Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo G555 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G555

15.6" with more room to play Nicely equipped laptop with widescreen & numeric keypad.

Average customer rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 11(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G555
Review 1 for Lenovo G555
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JEPO
Location:uk Manchester.
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home

NEVER AGAIN Would I buy a Lenovo!!

Date:January 13, 2012
"Short review cos I have NOTHING good to say about this useless excuse for a laptop. It continually crahes. But the most annoying habit it has is playing scrable with my writings. it takes it upon itself occasionally to suddenly mix the letters on the page to an unreadable mess.
it has other faults but this one is the most annoying. Next week I'mm going to buy a new machine and dispatch this one to the big black cabinet at the back door marked TRASH.
"
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lenovo G555
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ram2500
Location:Puyallup, WA
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

G555: Like the first Japanese cars-rusts but runs

Date:February 7, 2012
Pros: Processor
Cons: Memory, Build Quality, Durability, Storage, Display resolution, Battery, Included Software
"I liken the G555 to like an old rusty 70's Toyota pickup or one of the first Hondas: It runs and runs and never gives up, but the build quality is terrible and this laptop is showing it. Several keys have fallen off, the screen's hinges are VERY unstable and wobbly, and the base has some serious structural issues--especially around the exhaust vent, where it has become brittle and thus became seriously cracked due to the exhaust heat from the CPU/GPU. The charger runs very hot and the cable that connects from the charger to the laptop has become brittle. Nevertheless, this laptop is faithful 1 year later and hasn't given any technical problems. The price tag makes it comparable to other Lenovo products or even non-Lenovo products that are faster and seem to be somewhat more durable in build quality. Wished I had bought a Lenovo ThinkPad instead."
Review 3 for Lenovo G555
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SamTheMan
Location:Asheville, NC
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:2 GB

Excellent Value, Superb Design

Date:December 1, 2010
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"I selected the Lenovo G555 based on my personal preferences in processors (AMD) and graphics (ATI) which I have had excellect results from on my desktop. I have not been dissapointed. The G555 is fast, the graphics are great, and the overall features make it a pleasure to use!
The enhanced audio was something I did not even think about - but now I would not want to be without it! With the excellent graphic capability the audio adds the "extra" that makes the gaming that I do a real pleasure. I do not do a lot of game play - but when I do I take it seriously and the G555 meets the standard.
I have a Cisco wireless network at my home office and the G555 picked it up with no effort and can deliver the speeds I need anywhere. The unit it replaced had reception only in certain areas of my home and would occasionally drop out. I thought it was the Cisco system - but now I see it was the other laptop - so the G555 is giving me more and I didn't even think about it when shopping for a new unit!
The physical aspects of the G555 are excellent also. The keyboard is comfortable compared to other laptops I have owned and the numeric keyboard is a must for when I am working on business items. The mouse pad and buttons are accurate and I have had none of the skipping that has happened to me before with other brands.
The only drawback that I have noted is for some reason when I am on facebook and chatting for a length of time the G555 wants to overheat. I do not consider this a big problem and it has not happened during any other operations regardless of intensity in graphics or processor use. Considering my delight at all other aspects of this fine unit I have had no other problems and would (and have!) recommend the G555 to anyone that needs excellent service from a well priced laptop!
"
Review 4 for Lenovo G555
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jimhui
Location:Rochester, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home

Definitely a good choice

Date:November 22, 2010
Pros: Processor, Input/Output compatibility, Display resolution, Display performance, Weight, Battery, Included software
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"When I buy a laptop, I look for the computer's specs and how it feels. Consequently, I do a lot of searching around and trying out before I buy any laptop. When i saw the Lenovo G555, I knew my search was done. This laptop, beyond being quick, reliable, and portable, also seemed to just fit me perfectly. Of course, its not perfect; the Spacebar doesn't always register, and some of the other keys are a little bit spotty as well. This may not be a perfect computer, but it is very serviceable and powerful. It also has great battery life and a nice screen. Overall, i am very satisfied with my purchase, to say the least."
Review 5 for Lenovo G555
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CherryWine
Location:Los Angeles
Owned Product:1-6 months

Excellent Laptop for the money

Date:November 21, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Included software, Durability, Build Quality
Cons: Storage
"The build quality is just exceptional on this moderately priced jet-black machine. It looks serious yet beautiful and feels wonderful to the touch. The keyboard is about as perfect and user friendly as I have ever found. The LED backlit screen leaves my other laptops in the dust (even my Dell studio 17..) Just as bright and crisp as I could ever imagine. The specks are impressive even though it only came with a 160 Gig Hard drive everything else is over the top.
One touch full system recovery??? Thank You Lenovo!!! I will never ever loose personal data, installed programs (Microsoft Office, Paperport etc.)or anything else on this machine.
My next Laptop will be another Lenovo..
"
Review 6 for Lenovo G555
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mycauldron
Location:Phoenix AZ
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium

Mouse pad

Date:November 19, 2010
Pros: Wireless card, Screen size, Included software, Build Quality
Cons: Weight, mouse pad
"Everything about this system is great for the price, my only complaint is the mouse pad. This thing is always in the way. I can't type on the computer without my palm touching the pad and jumping me to another part of the screen.
I found a work around, taped a card over the pad and use a external mouse.
William"
Review 7 for Lenovo G555
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JilliG
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD

G555 - Good buy

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Screen size, Weight, Battery, Durability
Cons: Included Software
"This is a good lap top for the price. My only downside was the software did not come with the purchase."
Review 8 for Lenovo G555
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wordartist
Location:Lansing, MI
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Memory:4 GB or more

Enjoyable and Reliable Computer

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery, Included software, Durability, Warranty, Support, Security Features, Build Quality
"I bought this laptop after going through Lenovo's computer quiz, so I was slightly skeptical of what I would get.
I have been incredibly happy with my purchase. It has worked without any problems, and I've had it for about 6-8 months now. I mainly use it for internet access and occasional game playing. I've been able to access all of the functions I need for it. I've downloaded multiple programs that run smoothly, including new internet browsers, movie and entertainment players, and internet messaging services.
I've enjoyed some of the program already install that I've used including the Veriface logon, the Direct Share to transfer programs from my old laptop, and the One Key Recovery.
My only issue is the sound, because the speakers do not get loud enough for some programs. If you are looking for a loud stereo included in your laptop, then this may not be the right pick for you.
"
Review 9 for Lenovo G555
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eastncguy
Location:Aulander, NC
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:3 GB

Surperb Buy!

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Weight, Battery, Build Quality
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Bluetooth
"This laptop is an excellent value for the money. It's built well, with a very sturdy design. I love the fact that it's got a "full" keyboard, meaning it includes the handy number pad. Its a ready to go out-of-box laptop for an excellent price. I do wish it a had a locking function when you close the laptop, but the design of the laptop doesn't allow it to come flying open, so its not a big deal. Only other thing I would really add would be an HDMI output, but for the price, the performance of this laptop out weighs it's minor flaws. Battery life is also excellent! Although you must set your power settings to *energy star* to get the longest battery life. Thanks alot Lenovo, would buy again."
Review 10 for Lenovo G555
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zahoorshah
Location:Columbia, SC
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:3 GB

Good Choice and excellent feature

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Durability, Warranty, Support, Security Features
"I would say price is reasonable, features are great specially the battery life is very good as compare to G530. I have 3 laptops but this one is best."
Review 11 for Lenovo G555
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nikki
Location:Los Angeles, California
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

LENOVO

Date:July 26, 2010
Pros: Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Included software, Warranty, Support
Cons: Battery, mousepad
"I got this laptop for a scholarship so it was free lol :) but i really enjoyed using it. the keypad is nice it has most of wht i need to complete my college coursework and its not too heavyy. My only issue is where the mousepad is set up but you can deal."