Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad E545

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad E545

Average customer rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad E545
Review 1 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aloishus27

Good Solid Performer

Date:July 17, 2014
"This is my second ThinkPad Edge, previous was an E520.
On the whole this is a great computer for the price. Got mine with the A10 and 8GB of Ram. 2Dimms.
Lack of SSD option annoyed me. HDDs make computers SLOWWWW.
Some nit picky things such as the LAN port being on the right side instead of the back annoy me. but as far as build quality and performance goes I can not complain as of yet."
Review 2 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thurman

Replacement Laptop

Date:June 24, 2014
"Likes:
Keyboard Layout & Size of Characters on Keys
Ease of Operation
PDF Manual Available
Power Options
Dislikes:
Slow Start-up Time
Slow Loading of Web Pages
Non Standard Default programs
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimP

Great computer, poor Office 2013

Date:May 31, 2014
"I like this computer and the Windows 7 Pro operating system very much. It fully meets my expectations. However, the Office 2013 suite I purchased with the computer looks and feels terrible. It is a giant step backwards from Office 2010--it looks flat, ugly, cheap, and clunky. Buy this computer without regret, but do not buy Office 2013 if you can possibly avoid it."
Review 4 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HexaTek

ThinkPad quality still exists

Date:May 29, 2014
"Win 7 pro compliments this computer as a work machine, keyboard and pad work flawlessly. speed is more than acceptable with 4gb ram. Quiet, slim, light feel, I anticipate no issues now or in the future, my thanks to Lenovo for this unit."
Review 5 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wizard

Perfect

Date:May 28, 2014
"Not much to add; just fast (faster than my cable connected desktop. Not much in junk programs when first turned on."
Review 6 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark

Solid build quality and fantastic customer service

Date:May 17, 2014
"I upgraded from my old laptop with quad-core 1.4 GHz AMD A6-3400M APU.Two cores of AMD A6-5350M in this E545 laptop run at 2.9 GHz. Due to higher clock speed the system runs typical office applications noticeably faster than my old one. Great value. Highly recommended."
Review 7 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EvensonK

Lenovo E545 Laptop

Date:April 7, 2014
"I needed a really good laptop quick for a decent price. So I purchased the E545 on 12/26/2013 and haven't had any issues at all. This is the first laptop I've purchased with an AMD processor. As with all the Lenovo (IBM TP) laptops that I have used and own this one exceeds my expectations. Granted changing the HDD out, I run Linux on a separate drive, is not as easy as other laptops, but it is not at all difficult either. It is feature rich and the price is great."
Review 8 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ryan
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome Linux Box

Date:March 16, 2014
Pros: Battery, Processor, Durability, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, serious value per $
Cons: Weight, size
"Everything works out of the box (wifi, keybindings etc) with vanilla ubuntu. Boots very quickly with an EFI install, powerful graphics at low wattage and cost (a machine with an intel 5100 will likely cost 3x as much at +10 watts under load). 3d graphics performance can be enhanced by adding the xorg-edgers ppa (Ctrl + Alt + T, sudo add-apt-repository ppa:xorg-edgers/ppa, sudo apt-get update, then go to software settings/additional drivers and switch to fglrx 13 [open source] and restart). Using LXDE/openbox desktop the keybindings for multimedia and volume do have to be altered however. Also to use steam one will probably have to wait for the wine repository to be updated to 1.6.2, as 1.7.14 seems to be unstable with some applications."
Review 9 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CurtisLowe
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Good until it wasn't

Date:March 12, 2014
Pros: Warranty, Processor, Support
Cons: Bluetooth, Display performance
"I was pretty happy with this laptop until one evening I closed the lid, then that was it. No more boot up. Turned out the motherboard was cooked. Lenovo's warranty is good...they had it back in a week. I think this may be an isolated thing."
Review 10 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
box6
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Just a small warning.

Date:December 21, 2013
"If you outfit this laptop with the A10-5750M, DO NOT, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE, get the discrete GPU with it, with any intention to play games.
The iGPU is far more powerful, and the dual graphics mode makes most games UNPLAYABLE.
TL;DR: The discrete GPU on this model is a complete waste of money, lenovo should have included the option of the 8770m and 8870m, for as thick as this laptop is."
Review 11 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxilubemike
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome laptop

Date:December 3, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"This laptop is a solid , fast , reliable , and easy to use. The spill proof keyboard is a nice feature and the hinges that connect the screen to the base are solid metal hinges."
Review 12 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stevejobs
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Should improve display

Date:November 19, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Storage, Display resolution, Wireless card, Battery, Weight, Display performance
"With A10 CPU + External VGA, I think display should be expanded to Full HD instead of HD.
The rest is good. This thinkpad is valuable. Hope the next gen. will support Full HD, SSD and Wifi ac."