Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo G780 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G780

Affordable 17.3" notebook.

Average customer rating:
3.774 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
22 of 31(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G780
Review 1 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrandonNJ
Location:Roselle Park, NJ
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Really solid choice.

Date:October 9, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"I'm writing this after realizing my previous review was a but more personal than informative. I bought the G780 with the i7, 8 gigs of ram, and a terabyte of storage. Here are the things that I've found out that I wanted to know before I bought it. First of all, the thing is beautiful. Don't let the brown color discourage you. Although it probably wouldn't have been your first choice, it looks amazing. Second, the keyboard is really nice to type on. Third, it's as heavy as you'd expect, but it's thinner than you'd expect. Fourth, the screen resolution of 1600x900 gives you a decent amount of the real estate on the screen, although it isn't 1080p (1920x1080). Fifth, the speakers are really good. Surprisingly good. And finally, I use the computer for word processing, listening to music, and watching a few videos. Doing all of this, I've averaged about 5 hours on a full charge. The estimate they give is slightly discouraging, but I suspect it's a safe estimate. If you're light on the computer (no hardcore gaming or movie watching), you could stretch it longer than what they rate it for. The pictures don't really give it justice, and they can't really answer these questions. I know when I spend a good amount of money on something, I want to read a few credible reviews to feel confident in my purchase. Buy this knowing it is a solid investment. It's a great computer."
4 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mwolverine
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Reasonably good

Date:January 7, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Included Software, Build Quality, Durability, hard disk
"Pros:
-Great value for money for great specs
-Magnificent screen with great graphics
-Good audio
-Blazing fast (i7 quad core, 8gb RAM)
-Sturdy enough without feeling bulky. Very light for its size
-Doesn't overheat at all
-Keyboard and touchpad are among the best I've used
Cons:
-Hard disk can be slow. Wish lenovo had given the option of a 7200RPM drive.
-Power button and right click buttons don't seem to fit all that well, they seem a little loose.
-Could have been made a little bit more sturdy
-Windows 8 touchpad gestures take some time to get used to
-Too much bloatware
-Blu-ray/DVD drive isn't the sturdiest piece of hardware
-Freezes for a few seconds occasionally when multitasking a lot.
Overall though, a fantastic laptop for the price."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
h2uhoh
Location:Denver, CO
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

great for graphic and web design

Date:November 24, 2012
Pros: Video card, Screen size, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory
Cons: none come to mind
"I needed to stick with Windows OS vs. making the switch to Mac but wanted good performance. Enter in the G780 with the Intel i7, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HD. Took it out of the box and away we went - no need for support or other issues! I put this laptop to the test daily - with no less than 10 programs running all the time, including Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator and Dreamweaver - and that typically means big files and lots of resource usage. This thing is great. Fast performance, even with large images and big file sizes. Works great with audio and video editing/compilation too - renders output files quickly. The big screen was a HUGE selling point. I need to work when I travel. It's easy to have two or more docs open side by side and actually work - for those of you who need to do more than just check email and Facebook. The keyboard is really nice for typing and I like having a number keypad. The big screen and keypad extras make it a little bigger to carry around but it's not that heavy - get a nice case and get over the fear. It's well worth having a larger work area! I had a Lenovo ThinkPad years ago that was a true work horse. The G780 is living up to expectations perfectly and it looks great to boot."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrandonNJ
Location:Roselle Park, NJ
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Pretty solid.

Date:October 8, 2012
Pros: Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Support, Weight, Battery
"This thing came out of the box looking a lot prettier than I thought. Its remarkably good looking. The keyboard feels great, although the font is old looking. Other than the fact that I waited a month to receive it and the fact that the computer came with a pre-installed scratch near the keyboard, its great. I got the i7 with 8 gbs ram and 1tb hard drive. Great deal."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
assimilat
Location:Hermitage, TN
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Buyer Beware!!!

Date:December 13, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Memory
Cons: Wireless card, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, Warranty, Security Features, Included Software, Software compatibility, the bios is neutered beyond being useful
"Lenovo has implemented a BIOS whitelisting policy that is effect on this laptop that disables the ability to change your wireless network card. While this may not affect most people It does have a MASSIVE impact on those wishing to run linux because while you can install linux (with great difficulty if you wish to dual boot) the OEM network card has poor linux support at best. And if you wish to dual boot linux and windows 8 then you are in for a lot of work as they neglect to provide restore media with the system (it is installed on the hard drive) so you are forced to repartition/move partitions till it works correctly. They have also neglected to release a stock BIOS on their support site so if you feel like you have the skills to dump your bios, modify it to allow a non OEM network card and reflash (which will fail due to incomplete dumps) then you have a high likelyhood of being stuck with a bricked system with no available recovery bios."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Qman
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Works great, despite Windows 8

Date:March 17, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Support, touchpad, windows 8, documentation
"I've had this for several months. Love the Corei7, 8GBs RAM, and large 17" screen, 1TB HD and Wi-Fi are outstanding. Computer has worked like a champ, used every day. Hate the Windows 8 Interface though! "Bad things":lack of documentation. The backing, the touchpad - no way to easily turn it off - especially if using a mouse for those of us with "Heavy thumbs". Even going into the control panel - there is no defined "Off" switch.
All-in-all, a great machine at an outstanding price.
"
Review 7 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrpcgeek
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome

Date:March 16, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty, Support, Security Features, Included Software, Software compatibility
"Beautifull Laptop. From A pc fan. Best you can get.
Mine is
8gb ram,
i7-3520 @ 2900 ghz,
64 operating win 7
"
Review 8 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
benefit13
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

One element shy

Date:January 3, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card
"I use this computer for routine functions so it's been perfect, except for the network card. It's the only wireless device in the house that can't keep a firm grip on WiFi. We upgrade our stuff all the time so I went in search of a better card, but to date have yet to find one that's compatible. Suggestions, given through a variety of sources, have lead to phantom components. So I live with a laptop that I like, and live with it's flaw. It's been suggested that I replace the card with the same unit, but in that I've seen this same issue reported by others on different forums... no."
Review 9 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TodayisTuesday
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop

Date:November 12, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Weight, mobility
"The only thing that is a downfall is its size, almost too large to carry around, barely able to fit in backpack."
Review 10 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phillip
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very good machine.

Date:October 21, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight, touchpad, speakers, overall design
"All in all a great laptop for a good price. There are some problems though: speakers aren't great, touchpad isn't very good (I use a mouse so it's not a big problem), to big and heavy, not a fan of the black all metal design (collects dust and your skin's oil and is clearly visible). But this is a very fast and powerful laptop. I decided to go with this model because I wanted something that could play games at a reasonable price. For example I've been playing Portal 2 on it at medium to high graphics, Mass Effect 2 at medium graphics, and Dota 2 at high graphics all at a good frame rate. If you can get past the minor flaws I would certainly recommend this laptop."
Review 11 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
yiou
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

the quality is not so good as expected

Date:September 6, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, fan noise
"This laptop equipped with Intel core i7, 8 GM RAM and 1 TB hard drive for about 700 buck is in a reasonable price. However, there are some problems I encounter.
First, the fan is way too noisy!! I think the fan is full of dust. It's only tolerable when you use this laptop in a very noisy park. If you use it in a quiet room, the noise is very annoying. The good thing is, after a week. The noise disappeared. Now the laptop makes no noise at all XD. The fan is still working, just the dust gets removed somehow.
the key popped off!!, the 9-key on the numeric pad in my keyboard actually popped off after just one week after I purchased it!!! However, I try to push it back, and it actually holds the 9-key again. so I do this every time the key pop off.
"
Review 12 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ptwchtr
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7

Impossible to type with the keyboard configuration

Date:September 4, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"This laptop has everything I wanted at a great price. My only complaint is the keyboard configuration. The right shift key is too small and too close to the directional arrows. This along with other keyboard issues makes it impossible to type without having the cursor jump around all over. I end up with parts of sentences embedded where they don't belong or whole lines inadvertently deleted. So, unfortunately, if I have to do any lengthy typing I revert back to my old laptop."
Review 13 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sacking
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Wonderful

Date:August 24, 2013
Pros: Processor, Support, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution
"My HP laptop crashed and the cost of repair was almost like buying a new one, so I looked at Lenovo website after checking out the models at BB and Frys. This is a great computer. Switching between Windows 8 and 7 is easy, and for this old guy, that's nice. Listening to Pandora (Dire Straits) on the Dolby speakers is a real treat. It found my wireless and printer without me having to do anything. Nice. Love this new laptop. Get one! What a deal."
Review 14 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
harry
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

disaster

Date:August 19, 2013
Pros: Processor, Security Features, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Wireless card, Support, Battery, Software compatibility
"I will keep it short. Very good laptop for Windows users. If you plan to use any kind of Linux on it'Lenovo G780 is a nightmare, so dont even think to get this one.Looks like lenovo get sponsored by M-soft..."
Review 15 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chazwarp923
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great for the price

Date:July 31, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software
"I've had this for about a month now as my main computer and it performs great in everything I do (Ex. Photoshop, gaming, coding, etc.) my only gripe is that it does slightly over heat when I'm gaming, I find it best to have it on an elevated surface with vents to allow good airflow, basically just get a good cooling pad and its great. Overall for the price and specs this is a great computer."
Review 16 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Alstair
Owned Product:1-6 months

Hate It

Date:July 23, 2013
Cons: touchpad
"The worst. The touchpad is a nightmare; if you type with two hands, the screen jumps around and will even take you to a different window. But it won't do simple tasks, like scroll up or down or even move your curser."
Review 17 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ZeroVegre
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2.5 GB

Horrible battery life

Date:July 14, 2013
Pros: Weight, Memory, Bluetooth, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Support, Battery
"This laptop works great with no issues on performance at all. My only issue is that the infomration on the battery is a lie. aeven there own tech support said that there is no way the battery could last 6 hours. On standby maybe, but definetly not in use.
The longest I've ever got my battery to last was 2 hours. Hoenestly I feel lied to. I bought mine in December and and very careful about overcharging or whatever."
Review 18 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RajcallmeBob
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Unfriendly, words can't describe.

Date:June 13, 2013
Pros: it doesn't look bad.
Cons: i can't find a pro to compare with.
"No one seems real happy with the Windows 8 business, but after a couple of years, we should be able to figure it out. The Bluetooth mouse that arrived with the G780 is another piece of work. Three of the college grads in the house haven't figured out the download on that. The area around the palm of the right hand when typing seems to put the system in some kind of distress, causing everything to be reduced to micro print. Under no circumstance should this Windows 8, which by the way can't be replaced with something more friendly, be sold to anyone over the age of 55. I wish we had just gotten a $400.00 system from the local Big Box. Advice, run from anything with Windows 8. Don't look back, just keep running. This should make a good paperweight or cat warmer for the winter."
Review 19 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FunMom
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

It's OK but don't ever expect to play a PC game

Date:June 1, 2013
Pros: Battery, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Security Features, Included Software
"The battery life was surprising with the "optimized" setting lasting quite a while. I hate the McAfee software (bloatware really) which is constantly asking for your money with a pop up once an hour.
A giant issue is that either Lenovo or Windows 8 will not allow you to put off restarting after updates. So no matter how important or time critical you task, you will be forced off in 10 minutes.
If you ever want to play games on the PC (the type that involve walking and looking using the mouse like Skyrim, minecraft, and almost all other games), this is not the laptop to buy. There is no way to get the mouse to work while you press on the keyboard. I have a desktop so if I wanted to install a mouse and sit at a table then I wouldn't have bought a laptop."
Review 20 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jaebert
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:1 GB

why is this item so problematic

Date:March 30, 2013
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals
"from another site:
It is just not a good card. The laptop that this one is replaceing gets a regular 4-5 bars when I am at work, mcdonalds or the library. This one gets a slow 2 bar connection that does not allow me to stream videos or play games efficiently. Even my 300 dollar HP has a better card. The card is the issue.
"