Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y510p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p

A 15.6" high-performance multimedia laptop.

Average customer rating:
4.008 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
20
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
14
91 of 119(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y510p
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Badlaptop00
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Wifi drop every 10 minutes!!

Date:October 15, 2013
"I got the new lenovo Y510p laptop last week. I want to play Dota 2 with it. It is a nightmare to play games with friends. The wifi disconnects every ten minutes. My old Dell laptop is good, never drops the wifi.
I am sure the drives are the newest. I am sure the router is good. I cannot believe that a gaming laptop could have such awful design."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
njadam
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7

I cant stand it

Date:December 9, 2013
Pros: Warranty, Durability, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Weight, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Display performance
"I purchased this computer because it seemed to have awesome specs at a very inexpensive price.
However, the computer constantly freezes and crashes. Load up times, which are supposed to be lightning fast due to my SSD, take 45 plus seconds. Scrolling through pictures which I have saved from my camera to my hard drive seem to take too much out of this machine.
The McAfee security service seems to drag down the speed of my pc.
The computer, at $1000, is cheap for awesome specs on paper. That is why i gave value 2 stars. But there are better alternatives.
This thing is heavy, slow and unreliable. I absolutely hate it. I am seriously considering trying to send it back, but am dreading the switching cost of having to repurchase software and transferring my files."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
gameball
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:1 GB

No thanks

Date:November 16, 2013
Pros: Weight
Cons: Display resolution, Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Build Quality, Durability
"Maybe I am spoiled from having an Alienware. There's no ID#s on the case, mouse pointer moves when i click it, you have to purchase software support separate, power chord is short/flimsy, screen is 1920 but looks worse than my 1020. No Windows disk. I've been told no returns (purchased direct from Lenovo online). I'll find out Monday. It is quiet and runs cool, but boy does the case show fingerprints, and it feels like it's bending when I pick it up. The mouse thinks I pressed the right button instead of left when I'm way over to the left. It's so smudged already it looks like it's a year old and I only got it yesterday. This mousepad stinks.
ps Windows 8 is too different, it looks like it belongs on an android phone not a PC."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
forrest
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

bad computer

Date:November 12, 2013
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Weight, Software compatibility, Durability
"1. bad wireless connection, always disconnect. (very annoying)
2. very heavy charger
3. blue screen problem(waste me a lot of time to fix
4. poor battery performace
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDayAU
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop with exceptional performance

Date:November 5, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Included Software
"Lets start this with saying Lenovo customer service was very helpful with getting this deployed military member his laptop in a timely manner. They even jumped through some hoops for me. Thanks Lenovo...
I purchased the lowest end model for this series with the single GT755m, 1366X768 display, 5200 HDD etc. This thing optimizes everything you throw at it. Fully maxed Skyrim runs 50-60 FPS. Temps stay fairly cool for such a powerful laptop. Boot up time even without the SSD is around 10-15 seconds. The red backlight on the keyboard is a stunning feature.
Great laptop no matter what the price is set to. I have yet to find a complaint about this laptop from my perspective."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Samuel

BEST AT MINECRAFT!!!!!!!

Date:April 23, 2014
"You need to get this it is bosssssss"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AgentAlpha

great product for its price

Date:April 19, 2014
"baught the
16GB RAM,
1TB + 24SSD
GT755M x2 (SLI).
fast perfomance
used for gaming
no micro studdering
the trackpad is a bit "hard" to press on
the keyboad lighting is a great addon, helps me a lot at night.
"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JustAGamer

Perfect

Date:April 18, 2014
"Got this a couple weeks ago and have to say this is the best laptop I have ever owned. It does everything! Even the newest games (BF4) can run on high settings without a problem and it never gets too hot to touch. The SLI 755M has no problem with whatever I throw at it. The hybrid drive is actually really nice and quick. Some say it is a bottleneck but I've had no problems with it. It's a little heavy and the PSU is huge but it is the perfect gaming laptop if you're on a budget. This laptop gives more power for less price.
i7 4700MQ 16GB RAM SLI 755M"
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purple

Would not purchase again

Date:April 15, 2014
"I bought this machine to play World of Warcraft, which really isn't that demanding as far as gaming goes. My $500 machine wasn't coping that well with it and for $1,500 I have a machine that is better but certainly not a pleasure to use. It still freezes up even on average graphical settings.
I wish I'd spent another thousand to get a machine that performs without freezing up in the middle of a fight. Overall really disappointed."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
manuel

Bad screen

Date:April 12, 2014
"i was so excited for my new laptop but when I received and I started to occupy note that the letters on the screen look blurry I feel so disappointed with the screen not if screen error or error in production but the screen has a lot to see to write something good about a laptop .. still spend a lot of money for a poor quality screenshot.."
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Caleb

Worst Computer Ever

Date:April 12, 2014
"I bought this, waited three weeks for shipping, and it was dead on arrival. The computer would boot, and run for as much as an hour before the video card driver would crash. Sometimes the computer would have to be rebooted, other times it would only crash whatever programs were open, and Windows would pop up an error saying the video card driver crashed. I called tech support, and was told that to even look at it would be $90, and that, having 'modified' the computer, I would not be allowed to return it.
Out of curiosity, I called and did try to return it, and was given no problem, and did not have to pay a restocking fee, so I will give Lenovo's customer service that much.
Overall, this computer only gets one star because I can't give zero."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gamerdude62

Great Machine

Date:April 11, 2014
"I've had the top of the line model for a few months. I must admit I've loved using it as a complement to my gaming. It's run everything I've thrown at it (nothing too new or graphics heavy) at max setting. The only problem is the screen during normal usage. The resolution looks bad. With that said once something goes full screen everything looks great."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pmk5788

faulty product

Date:April 2, 2014
"it's been 6 months. I'm having problems with keys in the keyboard. both speakers are having a loose connection and rarely working. i'm having windows 8 and having problems with visual area. I don't understand, it's like my display size is detected as wrong. I see only a part of the windows start menu. power manager is not working well. It's switching to maximum battery battery life option automatically. I'm very unsatisfied. battery life is not good enough. i dont think the SSD cache is making any use. in task manager i cant see any acivity in the graph. it's empty."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MCRA

Performance is great, case design is not.

Date:March 31, 2014
"From a performance standpoint this computer is great. My only complaint is with the case design and touch pad. It is a fingerprint magnet on all surfaces inside and out. The screen bezel is glossy black plastic and looks wavy and cheap. The screen bezel touches the computer when the lid is closed and is wearing leaving an unsightly dull worn spot on both the screen bezel and computer case. the top edge of the computer around the keyboard has a small gap that collects dust and crumbs. The touch pad also collects dust and crumbs around the edges and is difficult to clean. The touch pad button clicks requires up to 3/32" of movement to click them in the extreme lower right and left corners and less than 1/32" to press in the bottom center area. This makes it feel cheap."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JonL
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Would be great if it worked...

Date:March 30, 2014
"This is my 4th laptop from Lenovo. I've never had any issues before, but this laptop makes me rethink future purchases. The computer was working fine for a week when I bought it. A week into the computer, critical Windows files start to go missing, and the computer can't boot up. On the 7th restoration now and the computer still freezes up with very basic programs running. Can't even browse the web, let alone game right now. Fail."
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winslow
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent Machine

Date:March 29, 2014
Pros: Battery, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
"All in all, this computer offers excellent value vs. performance. I get about 6 hours of battery life per charge (note: a plane flight from NY to LA is about 5 hours). Ordered on-line on a Sunday and received on following Thursday. Lenovo sent emails updates on ship status."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
rambo
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

looks good in paper

Date:March 24, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: Video card, Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Software compatibility, Screen size
"using y510 more than 8 months, laptop is powerful , there are quite disappointing thing, no WIDI support, no Optimus technology, giving false statement like 5hrs battery life, but only gives 3 hours battery. i regret buying this laptop, i would have gone for Alienware."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simonz
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

great price, great developer laptop

Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"I bought this laptop for developing my own websites. fast computer start, high performance save me lots of time. I run the database, VM, development software. The laptop performs very well."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rene
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best laptop increíble la mejor for gaming

Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Screen size
"bought it last week played guild wars 2 , no lag it all, graphics ..... upstanding even better than my pc with a ni día gtx690 ..and the price can beat it compare with other laptops in the market, the only thing is the size of the display, I wish they came out with a 17 inch, lenovo ty keep up the good job, and I'm planning to buy another one for my son already"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Syafickix
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

BEST LAPTOP WITH THE BEST VALUE!!!

Date:March 16, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Weight
"I strongly recommend buying this laptop if you’re a gamer, an architect, or maybe a graphic designer.
but In order for you to play a high-end game, you might need to plug-in the laptop first for the game to run smoothly. Otherwise the game might lag or even freeze depending on how heavy the game is though most games still run pretty smooth (The Sims 3 and Tomb Raider for example).some people say that this laptop has a slow internet connection but this issue has already been solved by updating the operating system."