Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440p

Average customer rating:
2.763 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
9
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
8
11 of 38(29%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tripleek
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Almost had me

Date:March 10, 2014
Cons: Build Quality
"I have been faithful to the Thinkpad line at home and at work for many years. Put my hands on the T440P at work the other day.
The Trackpad is an abomination, it feels and sounds cheap. I can get past it being oversized and with no button definition, but seriously the feel is terrible.
The front bevel at the palm rest has been removed almost entirely. This means your palm base/wrist rests on an uncomfortable edge and if you type for any deal of time it will become just that much more irritating. To make that worse the front edge where the top and bottom assembly come together is not ground in any way after being cast/pressed/molded and it is sharp, literally blood on the fingertips sharp.
I'll pass this time around."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
20140605
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Disappointed product

Date:March 2, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty, Support, Weight, Included Software, Build Quality, Screen size
"After using it for more than one month, I was very disappointed by the general performence of this laptop. The design is rough, it's heavy , more over, the fan is always making noise for every five minutes even though only running the chrome. This is not the THINKPAD I thought before, the legend of which might has been ruined. Maybe, it is because I have choice a wrong type which is not suitable for me and I have no chance to change it anymore."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HankRollins
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good hardware performance, horrible LG FHD screen

Date:March 1, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor
Cons: Warranty, Input/Output compatibility, Included Software, Display performance, plays sound through speakers headphones connected
"Fast. Windows User Experience scores for processor, hard disk, and memory 8.0, 8.05, and 8.0.
Touch pad is nearly useless w/ out of-the-box settings.
Problem with headphones after connecting (keeps playing through speakers) - several restarts needed to fix the problem.
Display is the worst for color, brightness, and viewing angle. I'm stuck with the infamous LG display, LP140WF1-SPK1 (model can be found in hardware diagnostics section of BIOS). I'll upgrade to AUO-manufactured screen, that, according to the internet, gives a significant improvement over the poorly made LG screen.
The FHD-IPS screen is $200 extra, and we have to replace the awful LG screen. What gives? We don't find macbook owners whining about poor display quality all over forums now do we?
**3 out of 5 stars**"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChristopherG
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Bring back my TrackPoint Buttons!

Date:February 20, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Support, Durability, Display performance
Cons: touchpad
"First let me state that I have deployed THOUSANDS of ThinkPad's to my corporations user base for more than two decades. Every model from the T22 to the T440. With that said, this touch-pad is terrible for a touch-pad user and even worse for a Track-Point user such as myself. If I wanted a MAC like touchpad I would have bought a MAC! Please ditch this design or start giving out free Bluetooth mice with every ThinkPad because the new touchpad is truly awful..."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MacPhail

Great Laptop with Two Exceptions

Date:April 9, 2014
"Wonderful laptop. Been using ThinkPad's since 2004. I don't like the changes that Lenovo has made recently, specifically, no idiot lights (which we use all the time for troubleshooting) and the touch pad buttons (very touchy and doesn't always work)."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ejohn
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:3 GB

Disaster - Don't Buy this model!

Date:March 30, 2014
Cons: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Durability
"We own many thinkpads for over years, and this T440P is the worst ThinkPad we ever purchased. It is very unstable when trying to write letters in word due to the trackpad. It is the worst mistake you will ever make! The trackpad does not work and is unstable to the touch. We are trying to get our money back in hopes of purchasing one of the old and reliable ThinkPads with a trackpad and buttons."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Petermax
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Disappointing!

Date:March 25, 2014
Pros: Battery, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, touchpad
"This is my second Lenovo and I have never been so disappointed. Illustrates the old saying of don't fix what works. What Lenovo thought with this revision beats me. I am so sorry that I did not opt for the Dell equivalent on offer. The new touchpad which does not have separate buttons but has them built into the touchpad is horrific. The sensibility of these buttons is horrible and they make a clanking noise like a pair of springs on an old truck that have gone bad. The keyboard layout has been redone too and the Function keys are off by default and the alternate keys are switched on. Gone is the touchpad control key, display light and capslock light, etc. Key locations have been moved too. Screen is not bad and I like the keyboard feel plus the USB 3 ports are handy."
Response from Lenovo:By eCommerceApril 3, 2014
Hello Petermax, thank you for your feedback on the T440p. I’m sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the new ClickPad design. We have recently released drivers for this model that should improve the usability of the ClickPad. You can download and install the driver here: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS034647
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Student
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Pretty Good laptop

Date:March 23, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Wireless card, Included Software, Display performance
"This is my first laptop and I am not dissappointed.
It is fast, light, with awesome battery life. Great keyboard and touch pad. Excellent value for cost. Also durable.
Only issue I have with it is sometimes it has difficulty connecting to wifi. Often have to turn the wifi adapter off/on to connect to internet."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mamiewnis
Owned Product:Less than a week

Good laptop

Date:March 17, 2014
"Specification is quite good, the prices are high enough."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dpeter45
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Ignore the Haters

Date:February 28, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"The new keyboard and touchpad are great, and the build quality is as good as ever. The 1080p IPS display is also a big step up over older Thinkpads that had subpar TN displays. The only real con is that they gimped the trackpoint by removing its discrete buttons so they could give you an enormous multitouch touchpad instead. The trackpoint is an archaic leftover from the 1990's that I'm amazed people even still use, so it's hard for me to complain much about that design choice. Also, the performance of this laptop is pretty impressive. Between the Haswell i7 and Kepler based GPU, you could even have a pretty decent gaming experience on this if you wanted."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marped
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Fantastisk laptop

Date:February 20, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Build Quality, Display resolution
"The keyboard is excellent, it is possible to configure the trackpad to use the top part as buttons, so you can use them with the TrackPointer as with previous models with physical buttons, or you can disable this function to be able to use the whole trackpad.
The fan is quieter than I anticipated considering that this is a powerhouse compressed into a 14" laptop. I installed a clean edition of Windows 8.1, and made sure I had the proper drivers from the Lenovo support site, and I am really satisfied with everything this computer has to offer.
The weight is surprisingly low considering the components you get in this. I highly recommend this computer to everyone who wants a high performance laptop. If you prefer thin, light weight computers then go for the t440s instead."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
paddy77
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

trackpad lets down an otherwise good laptop

Date:February 17, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Build Quality
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I really like the laptop in general, bar one thing - the trackpad. It is practically unusable, so you will find you will need to carry a mouse with you all the time. This obviously is not desirable for a mobile device. It surprises me Lenovo could not get this right. It is by far the worst trackpad I have ever used."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hitch22
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Health hazard

Date:February 10, 2014
Pros: thinkpad badge
Cons: Video card, Warranty, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Weight, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability, flawed design, health hazard, 6row keyboard, horrible keyboard layout, lack of fingerprint poweron feature, screen light bleed
"You may literally end up visiting an orthpedist after years of use.
The keyboard lacks proper key pitch and it hurts! The only thing keeping your fingers from hitting the magnesium frame is a keyboard as thin as several sheets of paper.
The integrated trackpad hurts my thumbs! You literally need to press the thing forcefully in order to register a click. Think about doing it for thousands of times with your thumbs.
The palm rest literally cuts through your wrists! Its height further complicates the issue even further! What a disaster!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BusinessBuyer
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

unnecessary changes

Date:February 6, 2014
Pros: Battery
Cons: Display resolution, Keyboard/peripherals, design
"I work for a company, which has 150000 employee worldwide. I asked all my colleagues, who have X240 or T440p about their opinion and thats what they said:
Your Laptops were good, because they were different. Their design WAS different. Now you made the same mistake that all other producer made.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lapavoni
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Regressing from T430/T420

Date:February 4, 2014
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"-Power supply is completely new, with a non-standard USB-looking power connector.
-440 series uses a brand new docking station.
-Trackpad no longer has positive click buttons below it. It feels oh so cheap.
-Lights on the keyboard for wireless, hd activity, CAPS, etc. have been removed. I'm still looking.
I buy these for our business. We've got docks and power supplies set up already in several conference rooms. I have loaner systems and numerous spare power adapters (with the "standard" Lenovo round plug). I buy docks and power supplies from 3rd party suppliers at great discounts.
Lenovo has simply abandoned small (large ?) businesses by "consumerizing" what used to be solid, reliable, ergonomically-friendly business class laptops."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
rsmith
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Build Quality Suffers in latest T-Series

Date:January 29, 2014
"Pros:
-Value compared to other brands
-Backlit keys
Cons:
-Lower overall build quality vs T420/430
-Noisy Fan
-No buttons on track pad
-New docking station not compatible with previous version
-New power supply pin not compatible with previous versons
I have a bunch of T420's and some T430's, unfortunately the new batch of 440p's I have don't live up to the build quality of previous T-series machines. I regret giving up my T420 for what I though was an upgrade in this T440p.
The fans are very loud, some of the keyboards click and clunk when using some keys."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
guilhermemtr
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Laptop

Date:January 27, 2014
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Wireless card
"I have this laptop since November 2013, and i use linux. One issue was that the thinkpad wireless didn't had drivers for linux. However, the intel wireless cards have. The laptop is amazingly fast, has incredible battery, etc, it's simply awesome.
There is one drawback, from my point of view. In my opinion, there should be an option for WQHD display, because im looking over 9 hours per day to the laptop screen, i think it's the most important part of the laptop for me. It's FHD display is quite good, but not as awesome as i wanted. However, because of every other awesome feature, i ha chosen this laptop, and i'm so satisfied with it.
The keyboard is simply amazing too
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
gaff
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

terrible fan noise

Date:January 24, 2014
Pros: fan
"The fan almost does not stop in Windows 7 64bit. It is a really terrible noisy fan."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
formerfan
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Trackpad buttons entirely broken

Date:January 21, 2014
"I've owned my T440p for two months now, and the new trackpad button design is still nearly unusable. About 5% of all clicks are misinterpreted by this laptop. The middle button is confused with the left button and the right button, randomly. Sometimes it gets stuck believing the left button is the right button, until I reboot.
No amount of fiddling with settings has improved this situation. I have the latest drivers. I'm angry that Lenovo considered this reliable enough to sell. Do not buy it if you often click on anything."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarkoRakocevic
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

bring back the old look

Date:January 16, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Included Software, Build Quality
"The only thing i like about new look is touchpad...
Things i really do NOT like:
1. it's not black-black, and
2. where is the barrier on the top of
the screen-side.
3. you took things that make thinkpad series
cool, and different from any other product and
then made it exactly like every other lap-top...
P.S. Everything else about this lap-top i love."