Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E420 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E420

14" sleek & powerful on-the-go business tool.

Average customer rating:
4.237 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
33 of 38(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E420
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
demianin

Great laptop for a college student

Date:March 12, 2012
"I decided to buy this laptop after my MacBook's logic board decided it didn't want to charge the battery anymore. Since converting to Apple three years after being traumatized by Windows Vista, I was skeptical when I bought the ThinkPad, but since I had heard such good things about it I was willing to give it a try.
Now, I don't normally write reviews or anything of that sort but this laptop exceeded my expectations so much that I felt I just had to chime in. This thing is truly amazing. The amount of features you get for the price is absolutely a steal, and the computer works so well it makes me feel stupid for having paid three times as much for my MacBook a few years ago. It's jam-packed with some really useful features and has been extremely reliable since I started using it.
So anyway, I've been using the laptop for a few weeks and here's what I have liked about it so far:
-The keyboard is fantastic. Might be the best one I've ever used on a laptop.
-The screen quality is better than I expected, but it isn't anything to ogle at.
-The i5 Sandy Bridge processor is lightning fast.
-This thing runs cooler than any other computer I have ever owned.
-The computer is relatively quiet.
-Build quality is solid, and even though its build is comprised mostly of plastic it holds up really nicely.
-The webcam is decent enough, although I'll admit it casts a weird blueish-grayish lighting over the image.
-Lots of features like the fingerprint scanner that make the laptop really useful for everyday stuff.
Things I don't like so much:
-It crashed uncontrollably right out of the box. I got BSOD's every twenty minutes and I was worried it was the motherboard. If this happens to you, don't worry. Just do a clean install of Windows (I did this several weeks ago and haven't had a problem since). I think the bloatware that comes bundled with the computer really messes with the OS for some reason.
-The trackpad is decent, but a little sensitive for my taste. Two-finger scrolling is absolutely atrocious compared to my MacBook.
-Lack of a proper graphics card is a real shame, but obviously this isn't a gaming laptop or anything. Surprisingly, though, the Intel HD Graphics aren't too terrible. I can run SC II on medium with no problem whatsoever.
-The speakers are okay, but they're in the weirdest location ever. They muffle the sound pretty badly if you have the computer on your lap or something.
-The right and left click buttons below the trackpad feel kind of cheap, but they do the job I guess.
Overall, I love this laptop. I highly recommend it to anyone on a budget who needs something fast but not necessarily too fancy. Great for students, especially!"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Washington, DC
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3

Great Machine!

Date:February 20, 2012
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Battery, Processor, Support, Keyboard/peripherals
"This is the fourth labtop I've ever owned and by far the best! I previously owned a Dell, a Medion, and prior to these an old IBM Thinkpad (before the switch to Lenovo). After continuous troubles with other brands, I made the switch back to the Thinkpad and couldn't be happier.
The E420 is cost-effective, lightweight, and performs well! It is perfect for daily use, word processing, and internet usage! It also sports both the joystick and the touch pad, so you can use either at your individual preference.
The warranty service was also a very stress free experience. I sent in the computer, and within 3 business days it was returned to me in working condition. Kudos to Lenovo for excellent customer service!"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jady
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Memory:4 GB or more

Poor mother board

Date:July 27, 2013
Cons: Processor
"Exactly in 22 months the mother board was totally out of order. New battery and charger and checkup expense of $90 has been wasted on the top of the cost.
Since this laptop belongs to my wife she rarely works with computer, it is pretty in new shape, though.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mathgeek
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Incredible Value!

Date:August 21, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, looks great
Cons: norton antivirus
"I wanted a portable, high quality laptop for use in my graduate studies. I wanted a Think Pad T420 but they were out of my meager budget.
I stumbled across a great deal on the E420 and got much more than I bargained for! I am working on my thesis and teaching classes at a large research university and I need a reliable quick laptop to get the job done. The E420 seems to be just the ticket.
The model I have purchased has an i5-2450 processor, Intel Centrino wireless, Hitachi 500GB 7200 RPM HDD, 6GB of RAM and one of the finest keyboards that I have ever used! The build quality and fit and finish are well above average, I love the textured, matte black finish.
My cold start boot time to log in is 28 seconds, making this a mighty fast machine. It opens programs nearly instantaneously, runs cool and is very quiet. Also, I compared the E420 to my girlfriends computer which has USB 3.0 and the Lenovo did a complete HDD image nearly as fast with comparable software installed.
I find it regrettable that the replacement E430 does not seem to be built quite as well. The keyboard is not the same and the screen does not open to 180 degrees. While teaching classes I am often standing over my computer so the wide opening angle is important to me.
My recommendation to Lenovo is to bring back more Think Pad to the Edge Series. If I want an Idea Pad I will buy one. I want sturdy, 180 degree opening, metal hinges, a great keyboard, real mouse buttons, and a quick, reliable computer.
In my opinion the E420 is a REAL Think Pad. It does not have the super duty chassis of the T Series, but it is far above the average consumer computer build quality
Overall, I am thrilled with the performance of my E420, it exceeds all of my expectations. It is by far the best laptop that I have ever owned! Someday, when I am not a broke grad. student, I look forward to owning a T-Series!
Thank you Lenovo for making the Think Pad affordable!"
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dannation

Simply amazing product!

Date:April 14, 2012
"The ThinkPad E420 is simply the best laptop I have ever used. It's light enough to be super portable, and yet powerful enough to do everything I like doing with my laptops at high speeds. But more than the performance and reliability, I am utterly in love with Lenovo's simple computer design and form factor, these aspects provide, me anyway, with exactly the kind of laptop I've been looking for. And for me, really the most important reason I decided to get a ThinkPad over other brands of laptops is the fact that it runs Ubuntu beautifully and is highly compatible! I will never ever buy a laptop that is not a ThinkPad from here on out. Thank you Lenovo!"
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glenda

Solid Machine

Date:April 7, 2012
"Just purchased an E420 model 1141AC5. (This is a very new model manufactured in Feb 2012. I could not find it listed in the current Lenovo laptop data base, nor could I find it listed on this Lenovo computer shopping website.) It comes with 6GB of Memory and a 500GB hard drive and features the Intel I5 processor. It also has the fingerprint reader and bluetooth as well as the standard WiFi lan. The price for the 1141AC5 Edge (less than $600.00) with all these features makes it hard to beat.
I installed Microsoft Office as my basic user software platform. I also downloaded a free copy of Microsoft Essentials virus protection removing the subscription Norton antivirus product.
The computer runs very nicely. The screen is sharp and the keyboard is easy to use. Although the Edge Laptops are not built as rugged as the higher cost "industrial strength" Thinkpads, the overall quality is very good. If you compare the Edge to other manufacturer's laptops in the same price and feature range, I think you will be surprised at how well the Edge stacks up.
I can recommend the Edge for the individual looking for a good Laptop for home use and occasional travel.
Note: I accidentally wrote this review under the EDGE420s category by mistake. I have moved a copy to this (EDGE 420) category where it belongs. Originally written March 28th, 2012."
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
airjordan

Super Laptop

Date:March 17, 2012
"I was looking for a laptop for my wife, that does the basics right and is robust ........no frills and no add-on software installs - clean system for word/excel and internet surfing, occasional webchat use.
This is a sleek looking yet economical model that is just perfect for my wife. I have owned a Thinkpad T61p at home for many years and I use a Thinkpad T400 at work so this is a great addition. I prefer Thinkpads for their robust build, dependability, rescue/restore features and solid design - convenient mouse pad. This one also has great looks and a super keyboard.
We have only used it for a few days but I highly recommend it. I havent seen any flaws so far, the laptop has exceeded my expectations for this price point and the shipping/delivery was very high-quality."
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fred

Value for my hard earned money

Date:March 3, 2012
"Okay. How do I start? Before I bought this Thinkpad Edge e420, I was using a Sony Vaio N320 which served me well for five years. I wanted a relatively fast and reliable computer (for work and recreation) but don't want to pay for the bells and whistles so many other manufacturers are incorporating in their PCs. And, I've always admired the way Thinkpads look.
Now, if I could afford a T420, I definitely would have bought that. It's amazing, though, that a company like Lenovo knows a wide spectrum of consumer preferences and I'm glad my exact taste and budget was foreseen and satisfied by the e420.
For the price I paid for it, I know I'm getting a lot. The build quality, the nice feel of the keyboard, the perfect size and the crisp screen.
Lenovo could have made use of some metal on the design, though. And it would have made this model truly perfect if it did have ThinkLight. Other than that, it's a really decent device.
I'm confident this will last me for at least 5 years. Thank you Lenovo for making the ThinkPad line easily affordable to me."
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ITSupport

Great device

Date:February 24, 2012
"The laptop is exactly what I need but the screen is a little small and not as bright as other brands. It works as I would want and I can not complain."
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyCamper

Excellent Machine

Date:February 22, 2012
"I love almost everything about this machine. It looks nice, it's super speedy, it boots up fast, it suspends correctly, the screen is excellent, the keyboard is excellent, etc etc.
Here are my nits about this machine. I'd like to have a hard drive activity LED and a Wifi activity LED. And I find pg up and pg down to be in a weird spot - I didn't realize how much I use them until they moved. These are minor complaints."
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LinuxDude
Location:Houston, TX
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very pleased, with some minor complaints

Date:February 18, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Storage
Cons: speakers
"I love this laptop. It's a huge step up from my previous machine. It's powerful enough performance-wise to serve as a desktop stand-in, and yet it's very light so I can carry it anywhere. As a computer science student I've noticed a significant speed gain when running code on this machine compared to my last one. There are just a few minor grievances I have: the laptop is only tuned to maximize battery life on Windows, unfortunately. Since I run Ubuntu 99% of the time, I can only get about 5 hours of battery life even with the 9-cell battery. The other thing is that the speakers are kind of terrible, in the sense that they're way too quiet, being placed underneath the laptop. I realize this machine wasn't intended to be a media laptop, but repositioning the speakers would have allowed for a greater sound range."
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caldran
Location:lb,ca
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

good

Date:February 17, 2012
Pros: Weight, Security Features
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals
"Good product. worth the price ..
pros: Large touchpad. loved the heatsink design.
Has all the enterprise ruggedness components.
cons:stupid and hard to adjust keyboard layout. Even after months of use I still have to search ctrl and delete keys. Wrongly positioned prtsc button should have used menu or del or win key. No USB 3.0 even if the mobo supports it. Combined mic and headphone jack. Lack luster screen.
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no76
Location:Drexel Hill, PA
Owned Product:1-6 months

Love this laptop!

Date:February 11, 2012
"I had an HP, and it never stopped giving me problems. I bought this Lenovo about 4 months ago and I love it! I will probably only buy Lenovo from now on! I love the size, it is easy to navigate and carry. I do not do anything really high tech, but I can work on numerous programs at the same time without any slowing down."
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BTteacher
Location:Jonesborough, TN
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Think the PAD is Great!

Date:February 6, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"The computer was purchased by the school, and I have been using it for two months now without any issues. Since I am transporting the laptop back and forth to school often, I am very pleased with its durability. The keyboard has a very comfortable feel, and I look forward to many years of use with this ThinkPad."
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Elvita
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home

Good, but could be better

Date:January 31, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Support
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Software compatibility, power cord on the right side
"This is a good laptop for the price. I like everything except the power cord on the right hand side instead of back or left. I HATE IT!!!!! It get's in the way so much! I've had the blue screen of death at least 10 times, my tech friends say it's due to Windows Home 7 Edition and has nothing to do with the build/make of the computer. They've recommended I upgrade to Windows 7 Ultimate. I am not sure if that is true or not. I will do so, but in the interim, I've deleted any suspect software that seems to be causing a problem and haven't had the blue screen of death since then. I like that it's light weight with a big screen and a budget price. I would give it a 5.4 out of a 10 overall. It will suffice for now until I can get something with all the bells and whistles. A few simple things couple help immensely: power cord on the back, usb slots on the back, regular keyboard (instead of weird Fn, Ctrl, Alt and PrtSc placements. But maybe this is done so we all buy a more expensive model to have these basics, I don't know. Nonetheless, these slight changes are enough to make me look forward to purchasing the "complete package.""
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Magom64
Location:Atlanta, Georgia
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Very unstable machine, poor features

Date:January 26, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Wireless card, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Video card, Battery, Security Features, Software compatibility, Display performance
"As an IT person and user I am afraid to say :
- The laptop does not have option for dock station, as a result, you cannot connect 2 monitors at the same time.
- Only 2 USB ports, come on, how much cost to put one more !
- The embebed software is a pain in the butt. Overload the memory and show unaccuracy on the information.
- The battery software does not allow to recharge with a single plug in, You must to reset the charger manualy. They send an update patch that killed my battery and I had have to send the laptop to the support for warranty. "they replace the battery at no cost"
- The functions (F1, F2, F3....) are really small and the scarlett letters can not be read it. Also you must to press the Fn (function Key) to operate the others.
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointed
Location:Jakarta
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Poor Build Quality

Date:January 18, 2012
Pros: Security Features, design
Cons: Build Quality, price
"I purchased a ThinkPad E420 last Monday. On Tuesday I just noticed that the web cam was not installed correctly. It is not center-aligned to the web cam hole on screen frame. The power button is also leaned to one side so the button surface does not align the the palm rest. The top cover is also chipped. There is a tiny hole there.
Yesterday I went to the store where I bought the laptop to replace my laptop with a better E420, but the other available E420 is no better than mine. The camera is not center-aligned as well & there is a small bump in the top cover. I also checked other ThinkPad Edge laptops available there (E125) & the cameras are not well-installed, center-alligned either.
Tomorrow I will go to the ThinkPad service center to fix my laptop. Hopefully they can also do something with the chipped top cover.
I'm very disappointed."
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gritfire
Location:Davis, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

motherboard burned after two months of purchasing

Date:January 13, 2012
Pros: Processor, Support, Memory, Storage
Cons: Build Quality, Durability
"As said in the title. I cannot imagine that happened.
Will not recommend at all. No physical damage. It was sitting there and burned the motherboard itself for no reason.
Customer service is good though. The technician came to my house to have the mother board changed after two days I made the call."
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AHappyCustomer
Location:Syracuse, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

T420 is a much better value than previous laptop

Date:January 10, 2012
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Durability, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: not windows 8
"My new T420 was easy to upgrade with 4GB of RAM for a total of 8. The Windows 7 and Lenovo experience is refreshing. The screen is larger than my previous Windows XP laptop and the docking station makes integration into my network a breeze. I expect long life from this T420 which cost about the same as I paid for my old laptop 5 years ago. A real value. I plan to get an X130 for travel when Windows 8 is available."
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E420
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dorsey
Location:Central Florida
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Memory in wrong slot from factory

Date:December 29, 2011
Pros: Bluetooth, Screen size, Display resolution, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Build Quality, Display performance
"Nice package and suits my needs. Not quite as robust as my old Z61t but much more powerful. Really like the mouse joystick on Lenovos. I kept getting a low memory warning during use. When I opened the bottom to install a second 4GB ram stick I found the factory memory stick was in the upper slot and not locked into place (popped right up when the bottom cover was removed). Lenovo literature says the single stick configuration must use the lower slot. Not sure if this was the problem but it now performs much better. Surprised at the poor build quality."