Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaPad Y500

Average customer rating:
3.974 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
13
86 of 116(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y500
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HappyCustomer
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

EXCELLENT

Date:December 28, 2012
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Video card, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: trackpad
" This laptop is wonderful. The performance is great, the display is great. Games run brilliantly and windows 8 is pretty nice as well. The only cons would be battery life and the trackpad. The trackpad does seem to be somewhat quirky at times, but it takes a little getting used to. Once the controls are figured out the trackpad is wonderful. And if it still bugs you, buy a mouse. These things are DEFINITELY not deal breakers. "
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mohgdeisat
Owned Product:Less than a month

This is not reliable

Date:January 18, 2013
Cons: touchpad
" The biggest problem with this product (Y500) is its touchpad, after using iit for 30 mins, it started moving and clicking on its own. This happens so frequently in a way that prevents me from concentrating on my work. I have tried updating the drivers, disabled advanced touchpad features but with no luck to get it to work properly. I do not recommend this product at all.
Moreover, it doesn't have multimedia keys although it is a gaming laptop where you need to increase/decrease the volume while in-game. This is another big diisappointment.
The rest of it is okay but nothing impressive. "
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
depressed
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Deal Breaker

Date:January 8, 2013
Cons: trackpad, doesn't charge the battery
" I wanted a laptop that is versatile, portable, and reliable. The trackpad is sporadic in it's use. Drifts around the screen clicking on things when I'm trying to to get to click on what I want. Also, and this really is upsetting, the battery won't charge. Not sure which component is faulty--charger, connections, or battery. Was really sold on the specs of this machine. I guess you get what you pay for. "
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kevindorsey
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

bad keyboard/mouse

Date:December 26, 2012
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Battery, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software
" the laptop is fast. the FHD screen is awesome.
The biggest problem with this laptop is the keyboard and mouse. The keyboard types two characters at a time. the mouse is not accurate at all. it should have been more accurate.
No dedicated volume keys. NO KEY TO MUTE. not even with the fn button.
The microphone in port is too small, i cannot put the mic in it.
i have researched so much , i could not find a key that can turn off my bluetooth. "
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ashbenn
Owned Product:Less than a month

Critical Issues.

Date:December 24, 2012
Pros: Warranty, Video card, Display performance
Cons: track pad
" I loved the laptop until I started having unfixable track pad issues. If you check the forums it seems to be an issue with the machine. The mouse has a mind of it's own, travels all over the screen clicking everything even when it's not being touched. Rendering the laptop completely useless around 80% of the time.
I would avoid this laptop until the issue has been addressed by Lenovo. "
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FirstTimeLenovo
Location:Atlanta, GA
Owned Product:Just got it
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Skeptical But Happy

Date:December 12, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage
" After seeing the quality of my friend's essential series Lenovo, I was a bit skeptical but was willing to give the Y500 a shot after seeing the build quality of other manufacturers in this price range. The build quality is quite rigid. I do not notice any flex in the keyboard or while closing the lid from the side. The specs are phenomenal for the price. Even with a 5400RPM HDD I'm getting 25 second boot times. Still waiting for mSata drives to drop in price a little more for increased reliability and speed. The full HD screen has great viewing angles and vibrant colors, definite recommend it over the 1366 x 768 screen. I have not noticed any dead pixels on any test performed. My only real complaint would be the use of a piano gloss black bezel around the screen that arrived pre-scratched in 2 places. Albeit they're hairline and only noticeable in certain lights, I would much prefer a matte plastic that won't scratch so easily. I didn't opt for the extended warranty as Discover extends the factory one by a year anyway. I haven't had a chance to transport the laptop yet, but the weight doesn't seem to be that much of an issue. The red backlit keyboard looks great at night. I can't say I have any real complaints. I'm used to $2500+ Dell XPS laptops and I'm just as satisfied at around 1/3 the price. At a final price of $780 after cash back, I feel like it's an excellent deal. "
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dinnu
Location:Beaverton,OR
Owned Product:Just got it

Excellent laptop for the price

Date:December 11, 2012
Pros: Video card, Display performance, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Weight
" If you want to play decent games and want to carry it around and use it for running high end softwares, go for this laptop without any doubt. I researched a lot on laptops before purchasing Y500. Please question yourself before buying costly dell xps 15 (1600) and less powerful than y500.
Pros:-
1) Great value for money (i7 and 650, 1080p, 8gigs for 819$)
2) Design looks pretty good. Red back lit keyboard chick let is great. wow factor
cons:-
1) should have weighted around 5.2-5.5 lbs
2) prefer 512 GB 7200 rpm rather than 1 TB 5400 RPM hard disk
"
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arnaldo
Location:Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i7

Best Machine Ever

Date:December 8, 2012
Pros: Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, perfection
" Is like driving a brand new BMW and Flying a Boeing 787.
Has the German quality built and outstanding performance of the American B787.
Recommend 100% "
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whatever
Location:Minneapolis
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

A perfect entertainment computer

Date:December 5, 2012
Pros: Video card, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, audio, camera
Cons: Included Software
" A good computer for karaoke and gaming. Good speakers with wonderful music performance. Powerful video card. Good cooling system! Playing starcraft 2 with high quality without over-heating. Good camera with clear images. "
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

A Mixed Bag

Date:March 20, 2015
" First, NO OS RECOVERY MEDIA AVAILABLE. That is just ridiculous. I paid for a Windows license and i want the option to get the media. Otherwise the computer seems good value but the construction is questionable as are some of the parts choices. I had to return one and the second has had intermittent video problems (wouldn't recognize LCD but would an external monitor). Now it takes 30 minutes to boot up. The nVidia card has worked great and the LCD is bright. I love the keyboard. It has performed well when working, but I think overall it needs more RAM and a faster HDD. The ultrabay is a good idea, but the optical drive is flimsy and not easy to remove. The hybrid drive system seems to add nothing to performance. "
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

PC is pretty great

Date:January 20, 2015
" So far ive used it for a variety of games and its never let me down. However it either doesn't cooperate with wondows 8 or windows 8 is just useless. So get the laptop and windows seven. And you'll be home on your couch for days on end with no complaints! "
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo

Date:December 2, 2014
" Great laptop, quick and reliable just wish it had a dvd drive "
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Slow hard drive; unreliable

Date:November 28, 2014
" I had to send this laptop in twice during the warranty period and now that it's over the bluetooth adapter seems to have broken. The first time the touch pad was broken (the mouse moved wildly), the second time I sent it in was because they either installed half the memory I paid for or one of the modules was bad. Now, there are no bluetooth options on my computer which seems to be because of a bad bluetooth adapter. Also, the 5000RPM hard-drive is very slow. I take it the new models have an SSD, and that should have been included from the beginning because the disk drive in mine is a serious bottleneck. "
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

proud owner

Date:October 4, 2014
" + Full gaming laptop with msata that makes it a incredible hiend machine. Use driver solution for full driver updates ant rool out
- heck the price is a bit out there "
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hero

Fantastic Gaming Laptop!

Date:May 29, 2014
" pros: Graphics, Processor, Software, Keyboard, Screen Size/Resolution, Ultrabay, Speakers
cons: Weight, Battery, Mouse pad, Slow Startup, Heavy Charger, Smudges, Webcam/Mic
This is a great laptop for anyone who wants a high-end gaming laptop w/o paying for one. This can rival $2000+ gaming laptops. The graphics are WOW and so fast. The speakers are great, esp w/ bass. The keyboard is comfortable and clean,typing and gaming on it is satisfying. The LEDs make it look rad.
There are a few minor things not so great. The webcam isn't super. The mouse pad is cheap and not very sensitive. Sometimes has slow startups. The battery is not made to last long and it can't play games well when not charging. The charger is a brick and the laptop is heavy. The outside of the laptop shows all smudges
"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy

Best Purchase Ever

Date:May 21, 2014
" I like. It has no problems. The touch pad is fine on fine along with everything else on the laptop.
Very happy.
"
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alphawolf

Y500 Review

Date:April 8, 2014
" This was a great purchase, I got it for gaming and it hasn't failed me for a single game, only downsides were the hard drive (I believe) crapped out after a year and the touchpad wasn't great. Sent it in for repairs which was a bit like pulling teeth, but the machine was great. Love it and would recommend it. "
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keone
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Gaming Laptop

Date:February 16, 2014
Pros: Memory, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Weight
" This laptop has been great for gaming. It runs all of my games including crysis 3 on 1920x1080 resolution with above average settings. Its even better for everything else. My only complaint is that the battery life isn't the best but for how powerful this thing is it makes sense. Its also a bit bulky if you plan on taking it to class with you. But other than that it's great! "
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dking92
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The best beast of its class in market...

Date:January 8, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight
" Guyz...had dis lappie in june,2013....must say....i m spellbound by itz performance....itz a piece of perfection....except dat i messd it up a lil by keeping avast free antivirus....had to re-install windows 1 time...(i installe quick-heal pro later)....but then even no performance lag....just the kind of dream lappie i wanted....in shorts....for every extreme hard-core gamers out there....this is the best lappie within 70k....thumbs upppppp for lenovo & its mind-blowingly,awsumly amazing products.... "
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mezo
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

amazing laptop in 2013 & 2014

Date:January 1, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
" this laptop is amazing for gaming and watch films "