Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad S431 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad S431

14" style optimized for Windows 8, with new ThinkPad TrackPad, OneLink technology, RapidCharge battery, & more. Available in Silver & Gunmetal with Sandblast Aluminum finish.

Average customer rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad S431
Review 1 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
calbeargrylls
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Buy

Date:February 27, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, charges very fast
Cons: Wireless card, Bluetooth
"I purchased the S431 in September 2013 and have been using it daily for about six months now. I purchased the SSD, i5, and HD screen, and I could not be happier."
Review 2 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Student
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7

Great Student Computer

Date:February 20, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
"I bought this computer for university and have no regrets whatsoever. It meets all my program requires, is lightweight, and never fails on me. I practically live off of this laptop. The battery life is good for as much as I use it, it never makes noise or produces an extreme amount of heat. I've used the backlit more than I thought I would; great for late studying and dimmed lecture rooms. My only concern was not having a disk drive, but I hardly ever need one. When I do, I have Lenovo's external disk drive.
One of my USB ports acts up sometimes, but I think that's just from extensive use. Another weird con is that the surface retains fingerprints easily. Clean often!
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dave
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent laptop, great Quality

Date:January 22, 2014
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card
"This laptop is phenomenal. Great build quality with a magnesium aluminum alloy body, rigid hinge, great keyboard and trackpad which is responsive and definitive for clicking and mouse actions.
I chose the laptop with the 128gb SSD, i3, 4gb of RAM, and standard HD screen. While the speed is noticeably different from my custom home built PC (i5 3570k) this laptop is perfect for using anywhere, and is extremely reliable. Another good thing to note is that the HDD, or RAM are easily upgradable through the bottom of the laptop."
Review 4 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairland90
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Best ultrabook under $700

Date:November 24, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display performance
"S431 is the best ultrabook one can get under $700. A perfect alternative to a macbook. I recommend the SSD hard drive for S431. It definitely improves the overall performance of this laptop. Also consider to upgrade the processor to i5, if you emphasize the processing speed."
Review 5 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gree1397
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

S431

Date:October 16, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"My father has been using a Lenovo for a few years now and only had good things to say about. So, when my other laptop died I jumped on the opportunity to try a new brand. I was blown away by the S431. This is my first ultrabook and I absolutely love it. The backlit keyboard is a nice change of pace. This machine doesn't make a noise when it is on. With the SSD, boot time is lightning fast. With the USB 3.0 having media on an external HDD is perfect. I am a student and the portability is so wonderful. It's pretty light and it feels wonderfully sturdy with a quiet keyboard that doesn't distract others in the lecture. I love it."
Review 6 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jilted
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Not-So-Cheap Laptop, Cheap Quality

Date:September 19, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility
"The wireless card stinks. Don't waste your money. Get the T430s"
Review 7 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
noco
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great for the Price

Date:September 17, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Battery
"I have a desktop for home; I bought this laptop for school/work use and travel. I do programming in programs like SAS and R, so I needed something with a fast processor, 8 GB of RAM and Windows 7, but also something relatively light. This was the perfect compromise for me in terms of price vs performance (I'm a graduate student, so I didn't have a ton of money to spend). The battery life is decent (4-6 hours for me), but 8 hours would have been nice. I have the HD+ (900p) screen; the colors aren't the best I've seen, but for business/work/school use, it's perfectly adequate. The keyboard is comfortable and the trackpad is good for a trackpad. This is the only ultrabook I was able to find under 4 pounds that included an I7 processor, 8gb RAM, dedicated GPU, and an SSD for under $1200."
Review 8 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oleg
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Quality laptop with could-be-better-battery

Date:September 13, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, lack of vga
"Overall this is a great laptop, and it definitely suits its price well. Feels firm and incredibly durable. Mine is i-7 with 8 gb of ram. Performance has been outstanding so far. Heat was never an issue for me with this machine, although I loaded it pretty heavily. It handles any hd video just fine. The only reason I gave 4 stars is for battery. With active content consumption (checking e-mail, with wi-fi always on, watching hd-videos, and installing applications) battery drained in 3 hours. However, I am sure, with a normal days load the battery will last 4.5-6 hours as described. It lacks VGA port, which is a con particularly for me.
Overall, it is very nice laptop, with GREAT keyboard and cool design.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MGstudent
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

excellent value for the money

Date:September 13, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory
"The hybrid drive is extremely fast compared to my old standard hdd. Battery life has thus far been spot on with advertised 6 hrs. I like that the volume, screen brightness, display source, etc, are all hotkeys. It makes for a less cluttered keyboard. 14 in screen is so much better than the 13 or 11 in screens you normally see on ultrabooks.
This system combination does indeed require a good bit of ram (2.5 gb). I suggest the 8gb ram upgrade. I also suggest the HD+ screen upgrade. Trackpad click is a bit noisy for center click and there is also a learning curve associated with it. Once I got the hang of the trackpad, I found it very rewarding. Speakers are adequate but I use a Bose speaker system when working at my desk. Could use one more USB port (even if only 2.0)."
Review 10 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
gabagool
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

S431 20AXCTO1WW Review

Date:September 4, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance, Durability, trackpad
"cons: no light on CapsLock button, TrackPad too loud, right-click area not accurate/sensitive, screen contrast is weird, colors not vibrant, screen strains the eyes, battery drains completely in 2 hours in High Performance mode, feels a little flimsy, no dedicated volume control buttons; you must press "Fn" plus another "F" button for functions, weight on the heavier side for an ulrabook
pros: processor, RAM, webcam, speakers"
Review 11 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Veetor
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Laptop, Invest in 8GB ram and a SSD

Date:August 25, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Processor, Durability
"Overall a great ultrabook. Its great as a mac alternative, yet you must be careful with the screen around the bezel. It was a great price, and It is a great laptop for students who treat their laptops carefully (not me :(). The ultracharge battery plus a haswell processor would be a very interesting combo. I hope lenovo makes this happen in the future."
Review 12 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zachb
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Works as Advertised and Expected

Date:August 24, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Included Software, Display performance
"Have the Core i7 Processor, 8GB RAM, discrete graphics, 500GB HD + SSD
Keyboard and TrackPoint set it apart from other computers. Clickpad is too loud and goes down unexpectedly far when clicking.
The HD+ screen has good resolution and brightness, but the color isn't quite there compared to other monitors.
Typical battery life has been 4.5 to 5 hours, with 6 advertised. I'm using Windows 7 so that might keep the battery life down. The Bluetooth chipset is power hungry and I've seen a noticeable difference when turning it off.
Hard drive and SSD work unobtrusively and haven't given me issues. Goes in and out of hibernation really quick when using the SSD"
Review 13 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bill
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Aweome

Date:August 16, 2013
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card
"This is an awesome computer"