Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y400 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y400

A 14" gaming and multimedia powerhouse.

Average customer rating:
4.436 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
1
52 of 62(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y400
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gugusan
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Y400

Date:January 6, 2013
Pros: Processor, Video card
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals
"Pros
-good price to performance ratio.
-Nice speaker
-Cool design
Cons
-AR9485WB-EG wifi poor signal, hard to connect, low transfer rate.
-Keyboard auto type/out of control some times.
Overall it's a really good lappy if Lenovo fix those listed in cons."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hcbr
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Everything is great! Except for the HEAT :(

Date:December 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Durability, heat!!!
"I've had it for about a week now, everything rocks, lightening fast, build quality is top notch, everything feels right. Only gripe I have is heat, this thing gets hot, CPU temps that spike to 92*C when gaming, most of the time it stays in the high 70's but too many of those 90+ spikes is not going to go well for long term reliability, I might look into purchasing the additional fan...."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Topher
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome for Windows, not so for Ubuntu

Date:November 15, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution, hard disk speed, linux compatibility
"Setting up Ubuntu on this laptop is quite a task. 3 months in and I haven't found a way to switch seamlessly. I still go to the boot order to select Windows. Also after every linux-kernel update I have to reinstall NVIDIA."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sneekoh
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

AMAZING

Date:October 31, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Screen size
"so Im a gamer and this a great laptop! good graphics and great performance. amazing for its price and highly reccomend it! Also so much storage!"
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabito
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great!

Date:October 19, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Battery, Weight
"It is the best!... This is a powerful machine. Everything that you need. The only things that i don't like are the battery and the the weight..."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jshahan1906
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Units ability penned in

Date:September 10, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Support, Battery, Screen size, Display performance
"I wrote a review earlier sadly I must update my review. I had great excitement on this unit when I bought it in May 2013. There are major problem with the model. One the screen being smaller is expected, its resolution lower is not. It has a GT750m it can't make use it. Two its selling point was its upgradability for gaming, Lenovo decided it would not support its ability to take on an extra graphics bay they decided not to make the bay at all. Three the Ethernet port failed causing me to return for repair on warranty. Thus if your buying the Y400 or its comparative model understand these limits. I would suggest buying a extra graphics card already bought with the original unit."
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Winson
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

8/10 would buy

Date:August 27, 2013
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight, Durability
"Pros :
- Awesome speakers[very loud and clear sounds]
- Very good computer specs [fast, smooth]
- Good for gaming, studies & work [AutoCad and etc]
- Keyboard with red back-lights are cool and useful
- Very nice carbon-fiber design
- Long lasting battery
Cons :
- Screen feels fragile
- Screen have a max of 130° bending range
- Quite Heavy for a 14" laptop
- Heats up very fast during gaming
"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kelvin
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

internet problems

Date:August 7, 2013
"This laptop has may internet problems. Go ahead to look for other comments on google about the internet problems i can assure u that most of the people have encountered the same problem. i would not recommend people to buy this laptop for gaming due to its internet problems. however, surfing net would be fine despite some frequent wifi disconnections."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loki
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Great laptop save for the touchpad

Date:August 3, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Included Software, touchpad goes cray cray
"Title says it all. Great performance for the price. Love the mobility. Love the light up keys which remind me of the blood of my enemies. My only gripe is that the touchpad is horrible. It even will move and click on it's own when I have it hooked up to the TV via HDMI (closed lid + screen still on), and never happened otherwise. It took me a awhile to figure out I wasn't actually hacked. Disabling the touchpad solves the problem, but otherwise I love this model. Hehe."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jesss
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Nice Notebook, but...

Date:July 24, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Display performance, refrigeration
"It's a nice notebook for its price, it's lightweight, has a pretty fast CPU and a powerful GPU to run the latest games. The battery life is pretty good despite the lack of Optimus. The sound it's good for such small speakers.
However, i found some cons...
The Thermal performance is TERRIBLE, specially on CPU. It can easily reach a peak of 98ºc on at least one of the cores while gaming or rendering media.
Screen angles are poor. Colors can get inverted if screen is moved vertically. Horizontally, the things aren't better.
Touchpad: My computer came with Synaptics, but there's an issue: The driver sometimes acts up...the most basic gesture, "Scrolling" sometimes stops working.
Build Quality: The machine itself is a fingerprint magnet, specially inside and under it.
"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
joehomie31
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:2 GB

Great Value!!!!!!!!

Date:July 18, 2013
"This is my first "Gaming Laptop", but wow is it amazing. This does everything it claims to do and more! This is the laptop to buy if you cant afford a laptop over $1000.I only have 2 complaints. The back of the plastic sometimes does a clicking/popping off sound. It's not a big enough problem to make it seem cheap. Still looks and feels like a $1000+ laptop. Finally, the touch pad is horrible. It feels like you are trying to use a mac touch pad on the windows 8 software. Make sure you buy a mouse. If you can game without using the touch pad, then this is a must buy! I'd recommend this laptop to all of my friends if there were different colors of it."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
StereotypicalName
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Vale for Price!

Date:July 13, 2013
Pros: Processor, Included software, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, reliability
"This is a great computer for the price and works extremely well for all of my gaming needs. The graphics card is very powerful for a laptop. Some people complain about the frame rate dropping drastically when the system is unplugged and though it can be annoying at times, the computer was built to be a desktop replacement. Really my biggest complaint about this computer is it's reliability. Usually it's fast to boot up and fast to run games, but some days it just gets lazy and gets nothing done. I personally blame it on the flaws in Windows 8, but I can't be sure what is causing the problem. But besides the reliability problem every so often, I love this computer to death. I highly recommend it!"
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grant
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent

Date:June 5, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Build Quality, ultrabay
Cons: Display resolution, Battery
"Everything is excellent. The size is perfect for on-the-go gaming and the Ultrabay upgrades make this laptop future proof. I am able to play all current generation games on Ultra settings! The only wish I have is they gave a higher resolution screen. 1366 x 768 is no good. Should at least be 1600 x 900 without needing to buy the Y410. Luckily the graphics card supports 1920 x 1080 HDMI output so gaming on my HDTV is amazing as well! Battery is decent (about 4 hours worth browsing the Internet).
I would recommend getting the Ultrabay graphics card for dual-SLI graphics power."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cliff
Owned Product:Less than a week

Best Laptop I ever had

Date:June 4, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
"I got my Lenovo Y400, last week.
Didn't like the Windows 8, so installed Linux Mint, and Windows 7 64bit Ultimate. The laptop is really powerful, everything works very well.
The Battery lasts 7:00 hours in Mint and around 5:00 hours in Windows 7.
The touchpad is working great, didn't find any problems as were reported.
I don't find it much heavy, so not a problem.
NVIDIA graphics card is awesome.
GRID 2 runs smoothly even on full graphics.
The body built looks tough.
Everything is great about the laptop
Really love the dust fan.
Wifi is great, doesn't break as was reviewed in older models.
Converted a .mkv movie with StaxRip and the processor meter shoot up to 100% but the system's temperature remained 45 degrees.
"
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LlMmNnOoPp
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

First Impressions at 3 weeks old

Date:June 2, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, well-ventilated, easy accessibility to ultrabay, jbl speakers
Cons: Storage, Display resolution, Battery, Included Software, Durability, flimsy screen and back of keyboard
"It has a super fast I7 processor, but needs a SSD to maximize performance. 8 GB memory is included (up to 16 GB total). Windows 8 is pretty easy to use. I am finding a lot of the changes to be useful and logical, even without touch-screen. The ultrabay is awesome, and the laptop is ventilated quite well. I wish the display was 1600 x 900. Also, it is glossy, which leads to considerable glare. The case around the screen is too thin and flimsy. There is also flex in the case toward the back of the keyboard near the screen, enough to make "creaking" noises when pushed upon. The JBL speakers produce full, rich sound. I like the touchpad. The palm rest is very firm. Y400 runs new games on ultra without breaking a sweat. Battery life is garbage."
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alex
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great for low intensity gaming

Date:May 22, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Battery, Build Quality, Durability
"Great value.
Things I don't like:
The plastic around the screen feels cheap. Cracky sound when you put pressure on it.
Windows 8 isn't amazing but definitly is NOT a deal breaker considering this is 2013.
Things I like:
Great performance for great preat price. Can easily play low intensity games like minecraft maxed out at 120 fps.
Great Keyboard.
Good Speakers.
Considering the specs another machine equal to this would cost in the thousand.
Don't fret about the screen resolution. It looks great, almost looks like it's 1080p. 14 inches is also plenty for mobile gaming.
Also Keyboard isn't broken. If you slide your finger to the very edge of the track pad the mouse will continue to move slowly so you do not need to pick up your finger and swipe again."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ryan
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best 14-inch Gaming laptop

Date:May 21, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Weight, Included Software, Display performance
"This is My review for the Lenovo y400 Laptop.
1.Excellent processing power
2.Reasonable weight for its class
3.Excellent Price
4.Backlit Keyboard
5. Ram and V-ram
6.Subtle carbon fiber cover
cons
1.Low screen res
2.Lack of SSD option
Games
1. DayZ, It runs quite well on medium with antialiasing and pp turned low or off. I can even bump main graphics up to High and still get about 40 FPS If you want to run DayZ SSD is probably a must
2.TF2, Runs on full high at great FPS
3.WoW on Ultra no problem
4.Arma 2 at 50 FPS
5.Minecraft over 100 FPS
Recommendations and tips
1.Buy an SSD
Conclusion-Lenovo y400 is an excellent laptop for those looking for a truly portable gaming laptop. The only 2 flaws are its relatively low screen resolution and lack of an SSD. (the SSD can be easily fixed.)
"
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Angel
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

good laptop but low reliability

Date:May 20, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Video card, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals
"I have bought this laptop about 3 weeks ago. I am very satisfied with the performance as it is a fast computer. I also play any game ( like hitman absolution) on high setting without issue. My biggest issue with this computer is the mouse. I would never see the issue if i did not have to play a game with the keyboard. I saw that i couldnot play with the keyboard and use the mouse at the same time. At first, i thought it was an Hardware issue. So, i sent the first computer for a replacement. But when the replacement came, it had the same issue. Therefore, lenovo marketed a gaming computer which needs a controller to play games. If you think that you are going to play games which require a keyboard and mouse, this computer is not for you. Do not do the same mistake as i did."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mana
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Fits my my gaming needs but...

Date:May 19, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Video card
Cons: Storage, Video card, Display resolution, Wireless card, Support, Battery, Weight, Included Software, Screen size
"Graphic card is very powerful, I am really impressed. Sound is good, I like it. One has the option going SLI, which is awesome! Build quality is decent. Keyboard is not too bad.
Touchpad is only average. Screen has a huge bezel and low resolution. Heavy and bulky.
No Nvidia Optimus! A total waste! Consequence, awful battery life.
No way to make recovery DVDs with the current software. It's outrageous having to call support for a feature that has been standard for years.
The screen has been advertised as Matte/Anti-Glare (AG) but is actually glossy... False information is inadmissible.
Bottom line, it's a perfect laptop for a gaming and multimedia as long as you don't need to travel with it often or need battery life."
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gretness
Owned Product:1-6 months

Get ready

Date:May 19, 2013
"Best gaming laptop out there"