Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E420s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E420s

14" ultra-slim & stylish notebook with uncompromising performance.

Average customer rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 21(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E420s
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
E420User

Solid Machine

Date:March 28, 2012
"Just purchased an E420 model 1141AC5. (This is a very new model manufactured in Feb 2012. I could not find it listed in the current Lenovo laptop data base, nor could I find it listed on this Lenovo computer shopping website.) It comes with 6GB of Memory and a 500GB hard drive and features the Intel I5 processor. It also has the fingerprint reader and bluetooth as well as the standard WiFi lan. The price for the 1141AC5 Edge (less than $600.00) with all these features makes it hard to beat.
I installed Microsoft Office as my basic user software platform. I also downloaded a free copy of Microsoft Essentials virus protection removing the subscription Norton antivirus product.
The computer runs very nicely. The screen is sharp and the keyboard is easy to use. Although the Edge Laptops are not built as rugged as the higher cost "industrial strength" Thinkpads, the overall quality is very good. If you compare the Edge to other manufacturer's laptops in the same price and feature range, I think you will be surprised at how well the Edge stacks up.
I can recommend the Edge for the individual looking for a good Laptop for home use and occasional travel."
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytor

Just Awesome

Date:March 5, 2012
"Had to replace my laptop and knew that it had to be another Thinkpad. Bought this one at a great price and didn't have to sacrifies on preformance either.
A solid machine."
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elving

Best laptop ever

Date:March 1, 2012
"I consider myself one of the early buyers of the Thinkpad Edge e420s. I bought it back in May 2011 with MAX specs. This computer is a dream. Fast, realiable and has a wonderful and sturdy design. Camera is awesome, fingerprint reader is so good that since day one I decided to use for all my applications, websites accounts etc.
It also has a thinklight, it's a LED light next to the webcam that illuminates your keyboard. Talking about keyboard; it is extremely comfortable. Best keyboard I've come accross with. It is aslo spill resistant. I had a big glass of water and I accidentally spilled all the water accross the keyboard and I'm happy to announce that nothing happend to my laptop! Awesome job right there Thinkpad Team.
Overall this is an amazing PC. MY BEST LAPTOP YET PERDIOD"
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mySystemi

Best Purchase Ever

Date:February 21, 2012
"Fantastic value. Speedy CPU, great keyboard, battery life, very thin and light weight. Like the price/performance of Edge series, definitely my best purchase ever."
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saikat
Location:Purdue University, IN
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Wonderful machine

Date:December 6, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution, Wireless card, Display performance
"Everything about this laptop is top quality. Great keyboard, big battery life, fast CPU, speedy start and shut down, very light weight, extremely thin. Love using the track point - have stopped using my mouse for the love of it !
One small problem is the screen which doubles up for a mirror.
Overall it too good a laptop to not have - go for it !!"
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KevinT
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great for most, and I mean MOST

Date:November 7, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Battery, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, looks
Cons: Video card, Display resolution
"This is a wonderful product. Unlike a lot of laptops the e420s has decided to save room by making the top row of keys a set of hot keys, requiring you to press the "Fn" key to use the F1-F12. This is one of the features which i really like since I change brightness a lot and volume a lot. I don't, on the other hand, use the F1-F12 keys too much except for Alt+F4 which I have learned to just use my pinky to strike the "Fn" key. It works. If you use those function keys like a mad man, choose a different thinkpad my friend.
Another pro would have to be the battery life. Though the estimated time remaining shown by the battery gauge fluctuates a great deal, it's a nice estimation. On average I usually squeeze about 5 hours and 30 minutes leisurely surfing the web and reading PDF's.
One of the cons, which you've probably heard over and over again, is the screen. Now the brightness is no real problem. I think they could've thrown in one more level of minimum brightness for really dark room use, but overall it's a good range. The quality of picture is a bit lacking. The standard for graphics nowadays demands much more than what this monitor is offering. You notice pixelated edges. If you're using this laptop for work or productivity, the resolution is no problem, but high-def movies and games just won't do.
Another issue which is common is the overly glossed screen. When people say it's glossy, trust them. In no joking matter, this screen is like a mirror. In regular room lighting it's no problem, but try to use this thing outside and you're just going to be staring at your own confused face trying to make out what is on the screen. Even at full brightness it's tough to see. You decide where you'll be using this laptop.
Lastly, I wanted to make a comment on the look and feel of the laptop. The slightly rubberized feel and very minimalist design is awesome. I love how it looks and they did a great job on making this thing easy on the eyes.
Overall, these were just some points that stuck out when I was using the laptop. For me this laptop was a perfect fit. I love it. There a few snags here and there but definitely takes first place in my book. Do yourself a favor and pick on these things up."
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
spls
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:3.5 GB

Not as good as it seems

Date:November 1, 2011
Pros: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Support, Build Quality, Warranty, Display resolution, Battery
"This laptop has been a real disappointment. It is slow to start up (despite the 4GB ram and i5 processor) and has poor screen resolution. The quality of the sound is not that great either. I've had major charging issues. Several people on the online forum have suffered battery problems, which make the laptop unreliable. I've had three motherboards within 2 months of owning the laptop, and was told that this kind of thing just happens (no one seemed to think it was out of the ordinary that not one but two brand new motherboards didn't work).
I think the reliability of the make of a machine should also be noted-not just the features."
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
afcanlas
Location:Albany, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Worth Every Penny

Date:October 22, 2011
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Screen size, Build Quality, Battery, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, temperature
Cons: Display resolution
"I purchased this laptop for both work and home use. I customized it to have i5-2410M, 6GB of RAM, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit and Intel Centrino Advanced-N+WiMax 6250.
I am so pleased with the performance and overall appeal of this laptop. It is solidly built and the keyboard design and construction is great. I just wish that Lenovo switched the positions of the 'Fn' and the left 'Ctrl' keys though. It took me some time to get accustomed to the left 'Ctrl' key's positioning, it's a little bit awkward, but other than that, it's a fantastic keyboard.
The display resolution of this machine is not that high so it doesn't deliver jaw dropping graphics but I did not purchase this machine for gaming so the display worked just fine for me. Renders good graphics for DVD playbacks.
I was disappointed with the touchpad at first because of its erratic performance but after installing the driver upgrade everything went really well. I am so pleased at how much gestures you can set with this touchpad.
The machine did not come loaded with a lot of junk softwares and it made a positive difference performance wise. I had mine setup to run in XP mode too for backward compatibility with the old applications I'm using for work. To get the optimum performance in XP mode, I would allocate at least 2GB of RAM before invoking the XP mode then revert it back to 512MB when not in use. I only have 6GB of RAM so setting up the XP mode to 2GB affects my DVD movie playback but I don't consider this to be a big problem because I don't normally watch a DVD movie while working anyway.
This is my 5th laptop and my very first ThinkPad, so far it's the best laptop I ever owned. I'm an IT Professional and I'm always looking for a combination of power and some fun in a computer, I would say I found them both in this machine.
PS. This machine is very quiet and is always cool to the touch! Very lightweight too, good for travel!"
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colt45
Location:MA
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Amazing deal

Date:October 13, 2011
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
"The Lenovo Edge series has the best laptop deals on the market today. With incredible savings on amazing laptops now is the time to buy. These are high end machines priced in the range of much lower quality laptops."
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zoomer
Location:Brooklyn,NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Great Buy of a Lenovo

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Storage, dvd drive button is unseen
"This notebook has great features for the price. Wireless internet capability is good. Battery power lasts for a good 2 to 2 1/2 hours. Intel core i5 has great response. The only negative for improvement is the DVD drive's 'eject' button."
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Will
Location:Austin, TX
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good stuff

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Battery, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Security Features, Display performance
"I thoroughly enjoy my computer. The keyboard is wonderful, the design is sleek and high end, the large touch pad works well (keep your fingers together when scrolling with two fingers, it took me a while to figure that out) and the battery life and performance are impressive for the size and cost as well.
The value as compared to computers of comparable size and computing power was biggest selling point for me.
I've only found a few minor issues with the computer.
The backup function seems tedious sometimes and the automatic backup never seems to work as well as one would hope. I've tried to back it up a few times and had it freeze midway through or take an incredibly long time finish. That might partially be impatience on my part though.
The glare on the screen can be frustrating as well. While it works well inside and gives the screen a sleek and premium look, it is difficult to see the screen when outside, even with the screen brightness all the way up.
While this does not relate to the hardware itself, I also love Windows 7 and it runs very smoothly on the computer.
Overall, this is a great computer that combines portability, performance, reliability and simple, sleek styling at a price that undercuts most of the competition's equally endowed offerings."
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheddar
Location:Los Angleles, Ca
Owned Product:1-6 months

Laptop with Good Features

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Included software, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Wireless card, Video card
"The laptop has a lot of subtle, useful features like the thinkpad light, the fingerprint reader, keyboard is great etc.
Problems: wireless adapter broke so I had to buy a separate USB wireless adapter, the webcam is on and off. Some days it works, others it does not.
The price was not too bad, but for all these small issues I would have liked it to be cheaper.
Battery lives up to name."
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ThinkStudent
Location:Upstate New York
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very well designed laptop

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Video card, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"Overall, this is an excellent laptop. Feels solidly built, the keyboard has the best tactile feel in the market, touchpad and Trackpoint are good, and the styling is fantastic! I am an undergraduate student, and this laptop is perfect for me, and has enough battery life for me to take it with me the whole day.
The only complaint I have is on the software side: Windows 7 is horrible! I have had nothing but problems. The laptop's hardware reliability is excellent, but the software reliability is iffy at best. This is not Lenovo's fault, but it would be absolutely amazing if they offered a choice of supported operating systems (Linux, maybe?). Still, I think that I will stick with Lenovo for the foreseeable future.
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chish
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5

Satisfactory

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery
Cons: outer design
"I bought my E420s to use on my dissertation work, which would require data analysis. It's faster than what I have at work, so I'm carrying it with me pretty much everyday. I'm petite-it's still not a lot of fun to carry around for someone who doesn't drive, yet it's much lighter compared to a 15.6 inch laptop. The battery is really good, so I usually don't carry the charger around.
I like the keyboard, but the touchpad is somehow different until one gets used to it. I like the screen and the sound. One thing that I dislike is I could immediately see my fingerprints on top of the laptop. The matte finish looks nice at first, but I'm not fond of it now.
Overall, I'm pretty happy with my laptop."
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David
Location:St. Kitts
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Needed Laptop for Medical School

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Wireless card, Processor, Support, Included software, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Storage, Video card
"It took me a long time to decide what kind of laptop I wanted to take with me to medical school, and also where to order it from.
I finally determined to get the E420s because it wasn't too heavy while still sustaining fairly good performance compared to the desktop I was more accustomed to using.
I really like being able to design different performance profiles. I have one called naptime when I have a movie on to fall asleep to. After 5 minutes of idling it will shut off.
I have another I use in class sometimes so I can close the lid without forcing standby mode.
The fingerprint reader password protection was really impressive. Still hasn't gotten old.
My only real concern is durability and longevity. I hope I won't have to get a replacement during my time in school. Or have any hardware problems. So far I haven't had any problems at all, and hopefully it will stay that way. =]
The only thing I would change would be to switch from a rpm hard drive to flash memory. It didn't really fit my budget at the time however.
I was very impressed with Lenovo and I would consider ordering from them again for my next laptop."
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Winglessx
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5

Good Purchase for College Students

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability
"I found this laptop because I wanted something light to carry around for school. Portibility is the key for me. I really liked the matte design of the laptop but after a month the bottom of my laptop was peeling off. I think the bottom of the laptop was sprayed with some matte covering so it really doesn't last long nor is aesthetically pleasing after a month of use. I like how the keyboard feels and its easy to type on it. The screen opens and closes easily without any issues. I don't like how there are only 2 USB ports cause sometimes two bulky USBs next to each other does not even fit. They should have more on the other side of the laptop. The card reader is only for SD cards which I wish they put a carder reader for more types of media.
Performance wise: It has a quick boot up time and applications load quickly. The screen is clear and I love being able to change the brightness really easily. The laptop can accomodate gaming with good outcome with no lagging or decrease performance.The battery life is a godsend! I don't like how I can't take it out without using tools but the battery can last for 4 hours with medium usage.
Service issue: This computer actually took over a month to ship to me and I had to call Lenovo constantly to find out where my purchase was. It was completely horrible to have this kind of service from this huge corporation. Lenovo has to work on faster shipping."
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ubuntumachinist
Location:usa
Owned Product:2 years+
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

great laptop

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, glass screen
"great fast love the glass screen"
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
george
Location:usa
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

good notebook with some flaws

Date:October 1, 2011
Pros: Software compatibility, Screen size, Build Quality, Battery, Included software
Cons: Display performance
"bought this one, received it with minor problem in the mouse pad, (cosmetic and feel), every thing else looked ok. what i did not like also was the screen when compared to other regular computers 3-4 years old, you can feel the difference. I did say i was not satisfied with the screen.
i liked the design, the performance was great, very quite and cool. everything went fine.
i returned it and am ordering a 420e.
the reasons for my part are: performance wise they are identical. but the e420 is up-gradable and offers different screens to choose from.
the battery issue is your call. for me it was not a deal breaker but was a point that helped me lean to e420
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
newyorkguy
Location:northern ny
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

good laptop

Date:September 7, 2011
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, think light, runs cool
Cons: usb 3 would be nice
"I love the keyboard. Another good feature is the think light.you dont need a back lit keyboard with the think light.You can see the keyboard perfectly in the dark.This laptop runs VERY cool and the fan is quiet also.Overall im satisified with it although id have liked a matte screen"
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kgsauls
Location:PA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

A great choice

Date:July 20, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Battery, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, thinklight
Cons: dust under screen
"It's a great laptop.. it's fast, light, and nice looking. It has some nice thinkpad features in a non-traditional thinkpad laptop. One issue is that to lenovo, a sheet of plastic covering the screen is known as "infinity glass". Also, there was a small shard of plastic under the (I like to call it) "infinity plastic" display. I phoned them, and they said I'd have to send it in for repair. Instead of waiting for them to rip open my laptop and clean it, I did it myself. It was a pain, but after an hour of carefully opening my brand new laptop, cleaning and using tape to remove residual dust, I got it looking really good. Now, it's a great laptop. Metal hinges are nice, and the bottom part of it is a stamped sheet of metal (nice). The back lid cover may or may not be, (it's cold after sitting room temp so I think it is). The chrome bezel looks and feels like plastic, but I forgot to look close enough when the lid was apart to tell if it's metal. I think it may actually be metal! Resolution is very average.. not full HD by any means. It also has a SIM card slot that doesn't work.. cool. I got a web special with 6 gigs of ram and bluetooth. I installed windows 7 ultimate after backing up home premium, and my windows rating is 5.2.
It's a good cheap laptop, and while I don't HIGHLY recommend it, I do recommend it."