Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p

Average customer rating:
4.049 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (183 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
31
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 star
18
143 of 183(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y510p
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Badlaptop00
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Wifi drop every 10 minutes!!

Date:October 15, 2013
"I got the new lenovo Y510p laptop last week. I want to play Dota 2 with it. It is a nightmare to play games with friends. The wifi disconnects every ten minutes. My old Dell laptop is good, never drops the wifi.
I am sure the drives are the newest. I am sure the router is good. I cannot believe that a gaming laptop could have such awful design."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
njadam
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7

I cant stand it

Date:December 9, 2013
Pros: Warranty, Durability, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Weight, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Display performance
"I purchased this computer because it seemed to have awesome specs at a very inexpensive price.
However, the computer constantly freezes and crashes. Load up times, which are supposed to be lightning fast due to my SSD, take 45 plus seconds. Scrolling through pictures which I have saved from my camera to my hard drive seem to take too much out of this machine.
The McAfee security service seems to drag down the speed of my pc.
The computer, at $1000, is cheap for awesome specs on paper. That is why i gave value 2 stars. But there are better alternatives.
This thing is heavy, slow and unreliable. I absolutely hate it. I am seriously considering trying to send it back, but am dreading the switching cost of having to repurchase software and transferring my files."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
gameball
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:1 GB

No thanks

Date:November 16, 2013
Pros: Weight
Cons: Display resolution, Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Build Quality, Durability
"Maybe I am spoiled from having an Alienware. There's no ID#s on the case, mouse pointer moves when i click it, you have to purchase software support separate, power chord is short/flimsy, screen is 1920 but looks worse than my 1020. No Windows disk. I've been told no returns (purchased direct from Lenovo online). I'll find out Monday. It is quiet and runs cool, but boy does the case show fingerprints, and it feels like it's bending when I pick it up. The mouse thinks I pressed the right button instead of left when I'm way over to the left. It's so smudged already it looks like it's a year old and I only got it yesterday. This mousepad stinks.
ps Windows 8 is too different, it looks like it belongs on an android phone not a PC."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
forrest
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

bad computer

Date:November 12, 2013
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Weight, Software compatibility, Durability
"1. bad wireless connection, always disconnect. (very annoying)
2. very heavy charger
3. blue screen problem(waste me a lot of time to fix
4. poor battery performace
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDayAU
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop with exceptional performance

Date:November 5, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Included Software
"Lets start this with saying Lenovo customer service was very helpful with getting this deployed military member his laptop in a timely manner. They even jumped through some hoops for me. Thanks Lenovo...
I purchased the lowest end model for this series with the single GT755m, 1366X768 display, 5200 HDD etc. This thing optimizes everything you throw at it. Fully maxed Skyrim runs 50-60 FPS. Temps stay fairly cool for such a powerful laptop. Boot up time even without the SSD is around 10-15 seconds. The red backlight on the keyboard is a stunning feature.
Great laptop no matter what the price is set to. I have yet to find a complaint about this laptop from my perspective."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfied

Best Value Gaming Laptop

Date:July 27, 2014
"Specs: i7 4700-MQ
Nvidia GeForce 755m SLI
1 TB SSHD
8 GB RAM
Pros: Great value, beastly performance, runs games at top settings phenomenally, sick back-lit keyboard, awesome starting screensaver, only about 5.5 pounds, FHD screen is perfect for this hardware, quieter than my old Alienware, and blows out other gaming laptops within $200 by a long shot.
Cons: Trackpad isn't great, Windows 8.1 is meh, produces a lot of heat under a full load, easily attracts fingerprints.
A must-buy if you want portable gaming at a reasonable price. This laptop's thin frame will fool you, because the power this laptop packs is almost unreal for a laptop this size and price. This beast has practically ripped all my games to shreds and dominated all my HD mods. It's a lot stronger than any Alienware, MSI, Asus, or Razor you can get at this price."
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
connor

wasted money

Date:July 23, 2014
"i had purchased the y510p without the second graphics card during the winter time on intentions on expanding it. about a month ago i asked if you were going to get the gt 755m removable graphics card back because you sold out of them. i was told from one of your employess that you guys would get them the second week of july. (which you did) i ordered it and the 170w power supply. then after 2 days of ordering you guys cancel my order saying that you guys end of lifed it. now im stuck without getting again and i cant playing some guys because of it. that more then half the reason why i bought the lenovo y510p so i could expand it when i needed too. now im stuck with this item and cant do what the product promised it could do. im very upset with you service they were zero help and disconnected from me. overall just poor communication and service and wasted time and money."
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spen

Amazing laptop

Date:July 22, 2014
"This laptop is very good and well worth the price I gave 4 stars on reliability because while gaming it lags without the power cord but this is easily forgiven because it runs very well in general gaming is flawless with the power cord it is easy and fun to get used to windows 8 operating system.
Overall this is a very good computer for everything work gaming etc.
"
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lynx

Incredible but expensive!

Date:July 22, 2014
"pfffffff come on...!! I wan't it so bad but can't aford it! If you can, you definately sould! this laptop is like so.........wow"
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jogabonito

A must buy. You'll never regret

Date:July 19, 2014
"I've had this one for 2 weeks and it's simply amazing. Got this in a deal and it definitely money's worth. A high frame rate on games at higher settings, a red backlit display that simply looks amazing in dark and a very fast startup speed. A must buy."
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DavidC

Good Laptop BUT SLI keep crashing

Date:July 15, 2014
"Good Idea was put into making this laptop, but my sli keep crashing.
I have tried almost every way to repair it through Lenovo website and nvidia
so if your purchasing this for any video or pic editing dont bother..
if your gaming dont bother..
they wont even bother to replace my laptop that I only had for a few months..
now im stuck... I paid a few hundred more for SLI and im only able to use one of the video card then both.
this really upset me with lenovo."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
speedy

So Far So Good

Date:July 11, 2014
"So far this computer has been great. Although I am not a fan of windows 8 and would have liked to see windows 7 as an option when purchasing, it's nothing that I can't look past. The battery management system is very nice (particularly if your laptop says in one place for a while and you're utilizing the "optimize battery health" option). It's fast to boot up and I've been testing it with some gameplay and it's handled everything with ease. The real test will be how well it handles CAD programs, which I fully intend to push the boundaries of this computer with.
There is some bloatware that comes on this system that I am not fond of but it was easy enough to remove.
The case description is a little misleading. It sounds like the entire case is made of aluminum similar to a mac but instead its just the top surface and the lower inner surface. The rest is plastic. I will say the backlit keyboard is sick."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Certaindeath

Good sorta

Date:July 11, 2014
"I got the laptop back in January of this year, it works great for all that I do(mostly homework as Im in school). What i also bought it for was gaming. But it stinks, I play world of warcraft and diablo 3. i keep getting low memory warnings and if I do what it says I can play my game for about 5 minutes if I ignore the warning the laptop will crash a few hours later. I some times have to do a system restore to get it back to working properly. I am not sure why it does this. But because of this I will not recommend this product. Bad for gaming."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jake

Not that good

Date:July 10, 2014
"I brought the laptop, and used it for about 1 week and then it started to become very slow for some reason."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aaaaaaaaaaaa

excellent

Date:July 9, 2014
"this is really excellent"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lilysorrow

Piece of junk computer and mouse

Date:July 6, 2014
"I bought two of these one is the 14'' and one the 15''. The mouse is just horrible on the 15'' especially. It is constantly zooming the page in and out. Clicking on things is terrible you have to press so hard just to make a click. I have owned laptops my entire life since I was a kid in 1998, my first laptop being an IBM/lenovo. I will never be a customer again after dealing with such an inept system with inept customer service. This laptop isn't even 3 months old and it already needs replaced because it cannot be used. I do not desire to carry a pocket mouse everywhere in order to use this piece of junk. Good bye!"
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bougart

Super awesome!

Date:July 6, 2014
"So I've had this laptop for about a week now and think it's about a good time to write a review.
As there are more good than bad, I'm going to start this off with my one big gripe:
The computer comes installed with Windows 8, and apparently this is not compatible with the computer's software. The reason I found this out is because the camera suddenly didn't work. When I called in to customer service, they fixed the issue, but also had to disable automatic windows updates. This seems pretty ridiculous.
That's it for my complaints, however!
The day I got the computer, I played The Witcher 2, Dragon Age, etc., and it ran beautifully. The speakers, graphics, design, all work together to make this a fantastic gaming computer (I didn't know a laptop could have such good speakers!). It took me a couple of days using it to get used to the keyboard, mainly because the keys are quite close together (which is a good thing!). Other than that, I'm in love with this."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Zorba

Excellent camera resolution.

Date:July 5, 2014
"I bought this model primarily for Skype conferencing with my brother. This summer he is on a remote Greek island in the Mediterranean Sea. The video feed is going through a satellite phone at a hotel on the island. He tells me that my video which he is receiving is just like a high definition color photo from a magazine.
You can't get any better than that!"
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
s3v4n5

Great Laptop, Angry about the sales pitch

Date:July 3, 2014
"I've had this laptop for about 7 months now, and I have loved it up until today. The screen is nice, big, bright, and has a great resolution. The CPU is fantastic and can run a multitude of processes with ease.
HOWEVER, the GPU, for a gaming laptop, isn't that great. It's good for games that came out maybe last year or earlier, but, if you're looking to play "next-gen" games on high/ultra, this laptop isn't going to do the trick. One of the main features that they advertise about this laptop is the Ultrabay technology, which allows you to switch out your optical drive (or whatever is in there) for another GPU or a fan, etc. However, these products are practically NEVER available. In fact, I've just been told that they've discontinued the extra graphics card. This is extremely frustrating because the single card can't run most newer games well. If you're going to buy this laptop for gaming purposes (which I'm sure you are), buy the model that comes with the extra GPU."
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StudiousChang

Best for school use

Date:July 2, 2014
"I recently purchased this laptop and haven't looked back for even a single minute. Upon first glance, this laptop seemed like a standard laptop - decent specs with up to date hardware and graphics models. However, in comparison to all other laptops in it's competition, the price tag of 900 simply cannot be beat. I purchased this laptop as a Computer Science major and it's incredible processing power, beautiful display, large screen, just the entire package perfectly compliments every single need i have as a student. I recommend this laptop for anyone who wants to buckle down, do work, and have a laptop that will be your best friend in college."