Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T520 Top Rated or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T520 Top Rated

Top performer with more room to work in the office or on-the-go.

Average customer rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
63 of 69(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
Review 1 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Longtimefan

Not up to Thinkpad reputation

Date:March 9, 2012
"Not as good as my previous Thinkpads. Too much plastic and flimsy feel. It was a little better priced than usual so I guess that counts. But I expected a rugged and high quality Thinkpad business class laptop and it's feels closer to the consumer version Ideapad."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mike

More consumer, not business quality, than expected

Date:March 9, 2012
"Have had many Thinkpads and expected this one to have same 'feel' but was dissapointed. Its an OK laptop but 1) has more of a plasticy feel than I was expecting 2) the perfomance with the i5 processor and Windows7 was ok, but does not appreciably better than my 3 yo R61i Thinkpad and 3) I also use a Dell Lattitude E6410 and a Mac Air and both feel significantly higher quality.
Again, the T520 is ok, just not up to my expectations for a business Thinkpad."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhilMiller84

Outstanding Machine

Date:March 7, 2012
"I've been using computers for almost 20 years, and I'm always looking for a computer that's
1) Powerful
2) Well-built
3) Easy to use
4) Helpful
The ThinkPad series is all of these. I'm very impressed.
The Lenovo ThinkVantage suite is by far the most helpful pre-installed software package I've seen. I've used other brands and usually end up removing the pre-installed software, however this one looks like it's staying. The options for battery usage, cooling, sleep, and screen settings are way more in depth than what comes standard with the OS.
On top of that, the ability to use the TrackPoint or the touchpad separately or together is a nice touch. I actually prefer the trackpoint, and to be able to quickly disable the touchpad makes it a lot easier to avoid mistakes when moving files.
I expect this laptop to last for at least 5 years, maybe longer, as it seems to be built solid.
Overall, the T520 is an outstanding machine and I would highly recommend it, especially when considering the value added with the Lenovo software and build quality."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gramme
Location:Smoky Mountains, NC
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Easy for "newbie" to get up to speed!

Date:December 16, 2011
Pros: Warranty, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Weight, it's a little heavy for these arthritic fingers.
"From the moment of my first look at Lenovo, to my several phone calls and emails with their representatives, to the reading of their reviews, and to my final choice of my ThinkPad T520, my first laptop purchase, I have been delighted. But that was only the first part of my fun! Initially, I understood that it would take several weeks, yet within only several days, my custom outfitted ThinkPad was on the way. It was exciting to track its’ journey from China, to Japan, to Alaska, then make its’ way eastward to my door where it was delivered quicker than promised. After unpacking this beauty, I was impressed with the heft, ease of opening, keyboard setup and basic information that was enclosed. Old school training made me panic a bit when there was no extensive paper instruction manual, but because Matt, my Lenovo sales person told me about it, I knew it would be easy for this “elder newbie” to locate the convenient, preloaded User Guide to help me with all my questions. As excited as I was, I didn’t have time to insert the battery and start getting familiar with my ThinkPad until around 8:30 pm and the new battery rapidly got up to full charge once plugged in. While working on other laptops, I’ve had several major problems that I quickly found my ThinkPad had overcome. In the past, it seemed I could never find the cursor, but by tapping the “ctrl” button, my little cursor’s hiding place was exposed and retrieved. Initially, I chose my ThinkPad because of the large screen to make it easier on my eyes, but even with the size of my ThinkPad display, I had to get close to the screen to see my work. Then I became aware of the magic “fn” + “space” button – wow, in a matter of seconds, my screen was magnified. Then I found this handy “magnifier” function that let me have a magnifier available if I wanted to look more closely at a specific group of words rather than a whole page. On other laptops, I could never get comfortable with the keyboards, but on my T520, my fingers fit exactly right, and with the slight “braille-type” raised edge on the J and F key, it was easy to find home. And the keyboard sound was similar to the comfortable clack that my old IBM typewriter and keyboard made. I had read that a few reviewers were not happy with the placement of the fn button, but I had no problem finding the ctrl button so that did not hamper me. Once I got settled in with the basics, the first thing I did was set up a file in Word so I could record the excitement of my ThinkPad purchase. Then I roamed around, finding the music and watching videos and just getting familiar with the functions and abilities of the laptop. Before I knew it, it was 2:30am and I still had 2 hours-worth of battery time left. When I put my head on my pillow, my mind was already designing the fabric skin and cushioned carry bag that I will sew. It will have pockets for the plug and other accessories which will make it easy to transport this new important part of my life. Perhaps I spent a little more than I might have if I’d purchased through an online auction site, or through other resellers, but I think it will be worth it because I know I will get Great Support from this Great Company. Thank you, Lenovo!"
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DMGDEV
Location:Orlando, FL
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best laptop out there!

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Security Features, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Weight, bulky, price of lenovo memory, price of lenovo storage
"Everything about this machine is incredible. As an application's developer, this laptop fits all my needs perfectly.
The only way Lenovo could improve is in their offerings of memory and storage. I definitely recommend building your laptop with the minimum amount of memory and a cheap disk drive.
Go to NewEgg and purchase 8GB Crucial Memory and an Intel SSD and this laptop will fly. The cost ends up being nearly twice as cheap than would cost going through Lenovo. Definitely some room for improvement here.
The build quality, processor, integrated software, battery is unmatched however. This laptop ROCKS!"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
motorcyclemama

EXCELLENT choice!

Date:June 21, 2012
"my last laptop was dual core, this is a quad.
This is thinner than my last, and best of all "lighter" It is possible to get bigger and better, and still be less weight!
best of all is the little red, scroll throttle in the middle, makes all uses more simple, I still have to remind myself to use it sometimes.
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Racc

Awesome work Laptop

Date:June 13, 2012
"Have used several brands prior.
This one has out performed the others, especially Dell.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rrobitsc

Solid and Reliable Business Laptop

Date:May 30, 2012
"After opening the package for the first time I instantly felt the difference in build-quality with Lenovo brand ThinkPad laptops. The Think Vantage suite is a nice feature, my favorite application is the Password Vault. Along with the optional Fingerprint Reader, it is a very secure place to store private information.
As a student studying engineering the T520 offers the multitasking capability to tackle multiple graphic intensive applications.
Also another important feature is the long battery life. This becomes essential for being able to go from class to class without having to plug-in the laptop. The unique ThinkLight feature is a nice addition that helps you see the keyboard and other objects in low-light conditions. Speaking of the keyboard, the keyboard is incredibly nice to type on and offers good feedback and responsiveness. The i7 core processor makes for solid performance and quick processing speeds necessary to open applications quickly.
My only complaint may be the weight of the laptop combined with the 9-cell battery, it is a fairly hefty package to lug across campus."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pspohn

Solid State Joy!

Date:May 9, 2012
"The solid state drive takes the word fast to a whole new level! What a joy to use...and the screen is super clear. Ease of use of keys mouse pad are excellent. For the price and value I rank this one of the best portable laptops! And...did I mention fast!"
Review 10 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lijoi

Slow and strange

Date:April 28, 2012
"Pros:
Computer is well made, solid. The display 15.6 in. (1600x900LED) is crisp and bright, matte, comfortable to use in sun light. Especially like the small LED light next to the camera. Very handy in dark conditions. Keyboard is fine too. Connectivity OK. Big Pro - works with Linux out of the box. Installed SuSE 12.1 - everything works fine, including most FN buttons, camera, mic, etc. Keyboard is nice. Battery OK. Big but not that heavy.
Con:
Slow. In Linux even slower than in Windows 7.
CPU frequency never goes over 800MHz. This laptop has core-i5-2520M processor and 4GB RAM. Never uses more than half of the RAM. Fan is quiet all the time, but speed is low too, all the time. Definitely something wrong with this Lenovo. All the fancy diagnostics didn't find a problem anywhere in the hardware. Probably the hardware is OK by itself but the overall system design is deficient.Still can be used, but $1000 is way too much for such mediocre performance.
Display has strange colors too. Although bright and crisp, there is something wrong with the blue color and an overall blue - violet hue on the display.
All in all - usable, but a big disappointment.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
UnderTheC

Great Business & Family Laptop

Date:April 25, 2012
"Daily I use a T400, but also purchased the T520 for business and for the family. Knowing what my T400 (in the past, R54, T32, T40, T42) have all stood up to, I was confident that the T520 would withstand the abuse a 2 and 7 year old would give to it.
I have one issue with the battery feeling loose and actually clicks when walking with it. Called tech support and had a new battery at my house within 48hrs but did not resolve the issue.
It's funny playing with the kids at BB and FS when they are pushing Toshiba and Sony laptops. Lenovo's are available there as well but they say they are not a good manufacturer. They don't even know who made the thinkpads prior to Lenovo arrggghhhh
Overall Very Please with another Thinkpad in my household."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bikrgeek
Location:Texas
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

T520

Date:April 24, 2012
Pros: Durability, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Support, thinkbvantage support, ordering options
"Great performance. Support is very good. Lenovo ThinkVantage tools are excellent for software/driver updates. I am a big fan of the Trackpoint rather than the pad for pointing accuracy. Lenovo had the best ordering options (over Dell and HP). I recommend the T520 for anyone looking for a full featured laptop."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Murph

Robust and Durable

Date:April 21, 2012
"This is an excellent laptop, it may not always win the contest for best looks but it is a workhorse! I have owned many laptops over the years and this one has the most consistant performance. Love the feel of the keyboard, the solidity of the chassis, the quality of the build, and the stability of all components. This happens to be my work laptop but if I were to change jobs I'd be buying one of these with my own money."
Review 14 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jordan

One beast of a computer

Date:March 20, 2012
"This thing can handle anything you throw at it. With the i5, 8 gigs of memory, a 250gb ssd in the msata slot under the keyboard, and a 500 gb ssd replacing the standard hard drive, this is all I need when it comes to performance. The Intel 3000 graphics provide enough for me, and are enough to play games on my occasional downtime.
As for battery life, I can go nearly all day without having to charge it if need be, and it charges quick enough for an on the go life. I have always liked how thinkpads are styled, and this one feels solid and suites my taste very well.
Now for the downsides...
no usb3.0
low res screen, but my desktop has three 23" monitors in a nice array, so maybe I'm just being picky. 1080p would have been nice though, and would have looked great on a 15" screen
One last thing...the Lenovo "Turbo Boost" does nothing but speed up your fan, and the programs I like (speedfan) refuse to control it.
Now for my final thoughts
Lenovo has kept IBM's quality. I was weary about upgrading after my old and beloved IBM T42 became obsolete, but I love my new computer. The T42 now runs Ubuntu (and loves it by the way) and is still in working order, just like the day it was bought"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sammy

Couldn't Be Happier With My T520

Date:March 18, 2012
"I have had my T520 for four months and couldn't be happier with it. The sales representative who helped me was great; a couple emails and a phone call configured the machine with all the features I was after. And it was fun tracking it's travel status from factory to my home at Christmas time.
I opted for the solid state hard drive, which is absolutely silent and fast. This was an issue with my previous name brand laptops which would be busy working away on something other than what I was doing, slowing the machine down. It's fast to start up, the keyboard is solid, not clanky, the 15.6 HD screen is awesome, the speakers are quite good for a laptop, and I appreciate the lack of bloatware that comes with other brands.
I like having both the touch pad and eraser head tracking devises, I move from one to the other without thinking about it. The 9 cell extended life battery lets me work the entire day unplugged if I chose to. I use this machine as my desktop, so I appreciate it's solid overall quality, and it's weight is not an issue for me.
My wife has had multiple Thinkpad X series computers for the last 15 years or so. She travels and likes the light weight ones and is pretty tough on them. She also has the ability to make any technology go haywire, so she has used the technical support service a number of times. They are usually US based and always quickly available and helpful.
We were concerned when IBM sold this division a few years ago, fearing the quality might diminish. But that concern proved to be unfounded. We believe Lenovo makes the best laptops on the market."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SiliconBeachUser

Amazing

Date:March 18, 2012
"My company upgraded my workstation to a T520 3 months ago, and I have decided to buy one myself. I work with engineering groups and need to be able to access programming environments, use graphic tools, and other processor- heavy tools. I am not often amazed by speed differential, but this machine is fast and the widesceen visibility is great. Other reviewers have made several legitimate points about use of the latest technology USB, cost of memory, keyboard layout and weight, but I find these issues to be related to the price point, and I don't have time to do much upgrading myself. With Lenovo service I can get to work right away. Thanks, Lenovo!"
Review 17 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zachie34

Think Pad T520

Date:March 17, 2012
"I am not a computer geek, i am on my computer 6-10 hours daily. I want my computer to perform when needed. I work from home. My girls took their Mac's when they went off to school. I was distraut.
I went on the IBM website site, and there was Lenovo's logo. I searched the site, and eventually ended up on a refurbished Think Pad.
I read the info on the computer and called the 800# and talked to the Rep. It has been two years, I bought the T61, and am in the market for the the T520. It is the perfect fit for me. It is quick and stable, it is dependable and totally
made to order regardless of my crazy pace. The T model is the work horse who never stops
its superior performance and endurance.
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlanTam

A well built machine with solid performance

Date:February 28, 2012
"Having been using Thinkpad for the last 12 years, and used X301, T60P, T42, T20, all of them execellent machines. Last month I was wondering if I should get a W-series workstation to work on my photos, but as Windows 8 is coming, and many new exciting hardware will be introduced, I decided to order this T520 instead. I upgraded to i7 processor, FHD screen, 8GB Ram, 1GB video card, and it's still a lot cheaper than the W series. Processing large amount of photo is quite smooth, and I am very happy with it. One problem I had was that even though I ordered 3 year Norton Internet Security subscription, I kept getting message from Norton saying my 30-day trial has expired."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hoosier

ThinkPad T520

Date:February 27, 2012
"I have no complaints, this laptop performs like the workhorse i expected."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T520 Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SURSUMCORDA

Solid, Reliable Lenovo

Date:February 23, 2012
"This is my second T-series Lenovo notebook. Prior notebook had Windows XP Pro and ran flawlessly for 5 years of continuous business usage. Due to proprietary software upgrades, I needed more hard drive storage, a faster processor, and more RAM. I purchased the T520 500G, Core i7, 6G RAM, 15.6 HD+LED screen with Smart Card Reader, running Windows 7 Pro. Once again, a solid machine capable of running all my proprietary software flawlessly.
Within a month, the Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox alerted me to a hardware issue with the system board. After running my own tests, I contacted Lenovo support. I explained to the technician that this was my only business computer and that I needed the quickest resolution possible. Rather than having me ship the machine to Atlanta, the technician put me in touch with a Lenovo Partner nearby, who courteously and quickly replaced the system board and had me up and running within a couple of hours.
Thank you, Lenovo, for your consistent reliable quality and service! Can't imagine ever buying another brand."