Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X240 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X240

Average customer rating:
2.386 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
17
11 of 44(25%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X240
Review 1 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PeteRay

Miss the winning design

Date:April 23, 2014
"1. No dedicated 3 buttons = Worst decision ever. The designers broke the very thing which made the Thinkpad the best of the best. Awkward feel... doesn't copy after highlighting and right clicking. Spotty response. They should have done more testing on loyal customers! I was more than happy to shell out for quality... not anymore. Makes me sad.
2. One memory slot... really???
3. Why did you have to get rid of the Multi-media card reader? Many of us folks like the convenience of easily transferring pictures, documents, music, etc...
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pmseven

downgrade from X230

Date:April 23, 2014
"Changing the trackpad to a single button design was a major mistake by Lenovo.
Generally speaking, the X240 is a downgrade compared to the X230 in every aspect except display resolution.
If Lenovo doesn't come to its senses for the next Thinkpad generation, my company will look elsewhere for proper business laptops."
Review 3 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
karily76

Not for me but great customer service

Date:April 23, 2014
"I really wanted to like this laptop. I did a ton of research beforehand and felt like I was making a smart choice based on other customer's reviews. However, as soon as I opened the product...I knew it wasn't for me! I absolutely hated the new MS Office, the graphics on the screen were dull and the keyboard was so irritating to use. I felt like I was using an old company-issued computer. I returned the laptop the next day.
However, GREAT customer service. Everyone was so helpful and I actually talked to real PEOPLE each time rather than automated responses. They sent me a return label immediately and overall, the return process took about two weeks.
Good job Lenovo with your customer service but the laptops need to be more user friendly..."
Review 4 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
valmasj

Not a happy camper

Date:April 22, 2014
"I purchased this machine to upgrade my trusty rusty X200. I specifically waited for the X240 to be released to gain access to the new technology it offered.
Overall, it works. But I'm extremely disappointed. Having used ThinkPad's for over 10 years, I've come to expect functionality and reliability over trendy design. The touchpad on this unit is absolutely horrible, by far the worst one I've used. If you are a classic trackpoint user, you'll be further disappointed and frustrated by dealing with unrecognized clicks, and a cramping thumb, and inconsistent left/right/middle button feedback.
Bottom line: keep shopping."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dans221

Unimpressed

Date:April 21, 2014
"I have had a X230T, and I'm entirely unimpressed with the new X240. First of all, I want to point there hasn't been a proper replacement for the X-tablet line. Even worse, they've downgraded the X230 to be a sort of Macbook-design clone. This has less RAM, slower speed on the i7, worse keyboard, but a "slicker" design...
Right, so if I wanted a Macbook at all, I would get a Macbook. Please return the rugged, feature-packed Thinkpads instead of unsuccessfully trying to copy everything Apple does."
Review 6 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CorpUser

Disappointment!

Date:April 18, 2014
"Pros: Small size, sleek, good battery life
Cons:
Terrible touchpad, blue screens, noise fan and frequent perf issues.
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JulianFongYiu

Great Decision that I purchased from Lenovo

Date:April 18, 2014
"ThinkPad x240 is a fantastic laptop. It has great features, and the price is reasonable and affordable. I used to buy laptops and desktops from another company. Based on my experience on x131e and ThinkPad x240, I think from now on I will buy computers only from Lenovo. Now I could understand why IBM years ago decided to sell its laptop division to Lenovo.
Regards to Lenovo,
JulianFongYiu [received four degrees (BS in EE, MS in EE, MS in Maths, PhD in EE) from NYU in eight years]
Associate Professor at a university, Department of Electrical Engineering
and
Senior Research Engineer at a defense company.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
zkmj

Fine laptop, just not a Thinkpad

Date:April 18, 2014
"I'm Mainly Mac user, but used X200 at office before and now using classic Thinkpad USB trackpoint Keyboard at work.
Pro
-Solid & durable overall made
-Full HD in at 12.5" display
-Battery life
Con
-Keyboard. Typing depth is shallow.
-Trackpad. I just cannot be confident enough when I press left click button. This is something does not happen with X200 or trackpoint keyboard.
If you are looking for solid business notebook, this is a good option. However, if you are a true Thinkpad believer, you should pray for future generation machines to have better input devices.
Input devices must be something you don't notice its being while you are using it, like you breath air without feeling "it is air". In that sense, this keyboard/Trackpad is just problematic."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Andy

very disapointed

Date:April 17, 2014
"I have been a ThinkPad user for 15 years but words cannot describe how much I hate the new keyboard and touchpad on my new X240 after using it for 3 weeks. Lenovo has gone crazy with keyboard design. I miss dedicated Function keys and dedicated mouse buttons. I swear I will not buy another ThinkPad ever again if Lenovo doesn't bring back the old design."
Review 10 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
uguantay

It has the worst touch pad I have ever come across

Date:April 15, 2014
"This notebook was company issued. It replaces my old HP notebook. Impressive at first. BUT the moment I started typing, the cursor became out of control whenever I type a key or press the space bar or happen to sweep my fingers across the surface of the touch pad. This resulted in frequent typing errors, and worse, at times it highlights the sentence for you and when you press the space bar it deletes the entire sentence. Extremely frustrating and ridiculous design. Totally making you very unproductive. Lenovo should recall this model and fixed the touch pad. Like car manufacturers that recall their cars to fix certain faults. Otherwise, never buy the X240. Its a waste of your money."
Review 11 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lc8019cc

this has the worst touchpad ever

Date:April 10, 2014
"This laptop has incredible battery life. I bought the 6-cell battery and it lasts for over 12 hours! Amazing. BUT I was unable to use the touchpad at all. This integrated design is absolutely worthless. Also, the keyboard is much smaller than the x230 keyboard and often result in mistakes during typing."
Review 12 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UnusableTouchpad

Worst touchpad ever

Date:April 9, 2014
"I had to return the laptop because the touchpad was completely unusable. The mouse kept moving whenever I tried to click on something, resulting in multiple clicks. PLEASE bring back the physical buttons.
However, I am very happy with Lenovo's return process and customer service. Received my refund fast and without any issues."
Review 13 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NotHappyCustomer7

This Computer is Terrible

Date:April 2, 2014
"This Computer is absolutely awful and a complete and total waste of money. It broke SEVERAL times and has had to have battery changes quite frequently. For it's price, this computer is absolutely not worth it. It is a piece of junk."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spokeydokey
Owned Product:1-6 months

Excellent (minus the touchpad)

Date:March 29, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: touchpad, windows os
"Overall, I'm very pleased with this notebook. Great replacement for my T60. I love the backlit keyboard, and I'm blown away by the battery performance. The only issue with the notebook is the touchpad, which I have to keep permanently off. The left/right buttons are integrated with the touchpad, so every time I try to hit the left/right button, the cursor moves (usually downward). It's really frustrating and I've been using the laptop for months now. The old Thinkpads had separate left/center/right buttons above the touchpad, so this wasn't an issue. I wish Lenovo kept the old touchpad configuration. Also, Windows 8 is horrible. I got rid of it and installed Ubuntu."
Response from Lenovo:By eCommerceApril 3, 2014
Hello spokeydokey, thank you for your feedback on the X240. I’m sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the new ClickPad design. We have recently released drivers for this model that should improve the usability of the ClickPad. You can download and install the driver here: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS034647
Review 15 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DANI
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst touchpad ever...

Date:March 20, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Included Software, Software compatibility, touchpad, trackpoint, number of usb ports, # of memory slots
"You will have enough space based on how large is the HDD you will order for this laptop, but this will not be the problem! You can always get an external HDD....The real problem is the touchpad which is a pain to use as per it is faulty engineered and noisy too EVERY TIME YOU CLICK. Most of the time you'll have to push the right side click many times before it registers once...same is valid for the left click button, but this one is worst due to the small surface area designated to this button."
Review 16 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gregory
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Another Great Lenovo Notebook

Date:March 20, 2014
"I've had so many Lenovo notebooks I've lost count, so the X240 had much to live up to.
Overall, I'm very satisfied with it, it's got everything you expect from a Lenovo.
One of the big complaints seems to be the touchpad redesign. Out of the box, it is a little awkward. The following settings work pretty well for me:
Use TouchPad and TrackPoint
Button Size Standard
Disable Middle button
Enable gestures
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CorporateUser
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

You are much better off with a used X230

Date:March 11, 2014
Cons: Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"This is a step down from the X230 one memory chip limited to 8 GB, fewer special function keys to name a few. We have been using the X2XX series since the X220, love them now we need to find another standard."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Techno
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Celeron
Memory:4 GB or more

What's with thiis track pad design?

Date:March 3, 2014
Pros: Processor
Cons: Memory, not enough usb ports
"This machine is unfortunately a step down from the X230 predecessor. To net it out on the new Trackpad, It is horrible. Get rid of it. There are legions of people who live by the incredible trackpoint design and buttons. Not to mention many people are trying to figure out Windows 8. The new design makes it that much more difficult"
Review 19 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mit8390
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Flawed trackpad and freezes (constantly)

Date:March 1, 2014
"The loss of individual left, center, and right 'click' buttons by the trackpad is a real disappointment - very difficult to get the click to work properly.
The computer freezes ALL OF THE TIME.
So, disappointed as the x240 really looked like a winner for serious road warriors.
This was my 5th or 6th Thinkpad ... had to return it.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad X240
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dean123
Owned Product:Less than a month

Definite step back..Inadequate all around!!

Date:February 19, 2014
Pros: Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Build Quality
"I really can't believe Lenovo decided to move forward with this design and specs for what could have been a very promising model. The new trackpad takes some getting used to and obviously in need of refinement. I also don't get the 8GB limitation. I can easily see myself needing more in the next 6 months if not earlier. All n all, this is just too inadequate and limiting for the price premium Lenovo charges for this.. It's going back."