Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E430

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E430

Average customer rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
24 of 31(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E430
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GaryH

E420 I5processor 6MB RAM/Great Notebook

Date:May 10, 2012
"Have 14" Screen..Great Color..Speed & Ease of Use is Great..Have Had numerous notebooks over yrs...This is Best Ever..Highly Recommend..Loads Software(Boot Up is SuperFast!!) w/o any problems...Like pointing device n middle of keyboard...wt/color/speakers are all excelent..Battery has long charges..as they state..In conclusion..have no complaints..would buy it again...also..great price for such a great unit.."
3 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sean
Location:Aurora, CO
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Wonderful laptop!

Date:July 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"I bought this laptop for a durable, fast, long lasting computer for school, going on the internet, watching movies, etc. It's a wonderful computer! It's very durable, the keyboard is great, the trackpad is a bit stiff though, but I use a wireless mouse anyways. The dedicated function keys are great! I got the webcam with it and it's very high quality and it comes with a fingerprint reader. Minimal stickers, minimal lights for less of a distraction, and very efficient use of space for everything. It doesn't run very hot, just a bit warm which is normal. I got the 62 watt hour battery with it and it's worth the upgrade from the 48 watt hour so definitely get that! I would recommend this laptop for anyone!"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FriedEyes
Location:Washington DC
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great surprise

Date:July 8, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"I wasn't sure how this laptop would turn out, since I've never seen it in stores. I used a Thinkpad T series for the past 7 years but it was time to upgrade. So I took the plunge and am very happy with the Edge E430! Specs: 4 GB, i5, 320 GB HD
Display: I got the matte screen-bright enough to see in direct sunlight, decent color (not as good as a LCD TV or a high end HP of course, but fine!)
Keyboard: A pleasure to type on!
Mouse pad: MY FAVORITE PART! Allows you to pinch and zoom, show the desktop, scroll, and its textured and does NOT get in the way of typing. I tried ASUS and Samsung mousepads and they ALWAYS made you skip lines while typing. Don't forget you have the nipple too to use in the middle of the G and H key, something I only found in Dells, and we know about Dell's reliability (not good!)
Battery: decent! depends on your settings, but I've made it go 8 hours on slow processor/dim display when I've forgotten my power cord.
Boot time: CRAZY FAST (instant!!) wake from sleep (make sure Hybrid sleep is DISABLED). Fresh boot from shut down will be a couple of minutes. I've never seen anything so fast! Must be the 7200 RPM drive (note most other manufacturers will give you 5400 RPM drive which are much slower even though they are 500 GB-1 TB) I have 8 GB RAM, but most of u should be able to be fine with 4 GB.
USB ports-3 of them with 2 being USB 3.0 is awesome!
Fingerprint reader can be used to log into any website-awesome!!
And SERVICE: I got a virus on my computer that fooled me into thinking I had a hard drive failure. Calling Lenovo tech support was hugely helpful, easy, and friendly. Can't beat that!!
No, this doesn't have the hard drive, battery, plug, caps on, num lock lights like the T-series does, but those are really not needed-everything lights up on your display and takes care of that."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jimbohlia
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Would not purchase again

Date:February 17, 2014
Cons: Weight, speed, proprite
"At first I was happy with this laptop. Good design and the perfect size for me. I opted to get the top processor (I7 ivy bridge) and that along with 4GB of ram should have been more than enough for what I planned on using this laptop for which is just general web surfing and watching a little Netflix. But then the real world performance of this laptop sets in. It takes a solid 3 to 4 minutes (and sometimes up to 5) to wake from rest. Boot times are even longer and if I know I am going to be needing the computer I will start it and leave the room so I can do other things instead of sitting there and watching this thing grinding away at loading win 7 for 8 minutes. I have the best processor available for this model and I would hate to see what the i3 experience is like."
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
KimmieInIN
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:2 GB

Supporting over 200 of these

Date:January 31, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Support, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Durability
"First, this is the worst touchpad known to man. I will not use it without a mouse. Second, after about a year, I'm running into specific hardware problems, one is that there is no power to the machine from the AC adapter, warranty repairs have shown reseating a component and replacing a DC-in cable are being done. Makes me pretty nervous that I'll be opening these up a lot once the (we bought extended 3 yr)warranty is over. Also, have had some funky keyboard issues where they just die, whole keyboard or single key. The case always feels dirty with its suede finish. I am using one at home as my work at home computer and I'd never buy one."
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarkMEX
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Things come in small packages

Date:November 4, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"when i went to the tech store i was planning to get a mac... but i ended up purchasing a Lenovo ThinkPad E430 Upgraded to the spec! After Using it, what i plan next is to get a Tatoo on my arm "PROUD THINKPAD USER" :D"
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AngryMedicalStudent
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

There is no justification for buying this computer

Date:November 2, 2013
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Included Software, Processor
"Great keyboard and track pad, but after less than 1 year the period button doesn't work and the joystick isn't that responsive, maybe that's because it's worn down so quickly
I will just list some problems I've encountered so far with this pitiful excuse for technology I have AVG and it's up to date so I can't assume any of this is virus or malware induced and I don't drop it or leave it on the dashboard of my car, I take good care of it these just seem pretty innate:
1 Second day I owned this I got a blue screen of death, I have, in under a year, experience 5 since including tonight, this is even after returning it to Lenovo for glitch repairs of this among other things
2 The CD drive randomly pops out for no reason whatsoever
3 The camera did not work when I received it"
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shockwave
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

The Best Laptop Ever

Date:September 7, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I had number of laptops ( High Performance ) and this just overtakes all of them. I just got this last month ( Firstly the Carbon Fibre ) body is just so light for portability. The 2GB Dedicated Nvidia Graphics Card takes care of my games if I ever needed. The Intel i5 ( 3rd Gen) takes care of various Development programs which I work one everyday, And last of the Battery Life is just too too good. It has come with Window 7 Pro installed and a Window 8 Pro 64 bit DVD if I ever need to install and upgrade from the Win 7. Keep it up Lenovo. Life made simple. And the cost $435. It is worth every penny for it feature which the other brands charge at a premium."
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pavel
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great deal - very satisfied

Date:April 17, 2013
Pros: Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: Storage, Battery
"I have purchased this laptop about six months ago and am very happy with the purchase. Rigid body, great mate screen, good performance - what else do you need? If you travel once a week, this fellow is not that heavy. Also I have first class experience with lenovo service centre - my battery started deteriorating sooner than expected (in about 5 months of use), after contacting the service department about this faulty battery, got it changed next day - well done lenovo. Next time I buy lenovo again. One con - I have only 250GB drive which is a bit low for today's movie/music world."
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lenovo
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium

Okay

Date:March 22, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Build Quality, Durability
"I've had this computer for a little over a year. It is still working okay, hasn't slowed down much, and I still get about 2 1/2 hours out of the battery.
I am very grateful that Lenovo continues to offer a machine with a pointing stick. For me, it is the fastest and easiest means of maneuvering.
On the down side, the build feels chintzy and there are a lot of rattles and parts that feel like they want to fall off. The screen covering the front grill did fall off, held on by just a little glue.
"Okay" if you get it for a good price."
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wolfy
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best laptop iv'e used

Date:January 25, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: lack of buttons below trackpad
". I was on a budget of about $550 and he Edge line suited that perfectly. The laptop is a soft rubber-like black that look's professional. the keyboard is great, and types better then mac's products, and the fingerprint reader is fricken awesome! i can log on and launch program's with. The bigger battery option is giving me 7 hours on a full charge. The audio is great too its dolby surround sound and its load and you can play with the equalizer settings."
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BusComp
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good notebook with some flaws

Date:January 24, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Warranty, Support, Battery, Weight, Security Features
"This is a solid, well-designed business notebook, but prospective buyers should be aware of a few flaws:
1. No TPM chip, so you cannot encrypt your drive with BitLocker even if you have Windows 8 Pro.
2. Battery sometimes won't charge, even though Lenovo Solution Center indicates that the battery is in good condition. I had a similar problem with my ThinkPad T60. This appears to be a fairly common battery/power problem with ThinkPad notebooks.
3. Even with an i7 processor, performance seems a bit slow compared to my Toshiba i5 notebook.
4. Pretty bulky frame. This is not a notebook for people constantly on the go."
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Johnnythegeek
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Mac user convert

Date:January 23, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Battery, Security Features
"I sold my Macbook Pro and bought a E430 Edge.
A very good choice I must say. Its hardware compares to my 1 year old Macbook Pro I sold and I actually have more USB ports and a HDMI port I can actually use without a Apple adaptor!
My only minor complaint is that they mounted the HDMI port between USB ports on the left and if your not careful you might try and insert a USB device in the HDMI port. I bought my 430 with a matte screen and am much happier then the super glossy one my Macbook had. I had Lenovo replace my battery as I thought it was having varried lifespans on full charge. A new battery solved this. Got it in a day too! Great service!
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
therise
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good On Paper, Not The Ears

Date:January 20, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Included Software, fan noise
"The only negative thing I noticed about this laptop that is a real deal breaker is the fan. The fan is ALWAYS on for this computer. This is even after removing most of the useless software that came installed on the computer and doing very light web browsing. There is a fan underneath the computer that is always running, even when just idle. So if you can handle fan noise all the time, this may not be too much of a problem. I am honestly disappointed in this computer now. Had it not been for the 15% restocking fee they charge when returning it, I would have returned this computer a few days ago."
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dillo
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Incredible!

Date:January 4, 2013
Pros: Battery, Processor
Cons: Warranty, Durability
"I've been through many computers in my life, and this one stands out as one of the top choices for work and school."
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
APElectric891
Location:NY
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i5

E430 Owner

Date:December 16, 2012
Pros: Weight, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Display performance
"Wish this thinkpad would had come with a 1600x900 display resolution. The ""HD (1366x768)" display type is a bit misleading since it is not all that great. Could had opted for the t430 which comes with the "HD+' but I was on a budget."
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brittanix
Location:Hamilton, ON
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate

Best laptop I've ever owned

Date:December 1, 2012
Pros: Screen size, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Weight
"I find this computer to be so amazing! It's the best I've ever purchased, and I've also never had a laptop last so long without slowing down or constantly needing to be repaired or wiped. I use the computer a LOT, it's extremely good for movies and music, and it has no trouble supporting some of the PC games I own. Usually when friends come over they're jealous of the speed, picture quality, and ease of my laptop.
:)
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vikashmnk
Location:India, Delhi
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Hats Off : Great design great laptop with good pri

Date:November 1, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: touch pad
"Excellent laptop with great features like airbag, motion webcam, Intel theft security and great battery backup.
One thing need to be enhance is touch pad. Actually internal button is not easy to operate."
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
deadsquare
Location:Raleigh, NC
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good purchase

Date:October 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Durability, Wireless card, Build Quality
Cons: Memory, Processor, Storage, Video card, Display resolution, Included Software, Display performance
"Very slow start up speeds, lots of very annoying bloatware. disappointing processing speeds. constantly having its cpu usage maxed out running everyday tasks. needs lots of tuning but is a good buy for the cost."
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E430
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Brendan
Location:New Hampshire
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:3.5 GB

I'm not that satisfied

Date:October 25, 2012
Pros: Weight, Battery, Storage
Cons: Memory, Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Processor, Durability, Video card, Included Software
"I bought this laptop a couple months ago around March or April. It seemed like a nice laptop then. Then as it aged and I downloaded more stuff to the HDD it began to really slow down. Now, I bought mine customized with the Intel Core i5 processor, webcam, ect... You'd think that would be fast. Don't get me wrong... It is... For surfing the web. In my free time I like to go on some Java based games. First, either its something I downloaded, or the pc, but it WILL NOT download Java from the site. I have to download the offline version. Second, the computer itself seems to be having a lot of blue screens (BSOD) I haven't downloaded anything that will/would've harmed my PC. I know it for a fact. But when I start my thinkpad, it will start, I type in my password, and it stays at the desktop for maybe 15 seconds then Boom. BSOD pops up. Overall, if you're not going to be gaming with this laptop, its pretty decent. But my last laptop, a Compaq, was Wayyy better than this. Also, my down arrow on my keyboard fell off. I barley touched it, and it breaks. The price was a little ridiculous for all the problems with work it has given me."