Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Z580 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Z580

Colorfully designed, affordable, 15.6" multimedia laptop.

Average customer rating:
3.603 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
11
46 of 68(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Z580
Review 1 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HighSchoolStudent
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Deal Ever

Date:August 7, 2012
Pros: Bluetooth, Display performance, Battery, Processor, Included software, Memory, Storage, clickpad, dolby home theater, bright display
Cons: gets fingerprints easily, glossy screen, loud keyboard with small backspace key
"I got this laptop from staples for 400 after rebate, (which has since expired). I know alot about computers and knew that I could not find a better deal for the specs. This laptop (3rd gen i5, 8gb ram) starts in 30 sec. It is also very quiet. The trackpad is very customizable. It has a clickpad which has left right click buttons on the bottom, and normal left click everywhere else. The top half-inch doesn't click though. I used the top right corner to create a open new tab button. The multitouch is very good as well as the palm recognition which stops you from moving the cursor while typing. You can get 6.5 hours of battery life if you run it on power saver."
4 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaptopBuyer
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop

Date:January 2, 2013
Pros: Video card, Build Quality
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software
"Got this laptop with a Geforce GT 635M graphics card which is pretty good for a laptop with this price. The build quality is also quite amazing. It is sleek and simple and the case is mostly made out of aluminum. These two things made this laptop the obvious choice for me and I wasn't disappointed when I got it.
My only major problem with this laptop is the touchpad. Maybe to keep up with the slick design, they decided not to separate the buttons. This is very annoying because the touchpad often detects a finger on one of the buttons which leads to a variety of glitches. Sometimes the pointer doesn't move. Sometimes it triggers random gestures such as zooming text in and out. Perhaps it is something that I'll get used to just like I have to get used to Windows 8."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HardWorker
Location:Athens, GA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:Intel Core i3

Good, but battery disappoints

Date:September 7, 2012
Pros: Weight, Screen size, 4 usb ports
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Battery
"I really like the way that this computer looks and feels. It is very light weight and easy to carry around. I have to use this as both my personal and work computer. I take it with me and need to rely on the battery. If you are using the computer on the battery only (even with the settings adjusted to save battery life like dimming the screen) it only lasts about a max of 3 hours. The only other weird thing about this laptop is the keyboard. The right shift key is realy small making it difficult to use. The laptop is extremely fast to me and it even tells you how fast it starts up-- my fastest is 55 seconds!! I am pretty happy with the purchase, but the battery could be better."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sunny

super machine at this price

Date:June 17, 2012
"m loving my new purchase. It,s simply brilliant in respect of its dolby home theater, latest graphic card that will fulfill the demand of the latest games. white look is simply superb and what i like is the touchpad giving the feel of the macbook air. so overall this is a great launch from the lenevo side 3rd gen series.
m happy.
"
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ramlala
Owned Product:Just got it

wonderful

Date:January 18, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card
"wonderful"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jasen
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Impressed for the price.

Date:December 26, 2012
Pros: Build Quality, sound system
"I wasn't looking for a Lenovo went I went shopping, but the build quality of this laptop seemed so much better than the HPs and Toshibas that were priced at the same level, I really had an easy choice. The Z580 I got is the bottom of the barrel for these; I3 CPU, HD3000 video, etc, yet it has impressed me. I have no complaints in performance at all. The sound system is probably the best I've ever heard from a laptop. The build quality feels solid. For $400, this was an excellent deal--especially compared to the much more expensive company-supplied Dell that this replaced.
It's may not be the smallest, lightest, most powerful, gaming rig of a laptop, but it destroys the competition in the same price range.
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 7 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gr8ar

my search end here....deadly fan in 1st review

Date:June 29, 2012
"performance = *****/5
looks = ****/5
sound = *****/5
entertainment=*****/5
over-all = *****/5
go and grab ur machine."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 8 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sam1
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

ubuntu installing make it very hot

Date:January 15, 2013
"z580 is the best laptop I ve ever owned
but it get very hot after installing ubuntu 12.04
so ubuntu user be careful
I am using now just only win 7
"
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 9 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
madhu007

best laptop hi performence

Date:June 12, 2012
"sound is very good and 3rd generation Intel processor and very beautiful looking in white color
high performance gaming and 3.5 hrs battery.
finally
value for money"
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 10 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nick23

dont buy!!

Date:April 13, 2014
"it took them over 1 month to deliver my laptop. at first it was great but after a few months it started having problems. So i had to send it in to get repaired. it still did not work well. now it takes a like 45 sec just to copy something and another 45 sec to past it. it was the worst investment of my life. Now i have had to pay to get it fixed 3 times."
Review 11 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Iqueenxme
Owned Product:7-12 months

Worst investment

Date:March 25, 2014
Pros: Screen size
Cons: Support, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Weight, Security Features, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Durability
"At first when I bought this laptop, it was okay. The screen was big enough and the features weren't that bad. However, there were more cons than pros. For example, the weight of the laptop prevents me from being able to bring it anywhere, the anti-virus "protection" on the laptop is almost non-existent, the battery life is very short, and the hard drive is constantly having trouble. Within a year, I had to go get it fixed more than three times. My suggestion is: save yourself the trouble and go with another laptop. This one is a no-go."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yagesh
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

My 1st Laptop

Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"Phenomenal piece of Machine."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sammy
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Job Lenovo

Date:March 3, 2014
Pros: Processor, Durability, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Weight
"I like this.... a bit heavy... speakers are a bit soft on regular settings. However the computer is fast and i've never had a problem with it! great buy!"
Review 14 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kirenwin
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Laptop

Date:February 2, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Weight, Included Software, Build Quality
"Bought this laptop about 2 years ago. Great value for money, excellent budget laptop. Amazing speakers for a laptop, especially in this price range. The laptop is a little heavy, and is not very portable. However, it is quite customizable, I personally upgraded the RAM, HDD, and CPU. While gaming, the laptop gets a quite hot, and requires to be put on a cooling pad during intense gaming. GPU is great for a laptop in this price range. Rubber from front LCD plastic panel comes out very easily, a flaw in build quality. Overlooking that, a great laptop for the price, definitely one I would recommend to those with a budget."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dean
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

The best purchase I have made in a long time...

Date:January 31, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Weight, Included Software, Build Quality
"Prior to owning the Lenovo Z580 I was owner to a few other brands of laptops. These laptops that I owned broke down pretty fast. Therefore, I set out to find a reliable brand of laptops
Upon finding the IdeaPad range, the Z580 quickly became my device of choice.
Once my device was fully set up with essential software, I started testing out games. The particular Z580 I own has the Intel HD 4000 integrated graphics. I had heard that this chip set would struggle with a lot of games. However, this is far from the truth. I am able to run games such as the latest Crysis game.
Another feature that is really helpful is the fan control. When playing games the device can actually get warm. However, you can control the Z580's fan with the touch sensitive buttons.
"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bicky
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

The Unique One.

Date:January 23, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, dolby digital sound
Cons: Storage, Video card, Warranty, Display resolution, Wireless card, Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Bluetooth, Weight, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Screen size, Display performance, Durability
"excellent performance with core-i3 processer.it was 1 yr+ ago i ve brought this. during this period i ve never phoned to dealer or costumer-care.works good,sounds good,i think its the best i ever purchased..thank you"
Review 17 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doug
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Purchase

Date:January 13, 2014
Pros: Processor, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Weight
"I Have a top of the line i7, with intel 4000. Very good for price runs minecraft as smooth as its gona get. But its very loud and thick."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StarTrekCode1707
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Ever

Date:January 5, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, practically everything you can think of
Cons: Wireless card, Included Software
"This is by far the best spend of money on a laptop/ultrabook. I build and program computers and I love this computer and do everything on it. I would buy 100 more if I had the money. :D"
Review 19 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuckyBins
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome and Afforable Laptop

Date:November 22, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Video card
"I bought this laptop in need of one going into the IB programme now I use this laptop everyday and it is a really good laptop it is affordable and excellent would reccmond to anybody in need of a laptop espcailly kids in honor classes in their schools in 11th and 12th grade well hope you enjoy this laptop :)"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Orka
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Big bargain, very happy

Date:October 20, 2013
Pros: Processor, Included software, Memory, Wireless card, Build Quality, Storage
"I bought i5 Z580 w/8 ram in early March 2013 for a spectacular price of $445, so have had it 8 months now. I love it. It has been great.
Probably the one thing I found annoying was hitting the Windows key inadvertently, so I used some Freeware to reassign it.
The other weird thing was I couldn't connect my external monitor through the HDMI jack -- only the VGA worked well, but the picture is great.
The metal coating on the top is very nice. The Dolby equalizer for sound is the best freeware I've ever gotten with a computer. I love it. Also, when using as a laptop, having that on enhances the built-in speakers dramatically."