Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad 8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad 8

Average customer rating:
3.56 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
1
13 of 25(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad 8
Review 1 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ralph

Bad picture with flash and small fonts on Apps

Date:July 16, 2014
"I love this machine with only a few exceptions. The biggest disappointment is the camera when using the flash. It is a great camera. But when you use the flash the picture is washed out. I have tried changing the settings but it doesn't help much. One more complaint, font sizes. You have to set them for the many different areas and you cannot change the font size for the apps tiles. 3 stars on value is because for the money it should have 4GB ram instead of 2. To its credit it is still faster than my wife’s Surface RT but paid half the price. Had it for about 5 months and it crashed once. Had to hard reboot. Thats all the complaints. The reason I chose to buy the ThinkPad 8 over the other 8” tablets is because it has the full version of Windows not RT, 8mp camera with flash, 64gb hard drive, micro SD slot up to 64gb, faster CPU, slightly larger screen 8.3”, metal frame, and high quality screen. The battery has been adequate for me. I am not a heavy user (an hour or two at a time)."
Review 2 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kuki

only 2 gb of ram

Date:June 3, 2014
"This is a great tablet. It can play full hd video, and with additional bluetooth keyboard and mouse it can be used as a desktop.
Good things:
USB3
1920x1200
micro hdmi
fast enough for most work
works quite ok in metro interface, or whatever is the new official name
bad things:
only 2Gb of ram
no stylus
no usb cable for attaching usb hub :( (one port is not enough)
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jg784t

Perfect choice

Date:May 16, 2014
"I will preface by saying I love Lenovo products typically and lost a little bit of faith in the Thinkpad 8 because it took forever to ship. But once I got it, I was amazed by its offerings. The screen absolutely blows you away and it has the perfect size with exceptional power. 5 stars!"
Review 4 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mjjoconnor

Really Like It

Date:May 12, 2014
"Finally a device that Windows 8.1 is made for. There is very little that that I don't like about this device. The price is on the high end and think but offset against a well built product. I did have to return mine when I received it because of an audio issue, but apart from that, its been great. I love the cover. When you close it, it goes into standby super quick and retains the battery. I really like how productive I can be with it too with all the multi tasking with Windows 8.1"
Review 5 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
moss

lacks wacom digitizer

Date:April 12, 2014
"greate specs, but without wacom digitizer you can not have productivity with this tablet, you can not work with office efficiently, only surfing internet and watching youtube the same as android and ipad tablets. hope lenovo adds wacom to a version of this tablet soon, and then this tablet becomes a keeper"
Review 6 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
xmarklive

Problems

Date:April 6, 2014
"I am going to return this tablet because the screen seems to auto adjust even through I've turned it off... pages seem to stay dim longer when you go from a dark page to a bright page. Even on a light page the screen stays dark a long time like the auto brightness is on. Might be a problem with my unit, but after wasting a month to get because of backorder I'm not going to give them another go.... good look to all"
Review 7 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frank

Widespread problem with its speakers

Date:April 4, 2014
"Its speakers do not works anyway.
I really do not know what happened with TP8 speakers. There are already quite a lot of such cases. At first, I believed that it's a part problem, but some guys got same failures in the speakers even they replaced new speakers for their TP8s. Now, I am still waitting for my replacement, and its shipped date is shown as June 6. Oh, I can not say any words.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ScottSamm
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:2 GB

Almost great

Date:March 27, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Security Features, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Display performance
"Love everything about the tablet so far except two misses stand out:
- The display suffers quite a bit from ghosting. I'm still trying to figure out if that's a problem with my unit or the product in general. You can almost always see artifacts of different apps when you switch around.
- The dual-function charging/usb port is really not common and Lenovo should have provided a USB adapter at minimum. Ideally one that provided charging and USB usage in parallel."
Review 9 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DictoMail
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:2 GB

Great thin client for grid computing

Date:March 25, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility
"This tablet is great for connecting to remote grid networks. It's not meant as a replacement for a desktop or laptop, but an ADD-ON.. to slide in your pocket.
== USAGE ==
I use this tablet to connect to multiple remote grid instances each running 256GB RAM, 48GHz CPU, 2000Mpbs fiber connectivity. This device is plenty to accomplish any task I require.. as long as I can connect to the grid network. Therefore, the WiFi card is VERY important. It must be as powerful as possible. I use a 3rd-party Bluetooth digitizer stylus and BT gesture touchpad. Contrary to mixed reviews, I use an OTG USB cable which works just fine.
== WISHLIST ==
A stronger WiFi card would be better. An additional separate mini-usb port would be useful, so users can charge with older ubiquitous smartphone chargers.
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarat
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Memory:2 GB

Good Tablet

Date:March 22, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Software compatibility, Display resolution
Cons: Support, Build Quality
"This tabled has all of features that I need (e.g. HDMI Output, USB 3.0, Windows Button, Good screen resolution, Screen Size). But it has a little bit design problem. There is a tiny edge between its screen glass and it frame. The rest of the features are excellent. Better than other Windows 8 Tablets in the market. Good Job from Lenovo."
Review 11 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brent
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8

Useless as a business tool

Date:March 19, 2014
Cons: Wireless card
"Otherwise exceptional tool, but the interoperability problem with Cisco makes it useless as a business tool.
Not all of us can snap fingers and have IT upgrade Network firmware.
Lenovo is aware; Lenovo should provide a fix.
http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Windows-8-and-8-1-Knowledge-Base/ThinkPad-or-IdeaPad-with-Windows-8-won-t-connect-to-Cisco/ta-p/1006057
Unfortunate as I would otherwise rate this as 5 stars across the board. It really is an exceptional piece of hardware.
Disappointing..."
Review 12 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wadesh
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:2 GB

Amazing quality and graphics but could be improved

Date:March 14, 2014
Pros: Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Weight
"This is a high quality device. it feels substantial in your hands, in fact I had to go weigh it because I was surprised it was under a pound, but it is. with the cover on it comes in at 18oz but without it's 14.4 oz. My first impression, its fast, easy to set up. I watched an HD movie from Netflix on it...it streamed smoothly and the HD pic quality was just amazing!
the optional cover:it's kind of a waste. it adds too much weight and the tenting really doesn't work at all on any smooth surface
Camera just average. Low light is bad even with flash.
Overall, I'd recommend it particularly to get the flexibility of the full win8 OS and ability to run any windows app on it.
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
keith
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:2 GB

Please stop putting your logo all over everything

Date:March 11, 2014
"No one wants to look at the Thinkpad or Lenovo logo as the most prominent design feature of a tablet. You're not Apple, and even they use a branding mark instead of ugly, dated TradeGothic font with their company name plastered everwhere.
I'm a customer, not a walking billboard for your company."
Review 14 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lcgroc
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:2 GB

Good.. but lacking!

Date:February 26, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Storage, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"This would be what a professional would want.. except.. there is no keyboard. Perfect for on the go.. good weight.. but..no keyboard option. The lack of a digitizer could be a deal breaker too. Depends on what you are looking for.
Otherwise, a solid offering."
Review 15 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aliailo
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:2 GB

The top tablet ever!

Date:February 20, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, stylus
"Only shortage is a wacom digitizer! More Ram also would be perfect.
Overall, the ThinkPad 8 still is most useful business/ personal tablet has released yet!
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WantATabletPC
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:2 GB

Great for a Tablet but not for a Tablet PC

Date:February 17, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Bluetooth, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance, screen cover, 128gb storage, micro hdmi port
Cons: Storage, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, lacks lte, lacks full sized usb, lacks 240gb storage, no docking station, single usb/recharge port, no keyboard-cover
"Great CPU, great to see a cover is available, nice design for a Tablet, but for a Tablet PC it lacks, full sized USB, LTE, keyboard or keyboard cover, docking station, a way to use USB and recharge the device at the same time. A active stylus and pen would also be nice features to have but not as important as the other missing features.
Could have more memory and more storage."
Review 17 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AverageEverydayPowerUser
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:2 GB

Good, but insufficient memory.

Date:February 6, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Video card, Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Processor, Display performance
"This is a good overall tablet, however the paltry 2GB or ram, no stylus, and no full size USB port may drive someone to get the older ThinkPad Tablet 2. Something good though is the 128GB of SSD, while most other manufacturers go up to 64GB."
Review 18 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VampireZIM
Owned Product:Just got it

No USB while charging

Date:February 5, 2014
Pros: Processor, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, effectively useless usb port while charging.
"First I have to applaud Lenovo for bringing in a clear upgrade from their previous 8" Windows 8.1 tablet.
Giving it a 1920x1200 res screen, lets you unplug it from your larger monitor and not have to resize windows.
USB 3.0 is a great upgrade, giving you many more possibilities than any other 8" Windows 8.1 tablet.
All this is destroyed by the incompetent move to only supply the device with ONE USB port that is used to POWER THE MACHINE. So everything I said above, becomes USELESS, because you have to use the ONLY USB port to charge the machine, which makes it useless as a desktop PC.
This is a shame, because the Baytrail processor is more than enough for most desktop work. You can even play lower level games on this machine."
Review 19 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Manish
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8

How is this a thinkpad with no digitizer?

Date:February 5, 2014
Pros: Processor, Storage, screen pixel density
Cons: Battery, Weight, lack of wacom, too many logos
"Appreciated the design for the most part, especially the screen is quite good, but do we really need logos in the front and the back? Quickshot cover is innovative but frankly a gimmick. Most importantly, why is there no Wacom option like the other Thinkpads?
To me its no better than the Lenovo Miix 2 (and that is a pretty horrible product, with quality issues). A slightly higher clocked Baytrail processor and USB 3.0 and adding a micor-HDMI port (which should have been on the Miix as well) doesn't justify this premium pricing.
Lack of Wacom gives it no redeeming features over other tablets in its class, so yes, I can't honestly recommend it to anyone."
Review 20 for ThinkPad 8
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nasir
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8

Another 6 months wait to get the right one :)

Date:February 4, 2014
Pros: Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Wireless card, Weight
"Overall a good product, but very sad it is without LTE support.
I have a Surface PRO, which works well as a Ultrabook. I was looking for a real Tablet and though ThinkPad will be one.
Very disappointed to not have LTE. Wondering why we don't get a tablet with all in one. Some has Stylus, but not great resolution. The ones with great resolution doesn't have Stylus and LTE. May be OEMs are running out of Innovation so they want to keep some features for next version.
Looks like, another 6 months wait to get the right one :)
"