Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p

Average customer rating:
3.992 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(240 Reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (240 reviews)
5 stars
130
4 stars
45
3 stars
25
2 stars
13
1 star
27
182 of 240(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y510p
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Badlaptop00
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Wifi drop every 10 minutes!!

Date:October 15, 2013
" I got the new lenovo Y510p laptop last week. I want to play Dota 2 with it. It is a nightmare to play games with friends. The wifi disconnects every ten minutes. My old Dell laptop is good, never drops the wifi.
I am sure the drives are the newest. I am sure the router is good. I cannot believe that a gaming laptop could have such awful design. "
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Absolutely Awful Computer

Date:September 2, 2014
" I cannot begin to describe the torture this computer has put me through. Several times I've had to factory reset the computer due to software issues; the best part is that I bought the only offered warranty thinking it fully covered any problems I may experience with the computer when in reality I had purchased a hardware warranty (I found this out later on when calling Lenovo customer care who refused to give me a free solution to the software problem I was facing). At random points the computer will freeze entirely and I have to rely on the screensaver to refresh my computer.When running correctly, I have no problems with the computer, however getting to the point where the computer is functional is wretched. I would never recommend this computer to a friend and am currently looking for a replacement to the unreliable hunk of metal I regret purchasing. "
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
njadam
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7

I cant stand it

Date:December 9, 2013
Pros: Warranty, Durability, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Weight, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Display performance
" I purchased this computer because it seemed to have awesome specs at a very inexpensive price.
However, the computer constantly freezes and crashes. Load up times, which are supposed to be lightning fast due to my SSD, take 45 plus seconds. Scrolling through pictures which I have saved from my camera to my hard drive seem to take too much out of this machine.
The McAfee security service seems to drag down the speed of my pc.
The computer, at $1000, is cheap for awesome specs on paper. That is why i gave value 2 stars. But there are better alternatives.
This thing is heavy, slow and unreliable. I absolutely hate it. I am seriously considering trying to send it back, but am dreading the switching cost of having to repurchase software and transferring my files. "
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
gameball
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:1 GB

No thanks

Date:November 16, 2013
Pros: Weight
Cons: Display resolution, Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Build Quality, Durability
" Maybe I am spoiled from having an Alienware. There's no ID#s on the case, mouse pointer moves when i click it, you have to purchase software support separate, power chord is short/flimsy, screen is 1920 but looks worse than my 1020. No Windows disk. I've been told no returns (purchased direct from Lenovo online). I'll find out Monday. It is quiet and runs cool, but boy does the case show fingerprints, and it feels like it's bending when I pick it up. The mouse thinks I pressed the right button instead of left when I'm way over to the left. It's so smudged already it looks like it's a year old and I only got it yesterday. This mousepad stinks.
ps Windows 8 is too different, it looks like it belongs on an android phone not a PC. "
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
forrest
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

bad computer

Date:November 12, 2013
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Weight, Software compatibility, Durability
" 1. bad wireless connection, always disconnect. (very annoying)
2. very heavy charger
3. blue screen problem(waste me a lot of time to fix
4. poor battery performace
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDayAU
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop with exceptional performance

Date:November 5, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Included Software
" Lets start this with saying Lenovo customer service was very helpful with getting this deployed military member his laptop in a timely manner. They even jumped through some hoops for me. Thanks Lenovo...
I purchased the lowest end model for this series with the single GT755m, 1366X768 display, 5200 HDD etc. This thing optimizes everything you throw at it. Fully maxed Skyrim runs 50-60 FPS. Temps stay fairly cool for such a powerful laptop. Boot up time even without the SSD is around 10-15 seconds. The red backlight on the keyboard is a stunning feature.
Great laptop no matter what the price is set to. I have yet to find a complaint about this laptop from my perspective. "
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Horrible labtop for a long term looking buyers

Date:March 26, 2015
" Ok, the labtop itself, performance wise it's pretty good. You can play any games you want and it's decent; however, the battery life on this labotp is horrible and my labtop (this modle) just broke yesterday for no reason. I took it to the computer store for the hope of fixing the labtop since I don't want to buy new one. They told me that main part inside where all the cpus are attached is gone. (dead) I cannot charge the labtop at all. So after expensive price of the labtop, I only used it for 2 years and I don't like this situation at all. Plus my warranty is gone which is pretty funny to see my labtop just die after warranty is gone. So, those who want to buy this labtop, don't buy it. "
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Could be better for the price I paid

Date:March 10, 2015
" I bought this laptop one year ago. Overall, the laptop is decent and performance is good for the type of load I submit on. However, Lenovo should take care of device material quality at least for this model. I say this because this laptop is a dust magnet, you slightly touch it and a big spot is left on its surface. Also, the screen quality is poor, if you look carefully the lcd area looks like rugged paper. "
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

THE WORST

Date:February 23, 2015
" This laptop is undeniably THE WORST laptop I have ever owned. Even compared to my 300 dollar laptop which is far superior to this one. I have a problem after problem with this machine from the very beginning and each has only gotten worse. I would highly suggest picking another laptop. "
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

(Almost) no regrets!

Date:February 4, 2015
" I got this laptop as a graduation gift, and I've loved it ever since. It's quick to respond, I love the red backlit keyboard, and despite the other reviews, I really like the trackpad, too.
I got the top-of-the-line one, with 16 GB of RAM, a 1 TB 5400 RPM hard drive coupled with 24 GB of SSD cache, and two NVidia GT-755M GPU's running in SLI. It easily plows through anything I throw at it.
However, it has an issue with running hot. It idles at ~60 degrees C, and will readily run into the 90's on some intensive games. Fan control software doesn't want to work on it, either.
Also, this computer is painfully slow to boot up. We're talking ~10 minutes here. I wonder if the SSD is working right?
Other than that, though, it's a wonderful machine. Rock-steady on both the hardware and software fronts. Once it's up to speed, there's no slowing it down.
And, incredibly, its the only computer I had that has never given me a blue screen of death, even in the 8 months I've owned it! "
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

will not do what best buy said it would

Date:January 23, 2015
" This laptop was bought for one reason, the best buy guy said it was the best buy and would run our 60 inch printer. It will not and I don't suggest you buy anything but MacBook Pro "
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love my Y510P! <3

Date:January 20, 2015
" I bought it last year as a Christmas gift for myself, and I loved it ever since, it does everything that I need it to do. Plays my favorite games at a decent to great quality(graphics wise), it runs programs fast and it does not crash or slow down.
A awesome purchase that I recommended to friends and will continue to do so!
"
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop for just about anything

Date:January 20, 2015
" I got this laptop because I wanted something that could be used primarily for gaming but also for other things such as video watching and for school. The laptop itself looks amazing with the red backlight keyboard. The only flaw that I can think of is that it is a HUGE finger print magnet and if you sweat a lot from your hands or if your hands are greasy it WILL show. The only bad thing on this laptop that I can think of is the trackpad. I The laptop is pretty heavy but totally carryable. It's performance is amazing and I can pretty much play any games on it and do many things at once. Battery life is good as well about 4 hours. This is one of the most budget friendly laptops for gaming and it honestly has the same(if not better features) than some of the more expensive ones out there. I've had this laptop for about 10 months now and it is completely flawless and I haven't had any major issues with it yet. "
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Top Notch

Date:January 20, 2015
" I am using the product as i write this review. Its been about six months since i bought this laptop. Its been giving me good performance since then. The only problem i face is the heating. I have already changed my motherboard twice but that is due to my mishaps.
Y510p is awesome for games. You can actually feel the difference between other laptops and this 'beast' when you have used a number of them like i have.
The sound system is pretty neat but i suggest they could have added a sub woofer also to the system. They already have an awesome set of JBL speakers.
The backlit keyboard looks awesome giving the user a feeling that he/she is using an Alienware level of laptop.
The always ON USB port is a neat add on. It can charge your phone 4+ times when the laptop is switched OFF.
I would totally recommend this product unless someone else brings out something challenging this.
"
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Greatest laptop i have ever owned!

Date:January 20, 2015
" This laptop does it all. I havnt been told no to anything on this bad boy. It does everything flawlessly and looks good doing it. With the high deff picture to its quite fans, i love it. Iam very pleaseed with it and would encourage everyone to buy one if possible. 5 stars for sure! "
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

More than meets the eye

Date:January 20, 2015
" This isn’t a Mac or Razer machine: it ain’t fancy. In fact, the unboxing experience was eerily similar to that of my Canon printer. The chassis is better styled than previous Y series laptops from Lenovo. And, this is a good time to mention, this laptop is NOT classified as a “gaming” laptop. Although, it does appear like one: red backlit keyboard, black brushed metal finish with red accents, and beautiful JBL speakers on both the left and right side near the screen. The anti-glare screen is a 15.6″ LED with a native resolution of 1080p full HD. It looks gorgeous.
The Y510p put me out $1200 ($1150 after a Newegg price match). Comparative laptops are $1600 at a minimum. Not only is it powerful but it’s gorgeous on the outside. I’ll admit, the Y510p isn’t anything fancy to look at or comfortable to hold. But if you’re on a budget for your portable gaming device, and most gamers are, then you should consider this laptop – I’m loving it. "
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

<1yr and do not want to buy any more lenovo

Date:January 12, 2015
" I had several lenovo pcs before and they were all not that good. When I was about to replace my last lenovo I heard about Y510P and the reviews were pretty good, so I decided to buy this one. HOWEVER it turned out to be very disappointing and I would not buy levono pcs in the future ever!!
1. the cpu and gpu are at the same side and the machine could get really hot every time I run DOTA on it.
2. the starting up time is long after just 3-4 months and I did not have a lot of things on this pc.
3. Poor internet connection. It drops every two minute, SERIOUSLY! unless I have the router at my hand. And the customer service actually did nothing useful for me!
4. Poor performance. Maybe because it was not designed for Win8 system, the system performs pretty poor on this machine. and it could get you crazy!
All in all, I am now very disappointed with lenovo and I would not recommend this one to anyone I know. "
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

A good desktop alternative for media/gaming.

Date:January 7, 2015
" The laptop is great. Runs well and reliably and can even do well with gaming on medium to high settings on non high intensity games. I use this for watching films and editting more often than gaming though. For that, the i7 is amazing. The GT755m leaves a bit to be desired though and can chug and produce a lot of heat when doing intensive tasks but is cool for any other use.
The battery life could definitely use a boost as it only lasts about two hours on high performance but I suppose that's a bit offset by it's lack of portability due to the weight. "
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Has won my heart over time

Date:January 5, 2015
" I purchased this laptop to replace a desktop hoping it was the right choice. The screen size is perfect and I love the backlit keyboard. The battery power is sufficient. For a flexible home-based work machine, it does the trick. "
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

GAMING POWER HOUSE Y510P

Date:January 5, 2015
" This Laptop is Amazing!!
Well built and for the price you can't go wrong.
Lets start with the CPU. The CPU is good.
The design is very modest and very finger print friendly.
You can configure upto dual GPU on SLI by busing side drive bay GPU if needed.
The screen is 1080p and the speakers are JLB. You get the most of the speakers with the Home Theater 4.0 software which make them 50% louder. Comes with 1TB HDD and a 24GB SSD HDD and 16GB ram.
The keyboard has 3 tones for the backlit (OFF, low/medium and high) which is nice to have for when you are using it with your lights off.
Like any gaming Laptop, when gaming very demanding games the laptop will get HOT specially on the left side of it. Nothing that will ruing your gaming session; also you have to keep in mind that if you want to play on MAX/HIGH settings its best to keep it plug.
It is always good to have a COOL PAD and WIRED MOUSE OR WIRELESS MOUSE for great gaming sessions. "