Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X230 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X230

12.5” ultraportable packed with power for mobility on-the-go.

Average customer rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
8
48 of 66(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X230
Review 1 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mysticbob

Would not buy again

Date:June 23, 2012
"Have had Thinkpads for the last 10 years. Bought this as a replacement for my x201 purchased a year ago. Have not used this new x230 enough yet to see whether the graphics performance from the new Intel IvyBridge architecture is that significant. Speed and performance is not noticeably different than my x201. Screen is wider but doesn't feel bigger as the x201 screen is taller. New island keyboard does away with all of the best features of the x201 keyboard such as the forward and back keys near the arrow keys which I used all of the time when surfing, the 'print scrn' key, etc. However the island keys are the best (firmest and most crisp) that I've had on a t-pad. However, before going on about other features it is simple enough to say that the mouse pad w/ integrated left and right mouse keys (i.e. it is just a floating square mouse pad that you press at the bottom to click) is by far the most worthless mouse pad I have ever seen. Not only does the mouse pad scroll and track worse than any other, left click works 50% of the time and right click maybe 10% of the time. Totally worthless. Do not buy. I will keep this computer as I use it docked most of the time but would not have bought it if I had known about the mouse pad. The screen is bright and crisp. The notebook is not much of an improvement over the x201 and with the less useful keyboard and horrible mouse pad I can't see any reason to choose it over the older model."
6 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
madmen
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Disappointed

Date:July 16, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"Pros -
-Very fast
-Lightweight yet very durable
-Battery life is excellent
-Screen is very crisp and clear
Cons -
-Trackpad is completely useless. Cannot drag and click at the same time. Right clicks are almost never registered and left clicks are registered only half the time.
-Short wristpad
-I would have rather used the original x201 or x220 keyboard rather than this new x230 keyboard design.
PLEASE fix the useless trackpad and the extremely short wristpad"
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richard
Location:Worcester, MA
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

First thinkpad, best laptop ever owned

Date:October 27, 2012
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Durability, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Screen size, Storage, Video card, Warranty, Included Software
"Having spent 4 days with X230 I would like to say that it is the best laptop I have ever purchased. I have owned another 2 laptop, none of which is thinkpad, and I helped others purchase no less than 6 laptop, yet no one could outperform this in terms of integral performance.
I admit there may be nothing much significantly outstanding about this computer,the design is really bulky and outdated (though they say it classic), those alleged quad core processors are nothing more than double core by double thread, integrated graphics makes it underachieving on my favorite games like BF3 or MOH 2012, 320G hard drive has only limited capacity after installing a 64-bit operating system........I can keep listing things like that for the rest of this review, but I won't.
Because when those parts seemed ordinary or even underperforming are put together and if you use it to do what it is supposed to do, you will find it really superb. The body work is decently made, those aluminium and magnesium roll cage make it tough enough for catastrophic condition for other ultrabooks, it touches so comfortable that it becomes a joy to type with it. Also the weight is controlled reasonably under 1.6 kg with a 6-cell battery mounted. Balance between processing performance and battery duration is pretty good, you can achieve a duration of 3-4 hour with high performance with no much effort. Even more important, it is very open for anyone to upgrade it by DIY, it is easy on this computer to upgrade your RAM or SSD, even your are not a "enginerd" or technician.........
It is like a Mig jet fighter, nothing looks very shinny on it, but it is a killer. That's why I give it 4-star on each sub-category but 5-star on overall rating. Highly recommend this laptop. It is really a good choice if you want to buy a portable computer for daily use and 3D game occasionally...........I just love it.
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
karren

This is sad

Date:June 24, 2012
"The only reason that I have been using T and X laptops over 10 years is because of the "keyboard" - the best feature in thinkpads.
The new keyboard layout changes completely destroys the value in my opinion.
My friends said "No more thinkpad" and x220 will be my last laptop in lenovo."
6 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
newX230user

bad keyboard, bad screen

Date:April 16, 2014
"while the performance and general fabrication still seems ok, two things are disappointing with this laptop:
* the screen resolution is not good enough, the screen itself is smaller than it could be for the size.
* the proven 6 key block with pg-up, pg-dwn, delete top right got replaced by - nothing :( if i want a keyboard layout like this, i do not need to go for lenovo with this price.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spark

Good PC

Date:April 2, 2014
"It is a great Pc with very little tech issues. Sadly i have it because of its moblity and it does not take being dropped very well. I dropped it from 3 feet and the back panel is dent inwards, dents are all around it, and a piece broke off. I hope it will be fine."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blue
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

excellent replacement for my vaio

Date:December 7, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, it's a thinkpad!
"I went from an x41tablet to a vaio p to a vaio z to a thinkpad r61i to a vaio F1 to this x230 and this outclasses them all! portability A1 system capability A1 heat management A1 battery life A1 future proofed A1. I cannot complain. except for the backlit keyboard not coming on... but that's all."
Review 8 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DljCisco
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

The best Laptop Ever!!!

Date:October 15, 2013
"I am very satisfied with this product. Specially after selecting 16GB of ram to help out with VM hosts. Graphic is great, perfect size... I successully built a laptop that matched my needs :P
I really recommend it !"
Review 9 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BadMouse
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Mousepad is Terrible, everything else is amazing

Date:August 31, 2013
"I love all aspects of this laptop except the mouse pad/ track pad. It is not usable. it skips and is not accurate. Please search x230 mousepad before you buy. If you don't use the mouse pad then its the perfect laptop. If you do use it, prepare to be frustrated."
Review 10 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EngineeringStudent
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Features

Date:August 17, 2013
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Memory, Video card, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Weight, Screen size
"I had to purchase a thinkpad for my engineering courses so I purchased this one upgraded with i7 and 8gb of ram of all the computers I have used this one is by far one of the best because of all the features that it has. It is also really quick and has good battery life. The only real cons are the screen size and the design is rather bland."
Review 11 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lightman
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop

Date:August 10, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"This little laptop is wonderful in every way but one, the speakers do not produce very good sound in my opinion. However, I didn't buy for its sound, but it would be nice to be able to play music on it, and you can but it's not very good. Other than that very small objection, I love it and would recommend it and buy another one. It's reliability it without parallel for the money."
Review 12 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SZamani
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

ULTRA PORTABLE!

Date:July 19, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Build Quality, Screen size, Display performance
"Everything is perfect except it's screen size!"
Review 13 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Donald
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Top part frame of LED panel are easily damage

Date:June 10, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Durability
"WE brought 10 units of this model and knowing thinkpad that they design their equipment durable enough to survive mobility. which unfortunate, this model X230 did not pass quality control. It's top part frame are easily broken if you accidentally put little pressure on the LED cover, you will notice that top outer frame will easily snap it support like toothpick."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lenovouser
Owned Product:Less than a week

heating and smell

Date:May 31, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Build Quality, Display performance
"I just bought the X230. The size, weight and speed are good. The display is so so. The audio is not very good.
The battery is wobbly. The display tilts to the left. The laptop heats up quickly and generates a strong smell.
I have another Thinkpad of the Edge series with a 15 in display. That one is very good. X230 costs much more but gives more problems. I would not recommend X230."
Review 15 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matt
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Superb Hardware

Date:April 27, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Included Software, Screen size
"Like:
- IPS display, it's really worth it
- Keyboard lets me type like a demon
- Chassis, super solid and great industrial aesthetic, this is no piece of apple jewelry
- Great ventilation
- Super easy to repair/upgrade
- Works great with Ubuntu
- MSATA slot for an SSD (for Ubuntu, perhaps)
Dislike:
- 1366x768 resolution... whyyyy???
- Bloatware, including something called "Windows"
- Small-ish trackpad, I carry a mouse
- HDD
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mcht
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

a dissappointing laptop

Date:March 29, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
Cons: constant audible noise, wobbly battery, useless mouse
"I was very excited about this laptop when I first bought it, but as I used, it became very annoying for me. I especially wanted a laptop with a minimum noise emission, since I am mostly working at quiet places like libraries and I don't like listening music while working, but laptop always make some constant noise that I cannot bear. I could not figure where the noise coming from, it could be either fan or hard drive, but the constant noise just drives me crazy.
Another disappointing thing about the laptop is wobbly battery. Since this laptop is small and compact, and generally bought for carrying around purposes, I think a wobbly battery is not acceptable and make me dislike the laptop."
Review 17 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ceeenu
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Decent Purchase But Flimsy Keyboard

Date:March 28, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
"This machine with an mSATA SSD installed is a truly great value performer. mobility and battery life, IPS Screen, everything is just great. But with all the debate about the new keyboard, I believed the positive reviews on many sites about it. How wrong I was, the keys feels delicate , though the response is quiet good, you almost feel them wobbling a bit as you type. And to my horror a few keys came out and keep coming out. Going through lenovo forums seems I am not the only one having this issue. Not sure if its an issue with one of its keyboard suppliers, But its such a shame really for whats otherwise a best in class business machine. I wish lenovo took more care in not disappointing the legions of fans of its earlier hugely popular keyboards."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tikimom
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Yet

Date:March 26, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"Bought the X230 last August to replace my several-year-old X200, which in turn had replaced some older model! I'm a satisfied Lenovo customer, obviously. I use it primarily for business applications and lots of online activity. Quite speedy with outstanding battery life (9-cell battery). Compact size and solid construction make it ideal for travel. The new keyboard style has won me over - my old machine with its IBM style keyboard now seems klunky and clattery. The little red trackpoint is one of my favorite Thinkpad features - hope they never, ever, do away with this option. Can't comment on Lenovo support because I've never had to contact them--which is a testament to the quality of the product."
Review 19 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chun
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

good except for touchpad

Date:March 26, 2013
Pros: overall quality
Cons: touchpad
"I've been a thinkpad user for a long time. With my latest purchase of x230, I'm satisfied with everything else except for the touch pad. I had to buy 4 units for my company and every single one has a touch pad that takes too much pressure to press. If Lenovo can have x230 with the touchpad of other models, I would have a perfect laptop for work!"
Review 20 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DenverGirl
Owned Product:7-12 months

Choose Another Laptop

Date:March 15, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Processor, track pad
"Really disappointed in this choice. ThinkPad is known to be a great computer, but the x230 did not meet that reputation. The track pad often double-clicks and has a difficult time understanding if you're on the right or left side (right-handed people beware). Also, it needs a memory boost, so plan to upgrade that.
Pros - really long battery lift and pretty portable, lightweight, clear screen"