Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Z380 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Z380

Colorfully designed, affordable, 13.3" multimedia laptop.

Average customer rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 of 9(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Z380
Review 1 for IdeaPad Z380
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tnaik01
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Horrible Operating System

Date:March 11, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Durability, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance, color
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Software compatibility
"This is the worst laptop to own for an engineer. Loading programs such as Excel/Word take extremely long. Every time that I close the laptop and re-open it, it takes a good 2 minutes to reload the system. Wireless is horrid because you never can auto connect to a known network.
The system itself is slow to boot and the battery life lasts about 2 hours after a full charge. The worst is the touch pad which is glitchy 90% of the time I am right clicking or trying to scroll to a tab. It also will automatically send an email or open a link you do not want opened even though the cursor is far from the link. I wrote a review previously but Lenovo refused to publish it. Hopefully people who really are looking for a engineering laptop I would suggest otherwise!"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Z380
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
abellanger
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Extremely dissapointed

Date:March 8, 2013
Cons: Warranty, Support, Included Software, Build Quality, Durability
"I now understand why Lenovo charges a restocking fee, whereas most manufacturers don't. Do not assume that as the manufacturer of the revered Thinkpad, that the quality of their machines is top notch. The build quality of this machine is the worst I've seen and will never buy a Lenovo again. Think I'm wrong or just disgruntled? Google "Lenovo complaint".
To make things worse their warranty, customer service, and repair center are poor as well. The built in "features" such as the One-Touch restore are cumbersome and poorly executed. Despite their efforts at boot optimization, the boot time of this laptop is slower than my first gen i3, despite having a third gen i5."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad Z380
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jjeems
Owned Product:Less than a month

worst operating systerm ever EVER

Date:January 7, 2013
Cons: windows 8
"very dissatisfied with purchase"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Z380
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CollegeStudent
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

College Laptop

Date:February 3, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software
"Pros: - Has multiple "modes" you can use. For example, if you're watching a movie, you turn on the multimedia mode and the speakers have a fuller sound and the resolution gets clearer - The battery life is amazing! - It's light enough to carry everywhere. - I really like SugarSync that it came with. It's like Dropbox but WAY more organized. - The rest of the pros, to me, are just pros of any newer laptop.
Cons: - Loud keyboard - Trackpad gets a little sticky (literally, not that the mouse movement is sticky) when your hands aren't 100% perfectly clean and dry. Maybe it's the material? - In Chrome, Shift+Ctrl+T doesn't work to reopen the last closed tab because there's some sort of Lenovo software that's installed with that shortcut.
Overall, pros far outweigh the cons.
"
Review 5 for IdeaPad Z380
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace
Owned Product:Just got it
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Satisfying!

Date:January 16, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Included Software
"My brother ordered this laptop (white one) for me. Lenovo mailed him that the shipping had been delayed (30 days?) but actually shipped it in two weeks. After that, it only took 2-3 days to be delivered.
Design was much better than I expected. There are some patterns on the cover, but normally you can't see it very well, which I think better. It is also portable enough for me.
The keyboard, I love it so much, love the touchpad, too, though I wish the buttons were at the top. I like the feeling when I click the buttons on the touchpad.
I really really love this laptop, and I love Lenovo. :)
"
Review 6 for IdeaPad Z380
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobbie
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Why I bought Lenovo Z 380

Date:January 14, 2013
Pros: Battery, Processor, Memory, Build Quality, webcam, dvd, sound systems
Cons: design
"I am a college student. After extensive search I found Z 380 very handy. The DVD player is a plus. The uninterrupted webcam is a plus, for its speed. I love the speed, the hotkeys, the keyboard ( won't get stuck in).
Windows 8 keeps me motivated-something to learn...everyday.
This unit is aluminum ( metal) and looks great - easy to clean too.
This is really a gift and a surprise - more than what it says.
Thank you Lenovo.
"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Z380
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
authorsmachine
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Z380 - just what the author needed!

Date:December 27, 2012
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Weight
"After extensive research, I chose the Z380 because it was compact and also had a DVD drive. The sound is amazing. I wanted a laptop for heavy wordprocessing, but one that also had all the added features and bling my teenagers would like too. The keyboard is very comfortable and for me, that was huge. The weight is more than I'd have liked, but it's absolutely fine given given the compact size and added DVD. The processor i5 is very fast and turns on quickly. Love that. The battery life is great and I love the pink color. There is no touch screen option that would have optimized the windows 8 experience, but with the wireless mouse, honestly there's no difference. Already writing my next book!"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Z380
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CUGirl
Location:Boulder, CO
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Laptop!

Date:September 14, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Warranty, Battery, Included Software
"I bought this laptop in white about 3 months ago and I really like it! It is similar to a Macbook in terms of size and design; it has a trendy design that would be good for college. I like the 13" size because it is very portable. It has better tech specs than other comparable laptops from other companies for a lower price. The battery life has declined a bit, but it will still last me through an entire day of classes. The USB 3.0 ports are great; it barely took me any time to transfer a ton of music from my old laptop. I usually try to avoid white electronics and things because they get smudged and show wear pretty fast, but I haven't had a problem at all with this laptop yet! It still looks completely brand new. The webcam is pretty decent and so are the speakers. The screen has different settings for normal use and media use which come in handy. I'm not too crazy about the touchpad; it started off being overly sensitive and now it is just touchy and jumps around a lot. My right-click button sticks all the time too, although it is probably just a flaw on my laptop and not all of them. I also would have liked for the keyboard to be backlit and a little quieter. The laptop runs well with many programs open. It also shuts down and restarts pretty quickly. It is definitely well worth the price though!"
Review 9 for IdeaPad Z380
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
collegestudent
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good College Laptop

Date:August 26, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Storage, keyboard, modes of use (video smart mode etc.)
Cons: Included Software
"I purchase this laptop as a replacement for my water-damaged college laptop. It reminds me a lot of the build of a Macbook. The laptop itself seems incredibly sturdy. I haven't dropped it, but it feels like it could survive a small bump. The keyboard is amazing. It types really loud, so if you're the type that doesn't like to bother people, I'd consider that. But it's a very comfortable keyboard with curved, soft-to-touch keys. The trackpad is a lot like a Macbook's as well, which I don't like, but many others will. Two finger click gives you a right click and you can scroll and rotate just like any other laptop.
I've only had this baby for about a month, so I don't know much about its durability or long-term reliability. There are certain things about it that I am a little unsatisfied with. The Lenovo power manager is a cool tool - you can choose options to protect your battery when it charges. However, my previous laptop - a Dell - had an option to simply use the laptop on A/C instead of the battery. That way, your battery shuts off, and you can use the laptop plugged in as long as you like without worrying about decreasing your overall battery life.
Also, the Lenovo recovery thing (there's some special button next to the power button) is a little odd. They split your hard drive into two sections, but I don't know why. I found it weird that one of the quick keys is that recovery menu when, hopefully, you'll only have to use it once.
Also, for a laptop that screams "college student," I was surprised that you had to use the function key to access the multimedia buttons. I do like the option to turn off your display, but it'd be nice if the default could be the multimedia keys. In the Windows Mobility Center (Windows Key + X), you can usually find an option to lock the multimedia keys or turn them into function keys, but that isn't available on this laptop.
I love the aluminum-esque finish of the area around the trackpad. It doesn't smudge or get sweaty when I've been using the laptop for awhile.
Overall, I'd recommend this laptop to anyone. There are some features that bother me a smidge and some that I think are missing, but to any average user, this laptop would be great!"