Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated

Average customer rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 28(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
yiolanda
Location:cyprus
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5

top rated? wonder why..

Date:December 7, 2012
Cons: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, easily overheated, too noisy
"I have this laptop for more than 2 years and i can definitely point out some cons:
too heavy
too noisy
getting hot very fast, i can't even have it on my laps.. and sometimes collapses because of overheating
the plastic sachet changed shape and i had some problems with the touch-pad
I wouldn't comment it to a friend
"
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mehrarc
Location:iran-shahsavar
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

good laptop

Date:April 9, 2011
"good laptop but buttery life is not good and better you consider wider space between usb2"
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Qbantreefrog
Location:Miami, Fl
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good investment

Date:February 17, 2011
Pros: Included software, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
Cons: Battery
"I Decided to write a review because at first i was spectacle about the reviews i read before purchasing this laptop. Thats why i took to the time to write this review and i'm here to tell you it's great!
Haven't had a single problem yet with this machine. everything runs smooth and the software comes in handy the only things is i wish it the keyboard will light up and a better battery life. I had another laptop, and it doesn't compare to my ideapad. For such an expensive laptop i expected to be top of the line and ended being worthless. Software errors and horrible sound.
Bottom line i love my ideapad. It's built for both comfort and speed.fast, portable, reliable, and great for entertainment with great sound and graphics"
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
agc52
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

My New Laptop

Date:January 17, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Support, Included software, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight
"Everything that I ordered for my Y460 arrived as advertised and in good working order. I am very pleased with response time and speed of processing. The set up was minimal for adding the desired software (Word processing and anti-virus). Though still new (only had for 60 days) it looks like it will be a valued asset and good friend. I have had to use the purchased service and this was responsive and helpful. All in all, so far a good experience."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leary
Location:SC
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Y460 Intel Core i5

Date:January 9, 2011
Pros: Weight, Processor, Security Features, Memory, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution, Battery
"Well designed Laptop with a lot of functionality (touch pad, switchable graphics, slide Nav...) and qualitative appearance. The JBL speakers are awsome for a 14" Laptop and the keyboard isn't "rattling". I like that I can listen to music without having an airplane turbine fan noise. One of the few shortcomings are battery life while gaming and the display resolution (max. 1366x768)."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:santa rosa, ca
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:3.5 GB

Great computer & underrated

Date:December 30, 2010
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Software compatibility, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty, Support, windows that was included will not update siftware
"Featured in the Windows 7 computer is what I tell people who ask, "what is Lenovo?" Face recognition works great, no drag when booting. Durable, even spilled a full martini into the keyboard, flipped it upside down and hours later worked just fine after I let it air dry. Great looking laptop for price, dependable, has never freezes after a year of use that included, road trips, multiple users all which are teenage and hard on computers, great sound, used it daily for media, mp3 downloading, movie watching web chatting and freelance writing. Never have had a problem, ever."
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lighter
Location:Riverdale, New York
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Y460 (Core i5/Blu-ray)

Date:December 27, 2010
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Battery
"Overall the Y460 is fantastic: Fast boot, super-fast response, handles demanding applications with ease including Photoshop CS5 64-bit and Autocad 2009 simultaneously. Gaming: I've only tested Call of Duty Black Ops so far, but the the ATI 5650 renders amazing performance at 1042x768 (at native resolution you need to scale back a bit on your 3D settings). Audio will surprise you. The JBL speakers may lack the desired bass level (hard to find on any sub-17" notebook) but the sound they put out fills a room nicely.
The Y460 is powerful and has replaced my desktop PC. The excellent keyboard, superior track-pad and ultra-sharp display has made this one of my favorites. And the blu-ray player on my model works beautifully!
Cons: The touch-volume controls are great but the touch-slider controls are awkward, haven't had a desire to rely on them much. Battery life is a bit below average. Also, a 7200RPM HD would put this rig over the edge in terms of performance. Win7 rating is 5.8 due only to the HD speed (5400RPM). All other components rank at 6.9 and 7.0, which is extremely impressive for a 14" notebook.
Screen resolution: I'm accustomed to full HD but on a 14" screen, 1366x768 works very well for me. However, I would not recommend this resolution at all on a 15" display."
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martydoc
Location:New Jersey
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

great desktop replacement

Date:December 23, 2010
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Software compatibility, Memory, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight
"This computer has functioned flawlessly.It was bought as a desktop replacement to be ketp in our kitchen and really has exceded my expectations. Colors are crisp,audio clear,features outstanding.
Functions well with our iphone and ipad would buy Lenovo agan if I need another computer
"
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
xssYJ
Location:Blacksburg, VA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

cool and convenience

Date:December 17, 2010
"Some of the functions are really kool! Easy to operate. Recommend
But not happy with USB inlet position.
"
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Felixhelix
Location:San Jose, CA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good looks and power...what more could you ask for

Date:December 14, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Storage
"I purchased the Y460 back in May 2010 and I'm enjoying every bit of it. The Core i5 with 1GB graphics is very capable of handling demanding applications. I especially enjoy the switchable graphics button when extra power is not needed (browsing the web or working with office applications). The etched lid with geometric design is also a nice touch. I'm happy with mine!"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sailu
Location:Madison, WI
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

best config for me so far

Date:December 14, 2010
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Display performance
Cons: Battery
"This is my second Lenovo ideapad laptop. The last one is still running very good. I gave it to my brother and getting a new one. Believe me, this is the best configuration at an affordable price. The screen size is perfect for portability (14"). Not too heavy. The processor and the video/graphics card are outrageous. 500gb for a laptop is more than enough space (I already own an external hard disk). Recently I bought a HDTV and the HDMI port is simply great in transferring media into my TV. The setup is so simple. Just plug the HDMI cable and it is done.
Face detection is somewhat interesting and I should experiment a little with it and see if it recognizes me all the time (I change my beard style too often). Aspect ratio for the games is good and there is no flickering of image => Graphics card is doing a very good job. Sound from the speakers is good. I didn't like the placement of speakers. Of course, I think no laptop till now has placed the speakers in a good place (I think the speakers should be next to screen).
I think an 8-cell battery rather than a 6-cell would be a good mix with this config as the gear is powerful and needs more power. I compromised at a Blu-ray player since I couldn't find a 14" ideapad with this config. Surprisingly, I couldn't even customize it.
Other than those minor extension comments, I am very happy with this laptop. I already recommended this to my friend and he is also thinking of buying one."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BenTen
Location:los angeles
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Y460 review

Date:December 10, 2010
"Just got this nice laptop. Everything seems to be in order. The 1 star less for features has to do with windows7 not having the latest drivers for my printer , a lexmark x6660, so has nothing to do with lenovo. And the 1 star minus for performance has to with the heat that this laptop generates, which is more than my past laptops."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trinaty
Location:Rhode Island
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo Y450

Date:November 23, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Durability, Support, cost
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Weight, Included Software
"I have ALWAYS bought Lenovo laptops. This one has excellent performance. I don't like the keyboard. It is noisy and will cause me problems to my hand (I'm older). I can feel that it is not what I usually like. I miss the rubber mouse. I absolutely hate how the mouse is so hypersensitive - constantly doing things I don't want. But if you are used to the mouse and you aren't that particular about keyboard it is a great laptop. Excellent price and excellent performance. I don't like the software that pops up a bunch of times before you have even configured the machines. That will make me NOT buy that annoying pop up software even if the product is good. Let me decide by using it if it is good."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Supergmk
Location:Sacaramento
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home

OK til hard drive crashed

Date:November 19, 2010
"Lost everything. Will backup hard drive from now on."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HappyCustomer
Location:Near Baltimore Md
Owned Product:18-24 months
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:2 GB

Old y430 model review

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Wireless card, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Screen size, Battery, Warranty
"I have had no problems with this computer and I have traveled a few thousand miles with it going through air port security etc. The only flaw I saw was the battery life was quite short on the factory unit I purchased from Lenovo. My suspicion is that the batteries are stored with the computers at the factory instead of being put in the boxes when the units are shipped. I have the vista operating system and I find nothing to make me feel I missed that the new windows 7 provided. Could not register the unit because the numbers on the back were too hard to read. I gave up after many attempts."
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
satsu
Location:Minnesota
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Does what I expected it to.

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Screen size, Video card, Weight, Battery, Software compatibility
Cons: Display resolution
"I was looking for a laptop that was small and had good battery for when I was at college, but could handle any load I could throw at it while on AC. The Y460 was the only system on the market that could do both when I bought it.
So far it's been good, getting around 5-6 hours battery life on the IGP. When I have my cord it also plays all of the video games I want.
The cpu has been nice, though it oddly seems to struggle with virtualization and I have to dedicate 3 cores to virtual machines. To say nothing about the fact that virtualization consumes battery like crazy (which should be obvious.)
Another requirement I had was the ability to run GNU+Linux or *BSD. The Y460 has no problems with most modern GNU+Linux distributions. However, recent changes in the Intel driver have made it impossible to use the gpu switching (slightly older distributions can be made to give you gpu switching, though I'm not certain it's worth it.) So when using GNU+Linux it's best to just use the Radeon card. The opensource driver for it doesn't handle 3d environments well, but I don't use one so it's fine by me.
I really only have two complaints. First is the screen resolution. The whole "Widescreen HD" thing isn't an improvement at all. As it results in having less vertical pixels to work with. Second, the computer is a fingerprint magnet.
"
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
goofy
Location:Princeton, NJ
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows XP Home

Multimedia powerhouse - Value for money

Date:November 15, 2010
Pros: Screen size, Display performance, Weight
Cons: Battery
"One of the smartest purchases. This laptop is a multimedia powerhouse. Good for the Dorm, as well as the living room.
Light yet sturdy, this machine has excellent graphics and sound.
A good buy !!
"
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BH712
Location:Washington, DC
Owned Product:1-6 months

Strong Performance, Cool Design and not an Apple

Date:November 12, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Bluetooth, Weight, Battery, Included software, Software compatibility, Durability, Warranty, Support, Security Features, Build Quality, unique design, amazing speakers, super fast
"You will not find a more unique and distinguished design, solid keyboard, functionally ergonomic and better performance for the value in any other laptop."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
analiza75
Location:michigan
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows Vista Home
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

perfect laptop

Date:November 8, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery, Included software, Software compatibility, Durability, Warranty, Support, Security Features, Build Quality
"this is a great laptop. the weight, (or lack of), the features, the reliability, the speed, and the support from lenovo are what i like the best. i own this laptop and a lenovo desktop, and are very happy with both. i'm a fan for life! hopefully, i'll be a lenovo customer forever, if they keep making these products as solid as they do. happy happy customer!"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
schoolnerd
Location:Bay Area, Northern California, CA
Owned Product:Less than a month

best feature to price ratio in the mkt for now....

Date:August 31, 2010
Pros: Processor, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Bluetooth
Cons: Display resolution, Battery
"Pros:
excellent graphics performance for gaming
very comfortable keyboard for typing
good battery life when using the power saving GPU
Cons:
display resolution
poor battery life and keyboard gets hot when ATI GPU is used.
First and foremost, I needed a laptop with an express card slot. I searched online extensively and went to several stores to try out several laptops before buying this one.
The graphics card performance is impressive. You can find an objective ranking of the performance of graphics card in the market over here.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Comparison-of-Graphic-Cards.130.0.html
I was able to play starcraft 2 without any problems. Apart from turning off shading and setting texture quality to medium, all other graphics settings can be set to high.
Compared with all other similar products in the market e.g. the thinkpad 410s, satellite M645, portege r700, or Vostro 3400, this laptop contains the best performing graphics card.
As for the keyboard, the left side gets rather hot to touch after gaming for 3-4 hours. Nevertheless, the keyboard was very comfortable to type in when I am writing code or documents. This keyboard was more comfortable than the portege R700, HP Envy 14 and the satellite M645 that I had tried.
As to the display, I do find the maximum resolution to be a little inconvenient when I have to scroll every time I browse beyond half a page or when I am coding large chunks of code.
As to battery life, I was able to get up to 4.5 hours with the power saving GPU even when I am writing and compiling C++ code. However, the battery drastically changed to only an hour when I use the ATI GPU which means you can only use the ATI GPU when the laptop is plugged in. Some might argue that this laptop still uses switchable graphics(which requires you to press a button and wait a second for the screen to refresh and switch GPUs), when the market currently has laptops with nvidia optimus technology. However, that is barely any inconvenience to me and in fact I notice dwhen boot up starcraft, it automatically switched from the intel GPU to the ATI gpu. (In addition, existing laptops with the nvidia otimus technology offer a graphics card that is poorer in performance than the one in this laptop)
In general, for its graphics card, the display size, and all its features, this is still the best value for your money in the current laptop market. (August 31st 2010)"