Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad S12 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad S12

12.1" mini multimedia

Average customer rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 20(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad S12
Review 1 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Capitan
Location:Mississippi
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows XP Home

Excellent Netbook

Date:July 29, 2009
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Weight, Build Quality
Cons: Video card, Bluetooth, Battery
"The S12 is a very sleek and powerful netbook. It combines looks, portability, and function into a very affordable package.
Processor: Unlike its sister models which feature the Intel ATOM processor, the VIA Nano model adjusts its clock speed according to what power scheme the computer is set to. The processor reaches 1.6Ghz at the two highest schemes. This feature in tandem with the higher Front Side Bus speed and larger L2 Cache make this model the obvious choice when it comes to processing power. Multitasking is possible, but does have a slight effect on performance (nothing unbearable)
Memory: Another advantage of the VIA Chipset is that it is compatible with PC2-6400 RAM, that is RAM with a speed of 800mhz, much faster than the 667mhz available in the Intel Chipset. I have put a 2Gb DIMM in my S12 and can attest to its ease of installation.
Storage: For a netbook, the S12's 160GB hard drive is average, but the factory set partition for one key restore is very handy. It does limit the internal storage to 100GB, but for a netbook that is plenty. The hard drive is also easily upgradable to a larger capacity drive or SSD.
Graphics: The VIA Chrome9 graphics are like any other integrated graphics; not the greatest. However, they do get the job done. Videos were slightly choppy, but many other factors influence video playback.
Battery: The one downside to the VIA Nano chipset is that it does use more battery than the Intel models. I have gotten 3 to 4 hours of use out of the battery before it is completely dead. During these times the computer had the wireless card on and internet running, so more life could be achieved if plugged in via ethernet.
Display: Excellent LCD with crisp resolution capable of 720p video. Glossy display looks nice and is not too reflective. Brightness is adjustable and can be set very high.
Pros: Small size, excellent selection of ports (SD, USB, Express card, VGA), high performance in its category, good wireless reception, easily upgraded memory and storage, build quality, and full sized keyboard.
Cons: Battery can be short lived, no bluetooth (hopefully this is easily installed like on the S10), graphics can be disappointing, and some of the pre-loaded software can slow the computer."
4 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wognath
Location:Pennsylvania
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows XP Home

I'm a little disappointed

Date:October 3, 2009
Pros: Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Screen size
Cons: Included Software, Build Quality, reliability
"Great keyboard, great screen. Big improvement over 1024x600. Nano processor runs Mathematica benchmarks almost twice as fast as 1.6GHz Atom (score 0.59 vs. 0.31).
USB devices spontaneously disconnect, reconnect. System often freezes for a few seconds—more than XP usually does. Out of the box, HD had heavy fragmentation--included defragmenter is sloooow. Wireless connection is finicky--sometimes the automatic connection has to be retried manually several times. HDD is partitioned, so you can use only 103 Gb. QuickStart is nearly worthless to me because it usually won't connect to wireless. [Strong signal, WPA-2]
On the whole the Ideapad seems to be of significantly lower quality than the MSI Wind. It's still a nice computer, though--I hope mine lasts."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ajbeck33
Location:USA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Memory:2 GB

Great Netbook

Date:August 13, 2009
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery, Included software, Software compatibility, Durability, Build Quality
"Don't spend the extra money on the Intel Atom version. This VIA Nano CPU runs up to 1.6Ghz (not 1.3GHz) just like the Atom. Battery life might be the only thing that the Atom version does better from what I hear but a solid 4+ hours is still good. One open memory slot on the bottom allows for an easy upgrade with DDR2 667 memory. The screen size/resolution is just right. I've seen the 10" netbooks and the screen/resolution are too small to work with for long periods of time. Keyboard feels nice. Plenty of hard drive space for netbook use. Be sure to use apps such as VLC media player and Google Chrome/Firefox for added performance."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texanman
Location:Cedar Park
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows XP Professional

Runs Everything I want it too!!!!

Date:August 12, 2009
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Durability, Warranty, Build Quality, not much bloatware installed
"This is the first netbook to support more then 2gb, The express-card port is tied to the pcie channel and not usb so you can get full speed! Runs Autocad with medium sized objects, Video card can play Full screen Bluray at 1080i. I got it for 375+tax, Thing can eat a atom for breakfast and still have room too spare!!!
The cpu is rated at 1.3 BUT clocks up to 1.6 when needed, battery life is generic @ 4 hours"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jedi
Location:Virginia
Owned Product:Less than a week
Memory:1 GB

Excellent Purchase

Date:July 2, 2009
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Weight, Battery, Warranty, Support, Security Features, Build Quality
Cons: Video card, Bluetooth, wireless broadband card has to be usb
"Delivery Time: Placed my order on June 8 recevied the netbook on June 30. Delayed by a week due to heavy demand. The netbook (NB) comes pre-configured so you cannot request for additional RAM or increase in storage memory (HD). Placed the order via Lenovo's website. Had no problems at all.
Performance: Faster than expected, plus there is a quick boot option, which is useful. Can handle multiple applications simultaneously. But not advised. Win XP disk not provided. So you will have to plan and take a backup of the image before putting in a new HD. I will probably upgrade the RAM to the max shortly.
~50gb (D drive) of the 160gb (~110 C drive) space is not seen as it is reserved for backup via the Lenovo One Key Rescue app, which is used to backup data for restore when needed.
Mobility: Broadband via a USB modem. Light weight. Body does not heat up. Does not have a CD/DVD r/w so that will have to be purchased separately and carried with the NB.
Design: Keyboard is very spacious and the touchpad has a scroll feature which is very useful. The touchpad is very sensitive but can be adjusted. Sleek curved design. The screen is glossy, but viewing is clear, and it does not reflect as much as expected. The battery pack jutts - curves out from behind and helps keep the NB leveled when placed on a surface. Overall very sleek and cute as well. I'm sure both genders will appreciate it.
Features: For the price v.good. Has three USB ports and an SD card reader, so you can download data from devices without the USB. Other ports/slots: RJ-45 port, VGA port, Microphone and Headset jack, and Security Slot.
The volume is not as loud, but I guess for a NB you can't ask for more. No mute button. Dolby sound system.
Comes with Veriface - sign on, the scrolling touchpad, One Key Rescue and QuickStart (have to figure that out as yet)
The laptop comes with a trial versions of:
MS Office 2007(60dys),
Norton Anti virus (90dys),
Diskeeper 2008, and
IDValult
Value: I got an extra discount via the EPP, but when I compare it to other NBs, you can't beat the value offered by Lenovo even at the price on the website.
Reliability: so far so good. I'm sure as it runs on XP and intel Atom I will start facing issues as I add more apps.
I would definitely recommend this product. The people at Lenovo were also friendly and helpful.
Jedi, VA, USA."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
meeby
Location:Austin, Texas
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Memory:3 GB

Nano makes the best netbook

Date:July 23, 2009
Pros: Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Weight, Battery, Software compatibility, Durability, Security Features
Cons: Bluetooth, needs to get more in stock for fast shipping
"The Nano processor just walks all over Atom. It is so much faster and the integrated graphics is so much better. I am going to recommend this to everyone I know and may buy a couple more."
4 People found this review helpful.
Review 7 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roger
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Memory:1 GB

Netbook or Ultraportable?

Date:July 21, 2009
Pros: Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery
Cons: Memory, Security Features, webcam, trackpad
"I am a student in New York City. I currently own a Macbook Pro and it sits on my desk connected to an external monitor. I was debating whether or not I should buy an ultraportable from Lenovo (X200 maybe?) or get the S12. I decided to get the S12 because it was at a great price.
I tried all of the preloaded stuff and I decided that it may have been useful if I was aiming to use it as a netbook, but I really need something that's more business-oriented. When I installed XP Professional, I had to slipstream SP3 because SP2 will not recognize the SATA hard drive correctly.
THE GOOD:
The processor can handle Office 2007, any online media, iTunes, basic MS Games (Solitaire, Hearts, etc) well and I don't see any performance differences between my Macbook Pro and the S12. Granted, I am using it for office and web browsing.
The best feature is the screen. I thought I was going to hate the glossy screen. It is not that glossy at all. It is wonderful to view and I wish all of my screens had that subtle gloss. The screen can get very bright for outside use and it was not hard to use under the midday sun.
The battery life is also phenomenal. I have pulled 7 hours out of this thing (barely) and it was running Outlook and Firefox for most of that time. The wireless hardly phases the battery.
The keyboard is also a serious plus. I have used Thinkpads at work and it has a Thinkpad-feel, though it is not a Thinkpad keyboard. The full size offers plenty of room for my big hands, and I don't have any issues typing on it. With the 6-cell battery, it's about 3 pounds and feels really light.
THE BAD:
The memory is at 1GB. That's not a killer issue, but I do foresee a RAM upgrade in the future. Also, I would have loved to see Lenovo throw a fingerprint reader in somewhere, but that's also not that big of a deal.
The webcam quality is pretty poor. In good light, I did not get the best color response. It is not a bad webcam, though it is not the greatest. Another issue I have is with the battery. The battery is locked into the case, though it wiggles a little bit. It's not enough for me to be nervous and I'll still use it as a makeshift handle, but it rattles a tad.
Finally, the trackpad is a bit small. The textured feel is nice, and offers a good surface to slide on. However, the area is just too small. I connected a Logitech VX Nano and use that as my primary mouse because it's just easier to deal with.
SUMMARY:
Overall, this is an excellent computer. I use this during the day, writing emails, browsing the web, and doing analysis in Excel. The computer handles all of this well and has no issues. When I get home, I created a makeshift dock using the built-in USB hub in the monitor. It has decent graphics for the monitor, though normal quality Youtube videos would stall every five to ten seconds. I am very pleased with the computer and would definitely recommend it to anyone that might want to get an ultraportable, but does not need serious computing power and/or want to sacrifice a decent amount of money.
"
4 People found this review helpful.
Review 8 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
c7Fanboy
Location:Austin, TX
Owned Product:Just got it

Get the best performance at the lowest price!

Date:July 15, 2009
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Screen size, Weight, Battery, Software compatibility, Support, via nano processor, chrome9hc3 chipset
"VIA Nano > Intel Atom anytime, anywhere..."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 9 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bertrann
Location:greenfield, WI
Owned Product:1-6 months

simple

Date:January 13, 2011
Cons: Processor
"The Windows operating system is too much for the ideapad to handle, which makes it very slow, starting up and operating. Once Linux was installed it was better, but it doesn't keep it's connection to the internet, so it has it's share of problems, but it's cute and portable"
Review 10 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Xeropave
Location:Moses Lake, WA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Memory:3 GB

Does it all.. Except weigh me down.

Date:November 23, 2010
Pros: Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Bluetooth, Weight, Battery, Software compatibility, Durability, Warranty, Support, Build Quality
"I like to ride my bicycle to work.
I like to have my computer with EVERYTHING on it with me, but don't want to lug a heavy notebook along. So I tried out the S12.
It seemed like the perfect compromise but it's not.
It is very compact, very light, boots up fast with Windows 7, has a brilliant clear very usable 12" screen, bluetooth, holds all of my work and multi-media on its 320G hard drive, runs HD movies great with the NVIDA ION HD graphics processor, has 3G installed memory, SD Card slot, 3 USB 2.0 ports, HDMI port, excellent on-board speakers and an even better DOLBY surround audio out jack, the keyboard is the next best thing to full sized and....
it slips right into my courier bag and I barely know it's there.
So much for compromise.
I love this PC!
"
Review 11 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatKOA
Location:Kona, HI
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows XP Home

Good Buy

Date:November 19, 2010
Pros: Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"Purchased the S12 for travel and so far no problems,size is just right, I did not want a 10.2" screen wanted something bigger, at the time did not find a netbook with a 12.1" screen without a cellular contract. Only problem I have is the space bar is not as responsive as the ThinkPad I had in the past."
Review 12 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gspc
Location:Delaware
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows XP Home

Excellent Netbook!!

Date:November 19, 2010
"Great 12" Netbook! - Great Battery Life, light, nice design, nice features...."
Review 13 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WishIdknownmore
Location:Chicago, IL
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows Vista Home

Regretably unimpressed

Date:September 3, 2010
Pros: Memory, Storage, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Weight, Software compatibility, Durability, Warranty, Support, Security Features, Build Quality
Cons: Processor, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Included Software
"After hearing my neice rave about Lenovo products, I was very excited when I received my Ideapad. That excitment turned to frustration and irritation quickly as I realized how unbearably SLOW it is. The slowness comes from not having the Intel processor in it, I'm sure, which is a direct result of the answers I gave in the run down of preferences. In my opinion not enough information was given in that run down of preferences for a non-computer tech savvy person to make well informed decisions about what would impact their computer. To that end, I'd almost have preferred to have gone with a more troublesome product from a competitor."
Review 14 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrJill
Location:Western MA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Memory:3 GB

The netbook to beat!

Date:December 18, 2009
Pros: Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Battery, Software compatibility, Build Quality, energy consumption
Cons: none!
"Lenovo's IdeaPad S12 with NVIDIA's Ion graphics processor is ultra-compact, sleek, speedy, full-featured and thoughtfully designed. It has the elegance and finesse of a Porsche, but sips energy like a thrifty Prius. Unlike similar netbooks based on the Intel Atom but without the Ion coprocessor, this beauty isn't "half a computer", with substandard performance and chopppy video. I have not finished exploring its features, but I am wowed. The S12 gleefully runs all the software I could throw at it, even graphics-intensive software from Microsoft, Electronic Arts, Adobe, Broderbund, and Apple, with rock solid stability and true high-def video. This winning machine deserves to be a record-shattering best seller. Take a test drive - I think you will agree that this baby sells itself. Bravo!"
Review 15 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JayPic
Location:Cliffside Park, NJ
Owned Product:Less than a month

One processor short of being a NOTEBOOK!

Date:December 4, 2009
Pros: Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Bluetooth, Weight
Cons: Processor
"I had it for about 2 weeks and enjoyed it so far. I bought the 2GB for $550 then upgraded it to 3GB. I play World of Warcraft on it and it runs fine. I also bought a TV tuner and take the S12 to work so I can watch HDTV. Lightweight and ultra portable with a full size keyboard, I don't see how you can go wrong. The processor reminds me its a netbook and not a notebook. The Nvidia ION is great, especially if you have adobe flash player 10.1"
Review 16 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
usefulReview
Location:Boston, MA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Memory:2 GB

Good media netbook

Date:November 26, 2009
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Display performance, Video card, Weight, Build Quality
Cons: Processor
"This computer comes with Windows7 and is able to run it pretty well, runs with transparency and all the neat tricks. It gets a 2.2 windows rating, processor limited (next lowest is graphics at 4.2). The keyboard is a full size keyboard and I was able to type on it at full speed immediately.
It is able to play movies (from netflix for instance) without a problem, though some online sites that use flash are not handled as well. This is due to a problem with flash. After some updates from flash it should work better. It is able to play videogames pretty well. (portal at 15-30 fps for example)
This laptop gets about 4 hours battery life (6 cell battery), has NO optical drive (cd/dvd etc). It has a webcam which it uses for face recognition login, and has the quick start boot into a built in linux OS. The screen supports 720p HD, has an HDMI out for up to 1080p out."
Review 17 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HDuser
Location:PA
Owned Product:Just got it

HD-netbook

Date:November 18, 2009
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Display performance, Video card, Weight, Build Quality
Cons: Processor, Included Software
"Purchased the S12 for its nvidia ion GPU and Windows 7.
Pros: Using windows media player, it plays h.264 from a USB drive beautifully, absolutely no stutter or frame drops. Netflix streaming is fine. The screen is very nice. Keyboard is a good size and comfortable to type on. You tube videos play well too. Good speakers. You can do ONE thing at a time.
Cons: Streaming from Hulu.com is okay at low resolutions and poor if enlarged to full screen. This is because HULU is flash based and the CPU (Atom processor) does most of the work not the GPU. A lot of needless software (dial up ISP providers) had to be deleted.
HDMI outputs 1280x720. My LCD TV is 1366x768, had to use the VGA out for that.
The nettop/laptop is fine, but I had to take away one star for the packaging. I have also purchased a X61 tablet, a G550 laptop and an A600 desktop from lenovo. The seal on this particular box (shipped via UPS) was undone and the laptop itself while in a plastic bag was not sealed."
Review 18 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
s12HD
Location:New York state
Owned Product:Less than a week
Memory:3 GB

Intriguing but held back

Date:November 17, 2009
Pros: Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Video card, Bluetooth, Weight, Battery, Durability, Warranty, Security Features, Build Quality
Cons: Processor, Wireless card, no wireless n
"Waited for about 3 weeks for machine to be built. Had a few issues but had them resolved after talking with a few people who had limited english vocabularies, but cant complain really, this is the way the world is going, learn how to connect to american reps.
Wasnt impressed with product overall too much at first. The design is nice but doesnt blow you away when first looking at it, doesnt look super hip in other words. Upon starting the machine and checking the capabilties not to impressive either. The atom CPU really holds a computer back. The Ion chipset feels pretty capable however, and hopefully there is more transition to lean more on the back of the GPU as time goes on.
I first tried out streaming HD at a couple sites and found great stutter. I than did some searching and found the eadobe flash 10.1 pre release that allows the HD video to use the GPU as opposed to maxing out the weak ATOM chip. This worked pretty well and overall became impressive to watch HD video on the LCD screen. Upon connecting to my Pioneer Plasma Via HDMi, the HD played well and looked pretty good, although some of the colors seemed less realistic on the big screen. Very little motion lag but if your really looking you could still find some.
I like the quickstart feature, which opens up an Apple safari like appearance in about 30 seconds, and allows you to connect to internet and view media no problems without windows and the extra baggage.
Windows 7 is pretty cool so far, Im used to XP professional and would like to check out or upgrade to 7professional. 7 looks and feels pretty safe so far and the new interface seems more modern and smooth
I had a sony vaio with 1.8ghzpentium M before. I must say i expectted a bigger jump than 1-1.5hrs difference in battery life, but the 4 hours of average use is acceptable but apparently less than you should be getting in a netbook world.
The netbook does feel very solid and reliable. The keyboard is awesome and easy to type. Its comfortable and the preset power settings are cool and easy to switch. The machine doesnt heat up too bad and can sit on your lap for hours with little discomfort. Overall not a bad product, but i was just expecting a bigger jump in technology from my 13.3 inch sony vaio i had for 5years. Granted that machine was over 2000$ back than and this cost me about 550 plus 179 for ADP insurance (2kids under 2) and than tax. (EPP $605 minus 60$ coupon code).
Went with lenovo cause rented a HP mini from Walmart while on vacation and realized they are absolute garbage.This screen is much better than 10 inch and the machine much more solid. I was tempted to go with Macbook but decided lenovo as my dad is lifetime IBM employee and impressed with qualkity and intrigued by windows 7. Maybe next time."
Review 19 for IdeaPad S12
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yoyo
Location:Boston, MA
Owned Product:1-6 months

Nice but must reinstall windows

Date:October 22, 2009
Pros: Processor, Screen size
Cons: Included Software
"I also have the issue where surfing the internet is slow. Loading IE sometimes takes a few seconds. Loading a page takes a few seconds. Doing everything on this computer seems really slow. I even tried install new ram for a total of 2gb, still very slow.
Then I installed Windows 7 on partition D. Everything is fast like a normal computer. I think you can install a fresh copy of XP or vista and it will be just as fast. Windows 7 is nice, I install the commercial release one and it detect all the major drivers. No more long pauses.
I'm so glad it is much faster than the slow windows XP it came with. I was about to sell this thing. It is a fantastic netbook, best 12inch. It is also my first netbook.
I repeat, must install fresh copy of any windows for improve performance. I don't see how anyone can live with the default XP it came with."
Ratings-Only Reviews for IdeaPad S12
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5