Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
A7
A8
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y40 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y40

Average customer rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
8 of 13(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y40
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JACookie

Fantastic Computer

Date:July 18, 2014
"I admit I am not a heavy gamer, and only needed a laptop that had gaming capabilities. I have no regrets about this computer. So far, I have been able to play Skyrim and Tomb Raider on High settings with no lag. The sound on this computer is great (JBL Speakers).
The screen is definitely not horrendous (only looks so compared to the unbelievable brightness of a MacBook Pro 2010 at least). It is reminiscent of other quality TPN panels but with the benefit of not having smudges on the screen.
There is hardly any flex to the keyboard whatsoever, but the metal finish is a bit of a fingerprint collector (totally tolerable though). The keyboard takes a little bit to get used to, but the chiclet style keys are comfortable to type on.
The only problem I have with this computer is that it does not come with a TPM chip (only necessary for encryption!). If you need to use Bitlocker for encrypting, you would have to either find alternative software or use a USB drive to unlock your computer"
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SKILLEDxKILLAH

EXCELLENT!

Date:July 15, 2014
"This was my very first laptop purchase ever (due to college coming up in a couple months). I just want to say that I am very impressed with the performance and am very happy with the build of the laptop. I just want to say that I can play Battlefield 4 on high to ultra settings (with a few tweaks in ultra). I will definitely buy from Lenovo again."
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cozmin

Nice laptop but...

Date:July 15, 2014
"Got this laptop last week...everything is good except the touchpad...it feels loose and it makes this sound when you touch it...not click it. I don't know if it's just mine or this is how they ware build."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tonga

Cheap but not worth

Date:July 13, 2014
"One week ago, my Y40 came from USA with my cousin. At first sight, Y40 is light, powerful and looks like good money for value. But after first day i noticed the display is worse than my 3 year old laptop. Movies doesnt look good because of viewing angle. If you have plan to watch movies with your friends: Forgot! Only one person can watch movie
Also games graphics (Starcraft) doesnt look good beacuse of very low contrast value.
After 2 days i gave Y40 to my brother and back to old laptop."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dontbuy

Dont Buy

Date:July 11, 2014
"This does not have a back lit keyboard, unlike what the website said. It really isn't that fast of a processor and my came with the vent in the back bent in and not assembled correctly. Will be sending it back soon."
Response from Lenovo:By LenovoJuly 16, 2014
Hello there, our website has previously stated that 'select' models of the Lenovo Y40 are available with a backlit keyboard. Unfortunately we have learned that we will not be receiving this model in the US and therefore have removed this reference. We apologize for any confusion this may have caused.
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gatordan

Nice Laptop with right expectations

Date:July 8, 2014
"I bought the version with 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, and the 4GB AMD Radeon graphics card. I'm a software developer and my primary use of this laptop is as a development PC for when I travel, not as a gaming laptop (I have a desktop for gaming). I wanted something with decent specs, but still small and light enough to easily carry around. This laptop is filling those needs quite well and I'm very happy with my purchase.
I don't really think Lenovo should probably market this as a gaming laptop because if someone buys this with the intention of playing graphics intensive games on ultra high settings, they're going to be disappointed. I have used it to play a couple of MMO's on high settings and this laptop can handle that kind of gaming just fine, but if you're expecting to play a game that requires high-end CPU and graphics card specs (Crysis 3 for example) on ultra high settings, you're going to be disappointed.
If they allowed more characters I'd give a more detailed review. 4.5 stars"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NonGamingGuy

A Super Cheap Laptop!

Date:July 6, 2014
"So cheap and the reviews say good things (70% of them) So i think ill buy this but can you lenovo make it a little cheaper like a ideapad Y400?"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5