Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E530 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E530

15", Intel-based powerhouse optimized for SMB productivity & growth.

Average customer rating:
3.452 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
7
23 of 42(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E530
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smiley

wpnderful investment

Date:April 26, 2012
"I love my thinkpad. It met all my expectations and more. If you don't have one your missing out."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Embee
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Biggest Mistake

Date:December 31, 2012
Cons: Support, Build Quality
"The mother board on my E520 laptop stopped working only 4 days after the one-year warranty was up - for a product that I purchased directly from Lenovo online.
Lenovo's price to repair is nearly the same as the cost to replace it."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sraza25
Location:Pakistan
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Boot up timing

Date:December 11, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Display performance, much longer boot up time
"After reading a lot of reviews regarding Edge E530 and its price i decided to purchase it but my experience was avg(Satisfactory) not good. As per my opinion its boot up time is much longer while my machine is i5 3210 with 6GB ram. It is major drawback of this machine. Over all performance is good."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ComTec

Unusual layout

Date:June 20, 2012
"I have a BIG complain about the keyboard, main board and mouse pad layouts. Do not buy this product until you directly see it."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDCooks

Technology With People In Mind

Date:May 27, 2012
"As an owner of a ThinkPad Edge series laptop for over a year now, the interfacing of technology and the human experience is embellished in these laptops.
These laptops have advanced technolgies that are can be utilized by both the novice and advanced users.
As an avid music enthusist and composer I've been using the laptop with a variety of appilcations to create and and interface with the world."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
shawn

Screen is too bright

Date:May 20, 2012
"I got this laptop 2 days ago,This is not portable laptop,It is good if you work only at home or in office, I mean you can't carry this laptop every where like as T series.This is not strong likeas T series.
I recommend this laptop for people that they are not travelling with laptop and They like bright screen.
The Screen is too bright , I don't like this too bright screen.
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pankaj

Excellent Performance and Value for Money

Date:April 5, 2014
"I purchase it as my first Laptop and I totally impress with its performance. Excellent speed, and big battery life makes it different from other. I am totally satisfied with it."
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
adeeme
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

typical thinkpad edge

Date:February 6, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Build Quality
"everything is excellent, except there is creaking noises around the laptop. You get used to the trackpad, it is huge ! :) I guess if you do not want any creaking you have to buy a high end thinkpad like the T series."
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ezra
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Value for money

Date:December 30, 2013
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals
"Wonderful keyboard - key travel is the best of any laptop I've tried. My wife has the same model. Between us we have three years of experience and we can't speak highly enough of it. The whole thing has a quality feel. The battery charge is reasonable - can't understand the complaints"
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sarah
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

The worst Laptop you can ever purchase

Date:December 10, 2013
"I regret ever purchasing this Laptop. We bought 18 of these laptops for work. Every single one shuts down on its own while users are working, giving blue screen dumps.
1 of those Laptops had to have the system board replaced- it is less than a month old.
This model is rubbish and I wouldn't recommend anyone to buy it."
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hijinx61
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not for bookkeepers

Date:November 28, 2013
"If you require the NumLock to be on when your computer starts DO NOT buy this computer. It is very annoying to have to always turn the NumLock on. Other Windows 7 Pro programs I have can be turned on at start up. Not this one. I get madder and madder very day. May just have to return and get a different computer that can do what I require."
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brad
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very good laptop.

Date:October 6, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I use this laptop for gaming. It starts up quickly and I never have problems.
Although, my laptop did not come with a number pad.That is the only downside."
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dalip
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:2 GB

Battery performance is zero

Date:September 25, 2013
Cons: Battery
""I got this 3259 10 days ago,This is not portable laptop,It is good if you work only at home or in office, I mean you can't carry this laptop every where like as L/T series.This is not strong likeas L/T series.
There is drawback of Battery performance. facing problems with the battery..
:("
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gabryone7
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Not bad

Date:September 23, 2013
Pros: Support, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, fingerprint reader, easy upgrade
Cons: Display resolution, Included Software, horrible touchpad, fan, no status led at all, driver compatiblity
"Not bad, but from Lenovo I aspect THE BEST, and that is a nice notebook, but i'm not impressed."
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vtspencer
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

efficiency by lenovo

Date:September 22, 2013
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals
"good reliable fast laptop been using since february and i love it :)"
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Main
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Poor Trackpad!

Date:September 17, 2013
Cons: trackpad
"I have been an IBM laptop user for many years - 480 then 600E, then thinkpad 700, T40, X50 - too numerous to mention.
Got given this laptop by the company I work for.
Trackpad is extremely poor design - keeps on highlighting and erasing/overtyping text whilst typing.
Surely after this many models they can get these things designed better?
Back to the drawing board Lenovo?
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Funktapus
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not Thinkpad quality

Date:August 12, 2013
"I bought this laptop thinking it would be a Thinkpad in slightly cheaper packaging. By that I mean good performance and reliability but less compact and a non-neodymium case.
I have owned this computer for about a year and it's starting to have major performance issues. Programs (including Windows Explorer) frequently hang, videos do not play back smoothly, and forget about running 3D applications. I am extremely disappointed by the fact that it takes several minutes for Word to become usable after the program launches."
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1234
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not worth the cheap price.

Date:May 10, 2013
"I got this computer to replace a 6 year old Dell Studio laptop. I wish I didn't.
The worst thing about it is the touchpad. It is terrible. It moves when you try to click on things and you end up either not clicking or in the wrong place. Sometimes it seems like you have to try a few times before it works.
It is not very good at connecting to the internet. I have wifi and my Dell works much better when online.
Every other computer I have bought comes with some sort of office software, so I assumed this would too, but no. Also while this is no fault of lenovo, I hate windows 8!!
It is a very frustrating computer to use.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
readitsoon
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

third ibm notebook, but never again

Date:May 4, 2013
Pros: Wireless card, Display performance
Cons: Support, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Processor, Build Quality
"I have been using IBM notebooks for about ten years now. Two models which satisfied me. good built, stable. but this E 530 Think Pad is nothing like them at all. Has been the most expensive so far but has the slowest performance when working on pictures and is instable with the 7 Home Premium. It´s ok though for the non working part like watching video. But I needed it to edit and send pictures, to write and surf the internet. I guess this will be my last IBM notebook. If it wasn´t just 5 months old I´ld trash it for it is slow and hangs itself up often. So for some parts of my work with pictures I use my old z60m which has developed a fan problem after 5 years of use"
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shadrack
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Very Happy With The E530

Date:February 19, 2013
Pros: Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Included Software
"This E530 is a replacement for a 3-1/2 year old G530 that refuses to boot. I was very happy with the G530, so the E530 was an easy transition which I have own for a little over a month. I consider the E530 to be better built and performance is increased. My E530 is a quieter running machine and is the absolute basic model in the E530. The only thing that I'm not sure about is the touchpad. It has a textured surface and has the capability to right and left click. This is a feature I am not use to at this point and tend not to use. I was happy to be able to purchase a Thinkpad at a very reasonable price. I was able to get Windows 7 on the E530 which was very important in my decision to purchase it."