Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
A7
A8
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated

Our fastest slim & light business option.

Average customer rating:
4.46 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
43 of 50(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated
Review 1 for ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
frames

Buyers Remorse

Date:April 13, 2012
"I'm very dissapointed in this particular model.
One of the best machines out there, if only it was reliable. I had only Dells over a 10 year span prior to this laptop and no problems. I have had this t420s for 8 months and had a hard drive, a fan, and the Nvidia card all go out on me.
I'm a Computer Engineer myself, and I believe the fan is too small to cool the i7 quad-core and 2 graphics cards adequately. It's much smaller than any fan in my Dells, which only have 2 core Centrinos at best. This is why the fan is noisy. But be warned that if your fan suddenly ceases to be noisy, you will overheat. My graphics card suffered a nasty burn because of it.
Just make sure to buy the extended warranty if you are considering this machine."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sunan126
Location:Austin, TX
Owned Product:1-6 months

not so good

Date:February 7, 2012
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Display resolution, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Display performance, fan noise
"My T420s has fan noise problem, also the grid pixel display is bad. Don't buy this type, try some others, t420 or x220."
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thinkpadUser

T420S review

Date:April 24, 2012
"Recently purchased T420s ( i7 processor, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD) and have been using for about one month, before this I was using T60.
below are few pros and cons about T420S according to my experience after using T60.
I presonally like Thinkpad laptops and I hope they would maintain quality and support , as i don't see any other laptop(other then apple) better then thinkpad.
pros:
1) light weight. I found the weight amazingly light.
2) Creating Less Heat.
3) Battery life is around 4 Hrs if you charge is smartly and discharge it fully.
Cons:
1) Screen is wide I like the old T60 Screen which is more square shaped. i don't know why most of the laptops are keeping these kind of screens. i presonally feel that wide screen wast lot of space when one is working on a document or programming.
if X220 has square screen than its better to buy X220 reather then T420s.. at least you would have mobility."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
svladb

Dual impression

Date:April 19, 2012
"I’ve it for over six months by now and have dual impression about it.
The good things: performance, size, materials – generally very comfortable to use. It replaced my desktop as well and, with docking station, comfortably handles three (24”, 24” 20”) monitors.
I would say that it is probably the best by design for my goals.
Now bad things: the first delivered was crashing every few hours and, eventually, Lenovo replaced it. The motherboard in second died in a few weeks. The third had noisy fan. That part is special. Fan is not noisy by design. In my case, and I bet in many others, it was due to the fact that fan was hitting part of the casing. There is a very tiny open space around the fan. One of our engineers just opened the laptop and adjusted (actually aligned) the offending part and noise was gone.
Actually, it is a reason for my review. A lot of customers complain about that noise. None of the advices that I saw mentioned the case that I had. The simple indication that it is a mechanical problem is that noise is not consistent and can occur at any time on any speed. I installed TPFanControl and sometime had noise under 2000 RPM and sometime no noise on 4000RPM. This is why we decided that it was mechanical problem. BTW, after it was fixed, the noise from fan literally doesn’t exist.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeremyPad

Best Purchase Ever

Date:April 9, 2012
"I bought my ThinkPad 420s in the fall for school. So far it has surpassed my expectations in nearly all features. The only thing that has been a problem is the fingerprint scanner and that has only been the past week.
The 420s connects easily to networks at school, work, and anywhere else I take my laptop. Boot up time is a snap, ready to go in about one minute. The keys are easy to find, I rarely hit the wrong one. I really like how light this computer is because I carry it in my backpack while riding my bike and don't notice much of a difference on top of everything else in my bag. Other little things like the keyboard light, web cam, and red button make my computing experience very enjoyable. I would recommend Lenovo products to anyone. Thanks for making great products!
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GF49

GOOD BUY

Date:April 7, 2012
"Great overall computer for on the go. I am also a current Mac user, so I have high expectations. Laptop is very fast, once it's been on, or awake for longer than 5 minutes. It handles working on multiple tasks very well, and OMG the keyboard is without question the best. Very light, but a tough computer."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Strattified

Good Laptop

Date:March 19, 2012
"I have to make a choice between this and Mac-book. For an engineering student, if i have to work with solid-works, visual studio etc. this laptop is the best and i made a right choice .
PRO: Sturdy, Quiet,Fast, Reliable and many more
CON: Battery life not as promised ~3 hours
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlewBya

A Work Horse

Date:March 17, 2012
"I had the Lenovo T61p and like it enough to order the T520 when the other one was damaged in an auot accident. I love the T520. The boot up is really quick, the screen is clearer, the speed is noticably faster and the sound is great. If feels lighter too. Best of all, is the battery life. On one charge its good to go coast-to-coast. Overall, this is a great machine, and worth the wait for shipping."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T420s - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating