Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated

Our fastest business ultraportable Latest high-performance CPUs, dynamic VoIP features and optional WWAN and 3G support.

Average customer rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (172 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
56
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
2
158 of 172(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
Review 1 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Edwin
Location:CA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

AMAZING LAP

Date:August 6, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Screen size, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Video card, Battery
"The thinkpad is my first LAP, and I will continue to buy the next thinkpad for my second laptop. Processor is excellent eventhough only generate core i3, it's still satisfied for me."
Review 2 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zata
Location:Scandinavia, Europe
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

The greatest laptop ever!

Date:July 9, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, linux compatible
"Best of the best laptops I've ever worked with! I love it!"
Review 3 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pops
Location:Cleveland, OH
Owned Product:13-18 months

no pen pressure sensitivity in Adobe CS5

Date:July 5, 2012
"Worthless pen with no pen pressure sensitivity in Adobe CS5"
Review 4 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABSH
Location:Hanoi, Vietnam
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home

Thinkpad X201 tablet reaches my satisfaction!

Date:February 20, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Battery
"Every feature and function of my Thinkpad X201 tablet works perfectly and satisfies me. The battery is good, however, if it can last longer everytime used, the product becomes totally perfect."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VAha
Location:NY
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Searched for months

Date:November 25, 2011
Pros: Weight, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"all manufactures seem to sacrifice performance for tiny. This laptop, bought refurbished, is one of the best purchases I have made. This is the sixth in a line of laptops over the last 15years. I do not miss the lack of disc drive, most everything gets downloaded today; or transfer to usb.
I did not get the extended battery and was concerned; needlessly. I have enough power for 4 to 5 hours.
I agree with other reviewiers re the control/function key confusion...still trips me up after 7 months."
Review 6 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scriobh
Location:Vancouver, WA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great but for one item

Date:October 8, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Processor, Memory
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I had a difficult time choosing a notebook style laptop. Due to the size, each manufacturer seemed to think they could move keys around on the keyboard without anyone noticing. As a writer who spends a great deal of time on the computer, I was particular focused on the pgup/pgdn/home keys and wanted something that simulated my other laptop and a standard keyboard. This one, though more expensive, fit the bill. Little did I know they swapped the function and ctrl keys on the left. It makes cut and paste extremely frustrating. Keyboard layout is sacred and should not be messed with.
Other than that, it is the perfect portable laptop and I love the extended battery. It is solidly build without having the cheap plastic feel of some netbooks."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brandonn1231
Location:Los Angeles
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Buy for a Casual User

Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Battery, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Video card
"Pros:
As a college student, being able to bring my laptop to class everyday (that's about a 25-30 minute walk from the dorms to class) without straining myself is a definite plus. The design is simple yet beautiful, without any of that unnecessary "gloss" many other laptops these days have.
The keyboard has to be one of my favorite things about the x201. Typing on it is smooth as butter and it doesn't have as prominent of a "click click click" sound, perfect for typing in the library without disturbing the people around you. The keys are well protruded so that you're able to feel each stroke you make without worrying about pressing two keys at once.
The red "nipple" that is the trademark of the IBM (now Lenovo) laptops is actually more useful than i thought it would be. It beats having to carry around a mouse everywhere i go and doesnt require extra space.
Cons:
Although the x201 is beautiful in the sense that it isn't weighed down by any unneeded "gloss", it does lack in the hardware category.
The lack of a internal cd/dvd drive is slightly inconvenient at times, especially when trying to reformat (I prefer to do a fresh installation, without the bloatware from Lenovo). However, this is only a minor setback as most programs these days can be downloaded online and don't require a cd.
I know this isn't a gaming laptop, but whats the point of pairing an i7 cpu (although its only the dual core model) with an integrated gpu? It's some what disappointing that the x201 periodically spikes when watching 1080p movies. But, once again, not a major setback (especially since if you're looking at this laptop, you're either a business person or a person who just wants to web surf or type notes in class; none of which need a dedicated gpu).
No HDMI or USB 3.0. But once again, probably not needed by those who are looking to buy a Thinkpad.
The pricetag is a bit hefty for a dual core, integrated gpu, laptop. But hey, you're paying a premium for the ultra mobility.
Overall, if you're looking for portability without being bottle-necked by the disappointing cpu's and keyboards found in most netbooks, I'd say this would be one of the top options to go."
Review 8 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChasB
Location:Cincinnatii, Ohio
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Laptop overall

Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Battery, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: usb port placement
"After almost a year, this still knocks the socks off of my brand new corporate laptop. The keyboard is better than any of its competitors. 2 recommendations, buy the extended battery and opt for the SSD hard drive as the boot time with an SSD is fast, real fast. Total time to usability is 23 seconds. Only fraction of a point deduction would be USB port placement as they are too spread out of the left side."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrankS
Location:Milwaukee
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

3rd Lenovo - Another Awesome Purchase!

Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Video card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Memory
"This is the 3rd Lenovo laptop I've purchased and I'm never disappointed. The performance is always top notch and the quality of the hardware is far superior to any other brand."
Review 10 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mikhail
Location:Russia
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Proffesional solution!

Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"Do you respect your time? Do you respect your mood?! Do you respect yourself?!!
If yes - you are ready for ThinkPad 201. This is just a perfect instrument for business. This is a friend who always with you. It is just continuation of you.
It is a compact and light, durable like solid rock. It is professionally ergonomic and unbelievable long life laptop. I bought it for programming. I am programmer. Its i7 processor with two cores builds my project in seconds! Its 2 cores faster than 4 cores on my work server. It has all possible ways to stay you connected on the road – Bluetough, WiFi and WiMax. You choose what you need now. Its 8Gb memory is all what you need to have no doubt’s with disc cashes. It’s 9 cell’s battery is all what you need to have as long as 11 hours of work on the road, even on transatlantic jet! Its perfect full size ThinkPad keyboard and magic TrackPoint is a best combination, you just never take out your hands from keyboard. It is just continuation of you. I have a warranty on 3 more years. I own it for a half of the year but still love it like a 1 day brand new gadget. You don’t believe me? Just look through the internet, could you find ANY bad feedbacks? You could not. Don't believe me try!
But again, it is your live, your choice, I made mine :)
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PortablePower
Location:Philadelphia Area
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Laptop for Spouse

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Storage, Video card, Included Software, Display performance
"Purchased a Lenovo x201 Tablet for myself and the Spouse liked it alot, but didn't need the tablet feature, so we purchased the x201 for her. Both units are well designed, highly capable, portable and a pleasure to use. The cost of the x201 unit is higher than other comparable laptops, but using an online coupon and purchasing during a promotion can lower the cost substantially. Since both units share the same platform, only needed to invest in one dock solution. Highly recommend!!"
Review 12 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jalaska
Location:Fairbanks, AK
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

small but oho!

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
"The Lenovo ThinkPad X201 is a workhorse. It's slim built makes it nice to take anywhere, battery life is even with the standard 6cell battery pretty good so that even on the train ride without an outlet you're good to work on the laptop. Not to mention Lenovo's excellent warranty service! After a broken hard disk there were no questions asked and within 1.5 days I had a new replacement hard disk and a set of startup disks at home.
The keyboard on the X201 is the perfect size for typing, it is still a full sized one for 10 finger typing. The additional light source in the top of the screen makes it easier to type in the dark.
The casing is pretty sturdy, so that it invites you to take it anywhere anytime."
Review 13 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OnTheGo
Location:Southern California
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Good, and I expected even more

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Processor, Memory
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Storage, Included Software
"The x201 has been one of the better laptops i have ever owned, and somehow that has not been enough. I love the weight, size, long power chord, feel of the keypad, liquid tray feature under the keys etc. Overall the start-up and shutdown time running on Windows 7 has remained fairly low, and the better life has remained consistently long. (I did pick up an extended battery) My disappointment has primarily been around the number of memory and other peripheral ports on the device. As well, the wireless on this device performs terribly (worst i have used). It constantly jumps networks even when I lock it to a single network. The signal strength is up and down, usually down, and the the access connection software is dodgy at best. When you combine the wireless issues with minimal access to peripherals there is a communication gap that needs to be addressed. Overall however I do love the device, and will likely end up buying an extra accessory I have to lug around to expand my port options. Likewise, I suppose it is up to me now to know this is not going to get better, and I need to hunt a better performing internal 802.11 wireless card and management software."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yidong
Location:Raleigh, NC
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

small body, huge power

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Screen size, Display resolution
"I have been using the ThinkPad X201 with i7 core almost one year. What impressed me best is the speed of computation when I take it as working machine everyday. It never get very hot whenever the 4 processes are in use at the same time. Since it is so small, I can always bring my work home, without relying on the workstation in the lab. One thing I think this series should catch up is the display quality."
Review 15 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TuckerMax
Location:Little Rock AR
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

I only wish the solid state hard drive was bigger

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Keyboard/peripherals, keyboard
Cons: Memory, Storage, Included Software
"I really love this computer for its performance and mobility with a solid state hard drive, but the 128gb hard drive filled up way too fast, and I was cleaning stuff off regularly. When I ordered it, I thought there was a 160gb hard drive but that hard drive was removed from the market because of performance issues. I ordered anyway without it because I had an X301 with a 128gb hard drive that never filled up. For some reason, this one did. This is a better machine than the X301, but smaller. The keyboard on the X301 feels too loose. This one is tight like a bigger machine.
I only wish it was upgradeable. That's my only complaint."
Review 16 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
msol2
Location:iran;tehran
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

for those who are long-sighted

Date:April 12, 2011
Pros: Support, Wireless card, Display performance
"i recommend this pruduct to people who are really affraid of what they will choose.
just taste it!
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eis5071
Location:State College, PA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Thinkpad x201i

Date:March 29, 2011
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: Storage, Video card, Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Display performance
"My friend recommended Lenovo Thinkpad series to me and I am so glad that I took his advice.
I purchase the x201i really cheap with sales after sales plus student discount and I love it.
I am a 3rd year Engineering student and there are times when I have to carry my laptop around everywhere for group projects or other academic stuff. I used to own Asus K50ab series which is an 15" laptop over 5 pounds. It was an excellent laptop, but it killed my back with the travels I do around the campus.
Compared to that heavy laptop, the x201i feels light as a feather. The x201 series tops x120e series since its more powerful in terms of performance, bigger in screen size, amazingly, weighs almost the same!
The disappointment with the x201i US series is the lack of the touch pad (it only comes with the touch point unless you upgrade) and the lack of the webcam. I don't think you can even get a webcam with the "i" series.
The matte screen has pretty decent view angles, but I do find myself constantly playing around the screen until I finally get that perfect display.
The 2GB ram that I didn't bother to upgrade since it's like twice as cheaper to buy it separately and upgrade myself, was a single stick with poor performance. It could not handle Solidworks, which is a 3D design program that eats up a lot of performance.
I have upgraded my OS to 64 bit and my memory to 8GB. The installation was a breeze, for which I had to pop the bottom small casing, pop out the 2GB stick, and shove in 2 4GB sticks. The 8GB which I barely use 100%, is excellent and keeping my x201i lightning fast.
The x201i shipped with core i3 processor which falls really behind the i5s and i7s since i3 is still a dual core, compare to mighty quad core. However, I was quite satisfied with only the i3 mainly because I don't play games or do heavy processor requiring work on it.
The keyboard as any Thinkpad fans know, is excellent. The response of the keys makes me enjoying typing on it. Although it is an ultra portable laptop, Lenovo did not decrease the size of the keys; they kept them full-sized. In addition, there are just enough space between the keys just so you don't accidentally press the wrong keys with fat fingers. I have noticed that the T410s have their keys really stacked together, which for me was a little bit uncomfortable. Minor thing to point out with this is the switch of location between Ctrl key and the Fn key. I knew about this before I purchased the x201i and I thought I could get used to it. It's been getting on my nerves since I use a lot of short commands such as ctrl + alt + del, ctrl + z, ctrl + x, or etc... On my old laptop, I can do that with my eyes closed, but on x201i, I have to think and look twice to check if I am pressing the right key.
The lack of trackpad did not disappoint me since I like trackpoints alot and I always carry an usb mouse anyways.
x201 series comes with integrated Intel HD, which is the worst video card ever to be produced in the history of video cards. It plays 1080p blu rays with small slow downs. I rather watch 780p blu rays with better performance. So, no it will not run Starcraft 2, it will not run Crysis 2, and it might even have trouble running World of Warcraft. I should try sometimes if I have time.
The 3-cell battery is awful. I strongly recommend anyone to upgrade it at least 6-cell. 9 cell sticks out and its ugly. I bought the 6-cell upgrade really cheap and the battery life so far is excellent. With school work I get around 6 hours of battery life, which is plenty for me.
x201i sounds like a sleeping baby. When everyone in class writes they notes which is a pain, I type my notes in class. There is no loud sound in fan or in anything even during the boot ups. Even after several hours of use, it tends to stay quiet which surprised me alot.
The LED signs that Lenovo has for Thinkpads are pretty cute since it shows all the status of the laptop.
The x201i came with 250 GB HDD, and I hate HDDs. I don't care if its 1TB or 10 TB, I just plain hate HDDs. If you every used a SSD before, you will agree with me probably. Also super expensive, the SSDs increase performance by great extent. I dream of getting one of those and installing into my x201i.
One big disappointment is the lack of the HDMI plug. Even netbook these days come with HDMI hook ups. I strongly encourage Lenovo to upgrade the x200 series to come with the HDMI ports.
I really like the design of all Thinkpads. Girls are horrified by its black rectangular "pad" looking machine, but I am honestly attracted to Thinkpads over any mac-line laptops. It looks sharp, clean, and professional. The built quality is truly exhibited in the design.
Lastly, shipping. Oh yes! the shipping! I got my x201i in about two weeks, which I thought was slow, but it turned out that many people are having problems with delivery since it is delivered from CHINA!. Never expected such a great quality computer to be manufactured from China, but since my purchase, I trust China over anywhere. Just be the lucky one to have my laptop delivered in one piece.
I know it was a long review, but I wanted to be as specific as possible since buying $1000 laptop is a serious business. Overall, I strongly recommend the "i" series since its cheaper than the regular models. I have a friend who has bought the x200 3 years ago and is still running beautifully. So I have strong hopes for my x201i."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
zerobleu70
Location:Bainbridge Island, WA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

So close to perfect

Date:March 26, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Display performance
"I've had the X201 for a few weeks, using it daily, and it is an overall excellant machine with one exception in my humble opinion...the screen. With all the features and performance and being a fantastic mobile laptop, the screen falls short on resolution and color quality. If Lenovo could tweak this feature, it would really be 5 of 5 for me in all categories.
Still love it, still would highly recommend it.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
runningwater
Location:FL
Owned Product:1-6 months

pretty good except..

Date:March 23, 2011
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, heat problem, speaker location
"I purchased this notebook 3 months ago. In general I like this notebook. Keyboards are pretty good and comfortable. In terms of performance I haven't tested it extensively but so far I don't have any problem in running statistical soft-wares and web surfing. As others have said the location of the speaker is odd and not effective. I want to point out that it has a heating problem which is not severe but it is uncomfortable. Specifically, the left side gets warmer quickly and I had to lift my palm often to cool it. I hope they can fix this in the future.
Battery life (with 9 cell) is about 6.5 hours if I run it continuously.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad X201 - Best seller & Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gbrown
Location:Portland, OR
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent Business Laptop

Date:March 22, 2011
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution
"Great laptop for the road warrior or executive on the go - this laptop has all the performance you would need when you are out of the office. My only concern is the screen which could be updated to a more crisp model since it is small and difficult to stare at for extended periods."