Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaCentre B520

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaCentre B520

Average customer rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 12(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaCentre B520
Review 1 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jack
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Simply doesn't work.

Date:September 8, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Storage, Warranty, Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Bluetooth, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Durability
"The first problem I had was as soon at the warranty ran out the computer got a stuck key and not on the actual key board a "internally stuck key" which means half of the keyboard doesn't work and the control key was constantly stuck down. I solved this by having and using an external keyboard and hit shirt control and caps lock until it starts working every time i use the laptop. Now my speakers just stopped working just no sound nothing and when I try using Skype it says "problem with playback device""
Review 2 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Klevin
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great for W7, think twice to upgrade W8 by urself

Date:April 30, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Support, Bluetooth, Weight, Included Software, Software compatibility
"This "small" things has it all, if you want to setup working station as well as entertainment set at corner of your home using W7.
option is all yours to consider; however, Lenovo preload programs are not quite compatible with W8, if you are thinking to do so with your W7.
(such as Lenovo Bluetooth software, one recovery key for reload (F2 key))
"
Review 3 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HelpLenovo
Location:Houston, TX
Owned Product:1-6 months

Unfortunately not pleased with Lenovo B520

Date:August 21, 2012
"The machine is not booting up after only five months of use.
Power button turns on, but no reaction from the system itself.
Not good news, unfortunately."
Review 4 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cabot65
Location:Perry,FL
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

My "Lenovo Ideacentre B520"

Date:August 7, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, appearance
Cons: Included Software
"power up,boot and search are awesome(fast).
keyboard is easy to-the-touch and quiet.
speaker sound is pleasing to the ear.
design is attractive.
requires little desk space.
screen clarity almost looks like 3D. very clear and easy on the eyes.
"
Review 5 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dennisA
Location:Arlington, VA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Bluetooth Problems

Date:July 30, 2012
Cons: Bluetooth
"The first problem that I encountered was that after falling into sleep mode the system would not wake up from either keyboard or mouse. I however was able to wake up the system using the Lenova remote device. My second and most exasperating problem is with the bluetooth manager and/or the bluetooth devices themselves. First the mouse crapped out and even though the bluetooth manager was able to recognize the mouse it wouldn't connect. I resorted to a bluetooth mouse that I had from an old computer which connected fine. Then later maybe weeks after my keyboard crapped out. I again resorted to my old computer's keyboard which connected just fine. Now weeks later, that keyboard connection crapped out. I couldn't restore the connection even though the the bluetooth manager recognized the keyboard. I am writing this review using an infrared wireless keyboard and mouse."
Review 6 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bugaboo

Very Good

Date:June 4, 2012
"Arrived in good condition and setting it up was a breeze. This computer is one compact unit and displays high quality video and Blu-Ray movies along with streaming content from Netflix. I haven't tried the cable tv setup yet but i'm looking forward to it. i have just two complaints- One is that every time I turn on the computer the Windows 7 default turns file and print sharing on, so after every start up I unplug my ethernet cord, change file and print sharing to off, then re-plug the ethernet cord. I don't know why it doesn't permanently save the settings or whether it's Windows 7 or Lenovo's fault.
I also think Lenovo should include more info on all the software programs it comes with. But overall I'm happy with my purchase. Great Blu-ray playback."
Review 7 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Scrooge
Location:Minneapolis MN, USA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

B 5 All in One 7745-1HU

Date:December 10, 2011
Pros: Screen size, Display resolution, price - on sale
Cons: Storage, Memory, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, price - on sale too high
"I have had it a week. It took me a while to set up and learn what all the custom Lenovo software is. Like all manufacturers they have to put their own name on it rather than something simple and a description of the function.
After getting all my programs and old computer data loaded, it would not reboot and went into a system lock. I had to refresh, delete, and reload everything again. It works fine now. Must have been a bad MS Windows or Office update that locked it up.
I do not know if it is the computer or my upgrade to Windows 7 and Office 2010... but I really like the new computer for speed and possibilities. I love the 23 inch screen.
I got rid of the Blue Tooth keyboard and mouse and put my old wired ones on it. There was always a few seconds delay in waking up or in the keys I was striking that was annoying.
The hard drive is noisier than I expected. I hope it is not a sign of pending trouble.
The microphone has terrible sound... picks up the hum of the drive when I tried to use it for Skype. I will have to get an external mic and use.
I do like it, but I think I paid too much.... even with the Employee Pricing Thanksgiving special.... when I compare it to a desk top unit and seperate monitor.
I too thought I was getting the USB 3.0 and did not figure that out until I got it. Not a deal killer, but your advertising all shows it in the fancy videos. You have too many differant configurations of the same model being sold."
Review 8 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jack
Location:New York
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

A Very Good Choice for a Desktop

Date:December 6, 2011
Pros: Processor, Support, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals
"This is a very nicely priced all-in-one computer with all of the features you would want on a desktop. The screen is quite impressive, bright and detailed. The processor is fast and I am generally satisfied with the performance. The included 8GB of RAM, and the 1 TB hard disk, seem quite ample for the computing I do. I am enjoying the touchscreen for selected operations although it is a luxury for me as I mainly do business computing. I have found the multimedia capabilities to be fantastic and have cable TV wired in and it is flawless.
The computer is well designed and an energy saver. I am very pleased with its footprint and how modern it looks.
Based I my own preferences, I found the bluetooth keyboard small and not as good as the full size IBM keyboard I have been using, so I replaced it with the IBM keyboard. The bluetooth mouse is ok, but it is also small and has a slight delay waking up. I have replaced it with my Microsoft mouse I was using on my old IBM. I also found the mouse really ran through its batteries. I think most people would find these bluetooth devices fine and I may return to using them someday.
The most serious deficiency is that I thought I was getting USB 3.0 and it did not come with the model I chose (7745-1HU) and it was not apparent in any of the specs on the web which models have it. I found out that the models that do include it are not sold via the Lenovo internet site at this posting (the 7745-2AU;2EU;2FU). Given the lack of slots I can not add this capability. This was a big disappointment and the only flaw in an otherwise top-notch computer.
I certainly am not disappointed in my overall decision -- I am quite pleased with the machine and its capabilities. I do not think that you can not go wrong with the Ideacentre B520."
Review 9 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SonySlave
Location:San Diego, CA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best choice

Date:October 20, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Support, intructions
"this is the awesomest computer ever own.
have had alot of technical difficulties with my sony vaio pc... and im employed by them i have to say that most vaoi pc's are built at their worst.
i love my new levano b520.
"
Review 10 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pepper
Location:New York
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best All-In-One Computer!

Date:October 2, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"This is probably the best All-In-One PC out there today! I was stuck with HP, and Sony, but I chose the Lenovo B520, because you get more your money. Compare this to HP's All-In-One and Sony's All-In-One and you will see this is 100X better! It's touch screen, it has 2TB hard drive, 8GB of memory, and it has Blu-Ray! I mean what better deal is out there? Only Lenovo has the best deal. You will not regret your purchase. I know this computer is going to last a long time."
Review 11 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ehun
Location:Little Rock, AR
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very versatile computer

Date:August 31, 2011
Pros: Weight, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Included Software, poor usage instructions
"This is an awesome computer. It offers a lot of features that the Lenovo website fails to mention. (Correct RAM module, antennae for tv tuner, and card reader slots). There is some pretty good software included but, the instructions are so poor that some of it is useless. I wish that Lenovo had included more instructions on using the features and games. A lot of time is spent discovering (guessing) how things work. When comparing features with competitors, the B520 measures up extremely well. I am more impressed with the 3D feature than I expected."
Review 12 for IdeaCentre B520
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RishabIndia
Location:India
Owned Product:Just got it

Crazy Indian for B520

Date:July 9, 2011
"Perfectly Awesome All-In-One.... Wish this had Picture-in-picture technology like B320, but this one;s more better than B320....."