Binghamton, NY
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Great choice

Date:November 19, 2010
Pros: Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Screen size, Durability, Support
Cons: Weight, Battery
"I love this laptop! I've had it a year and half, use it almost daily, and it has never given me a problem. The keyboard doesn't seem cramped like they are on a lot of laptops, and the keypad on the side is great - it was actually the reason I chose this model.
My (very small) complaints:
No red dot mouse in the middle of the keyboard. After using someone's ThinkPad, I really wish I had one!
The speakers are on the front edge of the laptop, placed so that if you're typing your arms muffle the sound slightly.
No SD card reader, which was apparently on earlier models of the G550.
None of these issues are deal-breakers, just inconveniences - pretty minor ones at that. Overall, great value! It's on the heavy side, but that's to be expected from the size of it. I carry it around a lot at college, and it's not a huge deal."
Review 5 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mudcat48
Location:Atlanta GA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

keyboard/ peripherals

Date:November 19, 2010
Pros: Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Weight, Battery, Included software
Cons: Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Durability
"As I was writing before I got kicked out of the screen. If you do not hold your hands "up" on the keyboard - they will touch the mouse area at the bottom of the laptop. When this happens your cursor moves 10 lines down or up or out of your screen.
At one point all of my data was lost, but thank goodness it is easy to restore all of your information.
Laptops are very convenient but the glich with the mouse does not make it portable. I will need to purchase a mouse to prevent the skipping around by the keyboard mouse.
"
Review 6 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
martress
Location:Walcott, IA
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:3 GB

good entry level unit.

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Display performance, Weight, Software compatibility, Warranty
Cons: Memory, Battery
"I purchased this as a replacement for a much more expensive (and heavier) HP.
The screen is clear and sharp. The keys are more responsive and the processor has been faster than the HP.
If I had the time when I bought this, I would have ordered one built to better suit my needs.
Overall, I am very happy with my decision to go with Lenovo and would not hesitate to do it again.
"
Review 7 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lenovoaholic
Location:Manhattan, KS
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

very good decision!

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery, Durability, Warranty, Support, Security Features, Build Quality
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance, Durability
"Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery, Durability, Warranty, Support, Security Features, Build Quality
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance, Durability
"Great value, great performance for work, school, surfing, movies, music, etc. It's not a gaming machine but there are plenty of games this machine will play flawlessly. It's lightweight and the battery is long lasting. Sleek appearance and well built.
Cons:
-mouse touch pad is pretty sensitive and you may have to learn to change your typing style to avoid getting your cursor from jumping around.
-my LED went out after about 8 months but LENOVO was superb in customer service and had my little baby back to me w/ in 2 days of them receiving it for the repair. Extremely quick repair and this computer has had no other problems whatsoever!
For the price I will recommend this to everyone!" 5 Stars overall for value!"
Review 8 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
krotchety
Location:Spotswood, NJ
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Good buy

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Battery, Warranty
"Gotta write fast, thanks to Lenovo's stingy timeout policy, and not saving your text for you.
Good performance, great price if you shop, plenty of memory, good battery life, runs cool and quiet. 4GB, 2.2GHz dual core processor.
Should remember to keep your touchpad shut off after powering down machine."
Review 9 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Broders
Location:Southwest, WI
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:3 GB

Great Purchase

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Weight, Battery, Software compatibility, Durability, Warranty, Support, Build Quality
Cons: Bluetooth
"Overall the product is great. I use mine for college and it has been very reliable. It is also very durable since i have spilled a few things near it. Quality of sound and visual aspects is also very good. The only thing I would change is the built in mouse. It is placed in a location that I always seem to hit, which in turn can cause some errors when typing documents."
Review 10 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cincia
Location:Baltimore, MD
Owned Product:Just got it

Decent Laptop

Date:November 18, 2010
"I write stories and i'm not always able to get on my home compute so I bought my laptap for the convience. I've had no problems with it other than the cursor jumping around on the screen...anytime...anywhere...for no reason. I'm not sure if that's a general issue with all touchpads though. I do think it's a good buy though."
Review 11 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vish
Location:New Orleans,LA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Good value for money

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Memory, Display performance, Video card, Durability, Build Quality
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Weight, Battery
"The one i got was C2D 2.2Ghz it works absolutely fine with the built it Nvidia display card churning out gud display. one drawback would be the battery, and it kinda heats up a lot(while gaming). On the whole it is a good product for regular home usage, but not for playing games!!."
Review 12 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginny
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB

Handles everything

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Software compatibility
"Having been outsourced, I needed to purchase an inexpensive but FAST laptop to begin medical transcription from home. I am thrilled with my Lenovo laptop. I have googled/applied for over 150 jobs on line, about 1/4 of them requiring download of various audio files to transcribe, installing hardware and/or software and running three versions of MS Word. My laptop handles it all. I also love the big screen, all sorts of ports for my USB foot pedals, earphones and the standard keyboard I had gotten used to. When my partner's clunky old desktop peters out I will be purchasing her a Lenovo."
Review 13 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nlanz
Location:Akron, OH
Owned Product:18-24 months
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:3.5 GB

first and best purchase

Date:November 17, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Bluetooth, Weight, Battery, Included software, Software compatibility, Durability, Warranty, Support, Security Features, Build Quality
"I went into this laptop hunt looking for a Gateway, but I found a Lenovo instead. It had a good price, and everything I needed. I bought and tried it out. It worked beautifully. I never regret I bought it."
Review 14 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lyn4023
Location:MA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Processor:Intel Celeron
Memory:3 GB

Just the right type for me!

Date:November 15, 2010
Pros: Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Bluetooth, Included software
Cons: Storage, Warranty
"I actually bought this item from the outlet store as refurbished. I was looking for an affordable and yet awesome laptop for homework/personal use and here it is!
It is my first lenovo purchase and I have fallen in love with this simple laptop that even has a built-in camera and numeric keypad. Perhaps the only part I did not like so much is that it did not have the volume controls physically.
There is a small kink and I don't know how to explain it. Sometimes while on the internet, the letter keypads would type in numbers instead of letters. That was a bit weird. But it always works fine offline and most of online."
Review 15 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taiwanese
Location:Riverside, CA
Owned Product:18-24 months

Best Working laptop for school

Date:November 10, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Battery, Durability
Cons: Storage, Video card
"Bought from a friend for cheap, the most durable laptop I got in awhile. It provided me with a lot of fun."
Review 16 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
slashnyaoi
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Owned Product:13-18 months
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core

first ever laptop

Date:September 13, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Battery, Included software, Software compatibility, Durability, Warranty, Security Features, Build Quality
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Weight
"I bought this laptop primarily for college purposes and haven't regretted the decision. It's much cheaper then other laptops I've come across on campus and does just as much if not more then other models. the only downfall is that it is rather heavy with its size, especially walking across campus 2-3x in a day. Also, the mouse pad is right were I place my hands to type, so I have a tendency to accidentally move my fingers over it and move where I'm typing at. A little frustrating, but easy to adapt to and worth it for the number pad.
On a foot note, windows 7 is awesome, I'm very glad I waited and didn't get on the vista bus-its super user friendly, and I recommend that if you're afraid, to go down to your local bestbuy and just play around on a computer to see how nice it is!
I liked that when I got it I got to choose what trials I wanted installed and if I didn't like them later, could easily remove them from my computer. The face recolonization log in is also very nice and I needed the cam for several of my classes, which worked out nicely.
It's very user friendly and easy to set up to your liking, I can also run multiple programs at once without problem and it starts up quicker then my desk top. The battery also lasts me at least 4 hours of class time without a recharge.
I also pickup wifi signals much better then my peers-Ha! take that Apple!
I plan on going through lenovo when it comes time to replace my desktop PC.
"
Review 17 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jayb
Location:West Palm Beach Florida
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Purchase

Date:July 20, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery, Software compatibility, Durability, Warranty, Build Quality
"I love the veriface logon and the webcam. The keyboard is user friendly great purchase."
Review 18 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Claudiu
Location:Los Angeles
Owned Product:Just got it

Worst laptop ever

Date:July 17, 2010
Cons: Durability, not reliable
"I had the laptop for a week, in the middle of my skype conversation, the screeen went black and the the machine shut down, when i restarted it the screen is still black and the laptop does not POST , i get only the LED lights on and that is all."
Review 19 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
T121
Location:Iowa
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:3 GB

Nice!

Date:June 11, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery, Included software
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Durability, Build Quality
"Great, other than no memory card reader. Touchpad is a bit iffy, but usually fine. Very fast with 3 GB of DDR3 ram, dual core intel processor, very light for a 15 inch laptop. Very shaky when in a car, bus, etc. 2 hinges not very strong. OneKey recovery very, very nice feature, saved me a few days ago. Battery life is really long for a laptop this size, almost 5 hours on Energy Star plan (Win7)"
Review 20 for Lenovo G550
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jiffy
Location:Tempe, AZ
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows Vista Home
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Simply but Solid computer

Date:May 2, 2010
Pros: Memory, Storage, Weight, Durability, Security Features
Cons: Included Software, Support
"Got it about a year ago. Were expecting good programming performance with large memory and poor graphics due to the fact that it has no designated graphics card.
Got the first as expected. Vista is disappointing as an OS but machine itself is quite solid. Enjoyed the Veri-face (face recognition) feature a lot. Graphics actually not bad, came with a bad pixel on the screen though.
Overall nice machine, good features, extra wide screen very impressive. Battery is OK, bout 2.5 hrs and ~2 after a year."