Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad S205 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad S205

11.6" affordable & stylish on-the-go Web tool.

Average customer rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad S205
Review 1 for IdeaPad S205
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris
Location:Berkeley, CA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Not for me, but good if it's what you need

Date:January 4, 2012
"I bought this to stream HD videos to my tv and have a small computer around the house. The AMD Fusion chipset is supposed to handle HD video and light gaming very well.
It managed HD youtube, a UFC fight and some other streams just fine. From what I know it also handles HD rips fine too.
The problem is that it cannot handle Silverlight streams, such as Netflix, Xfinity or Slingbox. I use Xfinity and Slingbox a lot and the picture was unwatchable.
Silverlight doesn't offload the graphics to the GPU and this little AMD chip can't keep up. I've decided to RMA because of this.
The laptop handled webbrowsing, google docs, and other daily tasks fine. The price, size, weight and battery are good as well. Just has an achilles heel with the Silverlight. If I did handle that I would have kept it."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad S205
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LasVegas

Nice Machine

Date:March 19, 2012
"Installed Scientific Linux (aka Red Hat Enterprise LInux) mostly without any problems. Only real glitch was getting the rt3090sta wireless kernel module to compile and install o.k., which requires a small patch. (Function keys worked "out of the box").
CPU is comparable to an Intel SU9400 core2duo processor. Or, if you like, comparable to an older 1.8GHz Opteron 265, but with a smaller 512KB per CPU cache size. Graphics is excellent using Catalyst driver from AMD/ATI. A nice, portable travel machine; quality build and nice keyboard."
Review 3 for IdeaPad S205
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lorinc

unfair!

Date:February 25, 2012
"What no one tells you: you can not write on its HDD without a specific SCSI driver which is not included into ANY Windows distribution. There is NO Linux driver available. As a result, you can exclusively use this netbook with the pre-installed OS. Enjoy."
Review 4 for IdeaPad S205
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
raju
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Quality netbook with some storage space

Date:January 29, 2012
Pros: Build Quality, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility, Processor
Cons: Included Software, boot
"Its perfect for class and trave,l pretty quick when browsing the web and can handle multiple tabs open when when your multitasking. It has more than enough storage space for movies, files and music.
The only bad thing I could say is that the battery could be a little better and bootup could also be a little faster.
"
Review 5 for IdeaPad S205
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robert
Location:passaic new jersey
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Processor:Intel Celeron
Memory:4 GB or more

BEST PURCHASE I EVER MADE

Date:January 2, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"im a manufacturers rep, and needed a laptop for my business,,to send orders and not have to search for fax machines..initially i bought an apple ipad, returned it, and began the search for a lap top..went to all the box stores, and finally by advice from a good friend checked out lenova.com....the best thing i did...i love this computer...i take it wherever i go, its 11" and fast as my desktop...i can sit at a table in front of macys in NYC, and check my emails, search the web for the latest news, and skype my son in college in Israel.... no reason to go anyplace else....LENOVA S205"
Review 6 for IdeaPad S205
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
frank
Location:San Lorenzo, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Great product

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"It has all the features fit my need. I extremely like the HDMI port because it can output the dispay to my big screen TV. This laptop has power and very portable. By the way, it looks great too."
Review 7 for IdeaPad S205
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizJ
Location:Northern Virginia
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Great netbook

Date:October 4, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"I was looking for a lightweight system with a good keyboard that I could use to browse the web, use Word/Excel/PowerPoint, watch some HD video online, and video chat with friends while traveling. This system fits the bill all around. Fantastic Lenovo keyboard. Great Windows 7 Experience Index ratings for a netbook, too: 3.8 processor, 5.7 memory, 4.2 (!!) graphics, 5.6 gaming graphics, 5.9 hard drive. I got the system on sale, and I'd get one again at that price."
Review 8 for IdeaPad S205
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
josephbw
Location:Western Ohio
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Great small laptop substitute

Date:September 16, 2011
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"This does everything that I thought it should. My only minor complaint is that the keyboard is not as big as I was hoping it would be. I've had 2 other Thinkpads, and I thought they had the best keyboards."
Ratings-Only Reviews for IdeaPad S205
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1