Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X100e

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad X100e

Average customer rating:
4.256 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
32
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
0
75 of 86(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X100e
Review 1 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Luis
Location:Bogota, Colombia
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Double core runs very hot - poor batttery life

Date:January 14, 2011
Pros: Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage
Cons: high temperature of the bottom of the case, poor battery life
"I bought my x100e back in july 2010. From that time on, the biggest problems are by far that the bottom of the case gets very, very hot to the extend that I cannot stand the laptop on my lap.
Temperature just by touching the case is very high. And when measured (by an infrared thermometer) I get the following readings:
Bottom (where the sink heat and memory slots are located at):
Between 42°C and 52°C that means 107.6°F - 125.6°F
Side Vent:
Over 52°C / 125.6°F
Of course I knew the heat was going to be high, but I didn't expected that high.
In addition to that it is very usual that because of the high temperatures of the cores the computer shuts down from time to time (windows/bios self protection).
Besides that, battery life is not more than 3 hours (that is if you are lucky). I haven't seen the 4 hours mark. Of course if you don't do any activity at all it will last long, but that isn't what I bought my x100e for.
I won't recommend any one to buy the x100e, I would rather wait for the new X120e to see if Lenovv corrects the flaws of the x100e design (running extremely hot and poor battery life).
Even though this topic has been posted in several forums and reviews Lenovo hasn't done any action to solve it or even to address the issue. So as for support other than the usual updates and KB, I would gave them a low rating as well.
I gave low ratings in terms of mobility, design and value because of what was described above."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mordo
Location:Sofia, Bulgaria
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:AMD
Memory:3 GB

A good laptop for money

Date:October 3, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Included software, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Wireless card, Memory, Processor, Storage, Warranty, Battery, Display performance
"Lenovo x100e is my first Lenovo laptop. And Not disappointing me as overall performance. I bough a x100e before 2 years ago. Is with AMD Neo single core processor. It's not so slow, but not is a great. Is a so-so. The display is mediocre too - with good resolution for 11.6" display, but with bad viewing angle. My x100e came with 1Gb of RAM - that's is not enough for multitasking work.
The keyboard and track pad are great. I don't use external mouse.
But I think that a big issue of x100e is battery. Very short time - about 1.5 hours in Maximum Performance.
After a little upgrade - I add further of 2 GB of RAM and Samsung 830 SSD 128GB, the x100e is very, very responsible and fast next to the light :) I'm loving it!
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Eddie
Location:Los Gatos, CA
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Major Heat Problem

Date:July 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Weight, Battery, reliability
"Other than the main focus of this review, the over-heating problem, I have been very pleased with the X100e. It meets my expectation of an ultraportable, a kind of super netbook, that does not compromise performance and features to achieve minimum size. The keyboard feels great and its effortless typability minimizes fatique and errors.
A major problem, however, it that the unit powers off due to excessive heat at random times varying from less than an hour to several hours. I ordered and received three identical units at the same time in November 2010. One of them has this problem severely. The second has the problem occasionally and the third has never exhibited the problem. The problem began occuring a month before the one-year warranty expired.
The latest BIOS and power management software is installed. the bottom has been removed and the inside carefully blown out to insure no dust is blocking the airflow. The problem occurs with the PC running on the network, but with the lid closed (display off) and no applications running. The problem worsens, of course, when the computer is used. With the computer powered on and left at the Welcome screen, no overheating or random powering off occurs.
Searching this problem on the web shows that this is a common problem with the X100e, but I haven't found any permanent solution. All the recommended solutions have not eliminated the problem. With the widespread instances of this issue, it deserves mention on the X100e support webpage, but Lenovo is quiet on the topic. This does not speak highly of their support.
This is a serious problem that renders the notebook essentially useless which is a shame since all other aspects of the product are excellent."
Review 4 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Carl
Location:Texas
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home

This computer is very slow

Date:September 29, 2011
Pros: Weight, Screen size, red is pretty
Cons: Processor, very very slow
"In a word, S. L. O. W"
Review 5 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fred495
Location:Missouri
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

CDROM

Date:March 21, 2011
Pros: Battery, Weight, Included software, Software compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution
Cons: no cdrom, not pentium processor
"Overall I am very satisfied with my ThinkPad X100e.....the major draw back to me is something I didn't realize while customizing it and that is that it does not come with a CDROM, I don't believe it is even an option. I would have gladly paid more to have a model that included one, but that is a lesson learned. As far as processing and other options, I feel it is a very handy little laptop and have already gotten much use out of it."
Review 6 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mahaprasad
Location:Missouri
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

Very good notebook

Date:February 17, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"I love my x100e. If I had the money I would've bought the top-of-the-line processor and all the RAM it could handle, but I opted for the more economical model. I'm still pleased with it but I do feel frustrated occasionally. I love the size - my hands fit on the keyboard comfortably but it's super light. The Lenovo-specific software is actually pretty good. All in all, I like this computer and I recommend Lenovo to everyone I know now."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JBig
Location:Santa Fe, NM
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

This little thing gets very warm !!!

Date:February 17, 2011
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Included software, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Software compatibility, Processor, cpu gets hot
"I was really hopeful when I decided to buy the Lenovo X101 L625 Dual Core. It is a well designed little machine with, in my opinion one MAJOR flaw.
It gets extremely warm !!! To me this is a big drawback and, unfortunately, I found myself using it less and less. Battery is not very good either !!!
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jemdeb
Location:Texas
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

My X100e

Date:February 17, 2011
Pros: Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution
Cons: Battery, Weight
"I've been using my X100e for about two months now. Although it doesn't look as nice as the higher priced models, I am satisfied with the look. The keyboard is great and I love the touch pad and track point.
This is my first AMD, so I was worried about performance. (My previous laptops were all Pentium.) I have not felt that this machine is any slower than my previous (and more expensive) notebook computers and sometimes I feel it's faster.
My two biggest problems with the X100e (and they are minor): It's a little heavier than I expected and I wish the battery life was longer. Overall, I think it's a very good computer for the price.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chengsongdu
Location:San Antonio, TX
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

I like this computer!!

Date:February 17, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card
"Because I have used thinkpad when I worked and feel easy to use, I chose it as my private computer. I have a vaio of Sony. Compared to it, this computer have better performance. It means more speedy and easier to use."
Review 10 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jaimito
Location:Philadelphia
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

very portable, faster than netbooks

Date:February 17, 2011
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Battery
"great for taking notes, surfing web while traveling, use in the car etc. gets warm on the bottom. battery life is so-so. but other than that, the screen size and keyboard/trackpoint is great."
Review 11 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
courtsteno
Location:East Greenbush, New York
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

O rea;;u bpigjt a X201

Date:February 16, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"this is like my third lenovo but this is by far the best, the fatest. It starts up immediately and it is easy to use so I don't have to show up on jobs 15 minutes early. I have recommended it and a number of people have purchased it for the same reasons I have, its speed, the full keyboard."
Review 12 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeppyTheLepreKahn
Location:Lehi, UT
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:1 GB

AMAZING, and only a few things to consider first!

Date:February 16, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Processor, Screen size, Display performance
"Pros:
VERY lightweight
VERY sexy looking
VERY comfortable keyboard
Cons:
AMD processor is kind of slow
Load time is kind of slow
Screen is kind of washed out
Other Things To Consider:
Battery life is decent, but not amazing (3 hrs)
Overall:
I love this laptop, and it looks REALLY sexy. I get looks about it all the time. I was worried about the battery sticking out slightly out of the back, but it actually made it better for me because it worked as a perfect handhold for walking while holding the laptop. The keyboard is the most comfortable laptop keyboard I have ever typed on. The overall performance of this processor wasn't up to what I was hoping for, but it does pretty decent. It easily outperforms netbooks, and I would buy it again for sure!
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
notsure
Location:Reading, PA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:Intel Celeron
Memory:3 GB

Works Like a Brand Old Computer

Date:February 15, 2011
Pros: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: Warranty, Wireless card, Security Features, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor
"Aside from a lovely size, price, and features, this computer has been riddled with problems since I bought it.
Even after reinstalling drivers with tech support (which was a good experience) the laptop continues to produce error messages that have no fix suggestions, random blue screening, and inexplicable shut-downs.
I still do not know what to do with it, since sending back a faulty product still somehow costs me $75.
After a good experience with my Y450, this has been extremely disappointing and I'm not sure I will buy another lenovo again.
At any rate, stay away from this computer!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
giannisax
Location:Houston, TX
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

serious laptop

Date:February 15, 2011
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Battery
"X100-e is my 7th laptop, the best i 've ever had. I was looking for lightweight, performance, reliability, efficiency, robustness, i mean a laptop i can rely to run business. The battery is a bit weak but it's an acceptable trade considering all the other pluses. The keyboard is outstanding. A serious laptop for serious users."
Review 15 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revette
Location:Cleveland, OH
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:2 GB

Sweet Thing

Date:February 15, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage
"Got this for my daughter to take to college--replacing my handed-down x61 tablet. The keyboard is a little smaller, but not too small and she has her father's hands! Her comment, "The computer works faster than me, Mom!" She can fit it in her purse!"
Review 16 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:California
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:AMD
Memory:3 GB

Best small laptop ever!

Date:February 15, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Included Software
"The keyboard is great, feels like a full size laptop. I had a netbook previously and could barely type on it. The screen is crystal clear."
Review 17 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wilk
Location:Mechanicsburg, PA
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:3 GB

X100e Laptop

Date:February 15, 2011
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Support, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Processor
"The X100e is a small lite weight unit that is very easy to transport. The keyboard with the track point provides you with all the functions of a larger laptop. The LED screen provides outstanding resolution to view photos or watch movies. The power up and shut down speed is very fast running with WIN7. The three USB ports allow easy attachment of external devices. The Wifi and Bluetooth connections are very reliable. Battery life has been much better than expected.
Overall this unit is very reliable and is a great mobile unit to travel with. It can easily serve as your primary comuter."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
firedog
Location:Madison, WI
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:1 GB

Awesome keyboard and screen

Date:February 15, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Processor
"If you're a writer, this is your laptop. The keyboard is smoother and quicker than any laptop's, and for that mater, any outboard, and I enjoyed what I've thought were the best. I do not like my fingers to work, just to respond to my thoughts as effortlessly as possible. The x100e almost types by itself. A great, non-reflective and precise screen also. A real pleasure. My favorite laptop ever."
Review 19 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ananth
Location:Parsippany NJ
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Processor:Intel Celeron
Memory:1 GB

Very bad Battery... Please avoid

Date:February 15, 2011
Pros: Durability, Memory, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Processor
"The processor is just 1.6 Ghz so it is a bit slow but manageable. The battery is bad, it doesn't even stay on for 1hr after 3-4 hrs charging. Otherwise it is good design, look and weight are all great but without staying on, it doesn't serve its purpose. I bought a macbook and the battery works for 5 and half hours after charging....So I would say avoid. Look for other models where battery is good."
Review 20 for ThinkPad X100e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
roger5star
Location:Phoenix
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:AMD
Memory:3 GB

Very portable but poor performance

Date:February 15, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Processor
"The battery can last at least 4 hours which is pretty good. But the CPU performance is really poor. I did not expect X100e like this. Sometimes I feel like this is not a thinkpad. But the design is as good as other thinkpad. I love the full size keyboard."