Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad E545

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad E545

Average customer rating:
3.893 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
5
45 of 56(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad E545
Review 1 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Notebook

Date:March 24, 2015
" I use the E545 for work. Excellent machine. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Value !

Date:March 24, 2015
" Recently received this computer as a gift and was surprised by its high quality build and features. I was especially pleased with the three USB 3.0 ports! My only complaint (and it's a small one) is hard drive size. A larger drive of 750 GB or larger should be fitted. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Work Laptop

Date:March 20, 2015
" This review is based off of about a week and a half of use: I bought the laptop for my Wife for basic home office use and for some media use.
Credentials: I do a a lot of computer work and love gaming. I have built 3 high powered desktop gaming systems from scratch and have successfully diagnosed faulty hardware/software and restored nonworking computers.
1. The laptop has excellent response time due to the 500g ssd.
2. The keys have a great feel
3. The processor is average to ok. I have noticed that it will sometimes struggle when handling multiple operations.
4. The computer has worked reliably as expected and the battery life lasts about 4 hours.
5. There is no software added with the purchase so you will have to find a way to get your own Office Suite somehow.
6. WiFi works fine.
7. The laptop doesn't feel heavy and has a good monitor size feel.
8. The track pad seems to work just like any other laptop, nothing special there.
Overall I like it and would buy again! "
Review 4 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Budget Computer

Date:January 26, 2015
" Computer works fine. It does its job. If you don't want to spend more than $400 this is a good computer.
Be prepared to deal with some minor issues however:
-touch pad is annoying to use. Why right and left click buttons are positioned at the top of pad I do not know. I often find myself accidentally scrolling to the top or bottom of a web page when using the pad's built in clicker.
-when I am running computer off the battery the "brighten" and "dim" screen buttons do not work (i.e. I cannot dim screen to save my battery).
-When playing a video file the slightest bump to the computer garbles the image for a few seconds.
-Computer screen has a washed out look with no way to adjust (I spent over an hour in menus and on internet trying to figure out how to adjust screen contrast. My findings: you can't.)
None of these issues are of huge concern but the buyer should be aware. The keyboard itself is top notch and very well made. Computer is light and has a pleasant feeling to it. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A Gamer and light pockets

Date:January 26, 2015
" My mother purchased this laptop for my birthday when i turned 18, as a replacement for my 10lb Dell Insprion 1721 (yes it's old) i'm a gamer, and i love PC gaming. but on a tight budget it's hard to get a good laptop that i can take with me to college, classes and bring back easy enough. this laptop works great for my engineering related classes, and to top it off delivers enough punch for many PC games. The GPU delivers enough power to play Assassins Creed Black Flag on minimum settings while it sounds like a bad deal, it is widely known the Xbox 360 gets 0FPS when unplugged to i'm happy enough with that. i also liked the upgrade it yourself without voiding the warrenty, as i have salvaged parts from older laptops like 4gb of ram, and a 600gb drive to replace the tiny 320gb drive that came with it but that's hardly a draw back. i'm overall quite happy owning this laptop, it's durable for my clumsy life style black like my soul, dependable, although the charger failed after 3 month. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

I regret leaving HP

Date:January 20, 2015
" I purchased this laptop to replace my old HP. I specifically intended to use with Dragon Speaking software to record library research items.
Unfortunately, the E545 is inadequate to adequately support Dragon.
I left HP--my long-term preference-- with strong doubts about changing--I have regretted the Lenovo purchase ever since and will never repeat that mistake. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

good value for the cost

Date:January 20, 2015
" Except for occasional video crash and below average touch pad i am satisfied. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Overall a good product

Date:January 20, 2015
" It serves my purposes well and is reliable. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Product and Well Built

Date:January 13, 2015
" I have had a few Laptops through out the years. This Think Pad was exactly what I was looking for. First of all I wanted a Window 7 Laptop. It came with Windows 7 Pro installed and Windows 8 on Disc's which I won't use. It came with 4G ram expandable to 16G. It is plenty fast for me and I hope it will be around long past Windows 8. This is a good looking laptop and it seems to be durable as well. Also the keys are easy to read. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

ran well after upgrades

Date:January 8, 2015
" At first I was not impressed with the speed.
Added a SSD Drive + 4GB ram (total 8GB)
Works fine now.
Cost to upgrade $ 180.00 "
Review 11 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost perfect except sad Wifi N-mode issue

Date:January 8, 2015
" Very nice machine. Configuration and quality of construction are very good.
Pros:
- it comes with Windows 7 (I hate Win8 for instability and a lot of issues).
- unlike many modern laptops it has DVD drive and VGA output (in addition to HDMA).
- generous number of USB ports - 4 of them, 3 of them conveniently located on left side.
- anti-glare screen - another feature missing on many laptops.
- key pad is very convenient feature.
- configuration with 8Gb of memory and 1Tb of HDD works very fast, at least for office and programming tasks.
Cons:
- has no led indicators for capslock/numlock
- Realtek wifi card RTL8188E periodically slows down from 35Mbs to 36-56Kbs in N mode. I have to reconnect wifi to fix the performance. In G mode it works slower (<15Mbs) but stable. Other devices in my network have no issue in N-mode. It is driver, not a hardware issue (under Linux it works fine). The issue is know on Lenovo forums. Driver update doesn't help. Lenovo support couldn't help.
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Reliability for a fair price

Date:January 5, 2015
" Deos it's job, powerful and silent, great for Business users. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very happy

Date:January 3, 2015
" Like the number pad on the keyboard, easy to set up, nice quality "
Review 14 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Liking it a lot.

Date:December 29, 2014
" Still getting to know it, but enjoying it very much. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Big Bang for a Small Buck

Date:December 29, 2014
" Having returned to the "thinkpad family" after over 10 years, I was pleasantly surprised to see that Lenovo retained the quality and sleek designs of Thinkpad predecessors from IBM. The spill-resistant keyboard is a design value of significant note.
I was a little disappointed that there is no AUDIO IN connection, but the E545's four USB ports (2 of which are USB3) make it simple to use my USB audio interface, and still have plenty of room for more peripherals.
The 15" display is plenty bright for all but the most demanding environments.
I immediately ordered another 4G memory chip, and I expect it to ramp up the performance even more.
For the price-point, this is THE best laptop on the market right now.
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Heavy and slow

Date:December 25, 2014
" Heavy, slow start-up, unable to install programs as the only option on control panel is "uninstall". Returning to store tomorrow. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Bought manufacturer refurbished.

Date:December 16, 2014
" Bought manufacturer refurbished. Unit was in like new condition. Packaging was a bit rough, but seems adequate. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop and deal - minor issues

Date:December 15, 2014
" I've only had my E545 for a few weeks and so far it's been great. Once I upgrade the RAM it will run a lot faster - larger programs (Photoshop) are slow to load up. Graphics , ergonomics, battery life , and fit&finish are all very good. The two minor issues are :
The touch pad sometimes seems to "freeze up" and I have to resort to using the red button to navigate. Also - the location of the speakers (underneath) make for very poor sound quality. Although the pre-installed Dolby sound mixer is great you can only take advantage if using head phones or plugging into another speaker source.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

GUI

Date:December 10, 2014
" I use this primarily as a dinner plate. Spaghetti can get caught in the keys and the sauce drains thru the unit however it smells and looks fantastic. The little red button makes me feel important. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad E545
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Free or Fee

Date:December 10, 2014
" This is shipped with so much unwanted software that it fills up the disk. Would like it pointed out in the users manual how to get rid of the pop-ups and unwanted software. "