Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X240 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X240

Average customer rating:
2.429 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 star
14
10 of 35(29%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X240
Review 1 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
uguantay

It has the worst touch pad I have ever come across

Date:April 15, 2014
"This notebook was company issued. It replaces my old HP notebook. Impressive at first. BUT the moment I started typing, the cursor became out of control whenever I type a key or press the space bar or happen to sweep my fingers across the surface of the touch pad. This resulted in frequent typing errors, and worse, at times it highlights the sentence for you and when you press the space bar it deletes the entire sentence. Extremely frustrating and ridiculous design. Totally making you very unproductive. Lenovo should recall this model and fixed the touch pad. Like car manufacturers that recall their cars to fix certain faults. Otherwise, never buy the X240. Its a waste of your money."
Review 2 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lc8019cc

this has the worst touchpad ever

Date:April 10, 2014
"This laptop has incredible battery life. I bought the 6-cell battery and it lasts for over 12 hours! Amazing. BUT I was unable to use the touchpad at all. This integrated design is absolutely worthless. Also, the keyboard is much smaller than the x230 keyboard and often result in mistakes during typing."
Review 3 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UnusableTouchpad

Worst touchpad ever

Date:April 9, 2014
"I had to return the laptop because the touchpad was completely unusable. The mouse kept moving whenever I tried to click on something, resulting in multiple clicks. PLEASE bring back the physical buttons.
However, I am very happy with Lenovo's return process and customer service. Received my refund fast and without any issues."
Review 4 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NotHappyCustomer7

This Computer is Terrible

Date:April 2, 2014
"This Computer is absolutely awful and a complete and total waste of money. It broke SEVERAL times and has had to have battery changes quite frequently. For it's price, this computer is absolutely not worth it. It is a piece of junk."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spokeydokey
Owned Product:1-6 months

Excellent (minus the touchpad)

Date:March 29, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: touchpad, windows os
"Overall, I'm very pleased with this notebook. Great replacement for my T60. I love the backlit keyboard, and I'm blown away by the battery performance. The only issue with the notebook is the touchpad, which I have to keep permanently off. The left/right buttons are integrated with the touchpad, so every time I try to hit the left/right button, the cursor moves (usually downward). It's really frustrating and I've been using the laptop for months now. The old Thinkpads had separate left/center/right buttons above the touchpad, so this wasn't an issue. I wish Lenovo kept the old touchpad configuration. Also, Windows 8 is horrible. I got rid of it and installed Ubuntu."
Response from Lenovo:By eCommerceApril 3, 2014
Hello spokeydokey, thank you for your feedback on the X240. I’m sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the new ClickPad design. We have recently released drivers for this model that should improve the usability of the ClickPad. You can download and install the driver here: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS034647
Review 6 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DANI
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst touchpad ever...

Date:March 20, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Included Software, Software compatibility, touchpad, trackpoint, number of usb ports, # of memory slots
"You will have enough space based on how large is the HDD you will order for this laptop, but this will not be the problem! You can always get an external HDD....The real problem is the touchpad which is a pain to use as per it is faulty engineered and noisy too EVERY TIME YOU CLICK. Most of the time you'll have to push the right side click many times before it registers once...same is valid for the left click button, but this one is worst due to the small surface area designated to this button."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gregory
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Another Great Lenovo Notebook

Date:March 20, 2014
"I've had so many Lenovo notebooks I've lost count, so the X240 had much to live up to.
Overall, I'm very satisfied with it, it's got everything you expect from a Lenovo.
One of the big complaints seems to be the touchpad redesign. Out of the box, it is a little awkward. The following settings work pretty well for me:
Use TouchPad and TrackPoint
Button Size Standard
Disable Middle button
Enable gestures
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CorporateUser
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

You are much better off with a used X230

Date:March 11, 2014
Cons: Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"This is a step down from the X230 one memory chip limited to 8 GB, fewer special function keys to name a few. We have been using the X2XX series since the X220, love them now we need to find another standard."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Techno
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Celeron
Memory:4 GB or more

What's with thiis track pad design?

Date:March 3, 2014
Pros: Processor
Cons: Memory, not enough usb ports
"This machine is unfortunately a step down from the X230 predecessor. To net it out on the new Trackpad, It is horrible. Get rid of it. There are legions of people who live by the incredible trackpoint design and buttons. Not to mention many people are trying to figure out Windows 8. The new design makes it that much more difficult"
Review 10 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mit8390
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Flawed trackpad and freezes (constantly)

Date:March 1, 2014
"The loss of individual left, center, and right 'click' buttons by the trackpad is a real disappointment - very difficult to get the click to work properly.
The computer freezes ALL OF THE TIME.
So, disappointed as the x240 really looked like a winner for serious road warriors.
This was my 5th or 6th Thinkpad ... had to return it.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dean123
Owned Product:Less than a month

Definite step back..Inadequate all around!!

Date:February 19, 2014
Pros: Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Build Quality
"I really can't believe Lenovo decided to move forward with this design and specs for what could have been a very promising model. The new trackpad takes some getting used to and obviously in need of refinement. I also don't get the 8GB limitation. I can easily see myself needing more in the next 6 months if not earlier. All n all, this is just too inadequate and limiting for the price premium Lenovo charges for this.. It's going back."
Review 12 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deuce
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Incredible battery life

Date:February 18, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, trackpad, # of usb ports
"The main reason I bought the x240 was for the small form factor and the battery life. I ended up getting the i5 and the touchscreen, along with the bigger rear battery. I am not disappointed in the least.
Easily getting 8-10 hours of battery life with lots of video streaming, local video, web browsing and with the screen between 40-80% brightness. Hands down the best battery life I've seen on any of my mobile devices.
I know many people aren't too fond of windows 8, but I find it works very well with the touchscreen.
The trackpad is a new design. Some of its features are very good, but it isn't the greatest at first. I feel like it has potential, but I haven't been able to get fully comfortable with it yet...
Overall, a great computer"
Review 13 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThinkpadFan
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Step back

Date:February 16, 2014
Pros: Durability, Build Quality
Cons: Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Processor
"One memory slot for max 8 GB, no physical trackpad buttons, weak CPU. X230 is better, got 16GB, i7 M and bellowed full featured trackpad with physical buttons."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oscar
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro

A mobile powerhouse

Date:February 13, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory
"I bought this x240 (with fhd display) a few weeks ago. So far I am very satisfied with it. It delivers more than enough computing capability to me with respect to my needs, i.e. designing in photoshop, editing long texts with ms word, watching fhd movie, etc. It took me some time to get use to the new trackpad buttons since I had been using its previous generations for years. But soon I falled in love with the new design. It is very smooth and responsive. The only draw back is its 8GB limit on the memory, which might be a hurdle for demanding users."
Review 15 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
willemvw67
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Until Lenovo sees the real TP vision again: byebye

Date:February 8, 2014
Pros: Battery
Cons: Display resolution, Memory, new dock needed, buttonless trackpad, single dimm
"I own a x230 and bought the x240 for a client. Lenovo diluted the thinkpad philosophy with this model. Function follows form. Thinkpads used to be about listening what we need, now its about forcing what we should want...
Trying too hard to become like apple. Not a leader anymore, but a follower. Maybe after the X240 they can fix what never was broke form earlier models, but until then I have to look further. For me after the X61s it all went downhill gradually.
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
business
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Reliable PC

Date:February 7, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, lacks cd drive
"I was really debating on whether to get a macbook pro or a lenovo for business use. I decided on the lenovo x240 and I do not regret my purchase! I got the SSD, which is fast and quiet.
The computer multitasks quite well without taking away from the performance.
There are a lot of complaints about the trackpad. The trackpad is a little noisy when clicking, but it clicks where you tell it too. I haven't had any issues with it.
If you are someone who wants reliability, speed, and portability, I would recommend this PC! You are going to get so many more features with the lenovo x240 at a better price than you will a macbook."
Review 17 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PNAIR
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Downgrade from X230

Date:February 4, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Screen size
Cons: Memory, boot times, glitchy drivers
"I'm glad I held onto my X230. For all the technical wizardry Lenovo claims (micro hard drive for faster boot, internal battery, faster 4th Intel processors) this thing actually booted slower than my 2 year old X230. To add, I ordered this with Windows 7. It's silly to offer just one DIMM for memory...what was Lenovo thinking ?
The worst part - one windows update and the whole system would just fail to shut down since then. I would have to manually turn it off with the power button held down.And oh yes, they killed the thinkvantage button.Don't even get me started on the NEW trackpad..... They've taken away what used to be perfect.
Our purchase dept is just sticking to T series machines after the heat they got with this dum model."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sadThinkpadExFan
Owned Product:1-6 months

fix the

Date:February 3, 2014
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"Like many other reviewers I am a huge thinkpad fan, or rather have been (past tense). I have owned T50,T41,x220,x230. Especially loved my x220 - fast, cool, light, IPS scree, fantastic keyboard, fantastic mouse stick (mouse stick + 3 dedicated buttons). x230 also a great laptop, though keyboard not quite on par. And now this latest generation is a HUGE disappointment. IMO, the very essence of what made a laptop a thinkpad, unique and different, has been lost. Has anyone even tried using the mouse stick with the new virtual buttons? Two big thumbs way way down. NOT buying another thinkpad until this is fixed."
Review 19 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sn2002bt
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

A major leap backward performance wise

Date:January 31, 2014
Pros: Durability, Build Quality
Cons: Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Processor
"I am a happy X230 user and when I got X240, I realize it is a major leap backward performance wise. ++ 1)Instead of regular M(mobile) CPU used in X230, a U(Ultrabook) CPU is used in X240. If you look at real CPU speed score (google it), the fastest U CPU they offer here is slower than my M CPU in my 2 years old X230. We want the mobile workstation with powerful CPU. X240 is too FAT too heavy for an ultrabook. ++2). My X230 has 2 memory slots so I got 16GB RAM there, I am surprised to find out X240 only has one slot which supports up to 8GB. CPU and Memory are the most important things to a laptop. +++ 3) USB3.0 ports in X230 and 2 in X240???!!! I am expecting at least 4 in 240. You got to be kidding me!!"
Review 20 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gene
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Step backwards, Lenovo

Date:January 30, 2014
Pros: Processor
Cons: Video card, Wireless card, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"Got three of these for a client - all three had problems keeping WiFi connection. Replaced standard hard drives with SSD. What a horrible design! Try taking back cover off... without breaking the plastic connectors on the side. I've been doing this for many years - this is hands down, Lenovo's worst design. 100MBit Ethernet, only one memory chip, only two USB ports, this ugly built in battery, AND THE WORST TOUCHPAD EVER.... Stop making it look like Apple. All three are going back to Lenovo."