Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller

Performance plus multimedia

Average customer rating:
4.487 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 of 39(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Johneywood
Location:Toledo, OH
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo Thinkpad Edge is good

Date:October 7, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Wireless card, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, heat degenerating
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Battery, Display performance
"I had this Thinkpad Edge 1 year ago. And its performance is being very good.
However, there is a problem that every time I charge the battery, the computer becomes very slow reacting.
Besides that, it has good performance and I believe the thinkpad have the greatest heat degenerate performance. Using other computers, the computer would become very hot soon, while thinkpad works good on this part.
The video card is not very good though. I hope lenovo would have more laptops cheap and for game playing.
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JamesV

My first Thinkpad product

Date:June 14, 2012
"I bought the Thinkpad Edge 14" two years ago (Aug 2010) just before starting business school. The product has served me pretty well even though I've treated it pretty roughly.
The computing performance of the laptop has been exceptional. I did face a couple of blue screen errors and crashes initially. But they stopped completely once I installed a few Windows and Lenovo updates. I've also NOT maintained the laptop properly by defragmenting or cleaning the registry; despite that, the laptop's performance has been consistent, robust and great! (I'm a gamer and I'm happy with the gaming performance)
The thing that I liked the most has been some exceptional Lenovo software utilities which helped me recover and restore from viruses and crashes. Terrific trouble shooting software! Other pros include the laptop's convenient size, easy to type keyboard, eye-catching design and value price.
The only major disappointment for me has been the laptop's battery. Hardly a few days after the 1 year warranty expired. My battery went bust. While it was working, I used to get about 2-2.5 hours of battery life. Now the battery life is hardly 1 minute and I need to buy a new one."
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CollegeStudent

Disappointing Long Term Performance

Date:May 21, 2012
"I did a lot of research before I purchased this computer knowing that I would be doing a fair bit of word processing but also wanted a machine that could function to listen to music on and stream the occasional movie/TV show. However about 15 months after I purchased it the battery was completely shot (when fully charged I can get roughly 6 minutes of operation). As you may imagine this is incredibly inconvenient for a student.
Furthermore after 18 months of use I started having problems with the sound. It's not a speaker issue because the issue persists even if I switch to using headphones plugged into the audio jack. I'm not a computer expert but given that sometimes sound comes out as though it was auto-tuned, other times as though I'm hearing through poor cellphone reception regardless of what application creates the sound, and sometimes there is just lag time as though the recording is being played at a slower speed, I think this is some sort of processor problem.
I know performance degrades over time but I find these issues exceptionally disappointing given that I've taken good care of this laptop and was hoping that it would take me through the average work and entertainment needs for my undergraduate years. I would be very wary of any lenovo purchase that you wish to use for an extended period of time."
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ursusarctos
Location:Montgomery County, PA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Attractive, reliable performer

Date:February 20, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, appearance, back-up/recovery software
"After five years of service, I have never had a problem with (and still have not retired) my 2.33 GHz T60. This was, without doubt, the most reliable, secure, durable, and all-around productive computer I have ever owned. Strictly-business: sleek, black, quick (for its time) and light; ALWAYS performs as-advertised.
But I have now owned it for almost five years. The boot-time into the XP Pro 32-bit OS was growing a bit frustrating (almost five whole minutes for each boot) and I was never able to make use of the full 4 Gb. of RAM on-board. I was not willing to wipe all the applications and data from the fixed disk to improve my speed and install Windows 7; and I did not buy a large-enough fixed disk to make it dual-boot.
So, the time had come to purchase a faster laptop with even-better graphics and more RAM -- one with 7 and 7-compatible apps.
The choice was a "natural." After taking a very careful look at features, speed, price, and upgrade-ability, I chose the Edge i5 without pause or hesitation.
I have not regretted the choice for one moment. This unit boots into 7 in under 1 minute; it is shiny and attractive (I won't hold that against you folks at Lenovo), reliable, and has never failed to function FAST and flawlessly. (Very important, since I do a great many presentations -- my laptop is "mission critical" for these.) I purchased it with 8 Gb of RAM, and I almost never see the "hourglass."
Great laptop, reasonably priced: I am still a GIANT ThinkPad fan and cheerleader.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SCTSKYBRIDGE
Location:Kansas City Missouri
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:2 GB

The Best Investment

Date:January 17, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"I have been a Computer Tech and Systems engineer for 20 Plus years, and Never in my life have I ever Experianced a great computer, recently I bought this Lenovo Think Edge 14 Laptop, with win7 Professional, and out of the box I was impressed with the design, and features, and the performance I love it, Fast, reliable, quiet and I have Nothing bad to ever say about the investment, of this unit.
Lenovo has their stuff together when in comes to the wonders this computer has displayed. it is totally awesome. I will Never recommend another system, or buy anything else but the Lenovo Edge systems in my Store, where Quality, reliability, and service is Job one, this makes the day a whole lot better. Lenovo all the way Baby, nothing else will ever do for me. Keep it up Lenovo Nothing can BEAT YOU.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zalak
Location:Fort Collins,CO
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent performance

Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Display performance
"I am using my thinkpad eadge laptop from last 7 months. I am very impressed with it's performance. It is light weighted. The best part is keyborad. The keys are very soft. The joystick is also very useful while typing. Overall I am very much satisfied with the perchase of thinkpad eadge."
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
reddy
Location:PA
Owned Product:7-12 months

not a bad laptop

Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Display resolution, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Support, Included Software, Display performance
"I like the over all look of the laptop but being a software person I thought it has disappointed me a bit but defintely this is a best laptop for non software guys"
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
merlina
Location:Oxford, OH
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i3

Enjoy using it

Date:October 5, 2011
"It is not like super fast with core i3 CPU, though enough for me. It has much less heat when using it than my last laptop, love it."
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AzCoronaDog
Location:Chandler, AZ
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Value

Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Build Quality, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"At my previous employer, I was issued a new ThinkPad T series laptop every 2-3 years. I found them all to be very reliable and solid performers, and extremely well constructed. I took mine home every night, and traveled with them extensively. I have to say I was pretty rough on them, bordering on abuse, but never had one fail. We were able to purchase the old ones when we got new ones, and I still have the last two, and they still work perfectly. (t40 and t42). They served me well, but it was time to get a new laptop, and this time I was going to have to pay. The only negative I had with the ThinkPads was I thought they were a bit too pricey. But I know you generally get what you pay for, so I shopped the Lenovo brand along with all the others. I'm a Costco and Sam's Club shopper, so I was almost certain my next laptop would come from one of these two, because their prices are usually very hard to beat. To my surprise, Lenovo had a model that had everything I was looking for at a better price than much lesser machines at the warehouse stores. I purchased a ThinkPad Edge 14 directly from Lenovo, configured exactly how I wanted it, and it has so far lived up to my high expectations. It has a much better battery life than any of my previous ThinkPads, and is much faster. The only thing I have found that could be better is the keyboard. It is actually very good compared to most laptops I have tried, but I got spoiled with the T series. However, this was really the only difference I could see in the Edge vs. the new T series, so it's a tradeoff I'm happy with considering a comparable T series would have been twice as expensive."
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
STLfarmer
Location:St Louis, MO
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Love It!

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Durability, Build Quality, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Weight
"I did a lot of research about laptops before the purchase and I found the Lenovo based on features and price. When I asked around, a work colleague recommended them and I have to say that I don't regret my decision. I went for the 14" with a larger battery because I travel a lot and I can honestly say I couldn't be happier. I work with multiple applications open and I have not noticed any slow down running an Intel i5 with 4GB RAM. The keyboard is great, the screen excellent and the 4 USB ports and HDMI make it very adaptable. This was the only laptop I could find with a trackpoint mouse (love it!) as well as a generous touchpad mouse. My laptop has already spent 6 months in the field, travelling every week and working in dusty environments and it hasn't missed a beat. I have a few envious colleagues who want it but they can't have it...."
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chebs1
Location:GA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium

Connect to the world from a travel job!

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"This has been one of the best purchases I have ever made. I liked the one I bought for my husband so much I bought one for myself! I'm a Travel RN and this is a vital link to home. The design is sleek and professional looking, it's easy to use and has a wonderful picture. I download music and movies as well as Skype with family at home and friends all over the world. Fantastic laptop and mobile enough it's easy to take on planes, trains and the occasional bus! LOVE IT!"
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moonster
Location:Los ANgeles
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

TTHINKPAD LOVER

Date:October 4, 2011
"Over all I like the edge. I like the way it looks and feels. Navigates quickly through apps and I would highly recommend.
I only buy Thinkpads!"
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JTPSAT
Location:San Antonio, TX
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:2 GB

Great little machine!

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Screen size
"This is my first laptop ever purchased and I am so happy with it. It runs fast and smooth and the keyboard is cool and quiet. Great machine and a great price. Super color resolution, battery lives forever and it's weight is not a problem like so many other laptops. Only thing I might change is buying the 15' as I do think I'd like a bigger screen. All in all, a great machine and will buy another Lenovo for my son in the near future!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
oliver
Location:newton, massachusetts
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:2 GB

best laptop ever

Date:March 26, 2011
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Included software, Durability, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Display resolution
"Pros: great keyboard, good screen, good processor, comes with free microphone, nice design, and most of all no crapware
Cons: not outstanding battery life, no backlit keyboard, sides aren't actually metal, long shipping time
This computer is most definitely worth the buy, it has an led screen, an absolutely great chiclet keyboard and its a full thinkpad moins the ugliness.
The speakers aren't great but its fine because its a bussiness laptop, the scrolling gestures are great. there is a little bit of lag on this due to the hardware demanding effects of aero.
the spill resistant keyboard and hardrive protection was a big reason for me to buy this computer. for those traditional thinkpad users out there this is definitely a comuter that you would like.
Oh and finally the amount of inputs and outputs on this computer is absolutely ridiculous for the price. it has 2 regular usbs, 1 charged usb, meaning it will charge your laptop even when it isnt on, and finally a usb/esata port combo. the computer also has a 7-in-one card reader and an hdmi port, thats a big deal right there!
the only wishes i have for lenovo is to give a dedicated graphics card and to keep on creating good products like this."
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nitroman84
Location:Missouri
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Built like a tank

Date:January 31, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, i thought good quality products were history.
Cons: none thus far and i see none arising anytime soon!
"I purchased this laptop about a week ago from Office Depot at a considerable discount. Let me just say I would have paid the full price without batting an eye. I love the keyboard (though I normally use an external) the track pad is great and overall build quality is top notch. I am sold on ThinkPad laptops now and will make Lenovo my next purchase for sure."
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dmor
Location:Cincinnati
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

14" Edge w/ i3-370

Date:December 30, 2010
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight, no secure "latch"
"The trackpoint was a key feature as I've had a IBM/Lenovo for work for several years and currently have a T400. The Edge is slightly thicker and a bit heavier (have 9 cell battery in both) but the Edge display is much better than the T400.
The connections, wireless intel display or HDMI, have worked well but the intel requires some work to set-up. Would definitely recommend upgrading to Windows 7 ultimate if a home network is part of the need. Looked and tried many at retailers but purchasing on-line and customizing is great.
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rafael
Location:Falls Church, VA
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good enough for me!!!

Date:December 16, 2010
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Video card, Warranty, Wireless card, Battery, Bluetooth, Included Software, Display performance
"I'm using a borrowed lenovo Edge, it's amazing, I'm waiting for my new Edge soon, I've already ordered. I think it's a great laptop, trusty, doesn't locks up constantly as is the common of the other brands. I very satisfied and anxious with waiting for my new one. Certainly I'll recommend this laptop to anybody."
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ariel
Location:USA
Owned Product:1-6 months

Good value for money

Date:December 5, 2010
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Software compatibility, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
"The Edge with the Core i3 processor and 4 GB RAM is good value for money - it is fairly quick to start up and shut down, and I can definitely tell the difference in speed with respect to my older computer which had an AMD Dual Core and 2 GB RAM. The touchpad is fairly sensitive and the chiclet keyboard comfortable to type on. The speakers could be better/louder but are reasonable. The glossy finish externally shows fingerprints, but this is not a big deal as it is easily cleaned. The battery life is about 3.5 - 4+ hours on full charge."
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge 14" with Intel processors - Best seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hairsoccer
Location:Birmingham, AL
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

A Great laptop

Date:December 2, 2010
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, fan noisy
This customer did not provide a text review.