Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U460 - Top rated

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaPad U460 - Top rated

Average customer rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
Review 1 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tngo
Location:San Diego, CA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:2 GB

Great for students

Date:November 23, 2011
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Display resolution, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Build Quality, Durability
"The main reason I decided on the U460 is the thin and lightweight design. My last laptop was brick compared to this one, and I was tired of lugging it around campus everywhere. Being only ~1 inch thick and 4 lbs, it's no burden bringing it to class/study sessions/coffee shops. I purchased the i3 processer version because it was cheaper and I'm not really playing games on it.
The only stupid thing about this laptop is fingerprint & face recognition security program is useless. It's just faster to type in my password than wait for it to recognize my face/fingerprint. I used it for the first month because it was cool but then got over it because it was a waste of time. I ended up just uninstalling the software. It's not that big of a deal though, just a waste of lenovo's efforts.
After owning it for a year, the battery life has decreased slightly. I don't think it ever reaches 5 hours even with low processing. It's closer to 3-4 hours instead. The fan used to be silent but I think the laptop gets hotter so the fan runs more often.
Otherwise I'm happy with the laptop for the rest of my college life.
Pros:
-light and easy to carry
-long battery life
-good display
-easy to use chicklet style keyboard
-easy to turn volume up/down & brightness up/down
Cons:
-no optical drive (but I don't really need it and it's worth the portability for me. although lenovo's newest release the ideapad u300/400 has an optical drive and is super thin & light)
-less sturdy build
-the mcafee software that came with the laptop interfered with my internet connection. it took me forever to figure it out
"
Review 2 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DavidC
Location:Virginia
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home

Excellent, Mobile Laptop

Date:November 1, 2011
"I have had the U460 for almost a year and have been very pleased. I especially like to face recognition login and fairly fast startup time.
Occasionally the machine will crash, and I have to unplug it and remove the battery, then re-start it. This could be normal with Windows, however.
The only realy weakness I have detected is that the fingerprint reader is functionally unworkable. Furthermore, the Lenovo customer service was unable to diagnose the issue with it - that it does not read my fingerpint easily. So, I ended up sending it back to them twice before I figured out what was wrong. Consequently, I don't use the fingerprint reader - it is a waste of space on my machine."
Review 3 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brinel
Location:Madison, WI
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Buy

Date:October 18, 2011
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"I purchased the U460 in Midnight Plum with the i5 Processor back in August. So far, I have absolutely no complaints. The performance is just I expected based on the specs (quick and responsive for the average user), battery life about as expected for an 8 cell, and the laptop is very attractive compared to most of what's on the market right now. The Midnight Plum color is almost like a satin-black in some lights and is very classy. The texture on the mouse track pad was a nice suprise. Overall a great laptop in the 14" size and I would definitely recommend it for those shopping in that category of laptop."
Review 4 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cosmoGeek
Location:Nebraska
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

First laptop with ultra sleek design

Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Screen size, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory
"Before purchasing my first ultra sleek U460, I spent almost 20-30 days reviewing, reading...lot of models.
In the first stage, I decided my mind to purchase only a Lenovo laptop. Later, after further research, to fit my requirement of modern, portable style, I reviewed Ultra series.
Now that, after almost one month of my U460 usage, I am very excited and impressed with its smooth, ultra compact design, long battery life and not to forget about the HDMI port.
Its a perfect laptop for daily personal use for its ultra sleek and weight."
Review 5 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
luke
Location:TX
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

pretty good deal to get the laptop

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software
"Pros: There is no CD or DVD-ROM, so it is portability.
Good deal with low price.
Cons: the graphics card is weak..."
Review 6 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SS26
Location:Irvine
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good performance, but scratches easily

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Wireless card, Screen size, Display resolution, Battery, Memory, Storage
Cons: Support, Bluetooth, Build Quality
"I bought the Ideapad U460 with Intel Core i3, not the i5, and so far I'm happy with the performance. It is fast for my needs, I don't run games on the laptop to give an opinion about the graphics, but it is good from what I have seen in common websites and applications that do require to run some graphics.
It is thin and light, I can carry it with me everywhere without it being a burden to my arms or back! and also battery life is great, it lasts 5 hours with the bluetooth and the internet connection on! I gotta study 24/7 and I keep constantly moving from the school to the library and every other place that would have a space for me and my laptop, so it is really important to me to have a laptop easy to transport and to not depend on an AC outlet so often! Also I like the fact that I can change the screen brightness so fast with the control keys on the keyboard.
Three USB ports come really handy, and all of the ports are on the laterals, not anterior or posterior, makes it easier to keep track of everything you have plugged
The only complain I have is that it is delicate. The screen frame scratches easily. I take good care of all my gadgets, and with this laptop, as soon as a I took the protective sticker off the frame, same week it got scratched! little particles from the white cloth that came on top of the keyboard to protect the screen, came off and sticked to the frame.... trying to sweep them away as gently as I could, left annoying marks, lucky it didn't touch completely the camera. Also the screen touches the keyboard with minimal pressure put on the lid when it's closed, and so, you'll find the keys edges (form the grease of your fingers) leaving marks on your screen!!!
The laptop screen rubber pieces are not enough to protect the screen."
Review 7 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chow
Location:Oxford, MS
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great value and excellent performance

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Wireless card
"It is very thin, sleek and having good performance.
I am using from 1 year, no complaints at all. Great battery life too..!!!
"
Review 8 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mcbutters
Location:Bay Area, Ca
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good choice when it was on sale

Date:October 3, 2011
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Storage, Video card, Security Features, Display performance, finger print magnet, audio
"I've had this laptop for about 2 months now and so far so good.
I bought it when they had a promo deal going and it was $599, so I figured I would jump on it.
Definitely a good deal for that price. At the current $899 price, I'm not so sure.
The Pro's -
Cost
Lightweight
Keyboard (chicklet and good spacing)
Good processor for everyday use
The Con's -
5400 rpm hard drive only
Display is too glossy
Video card is low end
Audio speakers not very good
Laptop lid is a fingerprint magnet (it's really bad)
Keyboard (cheap feeling and not backlit)
There are more con's than pro's, but at the price I bought it for. I can't complain too much."
Review 9 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gvsekhar
Location:San Jose, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Product

Date:July 19, 2011
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Memory
Cons: audio quality is not that much effective
"A good product, it has all great features, design is good, less weight and performance is good.
But it doesn't have in built CD Drive R/W, if you are specifically looking for that option then don't go for this.
The only cons I see is Audio quality is not good. Overall I am satisfied with this product.
"
Review 10 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sableenees
Location:Portland, OR
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

A Compact Workhorse

Date:March 2, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Video card
"I ordered one of the very first U460 notebooks, the 0877-25U. If you take the time to track down the coupon codes for Lenovo direct, the price is outstanding. I am a huge fan of Lenovo now after owning this machine for about 5 months.
This notebook is so light that I am able to carry it back and forth to work every day, even biking. The benefits of the lightness versus the drawbacks of lacking an optical drive go far in favor of lightness.
Here's what I love about it:
* The ability to switch graphical mode to a lower-consumption separate GPU gives it massive battery time.
* The ambient-light sensor is wonderfully effective at conserving battery too.
* The GPU with discrete memory plays HD video without a hitch, and the Core i5 and generous RAM make for a great boot-up time and smooth as silk operation.
* Despite my larding it up with loads of music and videos, the generous hard-drive space isn't close to being full.
* It's tremendously attractive and attention-getting.
* I love having a 14" screen on such a compact device.
* The external connectors are sufficient in number and well-positioned.
* Out of the box, it is not overburdened with preinstalled software.
* The charger is very compact.
* Warranty extension on Lenovo Direct was quite affordable.
Here's what could be better:
* Despite the high-test graphics card, Dead Rising 2 can barely run with graphics set to the lowest settings. I haven't played many modern games on it yet, so that may be an anomaly.
* Lenovo Direct may ship from China, so ship time can be torturously long.
* It was not clear to me initially that the graphical power-saving mode was made possible by the inclusion of two separate GPUs, so I thought I had gotten the wrong model at first.
I spent a long time researching before buying. This was my first-ever self-bought laptop, after years of desktops at home and laptops bought by work. I made a really great decision in buying the U460. Amazingly, it bridges the gap between ultra-compact and desktop replacement."
Review 11 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoVe
Location:Sacramento
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

U460 with i5 480

Date:February 25, 2011
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance, mobility
Cons: Security Features, Software compatibility
"Sleek design and better battery life compared to similar configuration non lenovo models"
Review 12 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
zalmano
Location:Annandale, VA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Got one big issue but still extremely satisfied

Date:February 13, 2011
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight, Included Software, Build Quality, Durability
"What I liked: fast, several power options, quiet, temp
What I did not like/ not satisfied: The bottom part of laptop is not straight and it's little bit curved or I should say it is tilted. The height of the side, where fingerprint scanner is, does not match and is not equal to other sides, so the laptop keeps moving up and down and up and down. I may not have explained clearly, but this is really serious problem and I am really unsatisfied with this problem. I thought Lenovo made very decent and durable laptop, but the laptop is bent. I would have given all 5 stars if I did not have this issue.
I also don’t like that there are some products that does not offer the full service, such as personal safe and fingerprint scanner. Plus, I cannot even remove the personal safe program, so it stays on my desktop forever. If I want full service I need to buy them.
The speaker keeps muting and un-muting by itself like 10 times in 3 secs. I have used this laptop for about 2 months, but still cannot figure out what causes this problem. I tried to change the setting, but still couldn’t fix it.
Lastly, I am not that satisfied with “Dolby Advanced Audio.” Maybe I expected too much.
Overall, really great deal for its price and its performance and specs.
"
Review 13 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dwlenovo
Location:Austin, TX
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home

Solid laptop for basic computing needs

Date:December 13, 2010
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery
"I'm impressed with this entry level laptop with high performance and a reasonable price. It flies with Windows 7. I am not a fan of the smiledock or the Lenovo pop-up offers that are hard to turn off, but that is a very minor thing. The design is light and thin, and I actually really like the compact 10-key pad taking advantage of the wide laptop. The lid seems to press on the keys a little, so you get marks on the screen, so a protector would be nice. The closing magnetic mechanism is not that strong either, but at least it will never break. Powerful wireless card can find weak networks."
Review 14 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dvdshi
Location:manchester,NH
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

good laptop

Date:December 1, 2010
"U460 is a very good laptop.It has beautiful appearance and fast speed when running a program.It also makes me enjoy it for its silence when running and easy to carry.In one word,I like it so much!!!~~~"
Review 15 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RobertH
Location:Lititz, PA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great portable laptop

Date:November 30, 2010
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, no scrollwheel
"All the benefits of a netbook, extremely portable, reasonable price, but the performance of a modern laptop. I can even play civilization V on it, at low graphics settings, which is pretty amazing. Also I really dig the keyboard on this laptop. I have had compaq's in the past and I do not like their keyboard. I think the entire keyboard area is made of aluminum (except the keys themselves) it feels extremely sturdy while being ridiculously lightweight. Screen size is perfect too. I personally wish they'd include real scrollwheels instead of the side of the trackpad stuff, but that's just how they seem to do most laptops. Oh I get about 4 hours of battery life too, which is awesome for such a powerful machine."
Review 16 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dcy10
Location:Mesa, AZ
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

I5 U460 Amazing Notebook!

Date:November 20, 2010
Pros: Processor, Input/Output compatibility, Display resolution, Display performance, Video card, Weight, Durability, Build Quality
Cons: Included Software
"I have had this notebook for about three weeks and it has performed flawlessly. The combination of the I5 processor and Windows 7 Home premium (which is a far superior OS compared to Vista) this machine is fast, reliable, and efficient.
Appearance- I have the midnight plum version which I love. It is not your typical black or silver boring laptop. It is atheistically pleasing with an understated elegance and modern look. The silver interior finish is a nice contrast which to me gives it a classy look you would expect with much more expensive machines.
Display-Very beautiful display of colors even at lower resolutions. Even when I position the screen at different angles, the colors and readability are fine. I usually switch to the discrete video mode when viewing blu-ray movies or when doing video editing.
Portability-Very lightweight for the size and perfect for traveling or just carrying it to different rooms. Power brick is small and light as well.
Battery Life-Not bad, but also not as advertised. This is not unusual with notebooks. It is pretty good as I have got a little over 5 hours when in balanced power mode. It only takes about 2 hours to fully charge the battery.
Keyboard-The chiclet keyboard took me about 10 mins to get use to. It is comfortable and the keys are well spaced. When typing it is not totally silent, but does not make annoying clicking sounds like other notebooks I have had.
Speakers-I find the speakers to be better than average. I don’t find the sound to be “tinny” however you certainly don’t get a lot of bass.
Ports/Connections-4 USB ports and an Esata is great!
Wifi-Works well. I have always gotten a strong signal even when I have been about 50 ft. away from a router.
Other-The fingerprint and face recognition I don’t find useful. The auto light sensor is a cool gadget, but will suddenly adjust for no apparent reason.
Webcam-Was surprised that the video display
was better than my desktops which has a high end unit. Bright and sharp image.
Overall-Great compromise of portability, processing power, and features. Let’s face it, notebooks aren’t full featured desktop PCs, but this one comes real close."
Review 17 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DrElectron
Location:NC, USA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Flawed but still recommended

Date:November 19, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Build Quality, glossy lcd and bezel, ambient light sensor not good, weight is higher than advertised
"Comments: Decent laptop performance. Good value especially if you can get it on sale. Advertised weight is 3.8 lbs. Actual weight with 8 cell battery is 4.3 lbs. Wish the LCD was less reflective. Also, the LCD bezel is full of fingerprints already. Cosmetic annoyance: the Lenovo logo on the bezel is crooked; it slants up as you go left to right. Hopefully, this is not indicative of Lenovo's overall quality control. Ambient Light Sensor does not work reasonably and had to be disabled. Sound is okay but I wish they had dedicated volume controls. Here is what I would suggest for the touch buttons: drop the button that toggles the power plan and replace it with a volume up touch button and volume down touch button. Then the volume controls will be right next to the mute button. What a concept! You can also get rid of recessed button for One Key Recovery. Fingerprint reader is nice to have but this one does not work as well as the ones on my ThinkPads. I have to swipe 3-4 times before the finger is recognized. This is even after updating to the latest software/driver. Speaking of drivers, in some cases drivers on Lenovo's website are older than what came on the preload."
Review 18 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Infinity
Location:San Francisco
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Product at this price

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Weight, Battery, Warranty, Support
Cons: Display resolution, Display performance, Video card
"ultra slim style, light and long lasting battery. you can't find the other stuff at this price.
however, don't expect a super super graphic like sony screen.
"
Review 19 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
puppylover
Location:Columbus, OH
Owned Product:Less than a month
Memory:4 GB or more

First Lenovo Ever

Date:November 16, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Bluetooth, Weight, Battery, Software compatibility, Durability, Warranty, Support, Security Features, Build Quality
Cons: Video card, color
"My dell laptop died on me after two years. Satisfied with dell, I was just looking for dell laptops until my friend (who owns Ideapad Y560) recommended Lenovo to me.
So while browsing through the inventory, looking through all the laptops I found this U460 with great config at an awesome price!
I got a 14" ultrathin laptop with i5 460m, 500GB HDD, 4GB RAM and discrete graphics just for $699+tax.
What I really liked about this system was:
(i) Fast Shipping: Although they said the estimated build date was 12th but it arrived on the 12th itself.
(ii) Great Config at a great prize: I checked all the major manufacturers from Dell to HP, but none of them had such config for under $800.
(iii) Discrete Graphics: Though the system just has NVIDIA 305m but it is far better than integrated graphics. So this was a definite plus point.
(iv) Size/Weight: This laptop is really thin and light so I always carry it around to classes.
(v) Keyboard: The keyboard in this laptop is great. This island keyboard really makes typing a pleasure.
What I didn't like (or improvements)
(i) I wish the graphics card was a little better (320M maybe?)
(ii) The color of the laptop back (which I got) is brown. Although it may sound good but it doesn't look really good. But that doesn't make much difference. A laptop should be judged by what's inside not by what's outside (like shiny apple macbooks with below average configs at high price!).
"
Review 20 for IdeaPad U460 - Top rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JhnL33
Location:San Francisco, California
Owned Product:1-6 months

Really Good Deal...some cons though

Date:November 8, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Bluetooth, Weight, Software compatibility, Durability, Security Features, Build Quality
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Battery, Included Software
"I really love this laptop...I previously owned a Y550 that had a nice graphics card and was quite fast...but also quite bulky...This thin laptop, with its speedy i5 2.53 processor handles most everything I throw at it...the discrete NVIDIA GeForce 305M is weaker than I am used to, but it can handle Fallout: New Vegas on medium settings.
I am slightly disappointed with the keyboard. The keyboard is a lot less comfy than the y550. I would like the backspace button to be a lot larger, and same goes with the ctrl button on the right. The Fn button and the left ctrl button are in the normal position! It took me a while to get used to because they were switched in the y550 and most other lenovo laptops. The touchpad takes a little time to get used to, but it is really useful once you get used to it. The two-finger scroll is great, and it's quite comfy to use.
The fingerprint sensor thing is quite cool, but the software that lenovo gives you for it is quite bad. Here is the link for the software: https://services.upek.com/lenovo-licensing/Upgrade.aspx?lang=en-US. For one, it is not the full version, so you have to pay for the full version if you want full access. Quite dumb. Another way to log on is through veriface...a really cool yet useless tool. It recognizes your face well, but it takes too long to start. It's faster to just swipe your finger or type your password.
There are three little touch control things on the top. One toggles mute/unmute, the other switches your battery plan (to high performance or power saver), and the last one turns your graphics card on/off. For me, the latter is the most useful, while the others, I rarely touch. Another cool thing is the ambient light sensor. It detects light conditions and adjusts screen brightness to reduce eye strain. I find it annoying...but it's always cool to show it off to your friends.
Oh yeah...another thing to show off to your friends is the cover...you can scratch it and it makes a really cool squeaky sound!!! Unfortunately, it picks up fingerprints like magnets pick up magnetic stuff...
And now...to hardware...
First off, the battery life sucks. With GPU on, it achieves 2 hours 45 minutes, while with GPU off, it achieves 3 hours 49 minutes. And that was only playing music on medium brightness. I guess you could add maybe a half hour when you turn of the wireless card. It took 1 hour and 38 minutes to charge from 0% to 100% battery.
Secondly, the wireless card is quite mediocre. On my y550, the wireless card was the top of the line one. This one isn't that good. I am currently about 25 ft away from my router, and I am getting around 24 mbs. On my y550, I get around 54 mbs at the same location.
And lastly...the webcam just sucks...or maybe my face is just ugly...but I think it is a lot of both. Just sayin...
But enough of teh bad stuff...
I got the 7200 rpm hard drive...and man..it is sooo fast.
I normally run maintenance and defrag my computer and stop startup programs from starting up, but now I don't even need to do it, and it boots up in 30 seconds or less! Cool stuff.
Too bad lenovo won't let you get 7200 rpm anymore...
This laptop has never stuttered yet...fast and smooth on everything. Even Adobe Photoshop and Flash are nice.
The speakers are really good (mostly). Really nice quality and quite loud (for it's size). The speakers are positioned under the palmrest and I think they designed it so the soundwaves bounce off the surface and hit you in the face. The only problem is when you have the laptop on your lap or on a pillow or something...sound becomes a bit muffled then.
And lastly...heat. This laptop never got hot except (for some really really odd reason that only monkeys know) when you play Plants vs Zombies. I really have no idea why...but it only gets hot when I play that. New Vegas doesn't even get it hot. Nor does playing Halo 1...or Freelancer...random flash games on the web...I guess my computer can't handle the waves of zombies?!?
Anyways...this is a great buy. Recommend it to plenty of people...as long as they don't use an optical drive. Sucky battery life...but the charger is quite slim and fits anywhere...so it's no problem for me. Everything else is really amazing! GO LENOVO! (or maybe I'm just a bit biased...)
I should include some specs...shouldn't I?
Processor: Intel Core i5 M460 2.53 GHz
GPU: nVidia GeForce 305M
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
RAM: 4 GB
HDD: 500 GB 7200 RPM
Okay...I think that's it...I give this two thumbs up!!!"