Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaCentre Q190 New! or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaCentre Q190 New!

An elegantly compact home theater powerhouse.

Average customer rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
15 of 18(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
Review 1 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cz10
Owned Product:Just got it

Do not upgrade to Win 8.1 if you want to use WiFi

Date:February 28, 2014
Cons: Wireless card
"Basically, Win 8 is unusable, so the machine needs to be upgraded to 8.1 so anyone who has ever used Windows before can figure out how to use it. But once that is done, the WiFi quit. Driver issue, but since it is NOT the OS the machine came with, Lenovo wants to charge a crazy fee (I forget, due to shock, I think it was either $99 or $199) to obtain the correct driver.
Nothing on the Lenovo support website about the problem. I really appreciate banging my head against the keyboard for about 8 hours only to end up with a machine that has broken WiFi."
Review 2 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lenovouser1
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8

Best Media Replacement

Date:February 4, 2014
"I recommend this computer for those who want to watch media and browse the internet on their TV. However, there are some issues that you need to watch out for. When I first used it, not all of the icons fit the TV screen but after adjusting the screen, the icons fit now. Second, DO NOT INSTALL WINDOWS 8.1, it makes your wifi not work anymore. Lastly, if you are having trouble seeing the apps, go to change PC settings, Ease of Access. Unfortunately, Lenovo for some dumb reason decided to discontinue their Blu-Ray optical drives. If you decide to go with a third party Blu-Ray player, you will also need to buy software. I recommend PowerDVD and the Asus Blu-Ray Combo SBC06D2XU Optical Drive. Other than that, this computer is a good investment despite being somewhat pricey."
Review 3 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MLee
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core 2 Quad
Memory:4 GB or more

On my 2nd and going for a 3rd

Date:January 6, 2014
Pros: Weight, Included software, Keyboard/peripherals
"The first Q series I bought was of a different design, it was smaller and lighter, I wish I still had that one. I ended up selling it to a friend from out of town who couldn't wait the 3-4 weeks production and shipping. So I went ahead and purchased a second one but this time with a DVD player.
Use it every day to stream and use as a PC. No problems with the unit, except the DVD drive gets stuck some times. Not a problem for me cause I don't use the drive much anyways. Compared to a barebones system where you can add all the components yourself and end up with a much better computer, there's also the extra price that comes with it. So for 299 on sale, it's a great value and even comes with an OS installed.
"
Review 4 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eric
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Celeron
Memory:4 GB or more

Love it!

Date:January 6, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Memory, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, sound
"We have been using the Q190 as a home theater computer connected to our LCD TV with sound bar for music and video streaming via a wired Ethernet connection since we cancelled our cable TV service 3 months ago. It's ultra compact size and features are truly amazing for the price. Love having access to things that many stand alone streaming devices lack. We did end up purchasing a wireless keyboard from a different company because it was better suited for our home theater application than the included USB mouse and keyboard, but that's truly a non-issue."
Review 5 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JMBB
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Hours of updates

Date:December 11, 2013
Pros: Weight, Included software
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"Time and money researching and buying a PC only to spend hours and hours running updates to get it to work properly. The wired keyboard and mouse seems out of sync with the compact size of the machine. Still, it is a great size for the living room."
Review 6 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bubba
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Oh My Gosh

Date:December 10, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Video card, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals
"I purchased my first Q180 about 2 years ago. Since then I have purchased around 20 Q190's ranging from the standard processor to the I3. I am very impressed with the computers design and performance. I use it also for MRI's, Electronic Xrays and standard desktop applications."
Review 7 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
maimai
Owned Product:Just got it

Good desktop for it size.

Date:October 6, 2013
Cons: Bluetooth, no analog output at the back
"Everything is good, except for lack of analog speaker output at the back. They only provide spdif output, which means most analog 3.5mm input unable to use. U can only plug your analog input at the front for headphone output which is not meant for speaker."
Review 8 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
case
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8

Awesome Multimedia player for TV

Date:July 13, 2013
Pros: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, size
"I'm replacing an Apple TV and Roku with this and it delivers in spades. It turns out Windows 8 looks great on a LCD TV. Since all the apps are full screen, they look tailor made for TV already. And combined with the Lenovo Multimedia keyboard, it's very easy to navigate.
Performance is just fine under Win 8. I didn't notice any slowdowns and no hickups in video playback either. I should also add it's essentially silent in operation.
Overall, this was a great purchase, especially considering the price."
Review 9 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
matt
Owned Product:Less than a week

really good, all-round pc

Date:May 21, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Video card
"i bought this computer because my old one broke down. i was reluctant at first because it has an intel celeron processor, and those aren't known to be fast. however, since it was only 285 dollars, and came with windows, i couldn't resist. if i didn't like it, i would return it within 30 days. but since it got here, it hasn't failed to surprise me yet. it's really fast, and it looks really good. it runs so quiet that you can hardly hear the fans.
overall, i would recommend. expecially since lenovo is known to be reliable."
Review 10 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nick
Owned Product:1-6 months

great value

Date:May 16, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Durability, Memory, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Included Software, Processor
"i pain 285 in total for this pc, and couldn't be happier. I've had this for 4 months now, and it's performing really well. it's stable, and it's surprisingly fast. my only concern is the processor. they could at least provide the option of providing a faster processor instead of making the decision beforehand..."
Review 11 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tony
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Excellent Replacement for Tower

Date:May 9, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Wireless card, Build Quality, on desk with i/o
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I love my Q190. It is great to have unit on my desktop with all my I/O . It was a very easy install and plugging and unplugging new devices such as a Printer, Display/Monitor, KB,Mouse, Scanner, Cable Box, $29 Slim Portable DVD, etc is so easy. No Crawling on floor (I'm 78). I upgraded from Windows XP and could have used a better users guide. I don't use Windows 8 touch and the ICON Screen is harder to navigate than XP."
Review 12 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewer
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Update to 1/23/13 review

Date:March 6, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Build Quality, beep beep sound
"So i have had the Q190 for over a month, I still like it and the performance is very good. After some use the 9502 keyboard is not as great as I thought...sometimes doesn't connect and not so easy to hold, type on, or navigate with (you can download a mouse and keyboard on Android/iPhone that works well). One more minor annoyance...I work and read in complete silence usually and the Q190 is in the same room with me...there is a discernible "beep beep beep..." when the Q190 is in standby mode...would be nice if this noise were eliminated (simple fix is to power it all the way off)."
Review 13 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shuzon
Owned Product:Just got it

Q190

Date:January 29, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Included Software
"Seems like there are limited models due to this being early in the launch (launched mid-Jan, only a few weeks ago). Would like to see the i3 Version (dissappeared off web site - looks like they got too many orders) + Blue Ray + TV Tuner + Windows Pro (for Media Center functionality) = ultimate HTPC set-up. Their advertising says all of these options are available, but there's no ability to configure that system on their web site. Sales support said that you can only purchase their pre-configured set-ups, which don't have all the right options to make the ultimate HTPC config. Hopefully they will add this soon to line up with their advertising. I will wait to order until then. This looks like a really cool system."
Review 14 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pragmatist
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Q190 - Good HTPC Choice

Date:January 23, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Included Software, Build Quality
"Drill one hole in metal bracket to M8 size to mount HTPC to back of 55" LED TV. Windows 8 is a good choice, looks great on big screen, easy to navigate. i3 processor is very fast, streams Hulu, Amazon videos no problem. N5902 keyboard works great, many functions done with one hand, wish was rechargeable. Wish it had a HDTV tuner option and included Win8 Pro + Media Center. Case is "plasticky", need to get rid of silver and shiny black and go matte/textured, also don't like the piggy back DVD...should be integrated (all of this not a big deal if mounted on back of TV). Overall a very good package with a lot included. Will probably get another one for the bedroom."
Review 15 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tester
Owned Product:Just got it

Really? - No Blu ray player

Date:January 7, 2013
Cons: no blu ray drive
"Hard to believe that it does not come with a Blu ray player. Given that they are advertising this as something to connect to the tv."
Review 16 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
investors
Location:New York
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

highperformance without bluetooth

Date:December 10, 2012
Pros: Weight, Wireless card, Build Quality, Processor
Cons: Bluetooth
This customer did not provide a text review.
Review 17 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Derek
Location:SpringField Oregon
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:1 GB

Take Windows 8 OFF and offer it for cheaper

Date:December 3, 2012
Pros: Video card, Wireless card, Display performance, Display resolution, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Warranty, Security Features, Included Software, fan
"I cannot see how windows 8 is a good buy these days please take that off and save the cost to the consumer.
Also is the fan replaceable I think not!"
Review 18 for IdeaCentre Q190 New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
gmasters
Location:Baltimore
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Memory:2 GB

like the q series, seems high $ for celeron

Date:November 20, 2012
Pros: Wireless card, Build Quality, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"I have 1 Q170 and 7 q180 attom based units on backs of TVs- very nice, but of course Attom processors are a bit laggy-
Looking forward to getting a q190 to test, but 1st ones out are only Celeron processors and higher cost?????
will wait to get one until an i3 version is affordable ..hopefully that is going to happen soon, but maybe not."