Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaPad Y500

Average customer rating:
3.964 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
13
83 of 111(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y500
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HappyCustomer
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

EXCELLENT

Date:December 28, 2012
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Video card, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: trackpad
"This laptop is wonderful. The performance is great, the display is great. Games run brilliantly and windows 8 is pretty nice as well. The only cons would be battery life and the trackpad. The trackpad does seem to be somewhat quirky at times, but it takes a little getting used to. Once the controls are figured out the trackpad is wonderful. And if it still bugs you, buy a mouse. These things are DEFINITELY not deal breakers."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mohgdeisat
Owned Product:Less than a month

This is not reliable

Date:January 18, 2013
Cons: touchpad
"The biggest problem with this product (Y500) is its touchpad, after using iit for 30 mins, it started moving and clicking on its own. This happens so frequently in a way that prevents me from concentrating on my work. I have tried updating the drivers, disabled advanced touchpad features but with no luck to get it to work properly. I do not recommend this product at all.
Moreover, it doesn't have multimedia keys although it is a gaming laptop where you need to increase/decrease the volume while in-game. This is another big diisappointment.
The rest of it is okay but nothing impressive."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
depressed
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Deal Breaker

Date:January 8, 2013
Cons: trackpad, doesn't charge the battery
"I wanted a laptop that is versatile, portable, and reliable. The trackpad is sporadic in it's use. Drifts around the screen clicking on things when I'm trying to to get to click on what I want. Also, and this really is upsetting, the battery won't charge. Not sure which component is faulty--charger, connections, or battery. Was really sold on the specs of this machine. I guess you get what you pay for."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kevindorsey
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

bad keyboard/mouse

Date:December 26, 2012
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Battery, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software
"the laptop is fast. the FHD screen is awesome.
The biggest problem with this laptop is the keyboard and mouse. The keyboard types two characters at a time. the mouse is not accurate at all. it should have been more accurate.
No dedicated volume keys. NO KEY TO MUTE. not even with the fn button.
The microphone in port is too small, i cannot put the mic in it.
i have researched so much , i could not find a key that can turn off my bluetooth."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ashbenn
Owned Product:Less than a month

Critical Issues.

Date:December 24, 2012
Pros: Warranty, Video card, Display performance
Cons: track pad
"I loved the laptop until I started having unfixable track pad issues. If you check the forums it seems to be an issue with the machine. The mouse has a mind of it's own, travels all over the screen clicking everything even when it's not being touched. Rendering the laptop completely useless around 80% of the time.
I would avoid this laptop until the issue has been addressed by Lenovo."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FirstTimeLenovo
Location:Atlanta, GA
Owned Product:Just got it
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Skeptical But Happy

Date:December 12, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage
"After seeing the quality of my friend's essential series Lenovo, I was a bit skeptical but was willing to give the Y500 a shot after seeing the build quality of other manufacturers in this price range. The build quality is quite rigid. I do not notice any flex in the keyboard or while closing the lid from the side. The specs are phenomenal for the price. Even with a 5400RPM HDD I'm getting 25 second boot times. Still waiting for mSata drives to drop in price a little more for increased reliability and speed. The full HD screen has great viewing angles and vibrant colors, definite recommend it over the 1366 x 768 screen. I have not noticed any dead pixels on any test performed. My only real complaint would be the use of a piano gloss black bezel around the screen that arrived pre-scratched in 2 places. Albeit they're hairline and only noticeable in certain lights, I would much prefer a matte plastic that won't scratch so easily. I didn't opt for the extended warranty as Discover extends the factory one by a year anyway. I haven't had a chance to transport the laptop yet, but the weight doesn't seem to be that much of an issue. The red backlit keyboard looks great at night. I can't say I have any real complaints. I'm used to $2500+ Dell XPS laptops and I'm just as satisfied at around 1/3 the price. At a final price of $780 after cash back, I feel like it's an excellent deal."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dinnu
Location:Beaverton,OR
Owned Product:Just got it

Excellent laptop for the price

Date:December 11, 2012
Pros: Video card, Display performance, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Weight
"If you want to play decent games and want to carry it around and use it for running high end softwares, go for this laptop without any doubt. I researched a lot on laptops before purchasing Y500. Please question yourself before buying costly dell xps 15 (1600) and less powerful than y500.
Pros:-
1) Great value for money (i7 and 650, 1080p, 8gigs for 819$)
2) Design looks pretty good. Red back lit keyboard chick let is great. wow factor
cons:-
1) should have weighted around 5.2-5.5 lbs
2) prefer 512 GB 7200 rpm rather than 1 TB 5400 RPM hard disk
"
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arnaldo
Location:Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i7

Best Machine Ever

Date:December 8, 2012
Pros: Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, perfection
"Is like driving a brand new BMW and Flying a Boeing 787.
Has the German quality built and outstanding performance of the American B787.
Recommend 100%"
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whatever
Location:Minneapolis
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

A perfect entertainment computer

Date:December 5, 2012
Pros: Video card, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, audio, camera
Cons: Included Software
"A good computer for karaoke and gaming. Good speakers with wonderful music performance. Powerful video card. Good cooling system! Playing starcraft 2 with high quality without over-heating. Good camera with clear images."
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hero

Fantastic Gaming Laptop!

Date:May 29, 2014
"pros: Graphics, Processor, Software, Keyboard, Screen Size/Resolution, Ultrabay, Speakers
cons: Weight, Battery, Mouse pad, Slow Startup, Heavy Charger, Smudges, Webcam/Mic
This is a great laptop for anyone who wants a high-end gaming laptop w/o paying for one. This can rival $2000+ gaming laptops. The graphics are WOW and so fast. The speakers are great, esp w/ bass. The keyboard is comfortable and clean,typing and gaming on it is satisfying. The LEDs make it look rad.
There are a few minor things not so great. The webcam isn't super. The mouse pad is cheap and not very sensitive. Sometimes has slow startups. The battery is not made to last long and it can't play games well when not charging. The charger is a brick and the laptop is heavy. The outside of the laptop shows all smudges
"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy

Best Purchase Ever

Date:May 21, 2014
"I like. It has no problems. The touch pad is fine on fine along with everything else on the laptop.
Very happy.
"
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alphawolf

Y500 Review

Date:April 8, 2014
"This was a great purchase, I got it for gaming and it hasn't failed me for a single game, only downsides were the hard drive (I believe) crapped out after a year and the touchpad wasn't great. Sent it in for repairs which was a bit like pulling teeth, but the machine was great. Love it and would recommend it."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keone
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Gaming Laptop

Date:February 16, 2014
Pros: Memory, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Weight
"This laptop has been great for gaming. It runs all of my games including crysis 3 on 1920x1080 resolution with above average settings. Its even better for everything else. My only complaint is that the battery life isn't the best but for how powerful this thing is it makes sense. Its also a bit bulky if you plan on taking it to class with you. But other than that it's great!"
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dking92
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The best beast of its class in market...

Date:January 8, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight
"Guyz...had dis lappie in june,2013....must say....i m spellbound by itz performance....itz a piece of perfection....except dat i messd it up a lil by keeping avast free antivirus....had to re-install windows 1 time...(i installe quick-heal pro later)....but then even no performance lag....just the kind of dream lappie i wanted....in shorts....for every extreme hard-core gamers out there....this is the best lappie within 70k....thumbs upppppp for lenovo & its mind-blowingly,awsumly amazing products...."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mezo
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

amazing laptop in 2013 & 2014

Date:January 1, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
"this laptop is amazing for gaming and watch films"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nene
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Performance and Graphics Capable

Date:December 19, 2013
Cons: touchpad
"The entry of Lenovo Y500,Core i7 processor with 8GB Ram and 2GB makes up for great performance. The general moulding looks robust for handling. My only reservation is about the mouse pad/touchpad. It does'nt look that solid. If feels too soft and suggy.
On the whole looks great."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnInRI
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great gaming laptop

Date:December 15, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: lack of ultrabay accessories
"I bought two of these for my children, and the Y500 is an astoundingly good gaming machine for the money. The only real disappointment has been the lack of available accessories for the Ultrabay. I had hoped to add a Blu-ray or DVD player but the only accessories are a second graphics card (which came with the laptop) and a second hard drive."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teedotlynn
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Amazingly great performance

Date:December 3, 2013
Pros: Processor, Durability, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Weight
"The Lenovo Y500 is a fantastic laptop, and it's an affordable one for people like me who are on a tight budget.
I wanted a gaming laptop and everything else that was even remotely decent was just too expensive. Now I can run WoW on ultra settings (which I couldn't do on my old laptop).
It's a great laptop for everything else, too, everything runs great on it."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Br4veSirRobin
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Added the 2nd GT750

Date:November 22, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, ultrabay
"So to continue with my previous review I ordered the 2nd GT750 ultrabay card. It didn't Sli right away so I googled it and the firmware needed updated which is available on Lenovo's site. Restarted and NVidia control panel allowed SLi and now this thing just beat my best DESKTOP 3dmark11 benchmark score. Granted it's an old OC'd Q6600 and two GTX 580's in SLi. This is one of the best lappy purchases I have ever made. The ultrabay is a great idea and I hope Lenovo keeps the concept.
Ciao!
"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
incarnate
Owned Product:1-6 months

Never again Lenovo

Date:November 11, 2013
"Had my Lenovo for about 6 months now and I pretty much hate it. There have been so many problems ranging from hardware problems (earphones not being detected) to software issues (random freezing/slow-down, random crashing), I am just so disappointed in Lenovo, I really miss my ASUS. Never again."