Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
A7
A8
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E420s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E420s

14" ultra-slim & stylish notebook with uncompromising performance.

Average customer rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 22(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E420s
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
catapult

touchpad cracked

Date:May 28, 2014
"loved the computer but screen screws were too tight and crack keyboard. After only 21 days I returned and now have an hp sorry, hate that the computer could not be replaced..."
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
E420User

Solid Machine

Date:March 28, 2012
"Just purchased an E420 model 1141AC5. (This is a very new model manufactured in Feb 2012. I could not find it listed in the current Lenovo laptop data base, nor could I find it listed on this Lenovo computer shopping website.) It comes with 6GB of Memory and a 500GB hard drive and features the Intel I5 processor. It also has the fingerprint reader and bluetooth as well as the standard WiFi lan. The price for the 1141AC5 Edge (less than $600.00) with all these features makes it hard to beat.
I installed Microsoft Office as my basic user software platform. I also downloaded a free copy of Microsoft Essentials virus protection removing the subscription Norton antivirus product.
The computer runs very nicely. The screen is sharp and the keyboard is easy to use. Although the Edge Laptops are not built as rugged as the higher cost "industrial strength" Thinkpads, the overall quality is very good. If you compare the Edge to other manufacturer's laptops in the same price and feature range, I think you will be surprised at how well the Edge stacks up.
I can recommend the Edge for the individual looking for a good Laptop for home use and occasional travel."
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytor

Just Awesome

Date:March 5, 2012
"Had to replace my laptop and knew that it had to be another Thinkpad. Bought this one at a great price and didn't have to sacrifies on preformance either.
A solid machine."
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elving

Best laptop ever

Date:March 1, 2012
"I consider myself one of the early buyers of the Thinkpad Edge e420s. I bought it back in May 2011 with MAX specs. This computer is a dream. Fast, realiable and has a wonderful and sturdy design. Camera is awesome, fingerprint reader is so good that since day one I decided to use for all my applications, websites accounts etc.
It also has a thinklight, it's a LED light next to the webcam that illuminates your keyboard. Talking about keyboard; it is extremely comfortable. Best keyboard I've come accross with. It is aslo spill resistant. I had a big glass of water and I accidentally spilled all the water accross the keyboard and I'm happy to announce that nothing happend to my laptop! Awesome job right there Thinkpad Team.
Overall this is an amazing PC. MY BEST LAPTOP YET PERDIOD"
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mySystemi

Best Purchase Ever

Date:February 21, 2012
"Fantastic value. Speedy CPU, great keyboard, battery life, very thin and light weight. Like the price/performance of Edge series, definitely my best purchase ever."
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saikat
Location:Purdue University, IN
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Wonderful machine

Date:December 6, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution, Wireless card, Display performance
"Everything about this laptop is top quality. Great keyboard, big battery life, fast CPU, speedy start and shut down, very light weight, extremely thin. Love using the track point - have stopped using my mouse for the love of it !
One small problem is the screen which doubles up for a mirror.
Overall it too good a laptop to not have - go for it !!"
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KevinT
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great for most, and I mean MOST

Date:November 7, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Battery, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, looks
Cons: Video card, Display resolution
"This is a wonderful product. Unlike a lot of laptops the e420s has decided to save room by making the top row of keys a set of hot keys, requiring you to press the "Fn" key to use the F1-F12. This is one of the features which i really like since I change brightness a lot and volume a lot. I don't, on the other hand, use the F1-F12 keys too much except for Alt+F4 which I have learned to just use my pinky to strike the "Fn" key. It works. If you use those function keys like a mad man, choose a different thinkpad my friend.
Another pro would have to be the battery life. Though the estimated time remaining shown by the battery gauge fluctuates a great deal, it's a nice estimation. On average I usually squeeze about 5 hours and 30 minutes leisurely surfing the web and reading PDF's.
One of the cons, which you've probably heard over and over again, is the screen. Now the brightness is no real problem. I think they could've thrown in one more level of minimum brightness for really dark room use, but overall it's a good range. The quality of picture is a bit lacking. The standard for graphics nowadays demands much more than what this monitor is offering. You notice pixelated edges. If you're using this laptop for work or productivity, the resolution is no problem, but high-def movies and games just won't do.
Another issue which is common is the overly glossed screen. When people say it's glossy, trust them. In no joking matter, this screen is like a mirror. In regular room lighting it's no problem, but try to use this thing outside and you're just going to be staring at your own confused face trying to make out what is on the screen. Even at full brightness it's tough to see. You decide where you'll be using this laptop.
Lastly, I wanted to make a comment on the look and feel of the laptop. The slightly rubberized feel and very minimalist design is awesome. I love how it looks and they did a great job on making this thing easy on the eyes.
Overall, these were just some points that stuck out when I was using the laptop. For me this laptop was a perfect fit. I love it. There a few snags here and there but definitely takes first place in my book. Do yourself a favor and pick on these things up."
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5