Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaCentre B540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaCentre B540

Ultimate all-in-one entertainment.

Average customer rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaCentre B540
Review 1 for IdeaCentre B540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vlad
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

High levels of noise

Date:March 30, 2013
"Disappointed with a high level of noise of the cooling system (model with Intel Core i7 3770). Did not expect this from Lenovo. For those who spend at the computer more than 1 hour in a row, I advise you to pay attention."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaCentre B540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Retired
Location:White Rock, BC, CANADA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Just What We Needed...

Date:November 16, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Software compatibility, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"After doing a fair amount of research on various makes and models of "all-in-one" computers, we finally made the decision to purchase the Lenovo which is the first time we have had any experience with this brand.
The set-up was easier than anything we have ever experienced when dealing with a new computer and it was up and running in minutes.
We love the fact there are far fewer cords and wires to deal with since this machine will be used in our motor home where space is at a premium and functionality for all appliances a must.
Both the wireless keyboard and mouse have a great "feel" to them although getting use to the smaller keyboard may take sometime. The Dolby sound system is great as are many of the other features we are getting familiar with.
The only drawback, and something we read on many reviews for just about all brands of all-in-one computers is the fact there is no way to turn off the screen other than shutting down the computer. This is not a big issue with us, but it is a feature manufacturers might want to think about for future models
Overall, we think this has to be one of the best products we have purchased since moving into our motorhome and traveling "full-time" and we are hoping to have a few years of trouble free time with our Lenovo.
Thanks Lenovo!!
Regards
Max D.
PS: We have cleaned up and fine tuned the old desktop and will be donating this to a family for Christmas. Hard to believe they have never had a computer and we think it is time they had one..."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IdeaCentre B540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HungD
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good for home office entertainment but not for pro

Date:February 13, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Display performance
"IdeaCentre cannot be compared to ThinkCentre models in Lenovo Family. I got mine with i5 processor - 6Gb RAM, 1T HD. This All-in-One has saved my desk space. Like laptop but bigger screen with WIFI built-in. Great for working with general office apps, entertainment, internet browsing, watch movie. The downsize of it built-in video card is low end and low performance. So, game players should be aware of it."
Review 4 for IdeaCentre B540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EnviroAg96
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Make sure you get the right processor

Date:December 17, 2013
Pros: Screen size
Cons: Processor
"The specs for the B540 show it has a Core i5 processor. I ordered it but the one I received had a Pentium processor, a bit of a downgrade.
I contacted them and they offered to refund 10% of the purchase price ($75) or give me $100 in free accessories. I took the $75 refund rather than deal with returning the unit. Not sure what the price differential is between these two processors but I'll bet it is more than $75 so probably did not get a good deal? Props to their Customer Service for handling the issue promptly.
If they have have units in stock with the other processor, they just need to show that as an option for purchase instead of misleading me and others into thinking they are buying a unit with a Core i5."
Review 5 for IdeaCentre B540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vaughn
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Absolute Junk

Date:May 13, 2013
Cons: Warranty, Support, Durability
"I used the machine or less than two weeks and the company would not replace, got sent home with a repair ticket, machine just shut down and would not restart."
Review 6 for IdeaCentre B540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bharris1960
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

One of the Best

Date:April 19, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"Very easy to set up. stunning display. Touch screen is very responsive. My kids love it. It's hard to keep them off."
Review 7 for IdeaCentre B540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JADE
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

NOTHING TO ENVY APPLE

Date:April 6, 2013
Pros: Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
"I usually when to purchase a mac apple, but when I ask the seller to show me something else that would do the same work for College as the apple, he shall me the Lenovo B3/B5 series, I fall in love with this one, I love my new Lenovo/ nothing to envy apple, good price and performance! just what I need it!"
Review 8 for IdeaCentre B540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Daniel
Location:Sammamish, WA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good performance and decent design

Date:August 26, 2012
Pros: Wireless card, Screen size, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display performance, display washes out at some angles
"For the what I was looking for at a targeted price point, this all-in-one has done very well so far. Performance is as expected, which mean much better than my 8 year old HP running Windows XP. It will be interesting to see how the performance is on Windows 8 as I bought with the anticipation of using it for that OS.
Pros:
Really like the all in one
Pretty quiet performance (with the exception of the DVD drive when reading)
Plug and play, one power cord to plug in and you are up and running
Performance
Cons:
Touch is laggy, but that may be a function of Windows 7 not being optimized for touch performance. Hopefully this picks up with Windows 8
The display is required to be tilted back at a 15 degree angle for stability purposes. When tilted at this angle, from certain directions the display is not visible when watching movies that don't have a bright background. My son and daughter were standing on a chair watching a movie this afternoon so they could get a viewing angle where things didn't turn "all black". Kind of disappointing.
"
Review 9 for IdeaCentre B540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ODoyleRules24
Location:Atlanta, GA
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

What a Find... Apple who?

Date:August 13, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, sexiness.
Cons: Processor, customize build ability?, i7 option?, 3d? bluray?
"Simply put, I made a great decision buying this machine over an iMac. Tons more features, touchscreen (Hello Windows 8!!), sexy design, great performace...Many features that you just dont get with an Apple for hundreds less. I just happen to come acress this after a recommendation from our local Micro Center.
Best computer we've seen for the buck.
"