Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.423 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
10
30 of 52(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
exLenovoLover

Lenovo is going backward

Date:April 18, 2014
"As it stated in the title “Lenovo is going backward”. I have been working with Lenovo T and X series almost a decade now and this new T and X lines are the worst of them all. Let’s start with touch pad. It is none responsive to the touch and does not work with left or right click as with the traditional two buttons touch pad. They better off provide you with an external mouse and remove the touch pad. In the past, you could unscrew two screws from the back panel to add additional memories. Now, you have to literally pry the laptop apart with so much force that almost cracks the laptop to install a stick of RAM. They wanted to have a sleek clean look but don’t have the knowledge to implement it."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pancho

Good laptop but inop click function, need a mouse

Date:April 18, 2014
"This T440S with touchscreen is my 5th ThinkPad. Not sure how much Lenovo saved by deleting the dedicated buttons for left and right clicking, but cannot operate using the click function on the track pad. I have dragged my old Logitech mouse out of the archive so I can use the computer. Really crazy situation."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kiwi80

downgrade from previous model

Date:April 16, 2014
"I loved the T430 which was the previous model to the T440 which is a similar theme on the reviews.
They removed features on the 440 which were on the T430 like the keyboard light, red i, and 4 button touchpad.
The new one is as fast as the previous model and comes with a touchscreen and same excellent keyboard, VGA port is back in this model.
By far the biggest mistake Lenovo made was changing the touchpad to a new single plate. Its clunky, clicking is difficult, and feel is cheap.
Also missing is the useful projector enable shortkey button and separate volume controls which other makers seem to include.
I really liked the T model thinkpads, but less than impressed with this model, although I would still stay with Lenovo unless they completely ruin the next model.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bill

So sad about the trackpad & mouse buttons.

Date:April 15, 2014
"This was clearly a move designed to save money. Getting rid of the mechanical mouse buttons was a terrible idea. Now there is nothing to really distinguish this laptop from others. Please bring back the buttons."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goulet

Great laptop with one giant flaw

Date:April 15, 2014
"The lap for the most part is great. The battery life has been great, the keys on the keyboard are great. The one thing that I am extremely disappointed in is getting rid of the physical mouse buttons. They have replaced it on all of their models with a trackpad that contains no visible buttons. In theory this is great, but it does not work very well at all. When clicking the trackpad, the button clicks do not always register. I was a huge trackpoint fan and it is the main reason why I continue to purchase ThinkPads. If you like using the TrackPoint, I would caution anyone from purchasing a ThinkPad until they fix this issue."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hezman

Trackpad kills this otherwise good machine

Date:April 13, 2014
"Long time Lenovo user (five machines). Bought this as an upgrade to my four year old Lenovo laptop. The new track pad is a killer! I usually have the machine on a docking station with remote keyboard and mouse which works fine. My first trip on the road with this machine has been totally frustrating. The track pad is impossible to use with any efficiency. Why the engineers decided to design this versus the old system is beyond me. I don't want the touchy-feely controls and am disappointed I spent almost $2,000 on the upgrade and wishing I had the guts replaced on my old machine. My advice would be that if you are used to old Lenovo machines and buy this to go on the road - you will be disappointed....the track pad is a disaster....."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TPuser

Use to be an avid ThinkPad fan

Date:April 11, 2014
"What happened to the ThinkPad?
I use to only buy ThinkPads for their stability in both their function and design. I no longer even recognize the new ThinkPad.
Horrible changes. Returning it and am sorry I may not be considering another one."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LastThinkpadEver

What a let down

Date:April 8, 2014
"Can't believe this is a ThinkPad. So disappointed. The fact that I have to press down with effort on the ENTIRE track pad when I'm using the trackpoint for navigation is offensive. The computer just arrived today. Doesn't even feel like a ThinkPad. Feels like a Dell. Ick. Thinking that, based on my experience so far, it's going back."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MDoyle

Good product, excellent service

Date:April 4, 2014
"Only had it a short time but it is light and fast, has good features and exceeds my expectations. Wireless works great, screen is sharp, and nice to have a RJ45 Ethernet port, too. What really surprized me was that when I initially updated Windows and had a problem (probably me or MicroSoft), I called Lenovo and immediately got a real person that was very helpful. They continued to follow up afterwards to make sure the problem was resolved and I was happy (I am). I recommend the extended battery (though it is thicker and weighs about 1/2 lb more), the 256G SSD, and the dual band wi-fi. Handles all my work (or gaming) on the road easily."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jjcquinn

This machine is perfect in every way... except one

Date:April 3, 2014
"It's perfect for what I needed. I have no complaints about this little guy except for one. The mouse track pad. The entire pad depresses as one large button, which is fine- but you can't use more than one finger. Tapping works better, but there's an annoying tapping or click sound because the pad is not well engineered, it does not feel solid. The noise from tapping, the inaccuracy of scrolling, and the annoying depression of the pad makes it a real aggravating experience to use. I end up having to use an external mouse when I can so that I can actually get work done. Trying to move the mouse around it either doesn't recognize my finger and doesnt move, or it jumps around to places I don't want. I do not like the mouse pad on this laptop."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PicRic
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The Lighter Do It All Option

Date:March 29, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"This is a great little laptop. I ordered the fastest processor, the biggest SSD and 8GB of memory. Now I can open up very large spreadsheets in seconds and not minutes.
The screen is a nice size with good resolution and perfectly adequate for business use with a good brightness range for use under varying conditions. Best of all it weighs a lot less than my previous ThinkPad (W520) so it much easier to carry around.
The keyboard is firm and easy to use and the standard battery life is pretty good for the size - 4.5 hours in my test. There is a larger battery available for those who need longer."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
David
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great package, features, and performance

Date:March 28, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance, onboard vga for legacy projectors, linux compatibility
Cons: Memory, touchpad, keyboard function keys, lack of indicator lights
"I'm overall feeling positive after a week of working on the T440s. The FHD screen is excellent, and the performance and battery life in such a small package met my expectations.
The touchpad leaves a lot to be desired; Every time I click; whether it be right or left, my finger moves the mouse pointer at the same time.
I dislike that the function keys play second fiddle to multimedia and feature keys.
Overall, I'd say it's a good device. I'm not sure I get the soldered on memory decision, but I guess 12G of ram is ok for another generation, but it's a downgrade from the 16G I was comfortably using in my T430s; A few less virtual machines running at once is ok, but probably a deal killer for some people."
Response from Lenovo:By eCommerceApril 3, 2014
Hello David, its exciting to hear that you are enjoying your new T440s! I’m sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the new ClickPad design. We have recently released drivers for this model that should improve the usability of the ClickPad. You can download and install the driver here: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS034647
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thwarted
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

It is truly awful

Date:March 27, 2014
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I have had this product for one day. I hate it. This is the worst technology device I have used in over thirty years.
Where's the problem? It's the keyboard and track pad. It is almost impossible to complete typing a sentence because the cursor will suddenly jump back a line. I find myself overwriting the start of the sentence.
It is annoying and frustrating and slow.
And the trackpad is horrible. Left click, right click don't work most of the time.
Don't buy this product!!!!!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cathy
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

don't buy

Date:March 26, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight
Cons: Wireless card, Display performance, touchpad, keyboard
"used to be a big fan of thinkpad and have used t440s for about 2 months. this PC is disappointing!!!
1. the touchpad is badly designed, it's impossible to work in Excel with this touchpad. Never needed a mouse before, now i have to use mouse because of the bad design
2. don't like the keyboard neither, I like the keyboard for T400, but not for T440s
don't waste your money!!!
In addition, I'm a little worried about the heat at the bottom of the screen. the heat fan system is working well, but don't know why the bottom of screen is hot. don't think it is good in the long run.
waited about 1.5 months for the shipment, and my new order is even not recorded in the warranty system.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tphw
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Disappointed

Date:March 24, 2014
Pros: Battery, Processor, Screen size
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Software compatibility, reliability
"I bought it with Windows 7 Professional and SSD. At first it seems that it is running very fast. However, the shutdown, restart, sleep, hibernate do not function. Whenever I close the lid and open it again, the computer fails to wake up.
I sent it back for maintenance. It seemed to be ok then, but a lot of software that were installed before maintenance could not be installed afterwards. In the end I had to return it because of very low reliability.
Also, the trackpad is very unresponsive and frustrating to use. Lenovo should have kept the old trackpad."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stevethinkpad
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Wanted to love it but Touchpad is HORRIBLE!!!

Date:March 17, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Memory, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"I tried so so so hard to love this machine as it packs a lot of power in a slim body. BUT, this touchpad/trackpad is simply UNUSABLE! and that's why as much as I like the laptop I'm forced to send it back. I have to get serious work done on this and can't use it with such a horrible touchpad. You simply cannot use the trackpoint and do things like right-clicking, there's no cursor accuracy!!!
I just can't believe the Lenovo team didn't test this out more thoroughly before releasing the product. What were they thinking??
I just can't depend on this for work; have to send it back :(
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WhatHappenedToLenovo
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Lousy trackpad destroys faith in machine

Date:March 13, 2014
Cons: Build Quality, trackpad
"I never thought I'd be writing this… I just took delivery of three T440s laptops. I'm reluctant to even deploy these to the staff they were purchased for due to the LOUSY trackpad design. Who's bright idea was to force the user to physically push the ENTIRE TRACKPAD into the machine a full 2-3mm just to get it to "click"?!?! This is the WORST IDEA EVER. EVER. I've standardized on ThinkPad laptops since the year 2000, but this one laptop has completely and utterly destroyed my faith in the brand.
Now I've got to get these back to Lenovo and replace them with some other brand."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
thinkagain
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

noisy fan, high pitched sound

Date:March 7, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, fan
"Overall it seems to be a great computer but there is one bug that does make the laptop useless to me.
The fan makes a noise with a high frequency that is a big pain to me. I coud hear it from a distance of about 5 meters even if the t440s was placed on the top of my old dell latitude that was although running. Maybe my one was especially noisy but the t430s fan of an friend hit the same frequency at a lower volume. I tested it after I got aware of that problem. You can call that fussy but when I pay almost 2k€ for an laptop I expect more than a tinnitus-simulator.
The display was ok, not great. The rest seemd to be quiet well."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuck
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The best Thinkpad Yet!!!!!!

Date:March 4, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card
"I been a long user of Thinkpads, my first was a Thinkpad 355 that I had purchased back in 1998. I have always bought Thinkpads since, my last Thinkpad was the T410 that I am replacing with the T440s. I am very impressed and I don't see all the talk about the new touch-pad, I think it is a vast improvement. I highly recommend this computer, in fact, I buying two more, one for my wife and daughter. Keep up the good work!!!!! The only thing I would add is a video card option for this computer."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CodeMonkey
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Almost fabulous

Date:February 27, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory, Video card, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals
"The T440s keyboard is a bit dysfunctional. The Caps Lock key has no light, so a big notification pops up in the lower-middle of the screen when it's pressed. Other keys have lights, but not Caps Lock.
The other weird thing about the keyboard design is that by default you can't just hit the function keys, you have to press Fn-function key, unless you put it into Fn-Lock.
The advertised weight is without a secondary battery. With battery plugged in, the weight is over 4 pounds."