Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
A7
A8
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X230 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X230

12.5” ultraportable packed with power for mobility on-the-go.

Average customer rating:
3.794 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
8
49 of 68(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X230
Review 1 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mysticbob

Would not buy again

Date:June 23, 2012
"Have had Thinkpads for the last 10 years. Bought this as a replacement for my x201 purchased a year ago. Have not used this new x230 enough yet to see whether the graphics performance from the new Intel IvyBridge architecture is that significant. Speed and performance is not noticeably different than my x201. Screen is wider but doesn't feel bigger as the x201 screen is taller. New island keyboard does away with all of the best features of the x201 keyboard such as the forward and back keys near the arrow keys which I used all of the time when surfing, the 'print scrn' key, etc. However the island keys are the best (firmest and most crisp) that I've had on a t-pad. However, before going on about other features it is simple enough to say that the mouse pad w/ integrated left and right mouse keys (i.e. it is just a floating square mouse pad that you press at the bottom to click) is by far the most worthless mouse pad I have ever seen. Not only does the mouse pad scroll and track worse than any other, left click works 50% of the time and right click maybe 10% of the time. Totally worthless. Do not buy. I will keep this computer as I use it docked most of the time but would not have bought it if I had known about the mouse pad. The screen is bright and crisp. The notebook is not much of an improvement over the x201 and with the less useful keyboard and horrible mouse pad I can't see any reason to choose it over the older model."
6 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
madmen
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Disappointed

Date:July 16, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"Pros -
-Very fast
-Lightweight yet very durable
-Battery life is excellent
-Screen is very crisp and clear
Cons -
-Trackpad is completely useless. Cannot drag and click at the same time. Right clicks are almost never registered and left clicks are registered only half the time.
-Short wristpad
-I would have rather used the original x201 or x220 keyboard rather than this new x230 keyboard design.
PLEASE fix the useless trackpad and the extremely short wristpad"
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richard
Location:Worcester, MA
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

First thinkpad, best laptop ever owned

Date:October 27, 2012
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Durability, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Screen size, Storage, Video card, Warranty, Included Software
"Having spent 4 days with X230 I would like to say that it is the best laptop I have ever purchased. I have owned another 2 laptop, none of which is thinkpad, and I helped others purchase no less than 6 laptop, yet no one could outperform this in terms of integral performance.
I admit there may be nothing much significantly outstanding about this computer,the design is really bulky and outdated (though they say it classic), those alleged quad core processors are nothing more than double core by double thread, integrated graphics makes it underachieving on my favorite games like BF3 or MOH 2012, 320G hard drive has only limited capacity after installing a 64-bit operating system........I can keep listing things like that for the rest of this review, but I won't.
Because when those parts seemed ordinary or even underperforming are put together and if you use it to do what it is supposed to do, you will find it really superb. The body work is decently made, those aluminium and magnesium roll cage make it tough enough for catastrophic condition for other ultrabooks, it touches so comfortable that it becomes a joy to type with it. Also the weight is controlled reasonably under 1.6 kg with a 6-cell battery mounted. Balance between processing performance and battery duration is pretty good, you can achieve a duration of 3-4 hour with high performance with no much effort. Even more important, it is very open for anyone to upgrade it by DIY, it is easy on this computer to upgrade your RAM or SSD, even your are not a "enginerd" or technician.........
It is like a Mig jet fighter, nothing looks very shinny on it, but it is a killer. That's why I give it 4-star on each sub-category but 5-star on overall rating. Highly recommend this laptop. It is really a good choice if you want to buy a portable computer for daily use and 3D game occasionally...........I just love it.
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
karren

This is sad

Date:June 24, 2012
"The only reason that I have been using T and X laptops over 10 years is because of the "keyboard" - the best feature in thinkpads.
The new keyboard layout changes completely destroys the value in my opinion.
My friends said "No more thinkpad" and x220 will be my last laptop in lenovo."
6 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Muhtar

Not reliable/durable

Date:May 25, 2014
"I bought a Lenovo X230 with a SATA hard drive about a year ago. The computer had a very good performance for a while. After a couple of months, I dropped it from a couch and it stopped working. My previous ThinkPad's were much more reliable, but I suspected that it fell down on a bad spot. I have to note that the repair service worked wonderfully. In the following months, I dropped it from my lap, when I was sitting on the ground, and boom, stopped working again. The harddrive was changed by the repair service and I had the good old machine back. Just yesterday, the laptop dropped again and the hard drive stopped working yet again. I have never used a ThinkPad this unreliable before."
Review 6 for ThinkPad X230
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CorpCTO

Last of the good ThinkPads?

Date:May 14, 2014
"This X230 is typically good, needed for its small size. Satisfactory, once we installed Classic Shell to bypass Windows 8 idiocy."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X230