Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y470p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y470p

Mobile powerhouse backed by AMD graphics and wrapped in a sleek & slim 14" shell.

Average customer rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 of 21(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y470p
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RedPanda
Location:WA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent value

Date:September 6, 2012
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: headphones, random lag spikes
"This laptop was an excellent purchase, even accounting for its shortcomings. It has been able to run any game I've installed on it at maximum settings (Borderlands, Alice Madness Returns, The Witcher 1, Team Fortress 2) but I have not tried it with more demanding games.
The processor and memory are great for the price. My main use for the computer is to run very computer-intensive simulations and it has performed very well (I am a grad student and needed a relatively powerful computer for a rather low price). Heat management is great too. Even when using 100% of both memory and processing power for several hours non-stop, processors' temperature has not been above 75°C.
Display may not be the best, but I find it perfect for my needs. Battery life is average. Keyboard setup took a while to get used to, but nothing to be worried about; typing on the other hand is quite comfortable (important when you need to write lots of code). Touchpad is responsive and I have no complaints with it.
I have two big concerns with the computer though. One, as many people have mentioned, the awful static noise from the headphones. Even using fancy noise-cancelling Beats the noise is still there, which tends to be extremely annoying. The other problem are random lag spikes for which I have not been able to identify a cause. These may occur at any time regardless of what I'm doing and can be annoying, but nothing else."
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
randyman
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium

Great system housed in a inferior plastic shell...

Date:August 18, 2012
Pros: Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Weight, Build Quality, Durability, Battery, Display performance
"I've owned a Y470 for 9-ish months now and, although I'm satisfied with the many features of this system (e.g. the memory, chipset, screen resolution, bluetooth, etc.), I'm dissatisfied with the housing (e.g. the plastic shell/casing), the glossy screen, and the battery.
Yes, you can pack a great deal of memory/speed into this system for a relatively low cost, but in my opinion the laptop's power cord and housing are poorly designed. For starters, the power cord is clunky, could be longer, and connects akwardly. In particular, the piece that plugs into the computer is detrimental to the system should your computer fall. When my laptop slid off a two foot tall, slope edged coffee table onto a heavy pile carpet (e.g. it didn't fall far or hard), it cracked the housing, and popped the speaker panel partially out of whack BECAUSE it hit the attached power connector. I was able to snap the speaker panel back into place, but the casing is permanently cracked/damaged and a sharp piece of plastic is projecting from the side which cannot be removed without further causing further damage to the laptop.
Also, the screen is SO glossy that it's a challenge to see it when lights and/or brightness is present. Example(s): The reflection of lights and/or light colors diminishes my ability to make out what's on the screen. It's almost impossible to use this outside even when the screen is facing dark surfaces...etc, etc... Essentially, if there is other light around you (e.g. it's daylight or your in a lit space), it will compete with your ability to view the images on your screen.
Lastly, the battery life is great, but the battery EASILY pops out of the back of the laptop. If you pick up your laptop from the right side while you are using it, as many of us "righties" do, it's relatively easy to unknowingly unlock the battery (which then easily falls out) and lose valuable work and/or data.
The bottom line is that this is an overall great system internally, especially given that the available hardware configurations are primarily oriented toward performance, but there are some major external flaws/issues that warrant considering other laptop configurations and/or manufacturers. Had I known about these flaws in advance, I would have definitely purchased another system (likely from another manufacturer)."
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jononothan
Location:Reno, NV
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

AMAZING value- Disappointing reliability

Date:July 28, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Screen size, Durability, Storage
"I bought this laptop to essentially assuage my gaming needs through college without having to buy an expensive desktop. It's performed surprisingly well playing most modern games at max or near max levels. (Who needs an incredibly expensive GPU when most games are console ports anyways?) However, There are a number of frustrating problems... The touch-pad makes an annoying squeaking noise whenever I click and there seems to be RF feedback coming through the headphone jack when I'm using cheap earbuds... The most disappointing thing of all was the hard drive failure I experienced only 2 weeks after receiving the laptop. It's been fine ever since it went through repairs though, but it's kind of worrisome that it could possibly stop working at any minute...
HOWEVER-- I love this laptop to death. I've never felt like I've received so much value for the price in my life. If you are unwilling to put down thousands on a gaming laptop but still want to play games competently then stop reading this and buy the laptop now."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will

Excellent, but poor driver support

Date:May 27, 2012
"My only complaint would be that the graphics card has poor driver support. The Radeon HD 7690m is actually just a renamed slightly faster clocked 6750m. But the problem is that AMD doesn't support the 7690m, and you can't use the 6750m drivers because of the switchable graphics. This is a problem because most games rely on the user to keep their graphics drivers up to date. These drivers are from June of 2011, that is a year old. But like I said, the poor driver support is really my only complaint, everything else about this laptop is excellent."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Afrac

Afrac

Date:May 11, 2012
"This is a great buy. I purchased this primarily for Diablo 3, but it plays most newer games on fast or ultra settings with no problems. Be warned though: you will need a cooling pad, but that's the case with most laptops. My only problem is that the screen does not show black colors very well. If you can run it through an HDTV I would recommend it. There was a small scratch on my laptop, but it's not a big deal. Overall this is excellent. This is my first Lenovo, but I am not disappointed."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Labrat24

Very impressed

Date:May 2, 2012
"Was not sure about the how this laptop would perform under gaming stress, but I just got done playing Arkham City on High Settings for 2 hours with the fan set to Efficient thermal dissipation and no part of the laptop is showing significant heat. Very very impressed. Game ran flawlessly, I performed the same test with Crysis on maxed out graphics and had just as good, if not better, results. Happy with my purchase!"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sabee

Never buy IdeaPad.

Date:April 23, 2012
"The function key is wrong position. So annoying Lenovo smile dock. There is no option to remove this. I have only basic software installed in this machine and the machine frequently die(hang) completely. I never recommend Lenovo to anyone.My big mistake of opt Lenovo."
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lothario85

Extremely pleased! - Student, April 2012

Date:April 17, 2012
"This is a beautiful machine, especially in person. If aesthetics is important to you, this laptop will make you smile. After a few days of ownership, I'd say the same goes for performance. The Y470p has exceeded all my expectation so far; it performs way better than my last laptop: a dell vostro 1320. My only complaint is that the click bar (left and right clicking) is a little noisy and somewhat hard to press down on. As a graduate student with average computer proficiency, I am more than satisfied with this purchase. For the price range ($750-800), this laptop leads the pack imo. Admittedly, it's probably too early to say, but lenovo may have found a new loyal customer... :)"
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TurnUptheRadio2

Overall Solid Laptop

Date:April 14, 2012
"Pros:
Excellent build quality and components.
Delightful keyboard
Excellent Speakers
Stays very cool
Open msata slot
Cons:
Slow hard drive (5400 rpm), remedied by sticking a small ssd in the open msata slot to run the operating system
Headphone jack has buzz when connected to low-impedance headphones.
The glossy, wide bezel will accumulate fingerprints like it's got nothing better to do.
Face recognition log-in doesn't seem to work.
I have been using this computer daily for about 2 months now. I am overall very satisfied with this computer. I stuck a 128gb ssd in the open msata slot as soon as I got it. With the i7 and 8gb ram, this machine is very responsive. The build quality, overall, seems very solid. There is no noticeable keyboard flex. The back of the lid even seems solid.
Multi-touch gestures work fine on the track pad after some extensive settings tweaks. How much tweaking is required will, of course, vary from person to person. For a laptop, the speakers are excellent, even providing a bit, but not overwhelming amounts, of bass. They get loud, as well, but you'll need some external speakers to really rock out. The screen is about average. Colors are reproduced well and with some vibrance. Viewing angles are a little restricted. Color distortions can be seen at perhaps 20 degrees off axis.
My only real complaints with this model are the slow hard drives available and the buzz on the headphone jack. As mentioned above, the open msata slot provides the perfect opportunity to have a fast ssd for running the OS and a large, conventional hdd for bulk storage. This is quite a nice set up in a 14" laptop. The headphone jack buzz does not have quite such an easy resolution. The buzz is undetectable when using external speakers. I'm told it also disappears when using high quality headphones. Those of us that like using small, cheap, low impedence headphones must contend with a bit of hum. It isn't noticeable when listening to music, games or movies, except in silent sections. When there are no sounds coming over my headphones, though, that white noise just grates on my nerves to no end. I can confirm that the noise is not solely due to the hdd that is next to the jack either. The noise level is not discernibly changed by complete removal or disabling of the hdd.
Overall, I am very satisfied with this laptop. With the i7 processor and the solid AMD 7690 graphics card, this machine should be usable and relevant for 3-4 years."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
adis

lenovo Y470p

Date:April 11, 2012
"Excellent laptop! My only concerns are the headphone and ports. You always hear an annoying white background noise when you use headphone. When using the USB port next to the power port, some USB flash or devices block the CD driver from opening. The same thing applies to the VGA and HDMI ports."
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alice

Excellent quality and value

Date:April 9, 2012
"The laptop is excellent in terms of quality and value.
After using it for two months, I am truly impressed by its performance- the laptop's speed is incredibly fast compared to my old one. The 8-GB RAM is extremely useful in watching web HD TV smoothly.
It is a workhorse with a very good price."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alexandr

Excellent for 800$

Date:March 26, 2012
"This is absolutely cost effective purchase. My Y470p is fast , small and quiet (I received it 3 weeks ago). Further, I admit very good build quality and design; very comfortable keyboard and touch pad. The one key recovery is amazing and it takes 10 minutes to recover the system (the original installation was working flawlessly and I just fed my interest regarding system recovery functioning).
For gamers. Crysis 2 - turn off DirX 11 and play on Ultra without any discomfort 90% of game (Some scenes with plenty of shadows go slowly). MW3 - ultra. Stalker Call of Prypat - ultra. While playing the comp stayed cool and quiet.
Display could be better but for 800$ and other hardware it is absolutely fair price.
Finally, I am really satisfied with this laptop - 5 stars."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jansch

Powerfull, but nor for Travel

Date:March 24, 2012
"The Lenovo Thinkpad Y470 is a very powerfull Laptop. I'm very convinced.
The power of the CPU you never can yuse, it's too much! The GPU is not the best, but if you would like to play some games Like CoD, Anno or Somethink like this, it's enough.
The bad think of this Laptop is, that it's not very robust! If you are travelling a lot, it's very uncomfortable!
"
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jamesp

Raw power with small size

Date:March 21, 2012
"Was looking for a powerhouse after my last laptop burnt up. This suits my needs of gaming and work. Battery lasts for 6 hrs in Normal mode and in Performance mode gives high frame rate (atleast in 30s) for all games even with ultra settings.
I highy recommend it to anyone. Only screen is a bit of a problem. View angles are not good.
"
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BrownEye02

It plays BF3!!!!!

Date:March 19, 2012
"I am at school all the time and always need my laptop. My previous one was a 17" gaming laptop. Now you can only imagine me shoving a 17" laptop in my backpack along with all my books. This was the only laptop that would keep about the same spec as my old laptop but be a 14". As well as not break the bank.
With all BF3's settings on low to off and it running at the default res this thing can run around at 54FPS. Now if you've played BF3 you know its low settings still look amazing.
As for the laptop itself hardware wise I only had two issues, one was the 5,200rpm drive. I changed that before its first boot. The second is the gpu underclocks on battery. The battery is to weak to power both the i7 and gpu.
!!!!!!So gaming on the battery is impossible no matter what settings you change!!!!!!!! (star lost here)
The screen looks good. I mean I cant complain for a 14" laptop. It is a really odd resolution. I run virtual machines so trying to match its resolution was impossible. I had to settle with a 1024x768 res in cent os.
Over all I love this laptop. It kicks ___ and takes names. It has its corks but which laptop doesn't. This thing will blow through anything you throw at it and then some. The battery life is amazing. I have every thing I can set to on 100% and Im still getting about 3.5hrs of hard use on one charge. The only thing I recommend doing is grabbing yourself a faster hard drive after purchasing this. Otherwise your ready to play BF3 out of the box.
If I can go from my 3 monitor eyefinity gaming desktop to gaming on this with no complaints you know this is a good laptop!
"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
blazingrom

Terrible viewing angles

Date:March 16, 2012
"I just got my new $799 y470p laptop, and overall I'm happy. But I did research on the web before I bought this laptop, and I never saw anything about how bad the viewing angles are. This monitor could not have worse viewing angles. Solution: use laptop screen for only personal viewing, and get an external monitor for your house. I'm still excited about this laptop, but I thought people have a right to know before they buy. I didn't even think they made screens this primitive anymore. Maybe that's why the price was so low."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrianS

Above high expectations

Date:March 10, 2012
"I needed a new laptop because my old hp was wearing out. I wanted to try out a new brand, and a friend recommended Lenovo to me. I got this laptop, and it does everything it said it would do to the absolute maximum. Perfect for gaming, surfing, image editing, etc. The resolution seems low on paper, but on a 14" screen it is as good as any. It also has a nice look, a smooth keyboard, a nice touch pad, nice speakers, a nice webcam, and the list goes on. No complaints whatsoever."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eric

Incredible price

Date:March 9, 2012
"I searched quite a while and this laptop had the best features for the price of any laptop I saw. Was not disappointed. Handles everything well, including games. Would highly recommend this laptop to anyone."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FadaB

Excellent Purchase

Date:March 6, 2012
"My older laptop crashed about 2 months ago and i was on the hunt for a good brand. i spoke to a few people who knew quite a bit about laptops and they said that Lenovo was the way to go.
I came unto the website expecting the prices to be exorbitant. much to my surprise lenovo is VERY reasonable. and the kind of hardware that they pack into a computer for the price is simply fantastic.
The Y470P came in a box with no frills, I turned it on and had no problem setting it up. I am an electrical engineer so i run a lot of simulation software including AutoCAD and this system runs them FLAWLESSLY. I must say it is the best value fore money i could ever ask for, because other competitors charge almost double the price for what Lenovo gives you. WELL DONE Lenovo keep it up!!!"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y470p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alex

The best portable laptop money can buy

Date:March 1, 2012
"This computer blows away all of the other ones out there in its class. For the $799.00 promo price you get a quad core 2.2ghz CPU, discrete ATI Radeon HD graphics w/1GB memory, 750GB of storage, fantastic speakers and a great battery life.
The screen is sharp at the 720p resolution, with the ability to play many of the latest games, enjoy HD entertainment and crunch intense computing tasks with ease.
It doesn't weigh too much, either, especially considering the number of high-end components. And the fact that the back panel on the bottom of the computer comes off with a few screws, giving you access to the CPU, heatsink, fan, memory, wireless and hard drive is excellent for ease of maintenance and upgrades.
This is my second Lenovo laptop, and I have to say that they just keep getting better. I highly recommend this system for people on the go that demand aggressive performance."