Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Z480 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Z480

Colorfully designed, affordable, 14" multimedia laptop.

Average customer rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 of 12(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Z480
Review 1 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
uniStudent
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

lenovo z480

Date:February 21, 2014
Pros: Battery, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, keyboard not comfortable to press., touchpad
"this laptop is quite affordable, durable. Weight is not too heavy (2.2 kg), good display resolution for gaming, storage"
Review 2 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yada
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Beyond my expectations

Date:March 11, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, design
"Z480 looks so stylish with a metal lid and key pad surround.
I had Windows 7 Professional 32 bit and Windows Office 2007 and Nero installed.
I use this Z480 for business and Skype and MSM, Watching Internet TV / Radio and You Tube and general web browsing, emailing and downloading my camera photos
The picture on the 14" screen is very clear.
The web cam gives a clear picture when using Skype. The sound from such a small Net Book is great. The key board is comfortable and easy to use. The shop I purchased the Z480 from gave me a free mouse that I use so I have not used the mouse pad much.
I have only used this Notebook in my condo using the mains so cannot give any feedback on how long the the battery lasts.
I can not think of anything that is wrong with this Note Book.
"
Review 3 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JuniorSZD51
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Would be awesome but some things let this great ma

Date:January 16, 2013
Pros: Battery, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Included Software, Software compatibility, trackpad, operating system
"Windows 8 should NOT be used for computers (especially with a terrible trackpad). I can see why it was designed, but seriously, WHERE'S THE START MENU?! Windows 8 also has a lot of issues in terms of errors. One in every 3 times I start it up it says it has a problem and needs to shut down. There are not so many user-customizeable features on Windows 8. You also cannot start it up from an external drive. The supposedly 'intelligent touchpad' is highly inaccurate. There is some sort of recognition in Apple trackpads that won't recognise a palm just resting on the trackpad, whereas here, you can't click with one finger and move the cursor with the other!! Surely you guys could steal an idea or something."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cync48
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good for Job, Good for Money

Date:January 5, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals
"I bought this laptop around august.
That time i was searching for laptop with i7 proc, multimedia, and of course gaming, and then this boy showed up.
With those nice price, didn't need to think twice, i paid this one.
But i thing i confuse, my "A" on the keyboard already broken, i don't know why it happen.
That's all."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
elizeus
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Dummy NVIDIA graphics??

Date:December 18, 2012
"I purchased a lenovo ideapad Z480 a 5 days ago because the I got attracted with its dedicated 2gb NVIDIA geforce graphics memory. I installed Win 7 x64 and installed all the drivers that came with the unit. I just noticed today the GPU it's using is the Intel HD graphics and there is NO WAY to switch to NVIDIA. I tried disabling the Intel graphics driver and completely uninstalled the current NVIDIA driver and installed the latest one. It said 'the graphics driver could not find compatible graphics hardware'. I was able to get it installed by doing some changes on the nvam file but it just got even worse. now it's showing 'You are not currently using a display attached to an NVIDIA GPU'. Terrible! you gotta fix this or give me my refund!"
Review 6 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RandomGuY4000
Location:Bandung, West Java
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Low cost high end processor laptop

Date:December 15, 2012
Pros: Weight, Video card, Wireless card, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Bluetooth, Screen size, Display resolution, Battery
"A few month ago I was looking for a low cost gaming laptop, and I found this model is the cheapest one for high-end class. Without looking for more, I just buy this laptop, and I used it for daily works.
The only sad thing about this laptop is the battery life. After fully charged, It will only last 1.5 hours (2-3 hours after installed a cumulative update). Well, this might because of quad core processor. Anyway, the gaming performance is good. less laggy than my previous laptop."
Review 7 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VeeBee
Location:Houston
Owned Product:Just got it

Horrible experience

Date:November 5, 2012
"I received this laptop after two weeks waiting from Lenova, China. When I opened it, I was shocked to see a open between the screen and the outer screen lid cover. The entire strech was open. I immediately called the customer service and asked for a return receipt. Then, I found out two of my friends who ordered with me also got the their piece with same defect. Very disappointing and horrible experience with lenovo. Won't buy again."
Review 8 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WaterVsAnchor
Location:Fort Collins, CO
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good price/performance ratio

Date:October 19, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display resolution
"I've had my Z480 with i5 3210, 6 GBs of DDR and a 500gb 7200 drive for about 2 weeks now and have used it quite a bit. Out of the box, the build quality is above average for the price. The metal cover and the metal interior trim is a nice touch. I bought the gray version which has a sleek silverish/purplish tint - looks decently professional compared to many other consumer laptops. Weight is manageable and I like the relatively small form factor - 14" is a good middle ground. The screen is fairly glossy and therefore has some glare when used in direct light, but it's still usable. The keyboard is pretty nice - good feedback. The keys are spaced a little further than normal which takes some getting to but it's not an issue for me. The trackpad is, well, not great. It's responsive, but does not have a quality feel to it. It feels quite cheap. I use a mouse 99% of the time so not a big deal for me overall. Performance wise the system is pretty good. Boots in about 45 seconds, isn't loaded with bloatware (There's some but it's easy to remove). The battery life is average at best, around 4 hours on a full charge if you're not doing anything more than Office or web browsing. Video probably cuts it down to 3 hours at best.
Overall I'm quite happy with my purchase. $618 shipped was the price I paid."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Joe85
Location:Malaysia
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Worth notebook to buy

Date:September 27, 2012
Cons: Software compatibility
"I just bought my z480 last week and i had something to share about the notebook.The most incredible things found on this model is the keyboard and its touchpad, which its so convenience for typing. Hopefully Lenovo will remain its keyboard design. The performance of z480 was apparently excellent. The display screen was very glossy clear which looked very well. The sound of the speaker very clear and nice. The bad experience of this laptop was the unnecesary Lenovo SW install such as EE boot optimizer which was contributed to the blue screen error. Conclusion, Z480 is the best worth notebook to buy for study and work with the low prices its offer."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kayrulz
Location:Karachi
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

In Love With The Product !

Date:September 15, 2012
Pros: Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Storage
Cons: Weight, Screen size
"Few days back i was wondering which product to to go for my daily usage and requirement and it all ended when I came across Levono z480. This product is absolutely durable, fantastic and build with great care, keeping all the design features in mind, on the other hand the the performance is mind blowing and breath taking ! have played almost all the games, maxed out, without having any problem with 2 gigs GT600 series card. If you are a enthusiast or a geek then this product is made to entertain you :)"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
khadero
Location:Jeddah
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

A Must Buy

Date:September 6, 2012
Pros: Software compatibility, Build Quality, Processor, Included software
Cons: Weight
"This Machine is great, I never thought Lenovo is so smooth in running and compatibility, Thank you Lenovo for making me happy"
Review 12 for IdeaPad Z480
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iwinjedi
Location:United States
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good overall laptop.

Date:August 20, 2012
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Video card
"The laptop was a great buy for me. I got it at only $539.99. The new generation 3 i3 processor is decently fast for a laptop. the 6 GB of ram is a great plus. the 500 GB HDD was more than enough for my needs. The laptop is lightweight and very easy to carry around. The design is very good as well. One little problem is that the Intel HD Graphics 4000 integrated into the processor is a little weak and can only run most games at medium to low. Other than that, its a great deal!"