Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad N580/N585

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaPad N580/N585

Average customer rating:
3.211 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
11 of 19(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad N580/N585
Review 1 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Matt

Worst computer purchase ever

Date:June 8, 2014
"I only purchased my Lenovo N585 because my wife would not stop imploring me to do so because I received more memory than the HP I was considering at a comparable price. She said they used them exclusively at her place of business...hers crashed a few weeks after I purchased and started hating mine. Her coporate IT support person advised of Lenovo's unreliability. I personally am now updating my audio drivers for no less than the 5th time in less than 5 months of ownership. My battery has failed to charge at least once. I shouldn't have to hope my laptop will work as promised within the first few months of product life."
Review 2 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yoli

Great Laptop!

Date:June 8, 2014
"It is a great laptop, it is fast. It takes a little getting used to the touchy pad and the icon bouncing all over the place, but that is minor compared to what you get. I got a great price and this is even more wonderful! I am so glad I went to Micro Center when I did."
Review 3 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Swiss

Good value for price

Date:June 4, 2014
"Since I purchased Lenovo n585 it's been working fine if your going to use for everyday internet activities it works well for gaming you might want to get something with i5 or i7 processor and better dedicated video card especially for high end games."
Review 4 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jreg1960

very nice pad

Date:June 2, 2014
"I like this computer. it does what i want it to do."
Review 5 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apple

Good Purchase

Date:May 28, 2014
"It was easy to use and light weight. However, the more I used it the faster the battery drained"
Review 6 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ajw64

Don't buy it

Date:May 28, 2014
"The audio regularly stops working, I'll have to save my work, close all windows, restart and the audio will be working again.
The laptop will slow down - reboot.
Streaming video is the worst I've ever seen, choppy video, stalls, buffering. I can watch the same video with smooth results on an HP laptop that is sitting right next to it, so it's not the connection.
Don't plan on doing a lot of surfing with multiple windows open, it's too much for this little machine to handle. Shockwave crashes daily.
It cannot handle intense graphics like an animated GIF.
The mouse pad is poorly located or overly sensitive. I've added a keyboard and wireless mouse. The shift key is poorly located, or I just never got used to using that tiny shift key."
Review 7 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
crow

say what

Date:May 24, 2014
"it is well worth the money I use mostly for dj ing I would buy another when this one breaks"
Review 8 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JoeBama

Slow Start

Date:May 14, 2014
"I am off to a slow start with my new IdeaPad N580. It came with Windows 8 which i have never used. Also it forced me to register a Microsoft Office account, which i have not been able to complete after four days of trying."
Review 9 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Justinkn
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Piece of junk!

Date:December 25, 2013
Pros: the fact that it actually starts
Cons: Video card, Memory, Battery, Processor, Display performance
"Anyone looking to buy this laptop, DONT!. This laptop is bad for every use of a laptop. For example you may want to use it for surfing the web, Well yes if you like waiting 30 seconds to a minutes for a single webpage to load. Watching movies is like 15 FPS and don't even try to run any PC game developed after the year of 2005. i've seen laptops running Pentium 1 running faster then this piece of junk. And the battery lasts like 2 hours out of the box so dont even think of leaving the house with it. There is honestly nothing good to say about this laptop a strongly recommend that people refrain from buying this laptop. (or even receiving it for free)"
Review 10 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vpeev
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

The most terrible laptop in the world

Date:December 14, 2013
"never never buy this trash, because pentium 1 worked - better."
Review 11 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VideoGamerGirl
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Memory:2 GB

Not Recommended

Date:November 16, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Storage, Video card, Display resolution, Warranty, Wireless card, Memory, Support, Security Features, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Display performance
"I got this laptop for Christmas, and i play video games quite a lot. I know tons about computers and since the day i got this computer it has been getting slower and slower then before. If you plan on playing video games think again! there is no playing video game on this computer it is just ay way to slow its so frustrating it takes several minutes just to open a simple page. I absolutely hate this computer you can't do anything with it. There also is no watching videos on this computer either, it freezes gets fuzzy and starts to buffer! And i'm not talking about videos online i'm meaning videos you made with the computer or videos loaded and saved to your computer. The camera on this thing is horrible especially since this computer is using windows 8"
Review 12 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tetonsio
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

NICE BUT SSSSSLLLLLLOOOOOWWWWW.....

Date:October 5, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Support, Wireless card, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Video card, Memory, Processor, Display performance
"I got this laptop to move my Coreldraw designs when visiting clients, but.... is very slow. Takes like 3 minutes to open Corel and video stops at full screen, you can´t even watch a movie. If you upgrade the video driver you will loose the brightness control. Consider to spend $ 200 more and get yourself a decent processor, AMD is producing trash at this level, an old Pentium 1 is faster and besides pretends to work on Windows 8, no way."
Review 13 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jordan24241
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

the ideapad n585

Date:October 3, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Software compatibility, Processor, Display performance
"The Lenovo n585 was not exactly the laptop I was looking for. Im a pc gamer and want the most out of my pc. Although I cant say Im disappointed with this product. It held up on casual gaming and kept things simple. In all this laptop is fantastic at doing what it was made for."
Review 14 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nico
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Overall Okay

Date:October 2, 2013
Pros: Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Battery, Weight, Included Software, Processor, Durability
"The features of this computer are really nice. I personally like the speed of it (online). For gaming, it's not good at all The only down side is that the internal memory is decreased due to all the stuff pre-installed. However, the computer is really fragile. Just by opening and closing it, the whole bottom part shattered on the inside."
Review 15 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sim678302
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Excellent purchase

Date:August 15, 2013
"Great purchase, this laptop is excellent in my onion. It's not too large, its perfect for writing essays or just relaxing; listening to music or playing games. THe laptop is very durable, my dog knocked it over once, and it still works perfectly. I had purchases laptops for hp, for a long time and after seeing those laptops die out easily in no time i decided to give lenova a try and its a great laptop. I would recommend this."
Review 16 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luposian
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

A very nice laptop, indeed!

Date:May 16, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"With the few minor issues I have with it, it is overall a great laptop.
The worst offender is the trackpad causes me to make mistakes (I accidentally touch it in some way) that cause something to happen or disappear I was not expecting. When I deactivate it, the next time I wake up the computer, the trackpad is active again!
The other offender is the lack of a drive light. I like to know when the computer is accessing the hard drive. I've researched software solutions and they're not ideal.
Nothing else beyond that, other than learning how to get around in Windows 8. But I use Desktop mode 90% of the time anyways."
Review 17 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lenny
Owned Product:Less than a week
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo N580 and Linux Compatibility (Fedora 17)

Date:April 21, 2013
"I am writing mainly to comment on compatibility with Linux (Fedora 17). I'll add a few non-Linux comments first.
So far this computer has proved to be a good deal for the money. Note that there is no Bluetooth hardware on the N580, no CAPS Lock light, and no NUM LOCK light. The computer runs cooler than my MacBook Pro. I like the screen and keyboard and think this is a good deal for the money.
This site prevents long review text but... Fedora 17 installed and ran OK, an upgrade failed on the Lenovo and 2 Macs, so it was probably a Fedora thing."
Review 18 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Frank
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

Poor processing power

Date:April 21, 2013
Pros: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Wireless card, Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor
"yes, this has a good screen, good design and battery life, but thats just about it. I love to play games, and if you are looking to game, its processor is so under tab that you will be cursing out this laptop day and night. It will randomly drop frames and can not support anything with a lot or even a few moving parts. I would not recommend this computer to anyone, even for a small price of $200.00."
Review 19 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lolo
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core

I'm so glad I didn't get a Chromebook

Date:March 15, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight
"I have the n580 and it's one of the best laptops i've ever owned. It's super fast, smart, and easy to use. Everything loads fast and the shut down speed?! makes me excited every single time; it literally takes 6 seconds (i've counted before). And it was super affordable, windows 8 is great although i do agree with some people that it is better off as a touch screen base only.Also, it is a bit heavy. However it's still very nice looking and organized. I love my Lenovo."