Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad N580/N585

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaPad N580/N585

Average customer rating:
3.357 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
17 of 28(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad N580/N585
Review 1 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Buy something else...Trust me...

Date:October 4, 2014
" This by far is the saddest computer I have ever bought or used. I have pc's that are 15 years old that run better. I bought 2 because I assumed at this day in age of technology, even a cheap pc will be sufficient. Wrong...Boy was I wrong. Both laptops are the exact same...slow, quirky, etc.... It would be best used as a giant paper weight. Don't use the mouse pad because just the presence of your palm will cause the mouse to jump and you are all of a sudden typing in a different part of your message. All the time this happens. I have to use an external mouse.
DON'T BUY THIS LAPTOP. I read some of the reviews of people loving this pc, mentioning things like "fast, reliable etc...). What???? Either they have never owned a good pc or they're working for Lenovo.
Spend you money on something else. Anything else. "
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing for its price

Date:April 1, 2015
" I bought my IdeaPad N580 for around $300 on Best Buy and have been using it for over 2 years. It works beautifully! I would have expected much less for a computer this cheap, but I can work comfortably with no lag and no crashes. I can even play games smoothly, without the need to close other apps... it boots up in roughly 10 seconds... It's a real shame this model is not sold anymore, because it's the best $300 computer I've ever seen. "
Review 3 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

The Best all round laptop available.

Date:January 20, 2015
" I have been a loyal HP computer user for many years; but after receiving the Lenovo IdeaPad N585 as a gift; I would never go back to HP.
This computer is fast and more than capable of handling all of my Writing assignment, Photography projects and Game Playing desires.
The "off the shelf" memory is more than enough to handle anything one needs to do or archive.
The battery last a long time and for a laptop battery performance is one of the most important features and this Laptop will not let you down.
This Computer has excellent sound quality and the display is clear and color accurate.
The keyboard is easy and comfortable to use and the keys are quiet.
This is a well built, well preforming laptop. It is a tad heavy compared to newer laptops but the performance, style and dependability make this the best all round laptop out there.
Lenovo has won me over and my next laptop, desktop or convertible will definitely be a Lenovo. "
Review 4 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

great buy

Date:January 20, 2015
" you might wonder why i gave 5 stars in all categories. the reason is that for the price this is a tremendous value. i have had one problem with the keyboard, called tech line and received good solid answers and returned it under warranty for the proper repair. And to my surprise it was returned to me 3 days earlier than estimated. i have had the laptop for a year now and have had no problems with it , i run windows 8.1 and use Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop at the same time for hours at a time with no hang ups... "
Review 5 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Do not buy the Lenovo Idea Pad N 580 Computer

Date:December 23, 2014
" Having used many desktop and laptop computers this has to be the worse. My parents bought it from Best Buy and it is definitely a rip off. It also has Windows 8 OS which I'm not very impressed with either. The touch pad, set at the lowest sensitive setting, is so sensitive that any contact will bring unwanted operations. The keyboard is very inferior even compared to my HP Pavilion zv5000. I am very disappointed with its manufacturer in selling this piece of junk to the public. "
Review 6 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great labtop after 2 yrs

Date:December 20, 2014
" Very very good buy. I have this labtop for 2 years now and it's still running fine. I even use it 8hrs a day almost everyday. No repairs/issues/replacements so far. This is an awesome labtop and considering I got it for $300, it's great value. "
Review 7 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

been using for 12 months now

Date:December 9, 2014
" i have no real complaints about this laptop (N580), i have used it for a year now and the only real problem was that the keyboard acted up, the shift keys became inoperable. however a phone call to Lenovo, and they sent a prepaid shipping label and repaired and returned the laptop to me in less than 7 days (i know WOW)... i do alot with this laptop ..i run Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator all day with no hang ups, and not much lag to speak of. i also use it for a media center, (torrent downloader-movie player, linked to my flat screen). so i know that not all of the units produced will run the same however i have had an extremely good experience with this laptop and would highly recommend it based on MY experience. and the price was awesome, i paid $299.00 a year ago (on sale @ best buy).. "
Review 8 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome laptop for the price!

Date:November 5, 2014
" the only thing i'll say bad about it is that it doesn't have many usb connections. but that's easily solved.
the burner went out once a few months ago....but that was a toshiba so i was expecting that.
it was less than my old laptop and had better function which was odd considering this was a brand new model.
it's a big upgrade from what i had previously and it seemingly only had problems when i was forced to upgrade to windows 8.1
i'm afraid to see what a big ticket item laptop would look like specs wise. it's probably a monster. "
Review 9 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Very SLOW

Date:October 9, 2014
" I have had this computer for at least 2 years and it is SLOW.
Should I increase the RAM or just trade it in for a chromebook? "
Review 10 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Matt

Worst computer purchase ever

Date:June 8, 2014
" I only purchased my Lenovo N585 because my wife would not stop imploring me to do so because I received more memory than the HP I was considering at a comparable price. She said they used them exclusively at her place of business...hers crashed a few weeks after I purchased and started hating mine. Her coporate IT support person advised of Lenovo's unreliability. I personally am now updating my audio drivers for no less than the 5th time in less than 5 months of ownership. My battery has failed to charge at least once. I shouldn't have to hope my laptop will work as promised within the first few months of product life. "
Review 11 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yoli

Great Laptop!

Date:June 8, 2014
" It is a great laptop, it is fast. It takes a little getting used to the touchy pad and the icon bouncing all over the place, but that is minor compared to what you get. I got a great price and this is even more wonderful! I am so glad I went to Micro Center when I did. "
Review 12 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Swiss

Good value for price

Date:June 4, 2014
" Since I purchased Lenovo n585 it's been working fine if your going to use for everyday internet activities it works well for gaming you might want to get something with i5 or i7 processor and better dedicated video card especially for high end games. "
Review 13 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jreg1960

very nice pad

Date:June 2, 2014
" I like this computer. it does what i want it to do. "
Review 14 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apple

Good Purchase

Date:May 28, 2014
" It was easy to use and light weight. However, the more I used it the faster the battery drained "
Review 15 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ajw64

Don't buy it

Date:May 28, 2014
" The audio regularly stops working, I'll have to save my work, close all windows, restart and the audio will be working again.
The laptop will slow down - reboot.
Streaming video is the worst I've ever seen, choppy video, stalls, buffering. I can watch the same video with smooth results on an HP laptop that is sitting right next to it, so it's not the connection.
Don't plan on doing a lot of surfing with multiple windows open, it's too much for this little machine to handle. Shockwave crashes daily.
It cannot handle intense graphics like an animated GIF.
The mouse pad is poorly located or overly sensitive. I've added a keyboard and wireless mouse. The shift key is poorly located, or I just never got used to using that tiny shift key. "
Review 16 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
crow

say what

Date:May 24, 2014
" it is well worth the money I use mostly for dj ing I would buy another when this one breaks "
Review 17 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JoeBama

Slow Start

Date:May 14, 2014
" I am off to a slow start with my new IdeaPad N580. It came with Windows 8 which i have never used. Also it forced me to register a Microsoft Office account, which i have not been able to complete after four days of trying. "
Review 18 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Justinkn
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Piece of junk!

Date:December 25, 2013
Pros: the fact that it actually starts
Cons: Video card, Memory, Battery, Processor, Display performance
" Anyone looking to buy this laptop, DONT!. This laptop is bad for every use of a laptop. For example you may want to use it for surfing the web, Well yes if you like waiting 30 seconds to a minutes for a single webpage to load. Watching movies is like 15 FPS and don't even try to run any PC game developed after the year of 2005. i've seen laptops running Pentium 1 running faster then this piece of junk. And the battery lasts like 2 hours out of the box so dont even think of leaving the house with it. There is honestly nothing good to say about this laptop a strongly recommend that people refrain from buying this laptop. (or even receiving it for free) "
Review 19 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vpeev
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

The most terrible laptop in the world

Date:December 14, 2013
" never never buy this trash, because pentium 1 worked - better. "
Review 20 for IdeaPad N580/N585
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VideoGamerGirl
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Memory:2 GB

Not Recommended

Date:November 16, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Storage, Video card, Display resolution, Warranty, Wireless card, Memory, Support, Security Features, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Display performance
" I got this laptop for Christmas, and i play video games quite a lot. I know tons about computers and since the day i got this computer it has been getting slower and slower then before. If you plan on playing video games think again! there is no playing video game on this computer it is just ay way to slow its so frustrating it takes several minutes just to open a simple page. I absolutely hate this computer you can't do anything with it. There also is no watching videos on this computer either, it freezes gets fuzzy and starts to buffer! And i'm not talking about videos online i'm meaning videos you made with the computer or videos loaded and saved to your computer. The camera on this thing is horrible especially since this computer is using windows 8 "