Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IX4-300d

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IX4-300d

Average customer rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
6 of 11(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IX4-300d
Review 1 for IX4-300d
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Most Excellent!!

Date:March 17, 2015
" Great box. Setup is quick, went to dinner for the format. I have used home made NAS boxes in the past but no more. started out with 2 drives raid 1 then added 2 more drives later, that automatically set the the array to raid 10. Read, Understand, Before you click apply. We use this at home so it has a lot of different media stored on it. Personal cloud works great! my ix2 has been running for almost 2 years non stop. Enough said. "
Review 2 for IX4-300d
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

VALUE For the Money

Date:February 18, 2015
" I don't know why some reviews are poor. Probably due to incorrect configuration.
Been using two of this small machines with RAID 10 of 4 x 2 TB.
Works flawless using both network shares and iSCSI Storage.
Perfect for SMB with tight budget. "
Review 3 for IX4-300d
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

very good quality/price ratio

Date:February 10, 2015
" I buyed HDD separately (WD Red in RAID 5), because no any trust do Seagate drives. NAS should solve problems, not to be a problem...
Positives:
- stable work (till now), all what should works, works really
- useful options
- simple config
- simple management, concentrated on main options
Negatives:
- noisy fan, similar to PC, NAS can't be used in living room in my opinion
- display and LED's can't be 100% dimmed
- no any information about compatible UPS. I checked one I have and i see that ix4 recognize it (message by email) but in UPS options I see "no UPS"???
- poor passive cooling of main uP
- no any control of data encryption; only internal Lenovo solution (unknown level)
- to simple auto power off controll
- no precision description of every single software option; problems for people not familiar to network technology.
"
Review 4 for IX4-300d
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Needs to be replaced.

Date:February 2, 2015
" I bought this NAS 2 years ago. It was fast and easy to set up, we use it every day as central storage for a half dozen users. About 1 year in to it, a disc drive failed. Lenovo quickly sent a replacement. I'm writing this tonight because another has failed. I'd say its a below average to average product when it comes to features and reliability. If I can't get this replaced, I'll buy a Synology. "
Review 5 for IX4-300d
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worked great...at first

Date:January 29, 2015
" We've had this less than a year and 2 HDDs have failed...this unit uses Seagate Desktop HDDs - garbage drives at best. "
Review 6 for IX4-300d
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

I wish to god I had bought something else

Date:October 5, 2014
" It has never worked well. I'm a systems expert so there's no doubt it was configured right. The drives are sporadic. They show up in Windows Explorer sometimes, on some computers. Not all and not all the time. The system needs constant rebooting. It looks like it was pasted together with freeware from China.
This week it asked for a name and password and wouldn't take any. I reset it and now it won't take a new admin password. Just keeps clearing the page. For $800 + I just can't fathom how they can charge so much for such a poor product.
"
Review 7 for IX4-300d
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect...

Date:September 8, 2014
" Let me first point out that I bought equipment and filled it with enough internal storage to manage my house and media (8 TB). This Lenovo ix4-300d was given to me as a gift to backup my existing setup. As an IT professional whom uses SAN's and NAS's regularly, I was blown away on how easy, fast and reliable this device is. The features and setup are ideal for home. So blown away that I made it my primary media server! "
Review 8 for IX4-300d
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IValmas

Resubmitting a positive review

Date:June 19, 2014
" My first review was a little hasty. Under Device Identification, you are able to join this device to a domain. Granted, it takes a few tries (for some reason joining it to the domain doesn't work at all and then all of a sudden magically works?) Anyway - I have put shares to access by Symantec Backup... and Exec 2012 works very well with. Well priced... only $1k for 12TB... I have RAID 5 happening so 8TB total... very reasonably priced! "
Review 9 for IX4-300d
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DisappointedOwner
Owned Product:1-6 months

Incomplete Software Cripples Hardware

Date:March 25, 2014
Cons: Support, Included Software
" I bought this and 4 4TB drives from the recommended list. My first attempt to configure the drives failed. I bought a hard drive enclosure and reformatted the drives with my Windows laptop.
I was only able to give the NAS permission to write on 2 of the drives. The NAS software would not load. So I unplugged 2 drives, finally able to config it as RAID 1. Then, I could add the other drives and reconfigure it as a RAID 5.
Now I can only transfer about 3.5TB of data onto it. It seems that part of the NAS does not realize that I add the other 2 drives.
The NAS software is incomplete. It is difficult, at best, to fix basic problems. For me the question is whether I want to replace it now, or wait until I really get dependant on it. "
Review 10 for IX4-300d
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MackBolan
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Priced right, works well, highly recommed

Date:February 10, 2014
Pros: Warranty, Support, Software compatibility, Storage
" I'm a Network Admin who easily set this device up in 15 minutes. I've been using it for 9 months to backup data from my VMware 5.1 datastores. Veeam software backs up and restores data quickly and flawlessly to and from a share on my ix4-300d.
I've also created a datastore which is directly recognized by vCenter as a valid datastore to restore and test VM's.
The price and reliability of this device are better than any other NAS.
If I have a complaint it would be support for 10k or 15k drives. I'm not sure if this device support them. "
Review 11 for IX4-300d
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TeraRam
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

So sorry, 48 hours into trying to configure...

Date:January 5, 2014
" The device is the most difficult and least intuitive device I have ever had the misfortune to purchase. I am a level II Technician with over 25 years of experience, I have spent over 48 hours on this device, following each and every, brief and useless, instruction in the manuals with a still non-working NAS. The unit continuously reports that the "State of the pools" prevents any and all use of the device. Upgrading the firmware and or total factory reset has no effect on this error. I am using exact recommended WD drives. "